We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It Is Impossible To Go Anywhere Else, Once You Stay at Royal Hideaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Ranked #33 of 217 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed December 3, 2009

What an incredibly amazing time we just had at Royal Hideaway. The property is simply breathtaking. It is currently totally illuminated for the holiday season. How very spectacular to see all the palm trees embraced with thousands of brilliant white lights!You walk a breathtaking path from the resplendent holiday decorated lobby to the sea. The service is par excellence. We were completely and totally pampered and spoiled. The choice of food is incredible. You can dine on a full breakfast buffet, complete with pastries, croissants, muffins , very delicious breads, yummy cookies and great drinks!. A variety of tropical and local fruits are offered each and every day. The cheese and meat selection, along with typical breakfast fare composed of traditional American and Mexican dishes completes the variety of breakfast offerings, all available to delight in, overlooking the turquoise blue waters .Lunch is offered poolside or on the Deck, or you may dine at Spices with yummy frozen concoctions and great tasty salads, fish, sandwiches, fresh mahi, mahi, fajitas , etc. Dinner is always a gustatory delight with all of the restaurants providing fabulous 5 star service, and romantic ambiance. You may even treat yourself to the experience of the Chefs Table, where you will have the opportunity to feast and dine upon some of the most fascinating food creations, all prepared under the direction of chef Raul.You will never be hungry, no matter what your menu choice is, at any of the great restaurants, and you will always feel as though you have just dined at one of the most wonderful restaurants in the world, and why not…you just have!
Service, service, service, is the key word at Royal Hideaway. The entire staff is thoroughly and completely dedicated to making sure that you have a great time. The staff is consistently letting you know that is indeed their pleasure to do whatever they can, to make your vacation the best one possible. Each staff member will address you by name and will remember it throughout the visit.
The property was full of guests all having a great time while we were there. It was so very nice to meet people from all over the states, South America, Mexico, and Europe. The dance floor was full, many nights, as we danced to the great Royal Band, (who just played spectacularly,at the Riviera Maya jazz festival)with a fabulous female singer, and talented musicians, who insures that everyone has a great time. One evening there was reggae, salsa group, who entertained with a fabulous Bob Marley set, to which everyone danced. You can try any drink that you wish at Royal Hideaway, and they are all poured using very top shelf liquor. Royal Hideaway continues to be an all inclusive adults only hotel like no other. It is truly a wonderful feeling to be on vacation and know that once you are there, all of your everyday concerns seem to vanish! You can float around the infinity pool, (practically a part of the beach) sipping you favorite drink and enjoy the view of the blue, blue waters. If you prefer privacy, you may wish to louge by one of the several relaxation pools throughout the property.You may choose to visit with the pair of iguanas who live by one of the several hot tubs. They love bananas. Want a complimentary mini massage? The spa staff, often walks around the pool early afternoon and allows you to enjoy a taste of their glorious, magical fingers. You will surely want to take advantage of this delightful experience, and may even wish to indulge in the variety of specialty massages offered in the spa.
The hotel has 200 rooms, making it the perfect size for socialization and intimacy.
You will meet so many wonderful and interesting people who are repeat guests at Royal Hideaway, and who all return because of the magical, special feeling that you will know, and will haunt you until your next visit, once you enter the gates of Royal Hideaway! It was VERY difficult to leave Royal Hideaway, after our incredible vacation there. The only way that we were able to leave, was because of our knowledge that we plan on returning very soon!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank clowndiverMarco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Community M, Gerente at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2017

Dear Marco,

We first would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your holidays in Playacar and for sharing your comments on your experience among us.

Our guests' comments provide us with an opportunity to see our hotel through their eyes giving us insight into any service that may have room for improvement to enhance our future guests' stay among us, therefore we are grateful for the time you spent to share a review of your personal experience in the hotel.

We look forward to your next visit!

Warmest Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,712)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,239 - 3,245 of 4,712 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2009

First the rooms and the bathrooms are exquisite, with jacuzzi tub, separate shower, walk in closet, separate toilet---great for honeymooners who still might want some privacy as they start their lives together.

Food is very good, though not gourmet---nicely presented.

Now----the two issues that I would to hear a response from the management . 1-- The totally ugly plastic "whales" on the beach )which is very narrow to begin with. We travel to experience better beaches than we have here in the United States. They need to do something about staying the erosion in a more well executed way---what they have now is an extreme embarassment for a deluxe hotel---an insult at these rates.

Theft of any kind from a hotel deserves a swift reponse from the management. I would think twice about staying in a "deluxe" hotel that did not acknowledge and explain how the this serious problem would be rectified in the future. Platitudes again are an insult.
Every hoteel manager should be reading these travel review websites and responding to VALID complaints.

We liked that you can bike into Playa de Carmen in 15 minutes or so, or take the ferry to Cozumel from there very easily. Not far from ruins and Xcaret which is another plus.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wevetraveledalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalupe S, Gerente at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2017

Dear Wevetraveledalot

We send you warm greetings and hope you would give us another opportunity to host you in the future, our beach is one of the more beautiful beaches on Playa del Carmen now.

Sincere Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2009

My wife and I had been to the Royal Hideaway 8 years ago for our honeymoon. We felt it was amazing at the time and couldn't wait to get back. Now, 8 years later, I'm happy to say it's still quite amazing!

A few things to keep in mind:

Bring a lot of small bills. Although tipping isn't required, it is only courteous to leave the waiters and waitresses something after a meal. You'll find the service at the restaurants to be as good if not better than any 5 star restaurant in the U.S. If you run out small bills (as I did) the concierge in the main lobby will be able to help you out.

If you're booking excursions, I would recommend trying the small kiosk at the market across the street. We were able to get significantly lower prices there than those offered at the hotel. Also - I would highly recommend the ATV/Cave excursion!

If you have the opportunity to book the Royal Relaxation package, I would highly recommend it. It consisted of a massage, facial, manicure and pedicure.

If you can avoid The Grill Restaurant for dinner, I would recommend doing so. The food there wasn't on par with the other restaurants.

One annoying thing we found was that guests would routinely save seats at the pool by placing a towel or something else on the chair. The hotel warns guests against doing this but don't enforce it at all.

As others have commented - there is no nightlife at this hotel. When we were here 8 years ago, they had a dinner show twice a week. They didn't have that this time around.

The rooms are beautiful. I've seen complaints on here of mold but we didn't find any in the room we were in. The televisions are in definite need of an upgrade. Any so-called 5 star hotel should have a flat screen.

The hotel has computers available with access to the internet. However, the computers are dreadfully old and extremely slow.

These are only minor complaints. We truly had an excellent time! The service was absolutely top notch and had some of the best dinners of our lives while we were there.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Checky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Community M, Gerente at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2017

Dear Checky,

We first would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your holidays in Playacar and for sharing your comments on your experience among us.

Our guests' comments provide us with an opportunity to see our hotel through their eyes giving us insight into any service that may have room for improvement to enhance our future guests' stay among us, therefore we are grateful for the time you spent to share a review of your personal experience in the hotel.

We look forward to your next visit!

Warmest Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2009

The royal hideaway is a wonderful resort, perfect for a relaxing vacation to the Caribbean. Staff is friendly and very helpful, and couldn't have been more accomodating. Food was excellent, with the exception of Spices for dinner. Dinner entrees at Spices were just okay - not as exciting or creative as the other restaurants. Dinner entrees at the Grill were good, but very basic - just plain grilled. A little flavoring wouldn't have hurt. Las Ventanas was amazing - the lamb chops were unbelievable. Azia was a great experience too. At any restaurant, don't be afraid to order multiple appetizers, entrees, or deserts - we did and found it to be a great way to experience great food, especially since some of the restuarants may only be open twice in a one week stretch. I hate having to make dinner reservations when I am on vacation at an all-inclusive resort, but here I didn't mind. The schedule was flexible, and they structure the reservations so that the staff is not overwhelmed, allowing them to provide lots of attention to dinner guests. The beach area is small, but never felt crowded. Compared to the Occidental next door, it was a huge beach. The Riu's and Westin's in the area had much bigger beaches, but they all had a sea of lounge chairs sometimes 15-20 deep, and were always crowded. Not the case at the Royal hideaway - only 3-4 rows of chairs deep, and never a problem finding your chair of preference. With two pools right on the beach, never felt crowded. And in the afternoon, when the wind picked up, we'd simply move to the relaxation pools which we'd have completely to ourselves. Just a very relaxing and enjoyable vacation experience. We look to make this an annual destination.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bxbomber51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Community M, Gerente at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2017

Dear Bxbomber,

We first would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your holidays in Playacar and for sharing your comments on your experience among us.

Our guests' comments provide us with an opportunity to see our hotel through their eyes giving us insight into any service that may have room for improvement to enhance our future guests' stay among us, therefore we are grateful for the time you spent to share a review of your personal experience in the hotel.

We look forward to your next visit!

Warmest Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2009

Excellent Service! You have your own bungalow with your personal butler service. You also get food and drink service on the beach.

Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
1  Thank MelissaT9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Community M, Gerente at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2017

Dear Melissa,

We first would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your holidays in Playacar and for sharing your comments on your experience among us.

Our guests' comments provide us with an opportunity to see our hotel through their eyes giving us insight into any service that may have room for improvement to enhance our future guests' stay among us, therefore we are grateful for the time you spent to share a review of your personal experience in the hotel.

We look forward to your next visit!

Warmest Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2009

Awesome hotel for a honeymoon! Get a beach view, makes a difference. Service was outstanding, restaurants were awesome, nightlife was great!

Stayed: June 2006, traveled as a couple
1  Thank JenS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Community M, Gerente at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2017

Dear JenS3,

We first would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your holidays in Playacar and for sharing your comments on your experience among us.

Our guests' comments provide us with an opportunity to see our hotel through their eyes giving us insight into any service that may have room for improvement to enhance our future guests' stay among us, therefore we are grateful for the time you spent to share a review of your personal experience in the hotel.

We look forward to your next visit!

Warmest Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2009

This resort is fabulous and we would recommend to anyone. The setting is beautiful, the pool wonderful and the service was extraordinary. By the second or third day, we didn't even have to give our drink order; the waiters brought them over as soon as we arrived at the pool. The food was great, with our favorite being Azia and Las Ventanas. Our concierge Ricardo was friendly and helpful; he took care of our rental car for a day trip to Tulum (worth it; bring your bathing suit!). This past week we even received a postcard from Ricardo! It is little touches like this that make us certain we will return.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kjw09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Community M, Gerente at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2017

Dear Kjw09,

We first would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your holidays in Playacar and for sharing your comments on your experience among us.

Our guests' comments provide us with an opportunity to see our hotel through their eyes giving us insight into any service that may have room for improvement to enhance our future guests' stay among us, therefore we are grateful for the time you spent to share a review of your personal experience in the hotel.

We look forward to your next visit!

Warmest Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
2.3 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#32 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
2,976 reviews
6.7 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#9 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
4,477 reviews
2 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
17,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#20 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
9,592 reviews
14.3 mi away
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
12,519 reviews
7.4 mi away
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hot...
#24 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
1,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hideaway Playacar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hideaway Playacar

Address: Lote Hotelero No. 6 Fracc., Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Royal Hideaway Playacar & Occidental Resorts)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#27 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $331 - $652 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Hideaway Playacar 4.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning luxury all inclusive resort set along the beautiful beaches of Playa del Carmen, Mexico. Ideal setting in a serene environment for complete rest and relaxation. Adults only. Member of The Leading Hotels of the World. 2008 winner of the coveted AAA 5 Diamond Award. 11 villas with private concierge are spread throughout the property's immaculate grounds. Six gourmet restaurants serve delicasies in menu-style dining. A full service spa offers the ultimate in papmering and body treatments. Personalzied service and attention to detail set this resort a world apart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Barcelo, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Hideaway Playacar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hideaway Playacar And Occidental Resorts
Royal Hideaway Playacar & Occidental Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Hideaway Playa Del Carmen
Royal Hideaway Mexico
Occidental Royal Hideaway
Royal Hideaway Playacar Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing