We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Nearby Hotels
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
$300
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
$359
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$517
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$293
$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla(Playa del Carmen)
$649
$345
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$535
$519
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda(Playa del Carmen)
$649
$457
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
$487
$349
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$1,434
$790
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (5,089)
Filter reviews
5,089 results
Traveler rating
3,721
878
291
129
70
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,721
878
291
129
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslas ventanasthe grillspices restaurantdinner reservationsallegria barvilla conciergeclub royaledeck restaurantdinner theaterinfinity poolchef's tablewalk in closetother resortsour honeymoonall inclusive resortquiet resorttop shelf
Filter
Updating list...
3,024 - 3,029 of 5,089 reviews
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Royal Hideaway is one of the most beautiful hotels I've ever stayed in and I travel extensively and stay at top rate hotels. The facilities were gorgeous and the staff was exceptional. When you arrive at the main building you are greeted upon check in with a glass of champagn. Checking in easy and you are given your room assignment. The rooms are spread out over the hotel grounds in two story buildings which have approximately 10 rooms. Each building has its own concierge. The walk though the grounds to get to your room, the beach or pool is about as romantic as you'll ever find with small bridges, fountains and lush grounds. The hotel is all inclusive and you have a choice of several restaurants which are all amazing. No matter how much you try you cannot have a bad time at this resort. If you're looking for a romantic resort where the ambience, food, service is par excellence don't even hesitate or look anywhere else cause it just doesn't get better than this.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd floor have a better view but there are no elevators so you have to climb a flight of stairs.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalupe S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2017

Thank you for making our Royal Hideaway your choice hotel on this occasion and for your very kind recommendation to the travel community , this positive feedback keeps us motivated to encounter the compliance of our demanding quality standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

It was divine......great service......good food......but almost too "upscale". When on vacation it would be nice to not have a formal dinner reservation every night, but as an option be able to go to a causal restaurant in your dressy shorts and have a light dinner. Especially on the night you arrive and you are disoriented and dead tired. I believe that every resort should have a bar by the pool or near the lobby, with bar stools to sit and chat and have a casual drink with other guests. The only entertainment during the day was a few staff members and a couple of guests singing "Love Is In The Air", which became pretty tired by day three. PS - they need good pillows rather than lots of teeny, tiny ones.

Needs a little tweaking!

Nitely entertainment was minimal

Room Tip: We were in the back forty. There are only three buildings close to the beach, pool that are worthy, or if you are set back some, then definitely the second floor looking into the courtyards.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalupe S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2017

We greatly appreciate the time you spent to review your recent experience in our hotel, at Royal Hideaway we always strive to exceed guests' expectations and your comments will help our teams reaching that goal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed at the Royal Hideawy over the Christmas period, I did research the hotel prior to booking it. I think our disappointment is a personal opinion in this case.
Arrived at the hotel the lobby was a little different, very old fashioned we had a private transfer so there was only the 2 of us but had to wait 15 minutes to check in as there was only one person there and they were dealing with a couple who I think were complaining about something, not a big deal.
Room was clean and basic nice but nothing spectacular there is definally room for improvement for the money paid.
Breakfast was served in a great location pretty much on the beach so great foods, service as excellent for first 4 days the last 3 a little slower maybe due to more people arriving due to Christmas. Lunch on the deck again pretty much on the beach was a great location, same menu every day which toward the end getting a little tiring especially if you are a chicken and salad type person.
Restaurants were pretty good, service in all dinner restaurants was excellent, by far exceeded my expectations.
Christmas Eve dinner was the worst I have ever had, the show at the Theatre was ok, the Christmas dinner was a choice of seabass or Turkey, we both ordered turkey it was terrible it was a slice of turkey roll stuffed with I have no idea what it was but left a nasty taste to the turkey even after you scraped it out, some other stuffing thing on the side and puree potato.
Room service great only ordered once but decent menu and timely.
Beach was lovely kept very clean, pool was spotless ther isn't a swim up bar but there is a bar at the side of the pool.
It is a very quiet resort both during the day and evenings, there isn't a lobby bar but a small bar Allegria (i think it was called) where you can sit outside they do have entertainment but not until 10pm there is nothing prior to keep you going, needless to say we never made the entertainment so can't comment.
Overall review,
Very clean, excellent service, on a great beach, clean pool, decent food, very quiet, (I like some quietness but this was too quiet) I found it way overpriced we paid for 1 week from Toronto $3200 per person.
Still a nice resort but not for us, I for sure prefer secrets maroma, Excellence Playa Mujereles and the Iberostar grand.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank seaton2770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalupe S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2017

We greatly appreciate the time you spent to review your recent experience in our hotel, at Royal Hideaway we always strive to exceed guests' expectations and your comments will help our teams reaching that goal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We holidayed here 24 November 2012 - 8 December 2012. Having done LOTS of research on the internet we finally chose the Royal Hideaway for our 2 week break. Not fans of All Inculsive resorts we realised that in Mexico its pretty much the rule. We did not expect the food here to be as superb as it is. Every single restaurant serves amazing food. We regularly dine out here in London so have fairly high expectations but can honestly say the food at RH was truly delicious, fresh and wonderfully presented. Along with the fabulous food came great service. On occassion when the restaurants were busy the service slowed a little, but this just allowed us a little more time to rest between each fabulous course. Staff were attentive, warm and incredibly professional - and this was at all times of the day! Jesus the "Captain" who runs the breakfast and lunch restaurants (Spices and The Grill) is brilliant. Engaging, friendly and efficient. He runs a tight, happy and professional ship - all his waiters/staff are efficient, friendly and courteous. Truly first class service.
The staff in general are fabulous. We stayed in Casita 24 where our concierge Hector couldn't do enough for us. He was excellent. He even helped my partner organise a surprise for my birthday with flowers and balloons in our room. Nothing was too much bother for him and he did it all with a smile.
The hotel itself is large enough without being one of those soul-less monstrosities which you often encounter in "resort" destinations. The gym was small but well equipped. The spa was a little expensive but worth treating yourself to. The choice of restaurants was good; although do make sure you book as soon as the reservations open on Saturday (for the week) as not to disappoint. The few bars they have are small but if you're there for a relaxing holiday then they are more than adequate.
The beach is fabulous. Beautiful white sands, turquoise clear waters and no children. The waiter/beach service on the beach makes it even more special. If you can drag yourself away from the beach then Monica in the travel centre can help organise some excursions. She was incredibly friendly and helpful - definitely no hard sell. The three trips we went on during our stay were definitely worth leaving the beach for and definitely worth the money (snorkelling in Akumal with turtles, baracuda and a huge variety of fish was just stunning).
The only slight negative was the other guests but this was towards the end of our stay, when a few groups of American tourist arrived. They were loud, brash and often rude to the staff. The Royal hideaway has a relaxing, exclusive intimate vibe about it. They obviously had booked the wrong hotel as they were wanting a party atmosphere 24/7. It didn't ruin our stay as it was the last three days of our holiday.
That said, we had a truly fabulous relaxing time; great weather, food and first class service made this such a memorable holiday.
(one thing to note is that the sun rises early and sets very early too - around 6pm. The sun loses its intensity from about 4pm. So if you love the sunshine/heat like me you struggle after 4pm. We were told that in 2013 the government has agreed to put the clocks back to help remedy this)

Room Tip: Our room was 2425 which was closest to the sea with a side balcony that had a sea view which we didn't pay extra for. The only slight downside is in the afternoon the hotel next door run competitions which are noisy so if you're in your room it can sometime be heard
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Antandsai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalupe S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2017

Thank you for making our Royal Hideaway your choice hotel on this occasion and for your very kind recommendation to the travel community , this positive feedback keeps us motivated to encounter the compliance of our demanding quality standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I would like to start by saying that the hotel is beautiful, the rooms great, and the food excellent! Having said that, our vacation lost some of it's luster do the the surprisingly poor service that we experienced our entire week. I had stayed at somewhere in the neighborhood of a dozen high end resorts/hotels in the Riviera Maya area, and one thing that has always been consistent is the amazing service. I think everyone will understand what I am speaking about. You know how when after a couple of days during your stay, when you come back to your room, that it has many things in there that you have asked for during your first couple of days? For example, we drink quite a bit of water. We had to call every day to ask for 6-8 bottles of water, and never once did they restock our room. Annoying! Plus, every day we had to call to ask for fruit in our room. Annoying! How hard after a day or two of requesting this, is it to supply our room each day without having to make a call? Every resort in the past it was always done that way. How about reservations for dinner each night: Every night we would request a time between 7:00- 8:00 PM. We were told only only 6:00 PM or after 9:00 PM! The first time I asked our concierge to special request a 7:30 PM time and after much ado was able to make it happen. Low and behold when we got to the restaurant, it was empty! This happened every night we were there, why??? Finally our person concierge did not call the travel agency to arrange departing transfers and they ended up calling me. We requested a late checkout of a measly one hour, and when he never got back to me, I called personally to the front desk. They gave us our request, however when walking by our concierge later on he vehemently said they could not do the late checkout. We said they already gave it to us. As many of you can imagine and probably know from experience that Mexico fine hotels never are like this, and I hope this is a one time situation for us, but it really took away from our total experience of what otherwise was a great hotel experience.

Room Tip: Request third floor for the high ceilings!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalupe S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2017

Thank you for making our Royal Hideaway your choice hotel on this occasion and for your very kind recommendation to the travel community , this positive feedback keeps us motivated to encounter the compliance of our demanding quality standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews