We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“another trip to sandos”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
Ranked #61 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Orange Beach, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“another trip to sandos”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We spent another great vacation at Sandos. Since our last trip, the resort has made some improvements. There is a cupcake cafe, vip lounge, mini golf, and better great service.
First, the overall, grounds were well kept, beach is the best along the Maya.
The resort is family friendly, yet has adult only areas too.
The resort is eco friendly, with native animals ( coatis, monkeys, agoutis, iguanas, etc.) with informative signs.
There is a snorkel reef just a few meters away from the resort, with free gear for 1 hr. Lots of fish, and sea life.
Second, we stay in the older part by the water. rooms are being upgraded, but not new like the upper area. Comfy and clean. "Firm" bed, but we like it. There is a golf cart shuttle to take you to each area...no problems.
Third, the food at the buffets is good. Some say it is the same every morning, and I say, it has it all!! You can have fruit loops to omelets!! We never had a problem booking the individual restaurants. We like the Gourmet, and Mexican the best. The Asian, and Steak are very good, but are acoustically "live"....that is, noisy. Theme night in the buffet is very good.
Some say the buffet is sometimes not hot....I think the dishes at the back are hotter, and maybe the front is not so hot so that kids don't get burned?
We like to try some of the local dishes....some are very good, and I would suggest to give it a try...hey, you don't have to eat it.
Entertainment...great fun..every night there is a show in the plaza. One night there were native dancers, and it was great! Thanks to the Sandos entertainment staff...number 1!!
Last, but not least, the excellent staff at this resort.
Ivan Tapia, director, has done some excellent improvements, and has built a top quality staff.
Tommas is the Apple Vacation rep....number 1
We will mention some of the fabulous folks that were kind to us. When you go there, please ask for them by name. If you are nice....please use our name if you like.
We had a massage with Lidia....top quality!
My wife hurt her hand before we went to Sandos, and many staff helped her..Cesar, first aid,
Donaciano, Saadu...thank you.
Breakfast....Braulio, and Dominga.
The Beach...David.....
Bartenders....Rodrigo, Gustavo ( Tom Cruise) Fabio (?)
Dinner...my favorite Maya person, Valentina....Luciano in the Gourmet.
David Richard is in charge of food etc.....he will help you.
Front desk crew Gabriella ( sp), and all were friendly.
Even the cart drivers..Paulino, and Ceasar are so very friendly, thanks!
There are others that made us feel special too, just can't get them all here
I know this may sound a little bit like a travel agent, we are not!
We come here, and we have gone to other resorts, but this feels like home to us.
We try out our poor Spanish, and we get to know some folks from other areas.
Even though it is not required, please try to tip these fine workers...they deserve it.
Smile, have fun.....maybe again in Dec....hello to marpim!
Smiles,
Terry and Lynda

Room Tip: Rooms at the water are older, with old tvs. view of the water. newer rooms are further away, but qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TerryLyndaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12,552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,329
    4,073
    1,332
    490
    328
See reviews for
4,892
4,663
153
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,839)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vaudreuil-Dorion, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We found this hotel by accident because the original hotel we wanted to go to was full. What a pleasurable and awesome find. The Sandos beach resort was perfect. Great service, great food, great entertainment and lots of tequila!! Our beach bar tender Armando was the best!! He knew just what we liked and kept us very happy!!! The bartenders at the sports bar during the evening were also amazing and ready to serve. I had an injured ankle and they packed me a llittle bag of ice each night on my hobbly way back to the room, very nice of them, much appreciated!

Loved the beach it was amazing, clean, warm water..great beach service by a very hard working waitress walking around taking our orders in the hot sun. Lots of beach chairs. No complaints. We really like the food, but the beach bar buffet could have had a little more variety. The mexican restaurant was my fovorite and i cant stop thinking about the burrito i had,,yum yum

We LOVED our choice and had a great vacation. We definetely would return to the Playacar area!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngieD0816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presque Isle, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I'm amazed at reading some of the negative reviews here. We were at Sandos Playacar the week of 24 Apr through 01 May. We couldn't have had a better experience. Staff was wonderful, rooms were lovely...beds were firm, but we love a firm bed. Pillows were more than adequate...we slept very well. Beach and pools were lovely. We stayed in the 8000 building with pools outside and a bar and brunch/lunch place. Luis Alberto was top notch and treated us all so well. The grounds are immaculate and very pretty. Food was very adequate....none of us went hungry and there was something for everyone. Granted, buffets are not gourmet food, but very palatable. The room was immaculate and we had a great housekeeper Hilda. On the first day there, they delivered a lovely plate of fresh fruit and a bottle of tequila to our room. The frig was always stocked with cold drinks, the coffee maker in the room was great....always fresh bottled water. Our group (family members of 8) would definitely return to Sandos Playacar. WE HAVE NOTHING TO COMPLAIN ABOUT!

Room Tip: We were about a 5-7 minute walk from the beach...enjoy the walk just to take in the scenery and anim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pcw1718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Compton, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Resort was clean, food was not very good at all Im not picky eater but got a bug from the food and spent alot of time on the toilet beach was awesome beds were horrible pillows were rocks peoeple were nice no swim up bar in main pool area

Room Tip: bring your own pillows unless you like rocks
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank B F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caleta de Fuste, Spain
1 review
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I got back from Sandos a week ago. It was a really good experience! The food was quite good for buffet style. The room was awesome nice and clean! The staff gave great service. Jose and Maximo from the bar were awesome always so friendly! There's an entertainment team that has good activities all day till 11 at night. Very lively resort. Jimmy, Mauricio and Christian were great. Left an impression for sure. My only negative thing I would say is some of the entertainment team were very touchy and flirty. Joaquin came across really strong even though he works with his girl friend. Created weird problems for me when I'm on my vacation with my family. Staff shouldn't date each other it's really unprofessional

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We have been to Mexico many times and stayed at a bunch or resorts so we have some frame of reference. We travelled to Sandos Playacar from May 2nd to the 12th for a wedding. The wedding was great and seemed to go off without much of a hitch. We had a great time the entire stay however, I doubt i'd return though as over all it was nothing exceptional. We had a room in the 2400 block up near the beach with a partial ocean view. The beds are pretty hard but the pillows are awful. Our A/C was struggling in the heat to perform like it should . The beach and water are definitely beautiful. Friends were spread out in different areas of this long resort which was nice in the sense that we got to explore and see the whole resort however, at times it was a little tedious and annoying to have to walk. Then again, it was probably sobering to walk. You can always wait for the golf cart but how lazy can one be. If it's there take it if it's not then walk. Anyways, the old rooms are a bit dated and the new rooms we saw were a bit to dark but tastefully decorated. The pools are nice but warm. The bartenders were good with what they had to work with. I will complain that the drinks are not made with real fruit or juices and way too much sugar. We learned to adapt and tweak their mixes. It would be nice to have a blended drink with some real pineapple or strawberries in it. The food was edible. We did not partake in the al la cartes being vegetarian, there weren't many options dining. We are always happy having a salad bar at the buffet and the italian buffet was a good thing too. There were a good amount of fried foods, breads and pastries. It would be nice to have some more option but that is a vegetarian pipe dream. I can't say much about the entertainment shows as we did not watch any. The meeting point bands were ok. It was pretty cool to have a few animals running around. We had a lot of fun feeding the monkeys once we finally found out where they were hiding. Hold up a banana at the bottom of a tree over by the spa and likely one of the monkeys will come down and get it from you. Pretty cool experience and photo op. It was very handy to be able to borrow bikes and ride to Playa and if you did not feel like riding then a cab was $5 or 70P.We were not bothered by the time share beyond the initial harassment at arivall which I feel is a bit wrong to do at that time. It will only anger people to catch them off guard after travelling such a long ways to enjoy their vacation only to be roped into some time share pitch for a whopping $100. It's annoying but easily escaped. All in all, we had a great time partying and vacationing with our friends but nothing really makes we want to go back here. Sorry.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank screweduproyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

i had the good fortune of choosing:
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa in Playacar, Mexico!
for my vacation in mexico. i have stayed at plenty of 4 and 5-star resorts both in the states and around the world, and no place holds a candle to this all-inclusive resort. i was upgraded to a two-room suite, complete with a private pool and spa. luxurious touches included complimentary chocolate-covered strawberries and champagne each night, as well as a pillow menu. the staff was second to none, especially tommaso nieli, who personally took care of all my concerns. this place is spotless, beautiful, and safe. i would highly recommend sandos playacar to the most discerning of vacationers. i will be returning with my wife before the year is over. thank you tommaso and the entire staff at sandos for making this a great experience.
CARL ROTH, MAY 2013

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CARL89132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandos_Playacar, General Manager at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear CARL89132,

We are much honored to know that you enjoyed the Sandos Playacar Experience, the details are part of our brand and the compromise that we have to offer to our guests.

Tommaso will be informed about your mention; we let him know how he helped to make your stay memorable.

Warm Regards,
Ivan Tapia
General Manager
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa
director.playacar@sandos.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
5.5 mi away
Sandos Caracol Eco Resort
Sandos Caracol Eco Resort
#81 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
12,512 reviews
1.2 mi away
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar
#40 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4,703 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Reef Playacar
The Reef Playacar
#96 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4,642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#33 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4,130 reviews
1.4 mi away
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
#42 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
6,504 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar
#52 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4,895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandos Playacar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandos Playacar Beach Resort

Property: Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
Address: Paseo Xaman-Ha | Manzana 1, Lote 1 Fracc.Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#35 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#43 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#43 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#46 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#53 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandos Playacar Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 819
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa is an all-Inclusive hotel in Playa del Carmen with both family and adult sections. We are ideally located on a magnificent white sandy beach in the gated community of Playacar, within walking distance to downtown Playa and Fifth Avenue. Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa is located only forty-five minutes from the Cancun International Airport, and the pier serving ferries to Cozumel is a short distance from our property.Playacar is a private, master-planned community situated on the southern edge of downtown Playa del Carmen. Guests at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa enjoy this exclusive community’s impressive infrastructure, including an 18-hole golf course designed by Robert Von Hagge, the Xaman-Ha Aviary, pristine biking paths, and Mayan ruins, accessible to the public for hiking.Riviera Maya is a protected region where many remaining artifacts from the fascinating Mayan civilization can be found. Surrounded by Mayan archeological zones, such as those at Tulum, Coba, and Chicen-Itza, this Playa del Carmen hotel successfully preserves a strong sense of Mayan culture onsite, adding an authentic feel and flavor to the vacation experience in Playacar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sandos Playacar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandos Playacar Beach Hotel
Hotel Sandos Playacar Beach
Beach Playacar Resort Sandos
Sandos Playacar Resort
Sandos Playa Del Carmen
Gala Resort Playacar
Sandos Gala Playacar
Sandos Playacar Mexico
Sandos Resort
Playacar Sandos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing