We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Iberostar Tucan Hotel(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Riu Yucatan(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
ClubHotel Riu Tequila(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Viva Wyndham Maya(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Riu Playacar(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Royal Hideaway Playacar(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Allegro Playacar(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Viva Wyndham Azteca(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Riu Lupita(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (13,963)
Filter reviews
13,963 results
Traveler rating
7,217
4,427
1,432
527
360
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7,217
4,427
1,432
527
360
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmeeting pointriviera sectioncupcake cafeadult sectionhacienda suitesle gourmetavenue barcorderofestival buffetgrand buffetitalian buffetpremium barselect clubswim up barkids clubelite poolfamily section
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,661 - 3,666 of 13,963 reviews
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We have been vacationing in Caribbean all inclusives for more than a decade and I think this is the best hotel we have stayed in to date (including some of the more expensive and higher-rated ones).

Pleasant surprises started at the check in: we came to the reception desk and expected the usual process, but a lovely lady took us aside, sat at the table and told us she will took care of everything. And she did. There were four of us and two of my parents in law who booked separately. So we were placed in the family wing and they got a room in a child-free part of the resort. We explained that we wanted to stay close and share the kids. There were no such rooms so she gave us the best option she had and promised to try to move us closer together when it becomes possible. She also asked for our preferences for ala carte restaurants and said she would book them for our entire stay. It was an early check-in and the rooms were not ready, so we went for lunch. As we were wandering back from the restaurant lost in search of our buildings she found us and told she was able to find us two rooms close to each other and walked us to our new rooms - that was service! She also sent us the reservations for the entire stay.

The room was huge! 2 double beds and a sofa that turned into the third one. It was a bit strange that there was a window with shutters between the bathroom and main room (I guess to allow people soaking in the jacuzzi to admire the view of the pool and shrubs outside our balcony.this meant it was impossible to turn on the light in the bathroom at night without waking others.

Food choices were somewhat limited but very edible. Most of the time we ate at the main buffet. There was about half as many options there compared to other places but the quality was pretty good and I could always find 1 or 2 that I found enjoyable. There were no lobsters or crabs but plenty of fresh seafood. We tried 3 ala-carte restaurants (Brazilian, Asian and French) all were very good.

Alcohol options were ok, not the top brands but decent variety and definitely not the junk from big plastic bottles.

Beach was great - huge, deep, with lots of beds and plenty of shade. Soft warm golden sands.

Lot's of friendly animals on the site: monkeys, donkeys, mice. Kids loved feeding them.

We saw two evening shows both were amazing: best I have seen in a resort..

On the negative side:
- the beds were rather uncomfortable: too hard with lumpy pillows.
- there was no pool bar
- the resort was huge (15 minute walk from the farthest rooms to the beach. There were golf carts driving people back and forth but the waits were long and they often came full. So I suggest requesting the room in a beach-from access.
- all beach is sand - no corals or marine life to be seen anywhere

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LehaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandos_Playacar, General Manager at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Leha M,

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments and for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We would like to express our deepest gratitude for your feedback and suggestions as they are very valuable to us.

We would be more than happy to welcome you back for a second holiday in our resort.

Warmest Regards,
Juan Oliveira
Subdirector
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa
webrelations.playacar@sandos.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

I stayed here in 2012 for 2 weeks with my spouse. We enjoyed the hotel and surrounding area very much. We stayed in the adult area and I enjoyed having that option.
The staff was helpful when the rain came for two days, and they made sure that people had activities to do out of the rain.
All the restaurants we ate at were good, but we always find the buffets the best choice. We like to sit in the same section and get to know our wait staff. Here we had fabulous service and were even given a special dessert on our last night.
The grounds were clean and well kept. The donkey was an added bonus.
The only downfall was deciding to sit through the talk for a time share. For those of us traveling a distance it makes no financial sense and the pushiness is annoying.
I would go back here again.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Alinette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandos_Playacar, General Manager at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Alinette,


Thank you for letting us know how your stay was, we will be more than happy to have the opportunity to host you again very soon and give you once again the good service you have already experienced.

Please feel free to contact us.
Warm Regards,
Juan Oliveira
Subdirector
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa
webrelations.playacar@sandos.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

The check-in process was painless - a manager (Vicky) checked us in within minutes accommodating all our requests. The rooms are nice the food is reliably decent. This hotel does not knock you off your feet with opulence and many extras, but everything is well thought through, and you will not lack any conveniences. The emphasis is more on serving you right - exceptionally attentive staff and management. There are no hollering maids in the hallways. Nobody extorts you for money at the hotel.
The beach is fantastic - no rocks or seaweeds, enough shade and chairs for everyone, good bar service. There is this awesome fruit smoothie bar that serves no alcohol, so you can send your child to get a fruity drink without worries. My kids loved the donkeys, monkeys and other animals on the grounds. Everyone feeds the animals even though one's not supposed to.

Some cons:The hotel is huge. Getting around with small children is an issue - there are simply not enough golf-carts to drive you. It was annoying. There was constant construction noise in the room next door for two days. We had to complain. The beds are not very comfortable.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ymaclinovsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandos_Playacar, General Manager at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear ymaclynovsky,

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments and for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We would like to express our deepest gratitude for your feedback and suggestions as they are very valuable to us.

We would be more than happy to welcome you back for a second holiday in our resort.

Warmest Regards,
Juan Oliveira
Subdirector
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa
webrelations.playacar@sandos.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

I love this resort! The beach is beautiful. Rooms were clean and luxurious. The ac works well! The staff take pride in their work and bent over backwards to make our stay amazing. The food was incredible. So many choices! I ate and drank everything and did not get sick. The drinks were delicious! There was always a lot to do. Always felt safe! I want to go back!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kristin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandos_Playacar, General Manager at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Kristin W,

We would like to thank you for your review published on Trip Advisor.

It honors us to receive such a compliment and encourages us to continue exceeding our clients’ expectations.

We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know we are providing a good service.

Please do not hesitate to contact us prior to your arrival so we can assist with all pre arrival requests and be sure that your stay surpasses all expectations.
Warm Regards,
Juan Oliveira
Subdirector
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa
webrelations.playacar@sandos.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

we were here for a week and left sunny playacar for cold freezing USA. it was beautiful there. the place is a great location on the beach and a beautiful property. the facilities seem very up to date and well kept. the black wristband is a big plus. the restaurants range from ok to great. we ate at the steak house and it was pretty good, the mexican was average and the french was tops. the asian place is not too hot from what many other guests told us. it was described to us as bad chinese food. the breakfast and lunch buffet are done well considering its for the masses. nothing special but not bad either. we did not get sick. alcohol is plentiful. the house red wine is more like red wine vinegar. it is really bad, but the wine list is not bad and not too expensive. we had wine many nights and it was acceptable. housekeeping left a lot to be desired. every day it was something wrong. no washrags one day, no bath mat one day, no coffee refill one day, no soaps one day - and management called one day to see how everything was going and i reported this to them. its the little things that count. the beach is amazing and the pools were excellent too. the water temp is good right now. the spa is top notch and i worked out there numerous times. the hydro pool is amazing and you need to check it out the first day you can because you will be there daily if you can. this is a fun place for couples and families with children. you are a few minutes from town and the many bargains offered there. we felt completely safe the whole time we were in town and we went three times. the food in town was good and no tummy bug. the cupcake cafe, the VIP lounges all have great service and great coffee and great drinks. the wifi was great and its free.

Room Tip: no kids, go for the gold band.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank discip1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandos_Playacar, General Manager at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear discip 1e,

Thank you for your comments. Your feed back is very important to us. It`s thanks to our guests comments that we can improve our services in order to provide a unique experience and guest satisfaction.

We hope you would like to honor us once more with your visit, thus giving us the chance to demonstrate that our commitment towards your satisfaction goes beyond mere words. We'll do our maximum effort not only to accomplish, but exceed your expectations.

I kindly remain at your total disposal for any further comments.

Best Regards

Juan Oliveira
Subdirector
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa
webrelations.playacar@sandos.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews