We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Nearby Hotels
$293
$200
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$191
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$301
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$587
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
$423
$240
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
$401
$289
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Grand Velas Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
$1,434
$761
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
$486
$349
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$562
$472
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$973
$450
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (5,013)
Filter reviews
5,013 results
Traveler rating
3,665
866
286
127
69
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,665
866
286
127
69
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslas ventanasthe grilldinner reservationsallegria barvilla conciergespices restaurantclub royaledeck restaurantdinner theaterinfinity poolchef's tablewalk in closetother resortssax playerour honeymoonall inclusive resortquiet resort
Filter
Updating list...
2,342 - 2,347 of 5,013 reviews
Reviewed May 15, 2014

This was a girl friends' getaway and for the most part it was a marvelous success. We want to get away and want a week someplace for sun, R&R and a nice place. Royal Hideaway fulfilled most of those wants in superb fashion. The hotel was magnificent, beach and ocean were idyllic, room was gorgeous, service was the best I think we have ever had and we had great sunny weather.. A few days were very hot and humid but there was a great breeze too.

The hotel property was top-notch - grounds immaculate, rooms spacious and clean. The hotel is set up as a villa concept. Each villa contains 10-15 rooms in a circular building with a lovely courtyard in the middle complete with softly trickling fountain. Every villa building has its own concierge who is on duty all day. Our concierge was invaluable ... helping to confirm tours and making daily dinner reservations (more about dinner later). Housekeeping was good but a few days our room had not been done as late as 3:30 PM - which is a personal pet peeve of mine.

Not much I can say about the beach - beautiful, large, enough chairs and cabanas. The hotel bar staff takes care of guests on the beach too. They come around for drink orders and come back with your drinks in about 10 min. We kept our guy busy with ice and water orders all day. Later in the PM, we sampled mud-slides with extra chocolate - I seriously recommend that! Premium brands are available for the asking. Even mimosas were available at the breakfast restaurant. The beach was cleaned one day and then left for about a week. It could do with a cleaning a bit more often...it was not dirty but (sadly) there was some clutter from messy humans.

The hotel was a quiet environment - too quiet for my friend who likes a more lively nightlife. The Allegro Bar had nightly entertainment and we enjoyed that 2 nights. The calypso group was very good and the Latin band and singer was great! The Latin beats were lively and the hotel entertainment staff showed us their dancing skills and then took guests from the audience as dance partners for a whirl to the Latin beats. It was great fun!

The one "kink" was the food. Let me be a bit more specific. B'fast and lunch were OK - for b'fast there is 7 AM buffet restaurant or a sit-down restaurant at 8 AM. But there is really no place where a quick bite is available - like grabbing a coffee and a donut/fruit/etc. Lunch is almost the same - small daily lunch buffet by the pool and several restaurants are open for lunch. But, again, no place where you can find a quick sandwich or snack. Dinner is by reservation only. There are many restaurants to choose from but you must have reservations for every night. For us this was tedious and at times it looked like some restaurants were hardly busy but "no reservations were available". The food tended to be a bit pretentious for our taste - lots of "gourmet" touches and some quite unusual. This was OK for some nights but some un-fancy food would have been fine at times too.

Would I return - maybe but with the knowledge that I would probably have room service dinner more often.

Room Tip: Room 2419 has an IDEAL location - a stone's throw from the pools, beach, pool bar and 2 main restaurants.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Just22cute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalupe S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2017

Thank you for making our Royal Hideaway your choice hotel on this occasion and for your very kind recommendation to the travel community , this positive feedback keeps us motivated to encounter the compliance of our demanding quality standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Karina the wedding coordinator at Royal Hideaway could not be more amazing! I had my wedding there about 2 weeks ago. We had over 50 guests with multiple events she helped to organize. I never had to worry about anything, she took care of any problem without me even knowing. She is wonderful. The hotel is the perfect place to have your wedding if you are looking for a fun, relaxed beach wedding. Could not have been more perfect. Thank you Karina!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meagan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalupe S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2017

Thank you for making our Royal Hideaway your choice hotel on this occasion and for your very kind recommendation to the travel community , this positive feedback keeps us motivated to encounter the compliance of our demanding quality standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

First time traveling to Playa and of course the Royal Hideaway. Great place. Very relaxing and the food, drinks and service were incredible. The pool bar staff make this wonderful fruity cocktail called the Mexican Panty Dropper. Be sure to order it.

Room Tip: Villa 25 is quiet and located in the center of the resort
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bevostein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalupe S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2017

Thank you for making our Royal Hideaway your choice hotel on this occasion and for your very kind recommendation to the travel community , this positive feedback keeps us motivated to encounter the compliance of our demanding quality standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We spent our Spring break at the Royal Hideaway. We traveled with our five children and three of their friends. Their ages ranged from 26-17. It was the perfect spot for us. We loved the pool and the beach. We loved the service. Marco, our concierge, was wonderful. He went overboard making us feel welcome. Neftali in the restaurant next to the pool was awesome. It is a great family spot if your kids are adults. If I were to make one suggestion, I think the welcome lobby needs to be updated.

Room Tip: Building Five is quiet and central and you get Marco!!!
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Windsor Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalupe S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2017

Thank you for making our Royal Hideaway your choice hotel on this occasion and for your very kind recommendation to the travel community , this positive feedback keeps us motivated to encounter the compliance of our demanding quality standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We spent 5 days at the Royal Hideaway for our anniversary. From the moment we arrived we wished it was for a lot longer!. The resort is spotless, the rooms are very nice, and the beach is the best of all! We are beach people and playacar has the best beach we have been to. (We have been to Riviera Maya 11 times and this area is rockless, white powder sand, crystal blue water). The canopys that you can use to provide shade on the beach were really good. The one day we did have showers, it was so nice to grab another dry towel and use it to keep dry inside the canopy. We did not leave the canopy and it was nice and cozy. Other resorts, when the rain comes, you all run for cover! This was a nice change. One suggestion, get 2 towels per person just in case of rain. Worked great for us. We were in Villa 22, facing into the resort, on the 3rd floor. Great location. We did hear some of the music from the bar Allegria, but we enjoyed it on our balcony while relaxing with nightcaps! We ate at the Deck for lunch, very good, had dinner at the Deck, the Italian, Spices, and the Grill, We did go to breakfast at Spices. The food was fantastic at all of them. Really enjoyed the food and we both agreed it is the best food we have ever had at an all inclusive resort. (Been to 9 different resorts). The pools were nice and lots of loungers around them. No problem with finding a spot, although we are early risers. I would go to the gym at 7, and hubbie would go to the beach. The gym is nice, although small and in two different rooms. One large area with treadmills, and the other large room with the other equipment. Overall, it was a fantastic trip and we will definitely return. Fernando is a great guy and served us well. If you are in his Villa, please tell him hello from California! Go and enjoy - it is definitely well worth it!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beachlady10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalupe S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2017

Thank you for making our Royal Hideaway your choice hotel on this occasion and for your very kind recommendation to the travel community , this positive feedback keeps us motivated to encounter the compliance of our demanding quality standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews