We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short And Sweet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Ranked #36 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Late review since we were there for our Honeymoon in October 2010. It was a memorable experience we won't forget. Everything was clean,beautiful and the food was very good. We loved Fifth Avenue which was a good walk away but worth after a big meal. Go to Coco Bongo which was a big hit for us. Plenty of good stores for shopping. My wife loved looking at the available real estates nearby. After quite a few trips my wife words for this place was " you know you have spoiled me".

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalHideaway1, Reputation Management at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Shipper,

Thank you for your recent review about your trip to Royal Hideaway. We appreciate your kind words. We are so happy that you enjoyed your trip and found our resort as a friendly, gorgeous and relaxing place.

Please come and visit again in the near future for us will be an honor to host you again.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,334)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,099 - 2,105 of 4,335 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2013

Best holiday experience we have had. 14 days at Royal Hideaway and the team of Sergio and Javier kept us entertained throughout. The food and service were exceptional and nothing was too much trouble. our concierge in the rooms (Hector) was superb and provided all our requests. we will definitely be trying to get back to the hideaway again

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MarkBates15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalHideaway1, Reputation Management at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear MarkBates15,

We took a moment to say thank you very much for the kind compliments. Thank you for your preference even more for give us the opportunity to live a true All inclusive luxury experience.
We do hope that you come back again very soon. We appreciate your kind words about our staff and amenities.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

The Royal Hideaway was recommended to us by some friends whose opinion we regard highly. We were told that the food, in particular, would impress. And these people know their food. Still, this is an all-inclusive resort, so how good is good? It really is, that good.
Our search for a winter vacation started with a look at Sandy Lane in Barbados with a thought of returning to the Ocean Club in Nassau and ended with considering which resort to go to on the Mayan Riviera. We have never stayed at Sandy Lane but our stay at the Ocean Club a couple of years ago was great. But it does not compare to the Royal Hideaway. It would gain points for exclusivity if only because of the price tag but would lose points on food and service.
The Royal Hideaway is not what one would expect for an all-inclusive resort. It has seven restaurants serving its 200 rooms and the only buffet that is served is breakfast. All other meals are proper sit-down affairs with table service (even at the poolside Deck).
Most all-inclusives have workaday food in their general-purpose restaurants and then try to put on the dog in the themed places that require reservations. Every scrap of food we had has beautifully prepared by people who clearly care about what they are doing. Our first meal was a lunch of ceviche and fish taco at The Deck. They had two ceviches and tuna tartar on the menu for lunch. This is upscale Mexican food. Dinner that night was baked red snapper and sea bass at Spices. Again, the meals were great.
The only thing we paid extra for was dinner at the chef's table at Las Ventanas. For serious epicureans, this is well worth doing. Executive chef Eugenio Villafana prepares six or 12 courses of truly remarkable food. Each course is an expression of his artistry and could easily be served at Alinea or The Fat Duck.
The room we had was as luxurious was one would expect. The only downside was that our balcony faced the very noisy Riu resort next door. The double glass doors did keep out the vast majority of the noise but the balcony was rendered useless.
The entire property is maintained to a very high standard. There are two large pools close to the sand and there are several smaller pools and hot tubs scattered throughout the grounds.
Throughout the stay, all of the staff where very accommodating and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WaterlooMarmiton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalHideaway1, Reputation Management at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear WaterlooMarmiton,

We really appreciate the time you took to write a detailed review of your recent stay at Royal Hideaway and we are more than glad to hear you found the hotel to be elegant, understated, quiet, and relaxing with so many wonderful small touches to enjoy in our guestroom amenities. It is always pleasant to read and share reviews such as your with our hotel team, as we constantly strive to achieve and maintain the highest levels of service excellence.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We did a quick 3 day weekend to Royal Hideaway Playacar, and found it just a wonderful, beat our expectations, trip. We've been to several other Occidental properties, all of which were nice, but this was by for the nicest (most expensive too, of course). The breakfast buffet was great, and each morning had a different Mexican special to spice up the AM. The lunch menu had plenty of choices - burger, fish, pizza, tacos, ceviche - and all server with wonderful service. We ate at each of the 3 specialty dinner restaurants, and again, delightful every one.

Best of all was the staff - extremely attentive, drinks never went empty, they all had a genuine smile on there faces.

Grounds are lush, winding and well tended, there are several pools and hot tubs tucked away around the property, and a beautiful infinity pool.

The all-inclusive concept is really growing on me, especially when the quality of the food & drinks are like this.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gregg s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalHideaway1, Reputation Management at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Gregg S,

Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback regarding your recent visit. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit and that we were a relaxing getaway. We hope you will have additional opportunities to visit in the near future as we would look forward to welcoming you back at Royal Hideaway.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Everything about the hotel was great: the service, the food, the drinks, and people.
The person who made us have the most fun was Sergio who was in charge of the events. He always went out of his way to please the clients.
Overall great experience. I can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Flaca317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalHideaway1, Reputation Management at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Flaka317,

Thank you for send us your review. We are very happy to hear that you had such a pleasant stay and that Sergio provided to you an excellent service during your stay. We are thrilled that you found your visit so enjoyable.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

My wife and I had been in Playacar from Sept 12-22 and had 7 days and nights of mixed weather to say the least. It seemed that as soon as we checked into the RH that everything changed. I may be exaggerating a bit but The feeling I got was "we are home" Roger set up our dinners at the fantastic restaurants at this hotel and was there for us for whatever we needed. He found out it was our anniversary earlier in the week and balloons were stuck to our door in reminder of the occasion. The only issue I had was ordering drinks at the beach bar/beach. I ordered a Appleton rum and coke and got apple juice and coke 3 times in a row so went to order directly at the bar and changed to a greygoose black Russian and got greygoose andsoda/then a greygoose white Russian. I had to laugh about it ,thinking this is not one of the biggest problems in the world to have to deal with. We had stayed at the RH in Dec 2010 and the drinks at that time were served as ordered so this may be an area to look atThe Rui behind our room was a little loud at night but I still had great sleeps(no not because of the drinks I had to endure during the day) All in all we will be back because of the fantastic staff, no wristbands or towelcards to deal with and a warm safe feeling you have at this resort

Room Tip: get a room on the Allegro Playacar side because it would probably be quieter at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Gord M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalHideaway1, Reputation Management at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Gord M,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Royal Hideaway. We are thrilled to hear the Guest service you received exceeded your expectations. It sounds like you and your wife had a fabulous time celebrating your anniversary with us, thank you for share with us such an important date.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

just got back from a 9 day vacation at the RH and NY (6 nights at the RH). the RH is nothing less than paradise. the most common sentence you will hear from the staff is "what else can we do for you?" - and they really mean it, they really want to do whatever is needed to make you satisfied.
the place itself is really beautiful. the rooms are spacious, though could use some refreshing (especially in the bathroom). the restaurants are great (Asia got the highest score from us).
the main pool area is beautiful and the sea looks like the continuation of the infinity pool - you just can't get tired staring at it.
the public facilities are very clean (and it's not simple to keep everything so clean when it's raining all the time).
the all iclusive thing - well, it's all inclusive, everything. even the alcohol and the room service (which generally are not included anywhere).
we rented a car from the agency in the hotel (Fiesta) and the service was also very good (though the car wasn't cleaned before it was handed to us).
we were asked at the reception if we were celebrating anything, so i said that we were celebrating my birthday - i got a birthday card on my bed the next day and the room was decorated with baloons - i was so excited. what a thoughtful & kind gesture. also at Asia restaurant, the waiter understood that it's my birthday and i got a birthday cake plus candles for desert...
what can i tell you - we flew 24 hours to get there, but it was worth every minute and every dollar we paid.
if it hadn't been so far away, we would have definitely come again.
huge pleasure!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank sarit b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalHideaway1, Reputation Management at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Sarit B,

Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are delighted to hear that you were satisfied with our services and facilities. We are always concerned about our guests’ wellbeing and strive to make their holiday at our property an unforgettable experience.

We thank you sincerely once again for choosing Royal Hideaway as a holiday destiny and we very much hope to welcome you again in the near future.

And please don’t hesitate to contact us if is there anything we can do for you prior your next visit.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
1.7 mi away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#50 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
686 reviews
5.7 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#60 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,678 reviews
7.4 mi away
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hot...
#38 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya
22.3 mi away
Grand Oasis Tulum
Grand Oasis Tulum
#16 of 21 in Akumal
2,132 reviews
3.4 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#20 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
9,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hideaway Playacar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hideaway Playacar

Address: Lote Hotelero No. 6 Fracc., Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Royal Hideaway Playacar & Occidental Resorts)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#18 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#26 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#28 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $289 - $658 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Hideaway Playacar 4.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning luxury all inclusive resort set along the beautiful beaches of Playa del Carmen, Mexico. Ideal setting in a serene environment for complete rest and relaxation. Adults only. Member of The Leading Hotels of the World. 2008 winner of the coveted AAA 5 Diamond Award. 11 villas with private concierge are spread throughout the property's immaculate grounds. Six gourmet restaurants serve delicasies in menu-style dining. A full service spa offers the ultimate in papmering and body treatments. Personalzied service and attention to detail set this resort a world apart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Barcelo, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Hideaway Playacar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hideaway Playacar And Occidental Resorts
Royal Hideaway Playacar & Occidental Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Hideaway Playa Del Carmen
Royal Hideaway Mexico
Occidental Royal Hideaway
Royal Hideaway Playacar Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing