We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel Ever!!!!;-)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
Ranked #64 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Hotel Ever!!!!;-)”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Superdeluxe hotel, great service and great food! Everything you need they have it! Enough swimmingpools, wifi and roomservice 24/7 for free.minibar filled every day for free as well...i'm going back there that's for sure

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nielsbianca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandos_Playacar, General Manager at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Nielsbiaca,

Thank you for letting us know how perfect your stay was, we will be more than happy to have the opportunity to host you again very soon and give you once again the good service you have already experienced.

Please feel free to contact us.
Warm Regards,
Ivan Tapia
General Manager
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa
director.playacar@sandos.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12,405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,249
    4,025
    1,318
    487
    326
See reviews for
4,819
4,616
153
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,821)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

A large ocean front property on a soft sand beach with water so clear you can see your toes, Sandos offers amazing swimming. Nestled next to the rain forest jungle, our balcony offered views of butterflies, birds, the occasional kitty and the sounds of peace and quiet only to be broken by the soft sound of the shuttle cart. The adult section was the way to go for us plus you have easy access to the adult only pool with a swim up bar. Aurelia was always happy and worked hard, she was great. Marilysa our housekeeper kept our room super clean, She was always quick to smile and laugh, she makes super towel animals that were a fun surprise upon our return each day. She played a very important role in making sure our stay was as nice as it was. Food was good, the French ala carte restuarant being our favorite, a close second was the breakfast in the Riverera buffet. The cupcake cafe next to the shop is a ton of fun with delicious drinks. We loved the all inclusive, being able to drop in and get an Espresso once or twice a day was a real treat. We caught the Mexican show which was fun and yummy, the Michael Jackson show....you DO NOT want to miss, they were great and put on a show. We also caught the beach party and danced a few, played volleyball and learned to dance a dance on the beach...the entertainment team puts their whole heart into it and are fun and friendly. There is always something to do and since some relaxing was in order we were sure to enjoy the hammocks and loungers under the palapas beach side and the beds poolside where there are plenty of places to choose from. The spa is wonderful with gyms, spinners, sauna and yoga but we just hit the jacuzzi for a soak. I can't say enough good things. A special shout out to Kiani for going the extra mile by helping us to celebrate a birthday and for being there for us weeks before we made our reservations. She is fantastic at her job, we know she will be succesful in her endeavors and wish her well. A beautiful property is just property, it's the people that make the exp. special or....well, decidely not. Sandos has a great team! We will be sure to visit you soon :o)

My only wish would have been able to leave comments on their survey machine but neither were cooperative the day we left.

Jennifer

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nosdivadj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandos_Playacar, General Manager at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear nos divadj,

Thank you for sharing your experiences with the Trip advisor community; it was a pleasure to read your review and we are sure this has helped many travelers confirm that Sandos Playacar is the perfect hotel for their vacation.

We are pleased that you loved it here; we will share your positive comments with our staff; it encourages them to continue working hard.

Please do not forget that we will be pleased to welcome you back at any time.

Kind regards,
Ivan Tapia
General Manager
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa
director.playacar@sandos.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We went to Sandos at the end of July and had a wonderful family vacation with our two- and four-year olds. Our four-year old is still begging to go back a month later!


THE GOOD:

-- BEACH -- Biggest positive here was the beach. It was absolutely beautiful -- fine white sand and amazing turquoise water. The water was calm and perfect for the kids. There were plenty of lounge chairs, although there were definitely people paying the towel game by putting their stuff on chairs very early in the morning to reserve them all day even though they were barely there. We also really enjoyed hanging out in the hammocks, sipping mojitos from the beach bar, while the kiddos had smoothies.
-- HACIENDA JUNIOR SUITES -- We stayed in a Hacienda Junior suite, which was perfect for our family. It reasonably updated and roomy with two double beds and sofabed for the kids. Best of all these rooms are in a building with only ten units, which have their own semi-private small pool, hot tub and patio out back. The pool was a fantastic place to hang out when we didn't feel like trekking anywhere else and at the end of the day. It was super easy to watch our kids in it because it was small. There was almost never anyone else in there and our kids got a kick of having a pool all to themselves. My husband and I also enjoyed taking turns hanging out there while our kids were napping. This section is also centrally located and an easy walk both to the beach and to the Riveria section. Would definitely recommend these rooms to anyone with small kids.
-- SERVICE -- Overall service was fantastic. The housekeeping was particularly thorough and good. Our kids also napped at the time that housekeeping would usually come, but after a couple of days I asked them to start coming earlier in the day and they were very accommodating. Daniela in web services is also a star. She is super sweet and helped make us dinner reservations, which the main reservations line had said was impossible. She also helped organize a birthday cake for my son's birthday, which I thought was very nice.
- ENTERTAINMENT -- The shows -- Disney, Circus, Mexican fiesta, etc. were great for kids. They were more fun than I would have thought and a good way to end the day. Not sure I would have watched them without the kids, but they are definitely good for families. It was also great to have access to the mini-golf course, which we enjoyed on many days. Kids also really loved seeing all the animals -- capybaras, lizards and monkeys, etc. -- roaming around . . .

THE BAD:
-- THE NOISE -- This place is loud! Don't go here if you are looking for a peaceful and calm vacation. Since we were traveling with two toddlers, we don't expect anything but chaos. Still, it would be nice to be able to go the beach or the pool without having to hear overwhelmingly loud music and obnoxious announcements. I agree with other reviewers that the "oooo, oooo" and the Sandos song get old fast. Plus, the repetition gets old too. Same songs over and over. The walls in the rooms are pretty thin too, but this has been true at almost every hotel I have been at, so I guess it's nothing particular to Sandos. If you are sensitive to noise, the Hacienda section is a good choice because it isn't near any pools, restaurants, etc.
KIDS CLUB -- The kids club may be great for older kids, but I think it's inappropriate for younger ones. We were hoping to be able to leave our kids there for a few hours now and again, but after visiting we didn't feel safe leaving them there. The caregivers seemed nice, but the set up didn't seem appropriate for toddlers. There are a couple of swimming pools at the kids' club and they are not fenced off and the facility is not fenced off either. It's surrounded by bushes, but a kid could easily slip out and it's near a road where the golf carts come barreling down. It would only take a minute for a toddler to run into the road or the pool -- especially a rambunctious one. Probably would have been okay for a 4 or 5-year old or older (especially if they can swim), but I would definitely not leave a 2-year old there.

THE MEH:
-- No one goes to an all-inclusive expecting great food, so considering that the food was fine -- not great, but not bad either. The a la cartes had good service -- the Argentine and Brazilian had decent food and we though the Mediterranean was terrible and the service there was very slow. We liked the Italian buffet that was open for dinner much more than the main buffet. Although the food wasn't spectacular, we liked how much variety there was and the fact that you could get something at any time of the day -- we enjoyed being able to get a snack on the beach and the cupcake cafe and crepes were also fun for afternoon treats.

Overall, we thought it was great resort and a very good value for what we paid. We had a wonderful time and would go back.

Room Tip: Hacienda suites are centrally located and great if you have small kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SFShutterbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandos_Playacar, General Manager at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear SFShutterbug,

We would like to thank you for your review published on Trip Advisor.

It honors us to receive such a compliment and encourages us to continue exceeding our clients’ expectations.

We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know we are providing a good service.
We would like to express our deepest gratitude for your feedback and suggestions as they are very valuable to us.

We would be more than happy to welcome you back for a second holiday in our resort.

Warmest Regards,
Ivan Tapia
General Manager
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

our wedding at sandos was a day i couldnt dream of. the staff, weather and set up was amazing. or wedding coordinator lupita helped us plan every detail of our day from decorations, ceremony plans, reception and everything in between. the beach ceremony was semi private. but i never noticed anyone looking at us! ceremony went amazing. everything was planned out amazingly by Lupita! we had our dinner at the Mediterranean restaurant, and the captain Brenda was amazing. brenda did a wonderful job with a service. food ws excellent, cake ws good and the drinks were constant. Thank you Brenda! due to a weather changes we had a couple of last minute changes on our wedding day, but lupitamade everything work out without a hitch. we had a such a great day without any worry. in the bar lounge ( lobby bar) we met our favourite person at the resort - Diony! o my god! she was brilliant. we met her first night while we were waiting for the rest of our guests to arrive to the resort. she made us feel very welcoming. she was smiling, always in a good mood! always some special drinks. she was one of our best parts in our wedding day! we had our cocktail hour in the lobby bar! she was absolutely amazing. she was a blast! she made everyone have a fun time, she was funny the whole time! she was very friendly and a hard worker! anyone who is visiting sandos should make sure to meet Diony! Thank you for everything you did for us on our wedding day and rest of our trip! :)))))) you are the best :)))))
the only minus from our wedding was resort photographer! awful!!!!!!! i didnt like the half of the pictures!
The beach at the sandos is wonderful! white sand everywhere. the scuba shop had a great stuff for daily activities for snorkeling at a reasonable price
rooms were very clean every day! food was excellent everywhere!
thank you sandos and Lupita and Diony and Brenda for the amazing time. We will be back some day :)))

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elina1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandos_Playacar, General Manager at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Elina1212,

We cannot thank you enough for adding another great review to our list. We appreciate you took the time to share your experience with the trip Advisor community and we are glad to know that we exceeded most of your expectations.

Thank you very much for choosing Sandos Playacar Beach Resort for this special occasion and we wish you the best in your new life together, as husband and wife!!

Lupita, diony and Brenda will be informed about your mention; we let them know how they helped to make your stay memorable.
Warm Regards,
Ivan Tapia
General Manager
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa
director.playacar@sandos.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from the Sandos Playacar Adult Select hotel in Playa Del Carmen. We had a wonderful time. The beach is beyond words. Photos do not do it justice. The food was great and the grounds were beautiful. Our only issue was with the shower in terms of water pressure and drainage.

Thank you to Daniela who made dinner reservations for us prior to our arrival. She is very efficient in her job and easy to work with.

We would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank walkergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandos_Playacar, General Manager at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear walkergal,

We would like to thank you for your review. It is always a pleasure to have you home.

Please be sure your comment about the pressure of the shower is being taking in consideration your impression will help us a lot to keep growing as you deserve.

We would be more than happy to welcome you back for a second holiday in our resort.

Warmest Regards,
Ivan Tapia
General Manager
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa
director.playacar@sandos.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Had a great family vacation, wish we'd stayed longer! Few problems early on in vacation but really helpful staff sorted them out!

Great food, loved Hacienda suite felt more home from home!

Kids club refurbished whilst we were there! Not ideal! Most of the kids there were a lot older so my 2 & 4 were very overwhelmed! So we took them out and just loved the pool & gorgeous beach! Loved the photographer based there and got some great holiday photo's capturing the great time!

Room Tip: Originally booked 2 adjoining rooms, but they gave us 2 separate in the same block which did not wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandos_Playacar, General Manager at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Kate W,

Thank you for letting us know how your stay was, we will be more than happy to have the opportunity to host you again very soon and give you once again the good service you have already experienced.

Please feel free to contact us.
Warm Regards,
Ivan Tapia
General Manager
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa
director.playacar@sandos.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2013

The best resort that I have every been too. This was the first time to Sandos Playacar and was very happy. Very good entertainment every night, Very Nice clean resort, beautiful weather, nice adult section seperate from the family section, staff very friendly. Very accomidationg. For sure will be going back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FunNSun0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandos_Playacar, General Manager at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear FunNSun0,

Thank you very much for your gracious comments. We are glad that you liked our grounds, beach, entertainment activities and the amiability of our staff.

We are also very happy to hear that you were looking forward to returning to the hotel.

Do not hesitate to contact us prior to your arrival so we can assist with all pre arrival requests and be sure that your stay surpasses all expectations.
Warm regards.

Ivan Tapia
Director Hotel
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa
director.playacar@sandos.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
5.1 mi away
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
The Royal Haciendas All Suites R...
#49 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,481 reviews
5.5 mi away
Sandos Caracol Eco Resort
Sandos Caracol Eco Resort
#79 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
12,400 reviews
1.2 mi away
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar
#41 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Reef Playacar
The Reef Playacar
#95 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4,543 reviews
1.4 mi away
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
#42 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
6,444 reviews
2.4 mi away
Gran Porto Resort
Gran Porto Resort
#31 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
9,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandos Playacar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandos Playacar Beach Resort

Property: Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
Address: Paseo Xaman-Ha | Manzana 1, Lote 1 Fracc.Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#36 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#44 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#45 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#49 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#53 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandos Playacar Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 819
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa is an all-Inclusive hotel in Playa del Carmen with both family and adult sections. We are ideally located on a magnificent white sandy beach in the gated community of Playacar, within walking distance to downtown Playa and Fifth Avenue. Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa is located only forty-five minutes from the Cancun International Airport, and the pier serving ferries to Cozumel is a short distance from our property.Playacar is a private, master-planned community situated on the southern edge of downtown Playa del Carmen. Guests at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa enjoy this exclusive community’s impressive infrastructure, including an 18-hole golf course designed by Robert Von Hagge, the Xaman-Ha Aviary, pristine biking paths, and Mayan ruins, accessible to the public for hiking.Riviera Maya is a protected region where many remaining artifacts from the fascinating Mayan civilization can be found. Surrounded by Mayan archeological zones, such as those at Tulum, Coba, and Chicen-Itza, this Playa del Carmen hotel successfully preserves a strong sense of Mayan culture onsite, adding an authentic feel and flavor to the vacation experience in Playacar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sandos Playacar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandos Playacar Beach Hotel
Hotel Sandos Playacar Beach
Beach Playacar Resort Sandos
Sandos Playacar Resort
Sandos Playa Del Carmen
Gala Resort Playacar
Sandos Gala Playacar
Sandos Playacar Mexico
Sandos Resort
Playacar Sandos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing