We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed our stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Hideaway Playacar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Ranked #27 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

We visited in January as part of our honeymoon. Overall we really enjoyed our stay.

I would like to have awarded 5 stars but there were just a few frustrations or areas I think could be improved upon which were as follows:

We were not aware to book our dinner reservations before we arrived and therefore were stuck with a lot of really late dinners - combined with jet lag this took the edge off our enjoyment a little. Also we could only get in Las Ventanas once and for us this was the best restaurant and I wish we could have eaten there more!

Evening entertainment was a little boring. I know they must be conscious of noise but maybe the live music they sometimes have could play in the theatre. That way they could have more lively acts and it could go on later!

The rooms were nice but like many have said the bathrooms could do with a refit to make the accommodation truly 5 star.

Finally I think they should make the smaller pool areas a better feature. They should make sure these small pools are well maintained as the one we used by the spa had rust in areas and some of the sun bed covers were dirty. There was also only one umbrella for shade they should have some more and should also find a way that guests can be served drinks here. That would have been amazing!

The above aside this is a lovely resort with some of the nicest hard working staff I have ever encountered! If I returned to Playa del Carmen I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Salsan00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,859 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,844
    673
    205
    91
    46
See reviews for
311
2,495
68
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (900)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phila. Pa
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

We decided to try a new destination, after going to the same place for about 15 years. Decided on Mexico, and to be honest, I was a little hesitant. But, boy am I glad we went. Royal Hideaway is one of the most beautiful resorts I have been to. The staff was the friendliest, and the food was to die for. They have a choice of 5 restaurants, two are casual, and three are more upscale. Every night we thought we had our favorite meal, until we went to the next restaurant. I can't give enough kudos to the people who work there...they couldn't do enough for you, and they work very hard to do so. We stayed on the third floor, and Bogar came to get our bags...two couples, golf clubs, and about four pieces of luggage, besides our carry on. There are no elevators, and I felt bad he had to carry everything....NO PROBLEM....he did it with a smile, and said it was his job! Personally, I wish they would put elevators in just for the staff.
I could go on and on...the gorgeous beach, the delicious food, but I would advise going there to see for yourself. We will be going back as soon as possible.

Room Tip: We stayed in Villa 31, which is right by the main pools, and the casual restaurants. Loved the loca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelorPhila_Pa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester Springs, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

Beautiful property on a wonderful beach. The service was excellent, the restaurants were amazing and the setting is beautiful. We loved it and will be going back next year. The really big surprise for us was the quality of the restaurants - the food was EXCELLENT! Everyone there goes above and beyond to make your stay perfect. Special kudos to a young man named Bogar who saw to our luggage at check-out - he was the nicest and most hard working young man and certainly deserves a special mention!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

Royal Hideaway has a lot going for it - but it is one of the noisiest hotels we have stayed in.

The restaurants offer a good variety of food at a very reasonable quality and the service is always willing. Bookings are required at restaurants and you need to make at least two or three choices before you arrive.

The noise factor is mainly brought about by a neighbouring hotel and you need to stress when booking that you want to be on the "quiet" side of the resort. We stayed in a block called Las Margaritas and that is the area you need to be in and, ideally, on the top floor. Even so, each building has a central courtyard with a fountain and this acts as a sort of echo chamber. From your room you can hear every other door close…even high heels tapping past in the passageway outside.

There is a concierge for each block and we found this a very useful system. He books the restaurants, taxis and generally ensures you have a pleasant stay

There is a very wide, long beach but its gets very, very crowded if you want to walk by the ocean.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank theeytons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

My husband and I stayed last week and had a wonderful vacation. Check-in was great, our room requests were honoured as well as all of our meal reservations that we requested by e-mail ahead of time. Can not say enough about the service, everyone was so friendly and went above and beyond to make sure we were having a great time. Our favourite entertainment was the reggae band on the Tuesday night we were there. We had a late dinner and only caught the end, we only wished they were able to keep playing as it ended around 11:30. The entertainment staff were great! Very friendly, but not pushy and you never felt like you had to get involved if you just wanted to relax. We relaxed quite a bit but really enjoyed playing horseshoes, volley ball and ping pong. We did notice unfortunately there is no quite way to close the door to your room. I would recommend wearing ear plugs if you are worried about the noise, I wore them and didn't hear a thing!
Overall this was a fantastic vacation! We met some wonderful people and are looking forward to going back!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaggieMay20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, South Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

If your looking for a resort that has great service and good food this is your place. This is not a party place! My wife and I have been to the Royal Hideaway 10 times and we have not found an all inclusive that compares. Playa is a great place to visit and is as safe as any area in the US.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

We had our wedding ceremony on the beach and it was fantastic. The wedding coordinator was so great (Karina) it could not have been more perfect. The facilities are beautiful and the service was friendly and timely. The web site does not do this place justice...it is so nice.

Room Tip: reserve early if you want a room with a hot tub...but we didn't feel that it was necessary after...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
5.6 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#55 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,667 reviews
7.4 mi away
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hot...
#47 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
3.4 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#19 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
#34 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,955 reviews
1.1 mi away
Playacar Palace
Playacar Palace
#18 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,176 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
#37 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hideaway Playacar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hideaway Playacar

Property: Royal Hideaway Playacar
Address: Lote Hotelero No. 6 Fracc., Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Royal Hideaway Playacar & Occidental Resorts)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#12 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#18 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#20 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Hideaway Playacar 4.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning luxury all inclusive resort set along the beautiful beaches of Playa del Carmen, Mexico. Ideal setting in a serene environment for complete rest and relaxation. Adults only. Member of The Leading Hotels of the World. 2008 winner of the coveted AAA 5 Diamond Award. 11 villas with private concierge are spread throughout the property's immaculate grounds. Six gourmet restaurants serve delicasies in menu-style dining. A full service spa offers the ultimate in papmering and body treatments. Personalzied service and attention to detail set this resort a world apart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Barcelo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Royal Hideaway Playacar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hideaway Playacar & Occidental Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Hideaway Playacar And Occidental Resorts
Royal Hideaway Playa Del Carmen
Royal Hideaway Mexico
Occidental Royal Hideaway
Royal Hideaway Playacar Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing