We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hmm...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
Ranked #61 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Reviewed April 27, 2014

It's tough to rate resorts correctly because many feel like the same. This is my fourth year in Mexico and third in the Riviera Maya area. Food, which is a huge part of the trip, was average . Wish resorts down there could change things up and try something different and fresh; always seems the same. For example, during lunch, the lady made delicious mix of stir fry vegetables with sauce on the grill in front of you. (Need more of that in Mexico). Rooms were nice, and perhaps the best entertainment options of any resort I've been too. Always something to do either pool or beech side. Night entertainment was also generally good, lots of options for adults and kids. Wish the walk across the resort was a little shorter. Bars were good especially Alfonso Rodriguez. Had a blast and caught some pictures with him. He was mostly at the beech bar, or disco area. There was also Erick Manado who also was at the beech bar. All the staff was friendly. Restaurants are hit and miss. Went to Chinese place and thought it was terrific, went to Brazilian and thought it was okay, friends went a different night and thought it was amazing. Went to steakhouse, received no menu all the steaks were cooked wrong and were terrible....so bad. On two different nights our friends went and thought it was the best meal of the vacation, and actually got a menu. So don't know what was up there, but overall I thought it was a great vacation and would recommend the resort.

Room Tip: any room is fine.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zach7913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandos_Playacar, General Manager at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear Zach7913,

Thank you for your comments. Your feedback is very important to us. It`s thanks to our guests comments that we can improve our services in order to provide a unique experience and guest satisfaction. We regret that your expectations regarding our food was not what you expected; everyone of us is committed to ensure to our guests the most enjoyable.

Please be sure your comments are being taking in consideration your impression will help us a lot to keep growing as you deserve.

I kindly remain at your total disposal for any further comments.

Best Regards

Miguel Vargas
General Manager
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa
webrelations.playacar@sandos.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (12,857)
There are newer reviews for Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,928 - 2,934 of 12,857 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Overall, my wife and I enjoyed this place very much. The beach was great. Food was very good (especially the breakfast buffet). Staff was very friendly and always helpful. The pool was huge and the swim up bar was great but closed too early.

Be aware that the a la carte restaurants require reservations and will probably all be booked before you even arrive at the resort. I guess you need to call and make dinner reservations before you leave home?? That was not cool. How is anyone supposed to know that??

We were also a little annoyed that our room wasn't ready on time. We were annoyed that at one point some little worker asked us to leave our pool chairs because it was time for him to clean. WTH?! And as everyone else says, be prepared for a long walk to the beach.

Despite the minor issues and annoyances, I'd recommend this place highly. I'd definitely stay again.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank daveb2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandos_Playacar, General Manager at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear daveb2001,


Thank you for letting us know how your stay was, we will be more than happy to have the opportunity to host you again very soon . We would like to express our deepest gratitude for your feedback and suggestions as they are very valuable to us.

Please feel free to contact us.
Warm Regards,
Miguel Vargas
General Manager
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa
webrelations.playacar@sandos.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

As we arrived we were greeting outside of reception by a man who carried in our bags, after such a long flight we were checked in quickly and had been upgraded to adults only section which was great!

The rooms were spotless and had everything you needed for a comfortable stay. Two big beds a sofa bed, TV, Powerful shower, a stocked mini fridge and clean towels daily. The only thing we were not too impressed about was the jacuzzi we turned it on and got in only to notice 5 mins later there was a strange brown film round the outside of the bath, we immediately got out and did not use it after that!!!

The adults only section was there furthest away from the beach but this was fine as it was quiet and also a shuttle bus runs down to the beach if you do not wish to walk. The pool around this section was also really nice and hardly ever anyone around and always plenty of loungers no matter what the time of day.

The beach was simply beautiful clear blue seas (if a little choppy at times) and white sand it is truly amazing! Also as we were adults only you had your own private section on the beach which was great as you could relax without kids running around it was also right by the bagel hut with convenient drinks and snacks served all day.

The food was fine, very repetitive (I did live of pizza, burger and chips from the buffet restaurants) but there are plenty to choose from. The al carte restaurants are hit and miss in my opinion...the steak house and Argentine restaurant are very nice but was not keen on the french or Mexican one.

I really can not comment on the entertainment as it was not our cup of tea and generally went back to our room after dinner most nights.

We also did a few excursion swimming with dolphins and coco bongo, pricy but has to be done!

We also visited in July and the weather was terrible!! constant storms and rain for the best part of every day which was disappointing,

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlotte2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Amazing hotel,good cleaning service left a tip every morning to the maid,a 30 seconds walk to the pool,restaurants and beach. This hotel had a movie theatre for kids,mini put,cup cake cafe good coffee,spa with hot room,tennis court and bicycles. A 45 min to an hour walk to playa del Carmen by road and very safe since playacar is a gated community. Four or 5 a la carte restaurant depending on your taste the Mexican and Brazilian was my favourite. Always found room on the beach and towel service was amazing never went a day without a clean towel. This hotel is the last on on the riviera maya stretch so it's an hour from the airport with other stops for travellers. Will return one day since I travel often and like to try other destinations.

Room Tip: The 2414 section you had a view of the pool and ocean on the fourth floor
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Arrived around 1pm and was told our room wouldn't be ready until around 2:00 pm. We took the shuttle to the average buffet. Then shuttled back to the reception area( too far too walk in the heat with too little ones). Our room was still not ready so we waited some more. At 3:15 I asked again if our room was ready. I was then told it would be approx 2 more hours due to a late checkout. I demanded more than the excuses I was being given. I was then told they could give me another room but would not have the ocean view I had requested and had been promised upon reservation. I had no choice but to accept. We then waited 40 minutes for transportation to our room. Nobody seemed to be able to resolve any of our issues. When we finally arrived the mini fridge was broken and the remote control was missing. They did at least bring some cold beers over quickly. We finally ventured to the pool which was very nice. The pool bar was closed so had to walk a considerable distance for drinks. The beach is awesome. Small waves, soft sand. Simply perfect. When we came back to our room, the key no longer worked and it's quite a hike back to the reception. We called to express our discontent and request other accommodations and was lied to and dismissed without more than an apology. This was just our first day and had it not been for being with the kids. We would have taken a cab to another property. It was totally unacceptable and don't expect they will do anything to make us repeat customers. Very disappointed to say the least. Nice property with amazing beach and I understand things don't always go smoothly. I travel for a living and know this first hand but they don't seem to care

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Charlie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Resort review
Solid 4 Stars

Enjoyed our stay from March 25-April 4. Traveled with two adults, a 10 year old and a 13 year old. (Weather was great at this time.)

FOOD & DRINK
Good. Nothing stood out. Plenty of choice....including healthy options. Know that you get 4 restaurant reservations for 10 days. Riviera Blue for lunch and Bagel Beach for dinner are hidden gems in my opinion. (Way too hot in Brazilian restaurant.)

We drank cerveças, sparkling wine, low sugar mojitos and low sugar margaritas on the rocks. These were good. We didn't care for the house red or white wine...and we're not picky.

ROOM
We stayed in the family section...3rd floor facing jungle. Our room was very nice. Loved the drying rack on the balcony. Enough English TV to satisfy my kids.

ENTERTAINMENT
I felt like there were lots of options. There were movies every night on the plaza, there was shows in the theater most nights and there was live music in the plaza most nights. If you like to dance, don't miss the beach party....only time I really saw significant numbers of people dancing.

The teen club, an arcade, was supposed to be just for teenagers even if the parents accompanied them. However, we found the younger children and parents could also enjoy it and it was a really enjoyable family activity. I was relieved to see they didn't enforce the rules that it was just for teenagers.

BEACH
Perfect. There were a few "red flag" days which meant we couldn't take out the kayaks or boogie boards but you could still go in the water safely. The water was very clear, the sand was very clear, and it was shallow enough to stand for a while. Chairs in shade were a bit hard to come by some days. (I liked the fact that the bead-jewelry-selling lady and the "silver" selling guy were allowed on the beach. Don't miss them...they're not pushy.)

POOLS
Main/activity pool was nice....until the aqua aerobics. Maybe it's typical but I found the touching of strangers at the end of the aqua aerobics a little too much for me. Other than that it was fun. Chairs were difficult to find.

The family pools always seemed to have chairs and not a lot of people. We found ourselves at these pools every afternoon.

SERVICE
No one was rude and most were good but a few names standout...

Alfonso...bagel beach...best bartender...takes it seriously

Maximima....Bombola bar...always smiling...made sure our drinks weren't too sweet

Diony...plaza, theatre...disco...working hard

Daniella...reservations and answering my many questions patiently and quickly before we arrived

Valerio and Esperanza....at the Cupcafe Cafe....tweaking our drinks....and remembering our "usual"...and teaching me a little Spanish

Chiral at Riviera Pool...always a smile...even with sun beaming in his eyes....remembering what I drank

TIPPING
I chose to tip the people that served us well over our stay....at the end of our trip. Everyone works hard....regret that I didn't get to go back and tip the two ladies making omelettes and eggs to order...certainly two of the hardest, hottest jobs in the resort.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CathyinCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandos_Playacar, General Manager at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Dear CathyinCalgary,

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments and for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We would like to express our deepest gratitude for your feedback and suggestions as they are very valuable to us.

We would be more than happy to welcome you back for a second holiday in our resort.

Warmest Regards,
Miguel Vargas
General Manager
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa
webrelations.playacar@sandos.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We were a party of 5. We stayed there last April/14 for 6 days. What is really striking about it is the gentle, heartwarming treatment we received from all the members of the staff. From the moment we checked in at the frontdesk, we were welcomed with a toast of champagne. Then, we could see the care with which our maid / housekeeping resp Manuel organized both rooms. Also, we could not say a word but great, gentle and lovely professionals when we remember Vanessa Mex, Jose Luis (pool bar), Daniel (the young one - from the shuttle van) and fantastic Gustavo Alvarez (Premium Bar). They got to know all of us by our names in such a short period. And finally, my special thanks to Daniela Delgado (web relations). Just fantastic.. I will surely go on recommending this great place!

Room Tip: If you are not travelling with kids, please stay at Select Club 21 (years and older).
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OtavioChinelatto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandos_Playacar, General Manager at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Dear OtavioChinelatto,

Thank you for sharing your experiences with the Trip advisor community; it was a pleasure to read your review and we are sure this has helped many travelers confirm that Sandos Playacar is the perfect hotel for their vacation.

We are pleased that you loved it here; we will share your positive comments with our staff; it encourages them to continue working hard.

Please do not forget that we will be pleased to welcome you back at any time.

Kind regards,
Miguel Vargas
General Manager
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa
webrelations.playacar@sandos.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.8 mi away
Sandos Caracol Eco Resort
Sandos Caracol Eco Resort
#83 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
12,775 reviews
1.2 mi away
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar
#44 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4,822 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#36 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Reef Playacar
The Reef Playacar
#95 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4,772 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar
#52 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,019 reviews
1.4 mi away
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
#47 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
6,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandos Playacar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandos Playacar Beach Resort

Address: Paseo Xaman-Ha | Manzana 1, Lote 1 Fracc.Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#35 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#42 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#43 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#45 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#53 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $196 - $517 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandos Playacar Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 819
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa is an all-Inclusive hotel in Playa del Carmen with both family and adult sections. We are ideally located on a magnificent white sandy beach in the gated community of Playacar, within walking distance to downtown Playa and Fifth Avenue. Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa is located only forty-five minutes from the Cancun International Airport, and the pier serving ferries to Cozumel is a short distance from our property.Playacar is a private, master-planned community situated on the southern edge of downtown Playa del Carmen. Guests at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa enjoy this exclusive community’s impressive infrastructure, including an 18-hole golf course designed by Robert Von Hagge, the Xaman-Ha Aviary, pristine biking paths, and Mayan ruins, accessible to the public for hiking.Riviera Maya is a protected region where many remaining artifacts from the fascinating Mayan civilization can be found. Surrounded by Mayan archeological zones, such as those at Tulum, Coba, and Chicen-Itza, this Playa del Carmen hotel successfully preserves a strong sense of Mayan culture onsite, adding an authentic feel and flavor to the vacation experience in Playacar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandos Playacar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandos Playacar Beach Hotel
Hotel Sandos Playacar Beach
Beach Playacar Resort Sandos
Sandos Playacar Resort
Sandos Playa Del Carmen
Gala Resort Playacar
Sandos Gala Playacar
Sandos Playacar Mexico
Sandos Resort
Playacar Sandos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing