We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,583)
Filter reviews
5,583 results
Traveler rating
4,092
957
311
141
82
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,092
957
311
141
82
Show reviews that mention
All reviews las ventanas the grill dinner reservations allegria bar villa concierge spices restaurant club royale deck restaurant dinner theater infinity pool chef's table walk in closet other resorts our honeymoon all inclusive resort quiet resort top shelf
Filter
Updating list...
3,944 - 3,949 of 5,583 reviews
Reviewed December 2, 2009

First the rooms and the bathrooms are exquisite, with jacuzzi tub, separate shower, walk in closet, separate toilet---great for honeymooners who still might want some privacy as they start their lives together.

Food is very good, though not gourmet---nicely presented.

Now----the two issues that I would to hear a response from the management . 1-- The totally ugly plastic "whales" on the beach )which is very narrow to begin with. We travel to experience better beaches than we have here in the United States. They need to do something about staying the erosion in a more well executed way---what they have now is an extreme embarassment for a deluxe hotel---an insult at these rates.

Theft of any kind from a hotel deserves a swift reponse from the management. I would think twice about staying in a "deluxe" hotel that did not acknowledge and explain how the this serious problem would be rectified in the future. Platitudes again are an insult.
Every hoteel manager should be reading these travel review websites and responding to VALID complaints.

We liked that you can bike into Playa de Carmen in 15 minutes or so, or take the ferry to Cozumel from there very easily. Not far from ruins and Xcaret which is another plus.

Date of stay: November 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wevetraveledalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalupe S, Gerente at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2017

Dear Wevetraveledalot

We send you warm greetings and hope you would give us another opportunity to host you in the future, our beach is one of the more beautiful beaches on Playa del Carmen now.

Sincere Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2009

My wife and I had been to the Royal Hideaway 8 years ago for our honeymoon. We felt it was amazing at the time and couldn't wait to get back. Now, 8 years later, I'm happy to say it's still quite amazing!

A few things to keep in mind:

Bring a lot of small bills. Although tipping isn't required, it is only courteous to leave the waiters and waitresses something after a meal. You'll find the service at the restaurants to be as good if not better than any 5 star restaurant in the U.S. If you run out small bills (as I did) the concierge in the main lobby will be able to help you out.

If you're booking excursions, I would recommend trying the small kiosk at the market across the street. We were able to get significantly lower prices there than those offered at the hotel. Also - I would highly recommend the ATV/Cave excursion!

If you have the opportunity to book the Royal Relaxation package, I would highly recommend it. It consisted of a massage, facial, manicure and pedicure.

If you can avoid The Grill Restaurant for dinner, I would recommend doing so. The food there wasn't on par with the other restaurants.

One annoying thing we found was that guests would routinely save seats at the pool by placing a towel or something else on the chair. The hotel warns guests against doing this but don't enforce it at all.

As others have commented - there is no nightlife at this hotel. When we were here 8 years ago, they had a dinner show twice a week. They didn't have that this time around.

The rooms are beautiful. I've seen complaints on here of mold but we didn't find any in the room we were in. The televisions are in definite need of an upgrade. Any so-called 5 star hotel should have a flat screen.

The hotel has computers available with access to the internet. However, the computers are dreadfully old and extremely slow.

These are only minor complaints. We truly had an excellent time! The service was absolutely top notch and had some of the best dinners of our lives while we were there.

Date of stay: November 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Checky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Community M, Gerente at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2017

Dear Checky,

We first would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your holidays in Playacar and for sharing your comments on your experience among us.

Our guests' comments provide us with an opportunity to see our hotel through their eyes giving us insight into any service that may have room for improvement to enhance our future guests' stay among us, therefore we are grateful for the time you spent to share a review of your personal experience in the hotel.

We look forward to your next visit!

Warmest Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2009

The royal hideaway is a wonderful resort, perfect for a relaxing vacation to the Caribbean. Staff is friendly and very helpful, and couldn't have been more accomodating. Food was excellent, with the exception of Spices for dinner. Dinner entrees at Spices were just okay - not as exciting or creative as the other restaurants. Dinner entrees at the Grill were good, but very basic - just plain grilled. A little flavoring wouldn't have hurt. Las Ventanas was amazing - the lamb chops were unbelievable. Azia was a great experience too. At any restaurant, don't be afraid to order multiple appetizers, entrees, or deserts - we did and found it to be a great way to experience great food, especially since some of the restuarants may only be open twice in a one week stretch. I hate having to make dinner reservations when I am on vacation at an all-inclusive resort, but here I didn't mind. The schedule was flexible, and they structure the reservations so that the staff is not overwhelmed, allowing them to provide lots of attention to dinner guests. The beach area is small, but never felt crowded. Compared to the Occidental next door, it was a huge beach. The Riu's and Westin's in the area had much bigger beaches, but they all had a sea of lounge chairs sometimes 15-20 deep, and were always crowded. Not the case at the Royal hideaway - only 3-4 rows of chairs deep, and never a problem finding your chair of preference. With two pools right on the beach, never felt crowded. And in the afternoon, when the wind picked up, we'd simply move to the relaxation pools which we'd have completely to ourselves. Just a very relaxing and enjoyable vacation experience. We look to make this an annual destination.

Date of stay: November 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bxbomber51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Community M, Gerente at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2017

Dear Bxbomber,

We first would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your holidays in Playacar and for sharing your comments on your experience among us.

Our guests' comments provide us with an opportunity to see our hotel through their eyes giving us insight into any service that may have room for improvement to enhance our future guests' stay among us, therefore we are grateful for the time you spent to share a review of your personal experience in the hotel.

We look forward to your next visit!

Warmest Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2009

Excellent Service! You have your own bungalow with your personal butler service. You also get food and drink service on the beach.

Date of stay: July 2007
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank MelissaT9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Community M, Gerente at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2017

Dear Melissa,

We first would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your holidays in Playacar and for sharing your comments on your experience among us.

Our guests' comments provide us with an opportunity to see our hotel through their eyes giving us insight into any service that may have room for improvement to enhance our future guests' stay among us, therefore we are grateful for the time you spent to share a review of your personal experience in the hotel.

We look forward to your next visit!

Warmest Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2009

Awesome hotel for a honeymoon! Get a beach view, makes a difference. Service was outstanding, restaurants were awesome, nightlife was great!

Date of stay: June 2006
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank JenS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Community M, Gerente at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2017

Dear JenS3,

We first would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your holidays in Playacar and for sharing your comments on your experience among us.

Our guests' comments provide us with an opportunity to see our hotel through their eyes giving us insight into any service that may have room for improvement to enhance our future guests' stay among us, therefore we are grateful for the time you spent to share a review of your personal experience in the hotel.

We look forward to your next visit!

Warmest Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews