We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic beach, friendly and entertaining.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
Ranked #61 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Groveland, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic beach, friendly and entertaining.”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

The Le Gourmet restaurant is one of our favorites. The chef, Miguel creates interesting presentations, exotic tastes and varied entrees and mains that keep us coming back. The duck for example was wonderful with candied apple compote. The meals were served at a perfect pace by Johnny, our waiter and Luis the manager was very attentive to make our experience enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sderodeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandos_Playacar, General Manager at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear sderodeff,

We would like to thank you for your review. It was a pleasure to have you home.
It will be always a pleasure to welcome you back at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa.

Please let us know as soon as you are ready to comeback, our great team will be ready to exceed your expectations again!

Warm regards.

Miguel Vargas
General Manager
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa
webrelations.playacar@sandos.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12,550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,328
    4,072
    1,332
    490
    328
See reviews for
4,891
4,662
153
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,839)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Very nice property with awesome staff. I cannot say enough about Daniela Delgado who was extremely helpful in answering pretrip questions as well as helping get a few things set up prior to our arrival. Erick at the sports bar was a great bartender. The individual(s) responsible for cleaning our rooms did a terrific job - unfortunately I do not recall her name. Great beach and pools. No problems getting chairs by either which is so nice. Evening entertainment was better than what we've experienced at some other properties. Being able to walk south on the beach and have secluded beach was neat as was the snorkeling. Another individual who stood out was the doorman who was working on Saturday 3/29. He was from Nigeria (and again I don't recall his name) but we were a bit down as we were leaving and his friendliness and positive attitude were contagious!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank petey63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandos_Playacar, General Manager at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear petey63,

We cannot thank you enough for adding another great review to our list. We appreciate you took the time to share your experience with the trip Advisor community and we are glad to know that we exceeded most of your expectations during your recent stay in Sandos Playacar.

We hope to see you again very soon !
Kind regards

Miguel Vargas
General Manager
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa
webrelations.playacar@sandos.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron Park, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Fantastic beach and a staff that was outstanding. I think what makes the difference in this Hotel is the staff. I would like to mention Daniela who assisted us before our trip, Vicky at the front desk and Yasmin who was our server on the beach. I have never had such great customer service at any Hotel I have stayed at. To everyone that works at the Sandos thanks again for a wonderful trip. The food was good, the grounds manicured and the beach was unbelievable. My wife said the Spa was fantastic. I could go on and on but I will cut it short and say when I'm in Mexico I will only stay at the Sandos Playacar.

Room Tip: check out the golf course next to the resort the men golfed all day while our wives went to the Spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandos_Playacar, General Manager at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Joor B,

We would like to thank you for your review published on Trip Advisor.

It honors us to receive such a compliment and encourages us to continue exceeding our clients’ expectations.

We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know we are providing a good service.
We look forward to welcome you back anytime you decide come back .

Please do not hesitate to contact us prior to your arrival so we can assist with all pre arrival requests and be sure that your stay surpasses all expectations.
Warm Regards,
Miguel Vargas
General Manager
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa
webrelations.playacar@sandos.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

It was our first time in Mexico. We've been to 3, 4 and 5 start resorts in Turkey and Egypt.
Mexico is a higher level for sure!

Wow Beach!!
Honestly the best beach of all closest resorts in the row! Last resort in the raw, so wild beach on one side. Also other resorts have somewhat steep hill before entering the sea/ocean.
Plenty of lounge chairs!! Never had to search for one. Nice hammocks right on the beach.

Entertainment:
Best team ever! Zumba, volleyball, and soccer on the beach. Great shows in the evening both on the beach and inside the resort.
There is also a big game room with dance machine, basketball, and many other.

Room:
Outdated, but clean and spacious. All rooms are close to the beach and pool.

Food:
Awesome buffet! Great a la carte.
CupCake cafe is just super!

Service:
Sometimes they don't speak English, but we thought it was so cute :)

We loved Mexico and Mexicans!

Will always recommend Sandos Playacar!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Victoria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandos_Playacar, General Manager at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Victoria D,

We cannot thank you enough for adding another great review to our list. We appreciate you took the time to share your experience with the trip Advisor community and we are glad to know that we exceeded most of your expectations during your recent stay in Sandos Playacar.

We hope to see you again very soon !
Kind regards

Miguel Vargas
General Manager
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa
webrelations.playacar@sandos.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We were married at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort on March 24th. I'll try to give you an overview of our experience with regards to the resort and the wedding. We decided on Sandos a little over 1 year ago because it struck a balance for our guests regarding food choices, budget, beach, amenities and overall location.

We contacted the wedding coordinator who at times was very slow to respond which caused us to be a litte concerned and nervous. After reading other reviews we realized this was common and were able to relax. Fortunately for us we just attended a beach wedding in November in Jamaica so we had an idea of what to expect. The wedding in Jamaica was at an Iberostar as a point of reference.

When we arrived at the hotel it was early morning so our rooms were not ready which was expected. We were traveling with a group of approximately 30 people all of which were in the Beach section of the resort. My wife and I were offered an upgrade to the adult only section but didn't want to be that far away from our family and friends so we declined.

Our room was on the second floor of the beach section. When we entered the room we got pretty much what we expected a basic and somewhat dated room. The only negative for me was that the air conditioning didn't work well at all for those of us on the second floor but we didn't complain and suffered through it. We thought there would be some sort of welcome gift like champaign, flowers, fruit or anything for us as the wedding couple but no such luck. My sister and her husband had flower petals on their bed a bottle of champaign and a fruit plate in their room. I'm guessing that was meant for us? We told the wedding coordinator who indicated she would fix it but nothing happened so I'm not sure what fixing it means?

At no point did the wedding coordinator contact us to greet us, check on us or speak to us other then during our scheduled meeting on Friday. The wedding we attended in Jamaica, the wedding coordinator contacted the bride to be everyday at least once before the wedding just to see how everything was. The rooms were incorrectly assigned to 4 of our guests but again we didn't complain.

To have the wedding dress steamed before the wedding cost $140 which I felt was a little unreasonable but again it is what it is. The package we choose which cost $1,600 included 10 photos. The photos are 5x7 and are printed and do not come on a disc or jump drive so pretty much useless. The only redeeming thing about the wedding was the ceremony which had nothing to do with the resort. We choose the Mayan ceremony which was conducted by someone not affiliated with the resort and whom we paid seperately. We had dinner afterwards at the steak house which like all the restaurants at the resort isn't air coniditioned which makes things a little uncomfortable but we made the best of it.

In hindsight I guess we were expecting more than we got from a wedding perspective after what we experienced in Jamaica a few months earlier. Iberostar are experts in destination weddings where as Sandos is a resort where you can get married so that's a major difference.

Did we receive value for our money? Absolutely not! What we recieved wasn't worth $500 but the ceremony made up for our disappointment.

The hotel itsef was great and I really don't have anything negative to say except for the limited air conditioning. The food was great and plentyful, the beach was the best we've been to in Mexico, the resort was well kept and clean and the staff we encountered were great and always helpful. The only thing that would prevent us from returing to this resort was the number of kids. Wow! This place was like a big play ground surrounded by kids everywhere. The kids didn't bother us but when we travel we prefer to have fewer or no children around. We have adult children and love kids but not during our vacation.

If you are going to this resort on vacation then I would recommend it and the adult only section if you prefer fewer children. If you're going to get married then I would caution you depending on your expectations. If you are looking to be pampered as a bride to be and given lots of attention by the hotel then you may want to look elsewhere for a wedding resort like and Iberostar.

Room Tip: Air conditioning seemed to work better on the ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NewBrunswickChuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

My family and I have had so so much fun!!! Being a part of the royal elite family Donaciano Gomez is the most amazing bar tender and makes our experience in the elite lounge the BEST. He always has a smile on his face and is very social and professional. I will miss him. The beach is beautiful as well, and the activities and entertainment team is so much fun. We always look forward to coming back. :):) Our family definitely recommends this location to others. Its perfect.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaylynn193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandos_Playacar, General Manager at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Kaylynn193,

While extending warm regards from this “Su casa”, Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa, I would like to thank you for the time invested in sharing with us and this online community your experiences lived during your recent visit.

We are very happy to know that we managed to exceed your overall expectations in such a way that you plan to visit us again. Thank you for recognizing the efforts of our wonderful staff, I will definitely extend your regards to Donaciano, we are proud to have him in our team.

Kindest wishes, we treasure your positive comments, and hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again, on your next trip.

Warm Regards,

Miguel Vargas
General Manager
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa
webrelations.playacar@sandos.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chanhassen, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

We are a family of four and just finished our first visit to the resort. There were many highlights including a great location on a world famous beach, fun activities led by Armando, great beach side service by Kristell in the Royal Elite Section and awesome margaritas by Roderigo in the Premium Bar at the Meeting Point.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandos_Playacar, General Manager at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Steve P,

We are much honored to know that you enjoyed the Sandos Playacar Experience our pool time, beach time, and social activities, all those details are part of our brand and the compromise that we have to offer to our guests.

Armando, Krsitell and Rodrigo will be informed about your mention; we let them know how they helped to make your stay memorable.
Warm Regards,
Miguel Vargas
General Manager
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa
webrelations.playacar@sandos.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
5.5 mi away
Sandos Caracol Eco Resort
Sandos Caracol Eco Resort
#81 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
12,512 reviews
1.2 mi away
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar
#41 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4,703 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Reef Playacar
The Reef Playacar
#96 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#33 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4,126 reviews
1.4 mi away
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
#43 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
6,503 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar
#52 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4,894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandos Playacar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandos Playacar Beach Resort

Property: Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
Address: Paseo Xaman-Ha | Manzana 1, Lote 1 Fracc.Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#35 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#43 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#43 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#46 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#53 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandos Playacar Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 819
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa is an all-Inclusive hotel in Playa del Carmen with both family and adult sections. We are ideally located on a magnificent white sandy beach in the gated community of Playacar, within walking distance to downtown Playa and Fifth Avenue. Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa is located only forty-five minutes from the Cancun International Airport, and the pier serving ferries to Cozumel is a short distance from our property.Playacar is a private, master-planned community situated on the southern edge of downtown Playa del Carmen. Guests at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa enjoy this exclusive community’s impressive infrastructure, including an 18-hole golf course designed by Robert Von Hagge, the Xaman-Ha Aviary, pristine biking paths, and Mayan ruins, accessible to the public for hiking.Riviera Maya is a protected region where many remaining artifacts from the fascinating Mayan civilization can be found. Surrounded by Mayan archeological zones, such as those at Tulum, Coba, and Chicen-Itza, this Playa del Carmen hotel successfully preserves a strong sense of Mayan culture onsite, adding an authentic feel and flavor to the vacation experience in Playacar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sandos Playacar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandos Playacar Beach Hotel
Hotel Sandos Playacar Beach
Beach Playacar Resort Sandos
Sandos Playacar Resort
Sandos Playa Del Carmen
Gala Resort Playacar
Sandos Gala Playacar
Sandos Playacar Mexico
Sandos Resort
Playacar Sandos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing