We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing trip, beautiful resort, lots of fun!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
Ranked #64 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Dearborn, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing trip, beautiful resort, lots of fun!!”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

This was our first time visiting Riviera Maya. We chose Sandos based on previous guest reviews and cost. It is a beautiful resort and well maintained. The staff is excellent and very friendly. Entertainment team does an excellent job keeping everyone happy. We had a great time and would definitely return again! Only downfall was the food at the buffet. Could have more seafood/vegetarian options.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandos_Playacar, General Manager at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Mary H,

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments and for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We would like to express our deepest gratitude for your feedback and suggestions as they are very valuable to us.

We would be more than happy to welcome you back for a second holiday in our resort.

Warmest Regards,
Miguel Vargas
General Manager
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa
webrelations.playacar@sandos.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12,404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,248
    4,025
    1,318
    487
    326
See reviews for
4,818
4,616
153
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,821)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
maryland, usa
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

I read TA reviews for months before heading to Sandos Playacar, I was happy I did! You learn a lot on these boards and reviews which can help you to not be disappointed and to know what your getting.
Originally I booked the adult only Riviera Suite Select Club for my 20 year anniversary. We then decided to take our 13 and 16 yo with us, which meant a change in rooms to the Riviera Family Section for us and adding a separate room for our kids. I spoke with Claudia Romero in reservations and she. Informed we could move our room and keep our gold wrist bands since we had already paid for the select club upgrade, our kids would have blue bands. She confirmed this with Marco, the room manager at Sandos Playacar. Upon check in we were given two adjoining rooms in the 9000 block, um this is the adult only section which I knew from reading TA. I informed the guy checking us in that we had 2 kids and we couldn't stay there but had to be moved to the family section. I also stated that whatever rooms we were assigned, we were not moving the next day by having to check out @ 10am and recheck in at 3. He said he needed time to speak with Marco and we should have lunch and return in an hour.
An hour later we were assigned rooms in the hacienda section, a one bedroom master suite and the adjoining queen suite for the kids. When we arrived at the rooms, my sone walked into his room which had a family of 5 adults in it! Back to see Carlos at the reception desk to inform him someone was in the room. He appeared shocked, but quickly reassigned us to hacienda 7401 and 7402, same room set up. These rooms were absolutely amazing, huge, three bathrooms, actually slept 10 people! We kept our gold bands, kids were changed from blue to a silver metallic band. Our housekeeper, Maria was amazing. She actually locked up my daughters eyeglasses and my sons headphones one day in the unlocked safe because she thought they were valuable. Security had to come and unlock the safe for us. We had cute towel animals and clean rooms! We did leave her tip money, but only on day 2 of 6, and then again the day before we left.
I highly suggest contacting the web relations lady, Daniela Delgado at webrelations.playacar@sandos.com she is one of a kind. She will prebook your a la carte dinner reservations before you arrive, and answer any questions you have. She hand delivered our dinner reservations and even planned a special dinner with rose petals, champagne and a cake in the French restaurant for our anniversary. We had three other reservations made at the fogo de jainero, Asiana, and the Mexican restaurant but we ended up at the buffet and bagel beach instead because we were still on the beach at 6pm every night and didn't want to rush to dinner. The buffet is fine, food was fair, something to fill your hungry belly, nothing special. Breakfast was the same, we did go to the adult only breakfast buffet one day, it's the same as the festival buffet except they have salmon, but no bagels, not worth the walk for us in the hacienda section. Lunch was fine in the buffet too, the bagel beach opens at 10am with hot dogs and burgers and fries and ice cream. The bagels aren't available until 6:30pm and are very yummy but service is very slow, we almost walked away after ordering it took so long, only one waitress to take orders. The crepe place, inside the sports bar is not to be missed, Rosalinda is sweet as can be, crepes open at 2:30pm until 8:30pm. The cupcake cafe was yummy, delicious coffee drinks too, Say hi to Esparanza, she's a hard worker in the cupcake cafe. She spoke Spanish to my 16 yo. We ordered room service for breakfast one day, it came on time and was perfect.
The beach at Sandos. Playacar is the nicest we have been to, and we have been to several. The water is clear and beautiful turquoise blue. We walked north on the beach to playa del Carmen and mst say Sandos had the most activity for guests and the nicest beach. To the south we walked along the untouched beach all the way to a natural cenote, rocks stick out into the water and the water feels cold, just past the clod water up on shore is a hole in the rock where you can see the water flowing towards the sea from the island. Just south of the hotel is a man made reef, you can't miss is, dark strip of blocks in the water, gray for snorkeling.
The entertainment team was great! They encouraged beach volleyball, Zumba, aerobics at the pool, etc. You can be as lazy or active as you like. Drink service on the beach in the family area was non existent, but the bat is right next to the beach. I put guacamole and chips from the buffet in the plastic drink cups and took them to the beach. Smoothie bar on the beach is very nice.
Yes the resort is big, our rooms, near the donkeys, which we loved feeding and petting, was easily walkable to the beach. I can see if you were in the select club adult only it would take maybe 8 minutes walk through beautiful grounds, shuttle if you need it though. Plenty of entertainment at night if you desire, theater for kids, pretty spa and nice gym. Lots of families with kids, yes smokers, ugg. Never had a problem getting beach chairs on the beach at 8 am, the towel game is played but still lots of chairs.
Time share guys approached us but an informed guest is their worst costumer. I said I understand what you are selling and we are not interested. End of discussion, never asked again.
Long review, sorry. If your looking for an amazing beach with kind staff and activities, I would not hesitate to stay here again. If being in a room on the sand is important for you, look somewhere else, the beachfront rooms are horrible according to people we met. Happy to answer any questions. We stayed April 21st-26th.

Room Tip: Beachfront rooms are old and need renovation, the walk to the haciendas is not far at all, if you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank birthdayvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandos_Playacar, General Manager at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear birthdayvacation,

What a great pleasure is to read your comments; it’s our pleasure to see that you had a wonderful stay with us!

Thank you for such a wonderful reviewing detailing your vacation experience. Your kind words mean more than you know and your feedback has been displayed in the hotel for all our staff to see.

It will be always a pleasure to welcome you back for your 2nd visit at Sandos Playacar
Kind regards,
Miguel Vargas
General Manager
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa
webrelations.playacar@sandos.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed April 27, 2014

After what was a beautiful week in Mexico, I simply must say that our waitress Diony, from the Bar La Bombola, made our experience an unforgettable one! Her charming, fun and friendly personality allowed us to have fun every single night! Her service was fantastic as she was always keeping things exciting with new and fun cocktails!

If ever you are to stay at this beautiful resort, be sure to find Diony! You will not be sorry!

Room Tip: The Royal Elite Haciendas are the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandos_Playacar, General Manager at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Justin S,

While extending warm regards from this “Su casa”, Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa, I would like to thank you for the time invested in sharing with us and this online community your experiences lived during your recent visit.

We are very happy to know that we managed to exceed your overall expectations in such a way that you plan to visit us again. Thank you for recognizing the efforts of our wonderful staff, I will definitely extend your regards to Diony, we are proud to haveher in our team.

Kindest wishes, we treasure your positive comments, and hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again, on your next trip.

Warm Regards,

Miguel Vargas
General Manager
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa
webrelations.playacar@sandos.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 27, 2014

It's tough to rate resorts correctly because many feel like the same. This is my fourth year in Mexico and third in the Riviera Maya area. Food, which is a huge part of the trip, was average . Wish resorts down there could change things up and try something different and fresh; always seems the same. For example, during lunch, the lady made delicious mix of stir fry vegetables with sauce on the grill in front of you. (Need more of that in Mexico). Rooms were nice, and perhaps the best entertainment options of any resort I've been too. Always something to do either pool or beech side. Night entertainment was also generally good, lots of options for adults and kids. Wish the walk across the resort was a little shorter. Bars were good especially Alfonso Rodriguez. Had a blast and caught some pictures with him. He was mostly at the beech bar, or disco area. There was also Erick Manado who also was at the beech bar. All the staff was friendly. Restaurants are hit and miss. Went to Chinese place and thought it was terrific, went to Brazilian and thought it was okay, friends went a different night and thought it was amazing. Went to steakhouse, received no menu all the steaks were cooked wrong and were terrible....so bad. On two different nights our friends went and thought it was the best meal of the vacation, and actually got a menu. So don't know what was up there, but overall I thought it was a great vacation and would recommend the resort.

Room Tip: any room is fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zach7913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandos_Playacar, General Manager at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Zach7913,

Thank you for your comments. Your feedback is very important to us. It`s thanks to our guests comments that we can improve our services in order to provide a unique experience and guest satisfaction. We regret that your expectations regarding our food was not what you expected; everyone of us is committed to ensure to our guests the most enjoyable.

Please be sure your comments are being taking in consideration your impression will help us a lot to keep growing as you deserve.

I kindly remain at your total disposal for any further comments.

Best Regards

Miguel Vargas
General Manager
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa
webrelations.playacar@sandos.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Overall, my wife and I enjoyed this place very much. The beach was great. Food was very good (especially the breakfast buffet). Staff was very friendly and always helpful. The pool was huge and the swim up bar was great but closed too early.

Be aware that the a la carte restaurants require reservations and will probably all be booked before you even arrive at the resort. I guess you need to call and make dinner reservations before you leave home?? That was not cool. How is anyone supposed to know that??

We were also a little annoyed that our room wasn't ready on time. We were annoyed that at one point some little worker asked us to leave our pool chairs because it was time for him to clean. WTH?! And as everyone else says, be prepared for a long walk to the beach.

Despite the minor issues and annoyances, I'd recommend this place highly. I'd definitely stay again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank daveb2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandos_Playacar, General Manager at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear daveb2001,


Thank you for letting us know how your stay was, we will be more than happy to have the opportunity to host you again very soon . We would like to express our deepest gratitude for your feedback and suggestions as they are very valuable to us.

Please feel free to contact us.
Warm Regards,
Miguel Vargas
General Manager
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa
webrelations.playacar@sandos.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

As we arrived we were greeting outside of reception by a man who carried in our bags, after such a long flight we were checked in quickly and had been upgraded to adults only section which was great!

The rooms were spotless and had everything you needed for a comfortable stay. Two big beds a sofa bed, TV, Powerful shower, a stocked mini fridge and clean towels daily. The only thing we were not too impressed about was the jacuzzi we turned it on and got in only to notice 5 mins later there was a strange brown film round the outside of the bath, we immediately got out and did not use it after that!!!

The adults only section was there furthest away from the beach but this was fine as it was quiet and also a shuttle bus runs down to the beach if you do not wish to walk. The pool around this section was also really nice and hardly ever anyone around and always plenty of loungers no matter what the time of day.

The beach was simply beautiful clear blue seas (if a little choppy at times) and white sand it is truly amazing! Also as we were adults only you had your own private section on the beach which was great as you could relax without kids running around it was also right by the bagel hut with convenient drinks and snacks served all day.

The food was fine, very repetitive (I did live of pizza, burger and chips from the buffet restaurants) but there are plenty to choose from. The al carte restaurants are hit and miss in my opinion...the steak house and Argentine restaurant are very nice but was not keen on the french or Mexican one.

I really can not comment on the entertainment as it was not our cup of tea and generally went back to our room after dinner most nights.

We also did a few excursion swimming with dolphins and coco bongo, pricy but has to be done!

We also visited in July and the weather was terrible!! constant storms and rain for the best part of every day which was disappointing,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Amazing hotel,good cleaning service left a tip every morning to the maid,a 30 seconds walk to the pool,restaurants and beach. This hotel had a movie theatre for kids,mini put,cup cake cafe good coffee,spa with hot room,tennis court and bicycles. A 45 min to an hour walk to playa del Carmen by road and very safe since playacar is a gated community. Four or 5 a la carte restaurant depending on your taste the Mexican and Brazilian was my favourite. Always found room on the beach and towel service was amazing never went a day without a clean towel. This hotel is the last on on the riviera maya stretch so it's an hour from the airport with other stops for travellers. Will return one day since I travel often and like to try other destinations.

Room Tip: The 2414 section you had a view of the pool and ocean on the fourth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
5.1 mi away
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
The Royal Haciendas All Suites R...
#48 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,481 reviews
5.5 mi away
Sandos Caracol Eco Resort
Sandos Caracol Eco Resort
#79 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
12,399 reviews
1.2 mi away
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar
#41 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Reef Playacar
The Reef Playacar
#95 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4,547 reviews
1.4 mi away
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
#42 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
6,448 reviews
2.4 mi away
Gran Porto Resort
Gran Porto Resort
#31 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
9,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandos Playacar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandos Playacar Beach Resort

Property: Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
Address: Paseo Xaman-Ha | Manzana 1, Lote 1 Fracc.Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#36 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#44 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#45 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#49 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#53 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandos Playacar Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 819
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa is an all-Inclusive hotel in Playa del Carmen with both family and adult sections. We are ideally located on a magnificent white sandy beach in the gated community of Playacar, within walking distance to downtown Playa and Fifth Avenue. Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa is located only forty-five minutes from the Cancun International Airport, and the pier serving ferries to Cozumel is a short distance from our property.Playacar is a private, master-planned community situated on the southern edge of downtown Playa del Carmen. Guests at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa enjoy this exclusive community’s impressive infrastructure, including an 18-hole golf course designed by Robert Von Hagge, the Xaman-Ha Aviary, pristine biking paths, and Mayan ruins, accessible to the public for hiking.Riviera Maya is a protected region where many remaining artifacts from the fascinating Mayan civilization can be found. Surrounded by Mayan archeological zones, such as those at Tulum, Coba, and Chicen-Itza, this Playa del Carmen hotel successfully preserves a strong sense of Mayan culture onsite, adding an authentic feel and flavor to the vacation experience in Playacar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Sandos Playacar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandos Playacar Beach Hotel
Hotel Sandos Playacar Beach
Beach Playacar Resort Sandos
Sandos Playacar Resort
Sandos Playa Del Carmen
Gala Resort Playacar
Sandos Gala Playacar
Sandos Playacar Mexico
Sandos Resort
Playacar Sandos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing