We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
Panama Jack Resort(Playa del Carmen)
$241
$235
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$669
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
$397
$261
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
$288
$239
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
$450
$280
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Mahekal Beach Resort(Playa del Carmen)
$244
$202
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$864
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla(Playa del Carmen)
$387
$289
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Petit Lafitte(Playa del Carmen)
$168
$160
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$781
$504
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (13,974)
Filter reviews
13,974 results
Traveler rating
7,224
4,430
1,433
527
360
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7,224
4,430
1,433
527
360
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmeeting pointriviera sectioncupcake cafeadult sectionhacienda suitesle gourmetavenue barcorderofestival buffetgrand buffetitalian buffetpremium barselect clubswim up barkids clubelite poolfamily section
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
4,136 - 4,141 of 13,974 reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2013

This resort by far met all expectations and more. The resort, staff, and Tomasso were amazing. Very customer service oriented with lots of detail in the mix as well. I would recommend this resort to anyone. We have been to mexico eight times, and this by far was our best experience ever. Beach and ocean were awesome as well. Just like being in a giant swimming pool. Thanks Tomasso and sandos for a wonderful experience. Will be back soon. Gary & Sandie

Room Tip: Get close to pools and beach.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Went for a mini-vacation (3 days) with a 6 y.o. He did not want to leave the Kid's Club, apparently, it was amazing, great activities culminating in a show in which they let kids from the Kid's Club participate. Staff is super friendly and helpful throughout the hotel. The yoga instructor, Juan Carlos, is particularly impressive--a perfect blend of ancient cultures here (India & Maya). The beach is impeccable. Another highlight is the new coffee house--the Cupcake Cafe: cappuccino rivals the best European coffee houses, with the atmosphere and the decor to match. Food was very good, especially in the buffet restaurants. Of the a la carte, we've tried the French which was good and Mexican which, unfortunately, we did not like. We got upgraded to the casita on the second night, which was nice (did not care for the mattress though), but the rooms in the old part of the hotel, close to the sea, are small, and beds are uncomfortable. Still, I would probably opt out for smaller rooms closer to the beach than the bigger, newer ones that are 20 mins walk to the beach. Overall, a great place for a family vacation, mostly bc of the beach, the kid's club and the staff.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xrizantema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Our first stay at the Sandos Playacar was perfect. The beach is the most perfect I have ever seen from Cancun down to the Rivera Maya. THe Hacienda was gorgeous. Grounds were lovely and well manicured.

Restaurants were great, our favorite was the Gourmet. The Festival buffet was awesome! Food was delicious. Chefs were all around to make sure all was perfect. Charlie the chef was very gracious and his cooking is superb!

Special thanks to our adopted Sandos family, Martina, chief concierge,mommie and daddy love you. David, food and beverage manager, thank you for all the special attention.
All the waiters and waitresses were wonderful, special thanks to the Capitan at Gourmet and Luis at Gourmet, you are the best!

Thank you Director Ivan for running such a wonderful resort, we had a perfect vacation!

Each of you made our trip so special we hope to be back soon to visit the most beautiful resort we have seen.

Darlene and Larry

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I sent a family here for there Christmas Vacation and they LOVED IT! Spacious rooms, great food, lots of activities for both the kids and the adults, overall.... they cant wait to return next year. I recommend the Sandos properties to a lot of my clients especially when they are going with the Children!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

my husband and i just returned from 10 days at sandos playacar,while there he met some wonderful employees who went above and beyond their duties to make us feel comfortable. Two of the gentlemen worked in the royal elite bars one in the meeting room Rodrigo Santiand the other at the reception and reservtions area ,Gustavo Alvarez. But the one who made the greatest impression wasDavid Eduardo Alvarez Hernandez he not only was very effecient but always had a smile and was very courteous no matter how busy he was at the pool bar. we have alwaya love Sandos but people like them and many others make your vacation most enjoyable. Our housekeeper kept our beachfront room spotless and looking out at the ocean was wonderful 5 stars.
william & janice turner ROYAL ELITE MEMBERS

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank b8t8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews