We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely peaceful atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Ranked #33 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely peaceful atmosphere”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

For our first visit to Mexico we stayed at the Royal Hideaway for 11 nights at the end of March/Beginning of April. The rooms are in villas set out in beautifully landscaped tropical gardens. There are a couple of quiet pools in the gardens and 2 excellent pools by the beach. The beach has gorgeous white sand. The 5 restaurants offer a range of cuisine and the quality of the food is very good. I would recommend booking the restaurants before you arrive if possible as they book up very quickly and for the first few nights we could only get a table for 9 or later in all but 1 of the restaurants and we would have preferred to eat earlier. The selection of drinks in the bar extensive, every premium brand you could mention and the wine served in the restaurants was very good. There is a constant waiter service on the beach and around the pools. The musical entertainment in the bar in the evening was varied and enjoyable. We would be happy to go back to this resort.

Room Tip: We prefer top floor for quietness. all rooms are in a good location
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gadabout992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,011
    732
    233
    100
    52
See reviews for
335
2,685
78
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (927)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

Working in the luxury travel industry, I am extremely selective and critical and none more so than when planning my own family break. We enjoyed 4 nights at The Royal Hideaway in April, having spent 8 nights at Dreams. Tulum. The prior was great but RH was outstanding! I was looking for an all inclusive option on a different scale, somewhere to enjoy with our 2 teenage sons, but with less emphasis on 'mass' entertainment and more on enjoying quality time together and the finer things in life.

The RH hit every spot, no megaphones or music blaring, not a poolside game or toy in sight ... It amazes me that there seems to be a lack of this type of establishment in the market, the assumption that if you are travelling with children (older, ours are 15 and 17yrs) , you want to be entertained and have the children taken off your hands, quite the opposite for us, we travel to experience and enjoy different cultures as a family. Notably, my sons where the only younger guests that I saw... We felt non the less just as welcome.

We had a king luxury room and a double (2 queens) in villa 27, Central and beach/pool front. Each villa has it's own concierge and Angelica was outstanding, noticing that we enjoyed a cappuccino each morning, she arranged by the second day to have this delivered to our room without us having to ask. THAT is attention to detail and service. One day she even scoured the grounds with 2 cappuccinos for us pool side.

Pools - there are two main pools that were quite busy, yet never felt overwhelming, however there are an additional 4 smaller relaxation pools (some with jacuzzis) dotted amongst the grounds. Preferring the quieter, we enjoyed the use of a 'private pool' relaxation pool for 3 of the 4 days - perfect and we were happy to walk to get our own drinks (perhaps why the relaxation pools are less popular?)

The approach to the hotel is sophisticated, sweeping through an upscale residential community, past several other mainstream hotels. Check-in is swift and efficient, the grounds are well laid out with villas scattered amongst the grounds, Caribbean in style. Sweeping down to the beach. 2 main areas, the reception foyer, Italian influences and houses 4 of the a la carte dining options. The 2nd area is beach/ main pool side and has beautiful views on the beach, clear sea and fine sand, 2 further restaurants here. With large hotels either side, one cannot help but feel blessed (dare I say privileged) to be staying at RH.

Each dining experience was sublime. 5 courses + at many, the deck offered 3 course a la carte lunches too. The hotel make it very clear that they ask you to observe a dress code in the evening and I applaud this. I enjoyed the fact that my sons were exposed and had to embrace this, the dining here is of a world class standard and I, for one, feel it would have spoilt the atmosphere, relaxed and convivial, to be dining amongst men in shorts! Live flautist, violinist and classical signing where the nightly entertainment - either during dining or afterwards... Superb and even the teenagers managed to be impressed! They are fortunate to be well travelled, but trust me, that is praise indeed.

A short cycle to Playa Del Carmen, was interesting, but unimpressive, but is an option if you want to get out. You are well placed for all activities, swimming with turtles at Akumel, ruins at Tulum or the many watersports located on the beautiful and expansive beach.

If you look very closely the hotel shows tiny signs of its age, but think more a well aged brandy than a work forlorn donkey - RH is grand, relaxed and first class - I will not hesitate to recommend, no ... rave about this hotel. The staff, the cuisine, the ambiance, the location and beach - spot on. Don't think 'all inclusive', think pre-paid 5 star luxury... This is all inclusive on a different level.

We will definitely return. Perfect for couples, mature groups, older families who enjoy food, wine, beaches and a luxury break.

Rooms in the central villas are slightly quieter, but all seemed fabulous.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank Where2nowThen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Our 4th visit to the area, but 1st visit to the RHP.

If you are in the 20-35 crowd and are out for a party, this is NOT the place for you.

If you are in need of rest and relaxation, with beautiful grounds, amazing food and an incredible beach, you have found your place at RHP.

Highlights:

Building concierge - William (block 31) was wonderful. Professional, kind, and accommodating. Even changing reservations and taking care of our transfers back to the airport. He went well beyond his job and was genuinely happy to help. We had requested when we arrived that extra water be kept in our bar fridge. My husband ran back to our room on one of the days to pick something up and William was the one refilling water everyday.

The Restaurants - we have stayed at some great resorts in the Mayan, but the food at this resort was best by far. We loved the open air balconies, live music and the food was definitely gourmet. Loads of seafood cooked to perfection, great sauces, Mexican choices, and plenty of selection.

The Beach - the beach area is large and extremely clean. There are loads of beach chairs and some have portable palapas, if you are lucky enough to get one. The water was clear and warm with big, fun waves to play in. You can walk off all of your extra weight on the endless beach. There are great waiters on the beach that will even bring you lunch if you wish the fight off the birds. ;)

The Staff - They have so much pride in what they do. They cannot help you enough. The will move your loungers on the beach, bring you more towels, remember your drinks and bring you more without asking, drop off water on the heat of the day. The rooms we're cleaned to perfection twice daily with a turn down evening service. Ultimate professionals.


Small improvements that would make this the resort that would rival all resorts:

The rooms - the were a little "tired". We needed a few minor repairs through the week and they were promptly taken care of, but the rooms could use a definite update. The resort is situated between 2 larger resorts and if you were on the outside rooms facing one the the other resorts, it was noisy. We faced the pool area of another resort. It was noisy during the day, however, we didn't spent much time in the room during the day, so it didn't matter.

The Towel game - we learned quickly that you needed to get up and book a pool space or Palapa chair on the beach if you wanted to be at the pool or have some shade on the beach. We are early risers so this was not a problem, but there were some unhappy people looking for space.

Restaurant Reservations - Most of the guests are return guests. This speaks to how great the resort is, but because of that, they advance book their restaurants. This means that by the time you arrive, and try and book yours, you will be eating at 8:30pm or later. This didn't really bother us either. Room service is 24 hours, and we would simply get a snack to hold us over.

There is no real night life, but this is not something I see as a needed improvement. They have live music every night at their bar and Playa Del carmen was a walk away.

Overall, we loved the resort. We plan to return, like everyone else. :)

Little shout outs to some great staff. William our concierge, Mario our breakfast and lunch server, and Angel the restaurant manager, thank you for making our stay extra special.

Room Tip: Building 27 looked like the best location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CalgaryAng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New york
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Nice place with great people. Hotel is good and food is also good. This is our second time here but will certainly be our last. We got tired of the pretentiousness of the place that really think that you need to be formal to be good. Don't you dare to use a shoe they may deem not satisfactory because they will call you out, no matter where you are. By the way, I don't understand how they became fashion authority. Long pants, collar shirt and dress shoes are a very broad definition but not for them. It also amazed me that in some of their fancy restaurants one may walk in a t-shirt while others may be sent back to their room to change their outfit. No consistency.

Never coming back at this place. One experience ruins it all.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ferret92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Beautiful, quiet resort with a great beach. Excellent service. The food was quite good although I can't say excellent. The only concern that we had is with the dinner reservations. There is no buffet (except breakfast) and not all the restaurants are open every day. This creates some difficulty with trying to eat dinner when you want. Often the only reservations that were available were early (6:00) or late (9:00). Otherwise, everything was wonderful. Nice rooms, pools and grounds. Close to Playa del Carmen if you want to walk or bike (free) into town. If our teenage kids were going with us I probably would not go here as it is very quiet.

Room Tip: The south side of the property seemed louder as it was next to a busy, loud resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scbrown757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

This resort was simply amazing! Everyone who works there are so friendly, kind and helpful. Stayed in building 31, close to pools, two restaurants and beach. Our butler was William who is an awesome person, very authentic and caring. One day I was feeling Under the weather and the next day he brought me some pedialite that he got in town on his own time, such a special guy!

Beach was total perfection for us as we are beach people. Food was very good in all restaurants and waiters provided great service. No trouble getting beach chairs, not many left at pools after 9:00 am. We always go to the pool in late afternoon and there are three other smaller unique pools at this resort waiting to be discovered.

We would very much like to go back to this resort someday mostly because of the beach and the people who work there.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saxaphone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

For the first time ever we are returning to precisely the same place pretty much a year to the day later for another 10 days of luxury at the Royal Hideaway. We visited in 2013, and had a fantastic time. If you want peaceful relaxation (and barrel-loads of excellent cocktails by the pool) this is the place to come. The food is equally good, with a broad choice. We preferred the more relaxed options, but there really is something for everyone.

Roll on 1st May...!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TKSV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
1.7 mi away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#53 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
650 reviews
5.7 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#59 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
5,390 reviews
7.4 mi away
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hot...
#45 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Paradisus by Melia Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus by Melia Playa del Car...
#24 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
8,518 reviews
7.7 mi away
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
#38 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
9,400 reviews
22.3 mi away
Grand Oasis Tulum
Grand Oasis Tulum
#18 of 23 in Akumal
1,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hideaway Playacar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hideaway Playacar

Property: Royal Hideaway Playacar
Address: Lote Hotelero No. 6 Fracc., Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Royal Hideaway Playacar & Occidental Resorts)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#18 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#27 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Hideaway Playacar 4.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning luxury all inclusive resort set along the beautiful beaches of Playa del Carmen, Mexico. Ideal setting in a serene environment for complete rest and relaxation. Adults only. Member of The Leading Hotels of the World. 2008 winner of the coveted AAA 5 Diamond Award. 11 villas with private concierge are spread throughout the property's immaculate grounds. Six gourmet restaurants serve delicasies in menu-style dining. A full service spa offers the ultimate in papmering and body treatments. Personalzied service and attention to detail set this resort a world apart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Royal Hideaway Playacar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hideaway Playacar & Occidental Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Hideaway Playacar And Occidental Resorts
Royal Hideaway Playa Del Carmen
Royal Hideaway Mexico
Occidental Royal Hideaway
Royal Hideaway Playacar Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing