We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the money.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Ranked #28 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Springfield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not worth the money.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We visited Oct 12-19th. I chose this place because of recommendations from friends and the reviews on here. Sadly this resort was lacking. The front desk receptionist asked if we were celebrating anything special. We said yes, our 10 year anniversary was in September. She acted like that it was ridiculous to be celebrating a month late.

Some of the food was incredible, some was mediocre and some as absolutely awful. Most was beautifully presented whether it tasted good or not. 5 ouf the 7 dinners we had there we had fantastic service. Those other two nights our service was slow and unfriendly. We were unhappy with the fact that the breakfast buffet was our only option, neither my husband nor I liked it. They also did not have the dinner show the entire week we were there.

We were introduced to our concierge. After that finding him was impossible. He was working between 2 villas. I realize that it was not his fault he was busy. With that said we requested an extra blanket twice, never received. it. When we were able to find him once to ask him a question, he yelled down to us from the second floor landing. He made it clear we were bothering him.

The beach and ocean are amazing. White sand and clear blue water. There are plenty of beach chairs and the bali beds are great!

If you only want to eat, drink and lie on the beach then this is the type of resort you want. For us it was extremely boring.

We were in Villa 26 and it was in the center of the resort. The room was nice, the bed was very, very firm. Even from our room we could hear the music blaring from the other resorts until late into the night.

They do take immaculate care of the resort grounds. There were people always cleaning and repairing.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,887 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,856
    683
    211
    91
    46
See reviews for
311
2,515
69
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (906)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cypress, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

I usually do not like all inclusive resorts because the food quality and service are generally below par. Royal Hideaway is just the opposite. The service and food are both excellent. The staff is genuinely friendly and eager to please. The facility and grounds are well cared for and the beach is beautiful.

My wife and I were celebrating our sixteenth wedding anniversary. Our concierge, Eduardo, helped me arrange a suprise anniversary dinner on the beach. We arrived at the Grill for dinner that night and found a perfectly manicured table for two on the beach. My wife was eccstatic. Pierre and his staff had obviously groomed every detail. The grilled lobster dinner was exxcellent. Fray was our waiter for the night and gave us perfect service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norman R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

I really don't like all inclusive resorts because usually the food is bad and the service stinks , but this place is nothing like that! We loved it ! It was a last min. Holiday in Jan. Of 2012 after spending a month in Europe and were in that travel mode and didn't want to break the bank so my travel agent recommend this place as a quick getaway for a week . The service was great and the food was better then expected, plus it was inexpensive. You get so much for your $$$ so if you want a truely great place in playa del Carmen choose this place , we did and loved it!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Knicpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

A fabulous resort, clean quiet, amazing facilities with outstanding food. All the staff are friendly and the service is second to none. We will be back as soon as we can and cannot say enough how we have enjoyed our honeymoon at the royal hideaway. Wound recommend to anyone who wants a quiet resort with exquisite food! Thank you to all the staff who have made our honeymoon perfect.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Crouchette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

I just arrived back from my trip of 10-06 – 10-13. I had a great week and wish I was still there!

The Royal Hideaway is the antithesis of all the Yucatan Peninsula resorts. Rather than share the typical new age take on the Mayan Culture, RH looked and felt like something out of an F. Scott Fitzgerald novel. Each villa had similar architecture, but each was a tad different, not the usual cookie cutter approach. The grounds were completely wooded by indigenous trees, tropical palms, and an assortment of visible and semi hidden pools. Overall, the resort was rich in character and peacefulness.

The beach was awesome…the revitalization after the hurricane damage was money well spent. I enjoyed most of my time to the right under a variety of palm trees. I recommend taking a walk along the beach in either direction. If you head north you can make it into town in a half hour.

The staff was the friendliest I have ever encountered; they all went out of their way to make each guest seem special. It felt great to be constantly greeted by name. At each dinner’s end, the host/hostess would ask if there was anything more they can do for me that night. Special kudos go out to Laura, Ingrid, Christopher, Alex, Isis, Ricardo and countless others. The concierge is a nice perk and he was very helpful for my first two days. Unfortunately mine went MIA on Monday morning, never to return.

Every restaurant had its own unique qualities. My favorite was Palazzo, I suggest dining outside on the terrace, if the weather is clear, you can see the Cozumel skyline. Tip…enjoy your lunches at Spices. One minor note… I have read in other previous reviews about tiny portions; my portions were fine. However, if not, the wait staff was happy to bring you more of any course you preferred…many guests dined on multiple deserts.

The Night Life was a bit subdued, and most guests did not partake. My favorite night was Karaoke night; the wedding party of the day seemed to have a good time

The RH could move up to 5 stars with a few minor tweaks…
• At the two o’clock hour live music was performed by a saxapone/flautist. It would have been nice to have music the entire day. On my final Saturday morning, light jazz/new age music was piped on to the beach. It should have been played all week
• Since it was the off season, and the resort was less than 50% capacity, a few scheduled events did not happen. Most disappointing was the elimination of breakfast at Ventanas... Since I’m not a buffet guy, I really missed the sit down breakfast.
• Nightly entertainment could have been improved with the addition of a vocalist, rather than just instrumentalists.

Finally, I met some nice guests who made the trip that much more enjoyable…, Y at dinner, A&M at the Allegria Bar, and. B&M at the gym.

Room Tip: If you are not satisfied with something, just ask, the staff will aim to please you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rickcap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed at the Royal Hideaway for one week commencing 2nd October 2012.

This is a relaxed quiet and friendly hotel where nothing is too much trouble for the fantastic staff. As all of the staff that we encountered were of the same high quality I will not name any of them but just say a big thank you to all of them for their attentive service.

There are plenty of choices for eating at different restaurants within the resort and the food is of excellent quality.

The location is good as it is walking distance to town either by road or beach. This prevents the feeling of going stir crazy that often comes withan all inclusive resort.

The only things to watch out for are the midges that bite (they do get into the rooms) and there is no deterent automatically provided by the hotel..We were however provided with a spray by the staff upon request.

Other complaints on tripadvisor have related to the noise from the next door hotel. Yes it does disturb the peacefulness of the grounds but once in your room it is not so bothersome.
Also there is noise from outside the rooms when other guests slam doors but this is not something that is constant so can be overlooked as far as we were concerned.

If you want a place to kick back, eat well and relax in lovely surroundings and where the staff will do their utmost to fulfill your every request you would do well to stay at the Royal Hideaway.

If you want to party go somewhere else.

Room Tip: Rooms on the North side are further away from the adjacent hotel which is noisy of an evening. Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tourists_are_us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband surprised me with a trip to Maya Riviera for Valentine's day. We booked the trip for May 2012 with our friends who were celebrating their 10-year anniversary. My husband has used Costco travel for his other trips and trusted their choice of hotels. He chose the Royal Hideaway. Before he booked, I did my own research and found it to be the best hotel for our needs. The Royal Hideaway is boutique and does not appear as grand as some of the other resorts when you drive up. However, once you're inside the lobby and hotel grounds, you are taken away by the beauty and feel of luxury. The hotel is really beautiful and smells of flowers everywhere you go! We also appreciated the staff and our own personal concierge. It was my first time in Mexico and I was really impressed. My husband and friends have been to Mexico many times and to all different locations and they all agreed that this was the nicest place they have every stayed in. My only complaint are the rooms and food. The rooms were in need of some TLC. The bathtub was cracked and dirty, so I didn't want to take a bath. Also, for a 5 star, Michelin rated resort, the food fell way below our expectations. I hate to say, but the food at the Deck was comparable to gas-station food. The mexican food at Spices was terribly flavorless. I'd much rather eat at the taco stands near 5th Ave. We ate at every restaurant on the resort and since there were 4 of us, ended up trying every item on every menu. The only thing I'd eat again would be Ventana, the asian restaurant, and breakfast buffet. However, even these would be nowhere near the standards in the US. The food didn't ruin our experience though. We were overall very happy with the resort and felt it was money well spent!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica2544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
5.7 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#59 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,855 reviews
7.4 mi away
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hot...
#47 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
2.6 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#20 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
#35 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,096 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
#38 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,285 reviews
1.1 mi away
Playacar Palace
Playacar Palace
#19 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hideaway Playacar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hideaway Playacar

Property: Royal Hideaway Playacar
Address: Lote Hotelero No. 6 Fracc., Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Royal Hideaway Playacar & Occidental Resorts)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#13 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#18 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#21 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#23 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Hideaway Playacar 4.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning luxury all inclusive resort set along the beautiful beaches of Playa del Carmen, Mexico. Ideal setting in a serene environment for complete rest and relaxation. Adults only. Member of The Leading Hotels of the World. 2008 winner of the coveted AAA 5 Diamond Award. 11 villas with private concierge are spread throughout the property's immaculate grounds. Six gourmet restaurants serve delicasies in menu-style dining. A full service spa offers the ultimate in papmering and body treatments. Personalzied service and attention to detail set this resort a world apart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Barcelo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Hideaway Playacar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hideaway Playacar & Occidental Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Hideaway Playacar And Occidental Resorts
Royal Hideaway Playa Del Carmen
Royal Hideaway Mexico
Occidental Royal Hideaway
Royal Hideaway Playacar Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing