We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We felt like Royalty”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Ranked #32 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We felt like Royalty”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

This was our third time to visit Royal Hideaway and we were more impressed than ever! This is the place to go to get away from it all! A totally pampering and relaxing experience. This is not a place to party...they do have a bar that is open until 1 but we are always too tired to go because of the pina coladas and other specialty drinks they offer by the pool and soaking up the sun all day. Before we left Royal Hodeaway, we were already planning our next trip. I set the bar high this time and was not disappointed one bit. This is our favorite get-away hands down. I can't say enough good things.

Room Tip: Ask to be in one of the middle villas. THe top floors have vaulted ceilings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,973 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,913
    702
    217
    94
    47
See reviews for
320
2,577
71
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (914)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
109 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Wanted to experience the celebrations for Day of the Dead (November 1) in Mexico (they were amazing). Booked this hotel as the prices were surprisingly reasonable at that time of year.

Each villa has a Concierge to serve the guests in that location and they ensure everything is perfect for you. The Villas are not modern but traditional, so one is far more aware of the humidity and must keep the room aired daily. There are a variety of pools and a lovely beach. The beach extends to the ferry ramp in one direction and I got tired walking the other way so I don't know how far you can go!

My absolutely favourite restaurant was the Mexican one...... breakfast buffet is excellent especially sitting out on the balcony enjoying the scenery and the lunch & dinner are equally good. Truly some of the best Mexican food I have ever the pleasure of enjoying. This hotel is definitely a "couples" hotel but all restaurants treated singles very graciously.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CKJ_MOM3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Let me first start with I am 41, female, from US, happily married with 4 children. We were looking for a short getaway to relax and reconnect. We have previously taken our kids to Dreams Tulum and absolutely loved it! So that being said here goes our review:

Beach: Absolutely beautiful. Probably one of the best we have been to. We have traveled to Hawaii, east and west coasts and Florida many times. I could stand in 4 feet of water and see my toes. There were four colors of blue looking out onto the ocean. No rocks or shells, some seaweed, but that is to be expected. The beach went beyond our expectations!

Rooms: Very lovely. Smaller, but very clean and well taken care of. Very comfortable bed. We have a TempurPedic bed at home and usually miss it lots when traveling. This time we didnt. Room service very quick. They basically would bend over backwards and do a couple of flips to make sure that you were happy.

Food: After reading review after review about this resort and so many others when we were trying to choose where to stay, I can honestly say all the reviews were correct. The food is very good. And if you have noticed in all the reviews no one complains about getting sick from unhealthy sanitary practices. I have my food sanitation license and I saw no food prep violations. This is a big deal - no one wants to get sick on vacation. My husband seems to have an upset stomach often - NOT ONCE WHILE HERE!
Probably the only complaint we had the whole time is just that the evening dining was a little to fancy for us. I mean they lay out the red carpet at each restaurant and are so attentive to every detail, but we are very casual and would have liked to have a casual place to go in shorts in the evening. The second day we opted to have lunch while on the beach relaxing. We really enjoyed not having to get dressed for lunch and to stay in our swimsuits. The meal was there in 10 minutes - not joking. They are so attentive!!!
Contrary to every review I read (which seemed like 100's), our least favorite restaurant was Las Ventanas. The food was ok, my husbands sea bass was excellent. We just felt a little to formal. But it was still a very good restaurant. Loved the piano playing in the background - how romantic.
Spices for breakfast was great. We were lucky enough to eat out on the patio and were amazed by the beautiful views.
Azia was good. We had a very romantic private room, felt like we were in Japan. My husband had the hibachi, it lacked flavor. We both had sushi, it was ok. I had the mahi mahi it was pretty good. The fried ginger ice cream was the best - a must try:)
The Grill was our favorite for lunch and dinner. Once again impeccable service - I cant believe how hard these people work to make you happy. Ceviche!! It was made with fresh grouper - YUMMY! Grouper fish tacos were great, had the pizza it was only ok wouldnt recommend.

Pools - my husbands favorite part. They were the perfect temperature, very clean, and everywhere there seemed to be one! The pool bathroom always had someone there cleaning it.

I would definitely recommend this resort. It was awesome to be pampered. We felt very safe. This place is worth the extra money, you will not be disappointed I promise!

Room Tip: We had the standard deluxe room 2nd floor on the south side of the resort. Amazing and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MelindaIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Thank you to Monica at World-Wide Travel of Cornwall, NY for suggesting this gorgeous, welcoming resort for our Mexican get-away. Some of the things we loved: Mexican style architecture and furnishings, beautifully landscaped tropical grounds, turquoise color of the ocean, intimate little pools and romantic nooks, little surprises like outdoor high tea, and a romantic dinner for two on the beach. We were spoiled and delighted by the differently themed restuarants--their elegant ambience, friendly staff, creative menus, and the beautifully presented gourmet food, I could go on and on with enthusiastic comments. Hope we can go back soon.

Room Tip: A second floor rooms have a balconies with a table and chair. Rooms that are more central are quiete...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cleopatrany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

I work for a well known U.S. carrier that looks for 3 qualities when hiring folks because they feel if one embodies them then customers will keep coming back time and time again. These three qualities are Warrior Spirit, Servants Heart and a Fun LUVing Attitude and The Royal Hideaway has every last bit of them. This is truly why I keep coming back to them time and time again at least for the past 5 years.

Warrior Spirit- they don't stop short of fixing the problem, if you should have one, or having the answer your looking for. I have never had a problem personally but have heard guests that have and we're very satisfied with the outcome. The most extreme issue I heard was how the a/c was out in their room and the hotel Manager arranged for fans to be brought to the room while the issue was resolved and a room change of the problem was not resolved that day if not hour. In addition, they offered them a free massage as a way to relaxe and relieve the stress that the situation had caused.

This makes for a great segway into the second quality which is Servants Heart. At the RH you are not just a room number or another night stay. You are some they want to get to know more and help you have the best stay possible. From Sara at the front, to Eduardo at the Bar, to Isis at the Deck to Rosa at the Spa. They all will do anything for you and always with a beautiful smile on their face.

Now for the Fun LUVing Attitude, which can be seen at all times during the day. This place is quiet but that doesn't mean they don't know how to have fun. For the past 3 years I have met the same couple from NY their just by chance and ever time we play a game of Bocci. Currently NY is up on TX 2 games to 1. Anyway, from beach games to water aerobics to the staff signing "Love is in the air", they just make you feel relaxed and ready to have a good time. By no means will they pressure you to do anything, but they will be sure to check in with you and ask if would like to join in. At night they have a simple yet fun set of activities--karaoke, poker, bands etc., and at just the right amount where you leave happy but not exhausted.

As for food, drink, beds, spa, grounds, gym, pool, beach, all are incredible and whatever bad reviews you have read, these folks have issues of their own. This is 5 star and I would add a sixth if I could.

Thank you RH for always making me feel like someone very special even from the first step I take onto your grounds where I am always greeted by our friend Manuel. Planning my next trip and what better place to celebrate 15 years of being in love with my beautiful wife.

Thanks again!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Oldnu7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This was our first visit to Mexico and chose this hotel mainly from the comments left by other people on Tripadvisor. We were not disappointed. The hotel is in a magnificent setting backing on to a white sandy beach. The staff were welcoming and helpful and the facilities second to none. We would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a stress free and pampered holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

What can I say,this is heaven. Been to Riveria Maya 4 times the n found this paradise. We were in the middle of the resort Villa 26(the most quiet). The staff are outstanding and welcoming and after the first day or two they somehow know your name and what drinks you like and have on tap for you all day.Our friends celebrated birthday and wedding anniversaries and drank champage all day in question no problem. Food is excellant, doesnt help the weight allowance on the return flights, as so much to choose from. The grounds are well looked after and everyone says "Hola". Roll on next year when we are hoping to return to PARADISE again.

Room Tip: Ask for Villa 26 and Upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
5.7 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#58 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,050 reviews
7.4 mi away
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hot...
#49 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
3.4 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#23 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
#38 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,186 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
#39 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,341 reviews
1.1 mi away
Playacar Palace
Playacar Palace
#20 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hideaway Playacar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hideaway Playacar

Property: Royal Hideaway Playacar
Address: Lote Hotelero No. 6 Fracc., Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Royal Hideaway Playacar & Occidental Resorts)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#18 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#24 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#27 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Hideaway Playacar 4.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning luxury all inclusive resort set along the beautiful beaches of Playa del Carmen, Mexico. Ideal setting in a serene environment for complete rest and relaxation. Adults only. Member of The Leading Hotels of the World. 2008 winner of the coveted AAA 5 Diamond Award. 11 villas with private concierge are spread throughout the property's immaculate grounds. Six gourmet restaurants serve delicasies in menu-style dining. A full service spa offers the ultimate in papmering and body treatments. Personalzied service and attention to detail set this resort a world apart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Royal Hideaway Playacar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hideaway Playacar And Occidental Resorts
Royal Hideaway Playacar & Occidental Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Hideaway Playa Del Carmen
Royal Hideaway Mexico
Occidental Royal Hideaway
Royal Hideaway Playacar Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing