We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sandos Playacar in March 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
Ranked #61 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Almost all was great! The beach is perfect, wild beach is just near the hotel. The food assortiment was wide and with good quality. Quite calm hotel mostly for families.
Negative - Sleep quality, i mean sound isolation between the rooms and a shortage of young people.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Albert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (12,886)
There are newer reviews for Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,035 - 3,041 of 12,891 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2014

We have traveled to many nice resorts in the Carribean and Maui and this is at one of the tops on our list for sure! We will defiitely by coming back! Huge resort and we had Premium wrist bands which entitled us to the adults only pool with swim up bar and first class drink/food service. This resort is top notch in all facets. Thanks for the photos Alan Medina!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Travis2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Just returned from 8 day stay. Not our first all inclusive resort. We spent 2 nights in the older rooms near the beach. They are definitely in need of updating and we ended up upgrading and moving to the adult area. These rooms were much nicer. The rooms and resort are kept very clean and all of the employees work hard for their guests. We ate at the steak, Mediterranean and Mexican restaurants. No one in our party liked the steak restaurant. Everyone enjoyed/liked the Mexican restaurants. We always found something to eat at the buffets. We didn't care for any of the desserts in the buffets or restaurants. The buffet by the pool was closed for remodeling. Overall we enjoyed our stay, but would not likely go back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wicolia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We are Royal Elite members and thoroughly enjoyed our dinner at the Mexican a la carte restaurant ...twice! Our server Cordero was the best waiter we have ever had at any Sandos. His personal touch..remembering our names and pleasant demeanor made our dinner experience very enjoyable. We also wanted to mention that Alphonso made excellent margaritas and the chef named David made the best burritos in Mexico!

Room Tip: Haciendas are nice for families.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jim s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We just returned last Sunday after a week at Sandos Playacar. We took our 8 year old girl and we had a blast. Normally because we are a new couple, just the two of us have vacationed. This is a great place for kids and adults looking for a fun family vacation. I can't speak about the adult section. So, the resort itself? The best one I have been to in Playacar area and I have been to at least 8 north and south of Playa Del Carmen. The food is the best food I have had so far but if you are like us, we have never found mass produced food very good in Mexico or anywhere else so we don't expect a lot. It's cooked differently than we are used too. We did eat at the Steakhouse, it was okay, but I have had less than perfect meals in Calgary too. We didn't go to Mexico for the food, we went for the sun and the beach and you will certainly find the best beach in Playacar here at the Sandos. You won't starve in a week and there's lots to choose from. They make a genuine effort to please but you can't please everyone. There's lots of really fun enetrtainment and for a little break, we dropped our daughter at the Kids Club, she loved it, Caitlyn? the young lady from Chile was absoultely adored by our daughter. Such a sweetheart. All the employees at Sandos are super. My wife left her purse in the threater, I went back 15 minutes later it was still there. I left my I-phone at the pool, I got it back at the front desk. It was turned in by an employee. I wish I knew his name because I'd give him kudos here. It's too bad you only ever hear about the bad stories sometimes about stuff being stolen, ( who says the workers steal things anyway, there's people there from everywhere) you rarely hear about the good things that truly represent the Mexican people as a whole. We have always found them super friendly and genuine. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay. Sure we did get a few people approach us about the time share thing, so what? That's their job. If you complain about stuff like that you are missing the whole idea of your vacation. Relax ! Go there and let your family have a super time. The evening shows were so fun.
We'd go back in a heartbeat. Armando is a super bartender, they all are. Always trying to please.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We arrived before Check in time and the room was available and we were able to enjoy this wonderful beach all inclusive , its a great value and the staff in including personally assistance of Alan medina, I will definitely comeback again

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
5  Thank Fernando G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandos_Playacar, General Manager at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear Fernando G,

Thank you for letting us know how your stay was, we will be more than happy to have the opportunity to host you again very soon and give you once again the good service you have already experienced.

Please feel free to contact us.
Warm Regards,
Juan Oliveira
Assistant Manager
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa
webrelations.playacar@sandos.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

From the time we stepped foot on resort everyone there made us feel very welcome and safe. Rooms were great and clean.. Place was clean.. Staff was happy and friendly.. Vicky from Apple vacations rocks she was excellent and answered anything I had to ask and was probably sick of me by the end because I had a lot of questions went way above and beyond for us. Fernando the night receptionist was great also and took great care of out wants and needs..and diony morales the waitress/bar tender from disco was awesome kept us partying all night and even showed me an awesome pop can holding trick!! Her helper angel was great too!! There was 16 people in our group and we had a blast and with people like this working there made it what it was!!

Room Tip: Any floor with a pool view !!
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jim X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandos_Playacar, General Manager at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear Jim X,

Thank you for sharing your experiences with the Trip advisor community; it was a pleasure to read your review and we are sure this has helped many travelers confirm that Sandos Playacar is the perfect hotel for their vacation.

We are pleased that you loved it here; we will share your positive comments with our staff; it encourages them to continue working hard.

Please do not forget that we will be pleased to welcome you back at any time.

Kind regards,
Juan Oliveira
Assistant Manager
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa
webrelations.playacar@sandos.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.9 mi away
Sandos Caracol Eco Resort
Sandos Caracol Eco Resort
#80 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
12,790 reviews
1.2 mi away
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar
#44 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4,825 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#35 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Reef Playacar
The Reef Playacar
#92 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4,784 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar
#51 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,025 reviews
1.4 mi away
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
#46 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
6,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandos Playacar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandos Playacar Beach Resort

Address: Paseo Xaman-Ha | Manzana 1, Lote 1 Fracc.Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#35 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#42 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#43 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#45 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#53 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $193 - $541 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandos Playacar Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 819
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa is an all-Inclusive hotel in Playa del Carmen with both family and adult sections. We are ideally located on a magnificent white sandy beach in the gated community of Playacar, within walking distance to downtown Playa and Fifth Avenue. Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa is located only forty-five minutes from the Cancun International Airport, and the pier serving ferries to Cozumel is a short distance from our property.Playacar is a private, master-planned community situated on the southern edge of downtown Playa del Carmen. Guests at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa enjoy this exclusive community’s impressive infrastructure, including an 18-hole golf course designed by Robert Von Hagge, the Xaman-Ha Aviary, pristine biking paths, and Mayan ruins, accessible to the public for hiking.Riviera Maya is a protected region where many remaining artifacts from the fascinating Mayan civilization can be found. Surrounded by Mayan archeological zones, such as those at Tulum, Coba, and Chicen-Itza, this Playa del Carmen hotel successfully preserves a strong sense of Mayan culture onsite, adding an authentic feel and flavor to the vacation experience in Playacar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandos Playacar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandos Playacar Beach Hotel
Hotel Sandos Playacar Beach
Beach Playacar Resort Sandos
Sandos Playacar Resort
Sandos Playa Del Carmen
Gala Resort Playacar
Sandos Gala Playacar
Sandos Playacar Mexico
Sandos Resort
Playacar Sandos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing