We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sandos second time around”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
Ranked #64 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sandos second time around”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Best staff ever!!! Daniela Delgado and Vicky from the front desk:) great gals that know what customer service is all about!!!!! Love this resort , free Internet , crepe bar and cupcake bar!!! Beautiful beach ever and great room beside beach!!!!! Second time and I will be back!!!!

Room Tip: Get rooms closer to the beach room 2210 was fabulous!!!! Walked to buffet and beach without the hike...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darlingqueen1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandos_Playacar, General Manager at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Darlingqueen1965,

Thank you for sharing your experiences with the Trip advisor community; it was a pleasure to read your review and we are sure this has helped many travelers confirm that Sandos Playacar is the perfect hotel for their vacation.

We are pleased that you loved it here; we will share your positive comments with our staff; it encourages them to continue working hard.

Please do not forget that we will be pleased to welcome you back at any time.

Kind regards,
Ivan Tapia
General Manager
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa
director.playacar@sandos.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12,404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,248
    4,025
    1,318
    487
    326
See reviews for
4,818
4,616
153
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,821)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

There are no ocean front rooms. Need to walk a ways to the beach, but not bad. Just felt a little boxed in. Hotel rooms were somewhat clean, but it did lack amenities. They do not have any face cloths, and not enough hangers.

Being in Mexico, you think they would serve the real Kaluha, but would always serve the cheap stuff. Everything is included, but my husband and I could not get a good mixed drink unless you specifically asked for the top shelf stuff and then they would say they were out. They had many activities around the pool. Volley ball, which my oldest loved, was always being played on the beach. I think it was the best beach as there were no hotels on the right of ours. There were days where we had to actually climb down from the sand dune to get on the beach. If waters were too rough, they would put out a flag to warn you. We only had 1 day when the wayes were a little too rough for my boys.

Food was ok, nothing special. We never drank the water, even brushed our teeth with bottled water, but somehow we all got sick. Lime and coke helped, but almost ruined our excursions we had booked. The best were the two excursions, I believe the first was called "edventure," which was awesome!!!! A whole day of "ed"ventures, from zip line, to cliff diving, to seeing the ruins, snorkling, etc. The second was a snorkeling excursion in the caves. Believe it was called cinco caves... We did book a dinner at an arena and watched a nice show about the Mexican culture such as their dances, colorful outfits, games, etc. Staff was friendly.

We have been on many beach vacations, Maui, Aruba, Bermuda, Bahamas and this was our least favorite. It was one of the hottest places!! I'm happy we all went, we have good memories, but will not be returning.

Room Tip: There are no ocean front rooms, which we love when we go to the ocean.. We could see the ocean on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaKeW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Unfortunately we purchased ten years/2weeks a year. We still have to pay the all inclusive price. We were there last week and are they STILL trying to sell us more weeks. The beds and pillows were so uncomfortable , my neck started to bother me. The service is terrible and the room was in desperate need of a makeover. I WAITED FOR OVER AN HOUR FOR THE BELL BOY TO COME PICK UP THE LUGGAGE TO CHECK OUT. We had him scheduled for a certain time and he did not show until an hour later. Do I want to go back? Never!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbyouzwak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

First off I think this was an overall good deal, this hotel was middle to bottom of the all inclusive price range and performed relatively well. The resort, staff, and grounds were good and I would rate 3.5-4. The beach was very nice 4-4.5. The bars and restaurants get 2-2.5. So will focus on the most lacking. Bars had good service but mostly generics, only recognized 3 labels behind the bar. The only actual complaint was the dining. The ala carte restaurants all require reservations and based on your length of stay. For a 7 night stay we got 3 reservations which we tried to book on 4 occasions and their "systems were down," yet the restaurants still had people in them that night. When the system came back up they only had 3 of the 5 available for the rest of the week and only 1 time slot available. The ala carte restaurants were very good but the other 4 nights were either choose the buffet or get a sandwich. Room service is included but menu is very limited. I do have to give props to the onsite coffee shop as it was very good. Also note that they will push the "welcome tour" which is just a long timeshare sales meeting, they were very persistent but we never did it.

Room Tip: Adult club is furthest from the beach but secluded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandos_Playacar, General Manager at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Matt K,

On a behalf of the Staff and Management here at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort and Spa we would like to thank you for your review. However, we feel sorry that our Hotel didn’t meet your expectation.
We assure you that improvement, in all our services are an ongoing process and our priority is guests’ satisfaction. We do hope to have another opportunity in the near future, to make your holiday unforgettable. If you decide to give us another chance, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best Regards,

Ivan Tapia
Director General
Hotel Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & SPA
E-Mail: director.playacar@sandos.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

My husband and me were recently to Sandos Playacar and the Manager Vicki Novelo Estrada was very professional and patient with us, it is very rare to have someone like her as she kindly attended and orient us with all the comforts of the hotel.
Definitely that we will return to the hotel again and also tell all our friends the good location and service you have.

Room Tip: Rooms next to the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graciela E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandos_Playacar, General Manager at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Graciela E,

While extending cordial regards from this “Su Casa” Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa, I would like to thank you for posting this kind review, and sharing the wonderful experience you had during your stay.

We are glad to know that our services exceeded your holiday expectations, thank you for recognizing our hard working staff. I am filled with pride knowing their hospitality and service made your stay the more pleasurable.

Rest assured that your review is valuable to us and the further development of our hotel, by the time you visit us again you will be able to admire many positive changes that have come from our guest comments, with the sole objective of heightening your experiences. We thank you for highlighting our attributes as well as your recommendations.

We hope to have the honor of serving you in the future.

Kindest Wishes,
Ivan Tapia
General Manager
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa
director.playacar@sandos.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

My boyfriend and I came here on Oct 17-23 for a destination wedding. We were anticipating our first all-inclusive vacation! The entrance were very grand and we were getting excited stepping foot into the resort to check in.

We arrived at 4:50pm and were greeted by a staff whom asked us our age and commented we look very young. Being Asians, we get that a lot and didn't really think too much of that. But after asking that she just let us check in...another group came in behind us and the same lady brought the family drinks and assisted them. I guess we were not VIPs...and we let that slip.

The front desk clerk, M, was very flustered. She was cold and annoyed. Our room was not ready and instead of a king size bed, we got a room with 2 queen size beds. We have dinner with the bridal party at 6pm and our room was not ready until close to 5:15pm! When we asked if there was dress code to the restaurant, she told us no so we both wore sleeveless. At the restaurant, my bf was told he wasn't allowed in due to the dress code and we had to rush back to the room to change. In addition the clerk forgot to give us our towel cards and a discount for the spa. Our friend arrived behind us and got served by the same clerk but she got much better service...I promise we weren't being rude. The experience definite was a damper to our start.

Our room was in the family section right by the pool. My first impression was that it is a very dated room but it was spacious and we had our own jacuzzi in the bathroom and double vanity! I liked the fact that you can open up the divider between bathroom and the bedroom in order to enjoy the jacuzzi and watch TV at the same time! The mini fridge was constantly stocked as well as our 2 large bottles of water. However, the iron and the ironing board was falling apart. The iron was so rusty it dropped a bunch of stuff on my dress before i even turn it on...In addition, our phone was not working when we needed it the most! We brought the phone to the front desk and we never got a replacement. Beside the pre-ordered breakfast, which we didn't get what we asked for, we never got room service with the lack of phone.

The food and drink were very good! We loved the international buffet! We went there almost everyday for breakfast, snacks, lunch and dinner. The wide selection of food was fresh and tasty. It was hit/miss with some of the a la cart restaurants. The Asiana was complete flop...their Asian food really terrible. Their fried ice cream/banana were not fried but rolled into tempura chips. Our favourite was the Mexican restaurant! Brazilian wasn't bad if you are a carnivore since it is meat course after meat course after meat course! We frequented the cupcake lounge for their coffee, AC and wifi. Don't let the pretty presentation of the desserts fool you, they were often stale and lackluster.

The experience was great with all the event at night! We really enjoyed the Mexican fiesta night with all the local food, mariachi band and dancing! There were also some vendors selling crafts which was a lot of fun to be part of. I had fun doing zumba on the beach. BF and I even went to a spin class to burn off some calories!

The gym/spa facility was definitely a bonus! The gym is so new and well equipped. The spa pool has lounge chairs in the pool! Great to cool while tanning! In addition, it isn't as crowded in that area so it is definitely zen to just enjoy! We didn't do any spa as the prices were ridiculously high.

We walked everywhere! The hotel is quite accessible by foot. We were never able to catch those golf carts because they were always full of people.

It was fun and enjoyable but I think if I were to come back to Playa Del Carmen, I want to try other AI hotels

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissAnxious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandos_Playacar, General Manager at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Miss Anxious,

Warm regards from Playa del Carmen

We hope you would like to honor us once more with your visit, thus giving us the chance to demostrate that our commitment towards your satisfaction goes beyond more words. We'll do our maximum effort not only to accomplish, but exceed your expectations.

Please contact me at director.playacar@sandos.com and it would be an Honor assist you in all your needs and special request.

I kindly remain at your total disposal for any further comments.
Best Regards
Ivan Tapia
General Manager
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa
director.playacar@sandos.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

The service is excellent! Everyone is so nice and would do anything to help you. Armando at the bar was the best !! Made fantastic drinks! The property was beautiful and there like 5 pools. The food however is not good. Buffet food looks better than it taste. It was really bland and the cold stuff was warm. The nights we had reservations however the food was fantastic. Overall it was a good value and i would recommend this resort !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 22jennab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandos_Playacar, General Manager at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear jenna b,

While extending warm regards from this “Su casa”, Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa, I would like to thank you for the time invested in sharing with us and this online community your experiences lived during your recent visit.

We are very happy to know that we managed to exceed your overall expectations in such a way that you plan to visit us again. Thank you for recognizing the efforts of our wonderful staff, I will definitely extend your regards to Armando we are proud to have him in our team.

Kindest wishes, we treasure your positive comments, and hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again, on your next trip.

Warm Regards,

Ivan Tapia
General Manager
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa
director.playacar@sandos.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
5.1 mi away
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
The Royal Haciendas All Suites R...
#48 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,481 reviews
5.5 mi away
Sandos Caracol Eco Resort
Sandos Caracol Eco Resort
#79 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
12,394 reviews
1.2 mi away
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar
#41 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Reef Playacar
The Reef Playacar
#95 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4,547 reviews
1.4 mi away
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
#42 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
6,444 reviews
2.4 mi away
Gran Porto Resort
Gran Porto Resort
#31 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
9,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandos Playacar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandos Playacar Beach Resort

Property: Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
Address: Paseo Xaman-Ha | Manzana 1, Lote 1 Fracc.Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#36 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#44 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#45 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#49 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#53 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandos Playacar Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 819
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa is an all-Inclusive hotel in Playa del Carmen with both family and adult sections. We are ideally located on a magnificent white sandy beach in the gated community of Playacar, within walking distance to downtown Playa and Fifth Avenue. Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa is located only forty-five minutes from the Cancun International Airport, and the pier serving ferries to Cozumel is a short distance from our property.Playacar is a private, master-planned community situated on the southern edge of downtown Playa del Carmen. Guests at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa enjoy this exclusive community’s impressive infrastructure, including an 18-hole golf course designed by Robert Von Hagge, the Xaman-Ha Aviary, pristine biking paths, and Mayan ruins, accessible to the public for hiking.Riviera Maya is a protected region where many remaining artifacts from the fascinating Mayan civilization can be found. Surrounded by Mayan archeological zones, such as those at Tulum, Coba, and Chicen-Itza, this Playa del Carmen hotel successfully preserves a strong sense of Mayan culture onsite, adding an authentic feel and flavor to the vacation experience in Playacar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Sandos Playacar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandos Playacar Beach Hotel
Hotel Sandos Playacar Beach
Beach Playacar Resort Sandos
Sandos Playacar Resort
Sandos Playa Del Carmen
Gala Resort Playacar
Sandos Gala Playacar
Sandos Playacar Mexico
Sandos Resort
Playacar Sandos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing