We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A piece of Heaven!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
Ranked #59 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A piece of Heaven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

My sister and I went for holiday to Mexico for 2 weeks beginning February 2013. It was my first time and thus did some extensive research, (there are too many resorts/hotels to choose from and it got confusing). In the end we decided to stay in Playacar at Sandos Playacar as it fitted our criteria’s the most.

Our reason was: location - near to the hustle bustle, but yet we wanted some quite. Sandos is the farthest resort from PDC, yet near enough. It was a short taxi ride (fixed 70 pesos) to downtown (5th Ave), or about a 40minutes walk. Also most resorts have free bike rentals, so that was a comfortable 10minutes bike ride. Null problemo!
Further in my opinion, Sandos has simply the best and widest “rock-less” beaches around/near for PDC, (check it on google earth… amazing!
Lastly although we would have maybe liked to stay in an Adult-only, but frankly as we were on a certain “budget” (still not cheap), it was more reasonably priced compared to the others.

Anyway, overall we had a wonderful stay and experience and did not regret our decision. There is no doubt, the staff and services are friendly and very very hard working, (Thank you Porter staff, Ricardo from reception and especially Rosario at the sports bar and many more…). They are very attentive and helpful, the grounds and facilities immaculate, and the entertainment was … entertaining!

Room/resort:
We stayed in the Adult-only section/Junior Suite with a large Jacuzzi on the third floor, which is the furthest from the beach. The possible upgrade was to the beach section, however we opted to stay were we booked and I am glad we did. This Adult section is the newest, most up to date and the quietest. It takes about 5 ~7 minutes of slow-paced walk, (not the London rush hour walk), to get to the “Meeting point”, where most of the restaurants, activities and action take place. At the end of a night, back to quite part of the resort.
The room itself: it was big, clean and modern … no complain… except minor points: we wish we had a better shower-head with a strong water pressure. Ours literally sprinkled thinly, missing our heads. Also the room service menu itself was not too impressive; limited choice and snacks was not great. But we did not mind, as most of the time we were out and about or ate at the other resort restaurants.
The room was cleaned twice, and we had absolutely no problem otherwise, i.e. hard beds… ehhmmm no, we thought they were comfortable, neither too hard nor too soft.
The resort is huge, with many exotic creatures roaming around freely. It was always a pleasant walk to the beach. There is a shuttle running every 10 ~15minutes if you wished to wait for it.

Food/ restaurants:
There are two buffet style restaurants near (Italian and International) were no booking is required, and four a la carte restaurants. The buffet had plenty of option, so never got bored even though we ate there almost every night. Three times we booked a la carte, (French, Asian and Brazilian), and most say it was okayish, we prefered the variety at the buffet. Also a eating out in local PDC is highly recommended for experience.

The Beach:
The best part: absolutely heaven! White soft clean sands stretching out endlessly and the crystal clear warm waters; what more is there to say. *sigh*
There was a separate section for Adults-only, but I thought there was no problem finding beach chairs at any section, and even ample of shade for people wanting to stay out of the sun. The beach service was sparse perhaps; only one person assigned to a large section, yet the beach bar is so close by, why not get it yourself.
Well I could babble on, so if you have any questions, just contact me :)

I would absolutely recommend this resort to everyone, especially for families and couples. For singles, perhaps not as much, but we did not mind as we did a lot of other excursions and the remainder days relaxed at the beautiful beach, it served more than our purpose.
Thank you Sandos for wonderful experience, sadly 2 weeks were just not enough...!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HinaQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,937 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,985
    3,897
    1,270
    470
    315
See reviews for
4,613
4,450
144
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,756)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, New Brunswick, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

David was our server at the beach in the Royal Elite beach club section we could not have asked for a more entertaining and nice young man. His drinks were excellent when compared to just going to the bar. What a guy. My son and his friend enjoyed him very much. He was always smiling and joking. Definitely made our trip very enjoyable. He should be an ambassador to your resort. We had a great time with friends and enjoyed our stay with you. Dale, Natalie and Logan Currie. Thanks David.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

We were married at the resort on Feb 22. Everything was perfect - beautiful clean calm beach, gorgeous grounds, eco-friendly, family friendly, lovely adults only section, good food, amazing staff!! The wedding coordinator, Lupita is so organized and responsive, and they made sure to keep it simple for me - the ceremony site was just beautiful.

Everyone loved the space, most of us had rooms in the Riviera adults only section, so we woke up to singing birds and not splashing children! Classy minimalist decor. The place is really huge, but it worked well for us since there was plenty of space away from the main sections for our group to hang out together. There are so many food options, one can't go hungry. It's an hour away from Tulum and close to several cenotes - Rio Mistico is a must-see - so planning a day trip was easy. Also near 5th avenue's strip of restaurants and lounges for night life.

There's a shuttle within the resort which worked out great for the parents during midday sun, but the rest of us in our 30s loved walking through the resort and catching different animals and flowers on our way. Lots of daytime activities including salsa lessons from Heleman - I finally learned to make turns correctly! Night shows can be cheesy, but in good company everything is just so fun.

Make rsvps for a-la-carte restaurants on your first night to avoid buffet boredom, though they do offer a lot of variety. Their typical dishes are definitely the way to go. If you want dynamite burgers, you're out of luck. But who goes to Mexico for the burgers?! Their signature drinks are very sweet, but most folks loved them. The guac, the mole, the steak tacos, grilled pineapple, fresh guavas - all their fresh food was just fabulous!! And if you have the time and money to spend on a massage, ask for the awesome Andres. Loved this resort, and many are already begging to go back. =)

Room Tip: Choose the Riviera adults only section for a calmer atmosphere. It's far from everything, but th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yali G-K G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

We were a group of 17 people and we hosted for 14 days, it was a really nice resort with good food, very clean, including the bathrooms ...
In a first experiment, everything was perfect! 100% recommend

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Josee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

A clean, friendly resort with delicious food and the best beach on the Yucatan. A special mention to David E (members only pool waiter), Andres (superior massuse) and Vanessa Mex.It is my 5th time at this resort and I love being treated like a queen. It is good for couples or families. I cannot wait to return!

Room Tip: Haciendas are beautiful and quiet with a personal pool and hottub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mslinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Just returned from staying at this resort for 6 nights. We are comparing this trip to the other 5 times we have went to Mexico and stayed at other resorts in the area. We stayed in the Hacienda family area. Well worth the upgrade! 10 rooms per unit and each unit has its own outdoor hot tub and small pool. We were on the ground floor so we had a sliding glass door and a patio/pool/hot tub shared with the other rooms. Plenty of room and very quite.
Pros-
Room clean, staff friendly(they work very hard!), coffee house(cupcake shop),healthy bar (fruit juices, etc.),excellent beach(no rocks- go down a ways and snorkel around the reef),okay night entertainment, activity area for the kids (foosball,ping pong, etc.)lots of activities to do during the day (spanish lessons, bingo, volleyball, sand castle competition, etc.). Room service - at all times - limited menu but hey it was included and if you didn't want to waddle down to a buffet you could order something light and enjoy it by the pool. Saw many people doing this with small kiddos.
Cons-
The food - we ate at the brazilian & mexican restaurants - very similar to what was on the buffets everyday. We got there on Tuesday and wasn't able to go to an al a carte restaurant until Friday. Not busy just doing double duty - brazilian / steakhouse was one in the same and was open opposite nights (maybe?). The resort wasn't full so that is what we were thinking - another family we befriended also thought the same. The food was average and our family always looks forward to the al a carte restaurants but it was the same food in the buffets. We didn't go hungery just looking for alittle more in the al a carte areas that we have experienced at other resorts.
All in all, we had a great time and enjoyed ourselves. I would go again. Oh, USA they have regular outlets in the room we stayed in. Not sure about the other rooms.

Room Tip: We recommend the family haciendas - away from the night entertainment but close enough to the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PattyJean33706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

I was 26 when I stayed at Sandos with my cousins and aunt for a post college spring break vacation (feb 2010) It was amazing. The pool/entertainment staff always had activities and games going on - tequila volleyball was my favorite! We wanted to be where the action was so we requested to have a room overlooking the main pool which is the louder side. You can always request the front of the resort, which is quieter if you prefer. We did the all inclusive which I feel is always worth it. The staff also organized group trips into town at night for all you can drink deals and free admission into clubs with VIP access - all for one low price. Transportation there included. I keep hearing how dangerous mexico is, but we never felt unsafe, even when cabbing into town alone at night. But maybe we were lucky in Playa. The hotel had shows every night in the theater and the food was very good. The buffets had theme nights which was almost the same food each time but just prepared a different way, but always good so it was fine with me. The restaurants were delicious as well. The FRESH salsa every day was to die for. Lots of topless sun bathers on the beach just an FYI. I have no idea how the quiet side of the resort was, but I found this to be more of a party and "young" resort so if you're looking for a quiet and romantic trip, this might not be what you're looking for. But still had an amazing time. We did a couple excursions through the resort which were fun as well. But I def needed a vacation after my vacation.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laura w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
5.0 mi away
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
The Royal Haciendas All Suites R...
#44 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,269 reviews
5.5 mi away
Sandos Caracol Eco Resort
Sandos Caracol Eco Resort
#68 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12,004 reviews
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar
#45 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Reef Playacar
The Reef Playacar
#92 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,256 reviews
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
#41 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,266 reviews
2.4 mi away
Gran Porto Resort
Gran Porto Resort
#28 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandos Playacar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandos Playacar Beach Resort

Property: Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
Address: Paseo Xaman-Ha | Manzana 1, Lote 1 Fracc.Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#35 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#42 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#43 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#44 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#53 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandos Playacar Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 819
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa is an all-Inclusive hotel in Playa del Carmen with both family and adult sections. We are ideally located on a magnificent white sandy beach in the gated community of Playacar, within walking distance to downtown Playa and Fifth Avenue. Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa is located only forty-five minutes from the Cancun International Airport, and the pier serving ferries to Cozumel is a short distance from our property.Playacar is a private, master-planned community situated on the southern edge of downtown Playa del Carmen. Guests at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa enjoy this exclusive community’s impressive infrastructure, including an 18-hole golf course designed by Robert Von Hagge, the Xaman-Ha Aviary, pristine biking paths, and Mayan ruins, accessible to the public for hiking.Riviera Maya is a protected region where many remaining artifacts from the fascinating Mayan civilization can be found. Surrounded by Mayan archeological zones, such as those at Tulum, Coba, and Chicen-Itza, this Playa del Carmen hotel successfully preserves a strong sense of Mayan culture onsite, adding an authentic feel and flavor to the vacation experience in Playacar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Sandos Playacar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandos Playacar Beach Hotel
Hotel Sandos Playacar Beach
Beach Playacar Resort Sandos
Sandos Playacar Resort
Sandos Playa Del Carmen
Gala Resort Playacar
Sandos Gala Playacar
Sandos Playacar Mexico
Sandos Resort
Playacar Sandos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing