We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Closest thing you'll find to paradise in PDC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Ranked #34 of 217 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We have been to PDC many times, stayed at many resorts, and this one TRULY stands out. Beautiful grounds, great beach, genuine staff. The rooms are very nice, but for the most part what you would expect for a higher end resort in PDC. Flat panel TV, huge bed, marble floors. The only real improvement that could be made on the rooms in my opinion would be the bathroom. Nothing wrong with it really, it just wasn't anything special. Having a concierge in each villa is very nice. It gives the resort an even more personal touch. I forget what villa we stayed in but our concierge's name was Gerardo. He was very polite, helpful, and always happy to greet us. As previously stated, the grounds are beautiful. The resort is fairly small so not much walking is required. There are many plants, large "nature pools", and quite a bit of wildlife (for a smaller resort). The food is outstanding. Enough said. No a la carte here. Full menu all the time. Order while you're at the restaurant, on the beach, or at the pool. The staff will bring it right to you. Just remember (obviously), tip these people! I don't care if it's "all inclusive" or if the hotel says not to. The staff works hard, reward them! We loved Isis by the pool. We were at RH for 5 days, I think she worked every day. She was constantly running around the pool, serving drinks and food. A real juggernaut. She even remembers your favorites. We liked the Asian restaurant the most. Very good! The activities are aplenty at RH, although we did not participate. Jessie and Felipe are energetic as can be, and also very polite. Never felt pressure to do anything. Felipe was another employee we saw every day. Seemed like he may have been working a double 2 or 3 of those days! He's a very nice guy. The bars are pretty standard, run of the mill. The only thing that really stood out to me was that the tap beer was actually good! The pools are very nice. Moderate size. Both face the beach. Have to issue the standard warning, get there early to get a spot by the pool. A lot of "chair saving" going on as usual. RH has tried to curb this (unsuccessfully) by instating a 20 minute rule. It doesn't seem to me that it is enforced at all. We simply would just move people's things if they weren't around for over a half hour. Either way, there isn't really a bad chair by the pool anyway. There are 2 if not 3 "relax" pools around the resort, but we did not use them. We may have, but the resort was only at 50% capacity when we were there so we had plenty of room. Our room overlooked one of the relax pools so we went and checked it out. It was very small, lots of shade, and very warm water. As far as best room location, I would just avoid staying near the main pool. No other real opinion on that. RH is one of the more expensive resorts in PDC, but it's worth it. Overall, we WILL be back!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank pawnit2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalHideaway1, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

Dear pawnit2002

Thank you very much for taking the time to share such a detailed review on TripAdvisor. We do our best to provide personalized service to all our guests, and I’m delighted to see that our staff, including Gerardo, Isis, Felipe and Jessie, made your stay extra special.

Our resort features six pools, including two relaxation pools. Also, we do our best to make chairs available to all our guests and discussed your review with our pool manager to ensure protocol is enforced.

Our Executive Chef Eugenio Villafaña oversees each menu at our six gourmet restaurants, and we’re glad to see you enjoyed them.

We’ll keep the sun shining for your next visit to Mexico!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,717)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,839 - 2,845 of 4,717 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a 5 night stay at Royal Hideaway and could not have had a better time. We have stayed at numerous all inclusive resorts in Playa del Carmen and keep coming back to RH. The beach is amazing! It has all new sand and it's virtually seaweed free. Crystal clear, bright blue, warm water. Unfortunately, the wind was high enough to warrant a red flag, so there was no swimming. But this also made for some amazing wave action! Mornings were spent on the beach, lunch on the deck and then the afternoons at the pool. Food was excellent. We made our reservations online before we arrived and got every time slot we asked for. If we were to do it again, we would skip the Club Royale dinner theater and go to Ventanas again. Absolutely no complaints about the room, room service, pools or grounds. You just can't say enough about the staff! We remembered having gazbacho (?) on a previous visit, but it was no longer on the menu. We asked our waiter (Javier) about it our first day, and he made sure the chef made it special for us each day!! We laughed out loud each afternoon as the activities staff danced to "Love is in the Air". We met some lovely people around the pool (hey to our new friends from Atlanta!), enjoyed the water aerobics and yoga classes taught by Jessie. We could hear the noise from the two resorts on either side, but were never bothered by it. My husband used the fitness center every morning and as long as you just want to use a treadmill, it was fine. It was all just perfect and we'll be back next June!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank echtentexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalHideaway1, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

Dear echtentexas,

We’re so happy to hear that we’ve exceeded your expectations. Our goal is to always provide an unforgettable experience and our staff does their best to go above and beyond. Javier and Jessie were ecstatic to know you enjoyed their service.

We’re glad that you enjoyed our fine dining and made reservations, prior to arrival. Reservations can always be made in advance by emailing guest services at: cservices@mx.occidentalhotels.com.

Our Executive Chef Eugenio Villafaña will be thrilled to know you enjoyed the restaurants. We do recommend the Chefs Table at Las Ventanas. It is a special add-on that provides a delectable personalized experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

The staff of this hotel is outstanding they make you feel as the most important person in the whole place. However the rooms look old and tired and the beds are too soft at least for me.The food was awesome, did not expect that.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chanel128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalHideaway1, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

Dear Chanel128,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Our employees work very hard to provide genuine customer service, and we truly have the best team.

I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed our restaurants and cuisine. Our Executive Chef Eugenio Villafaña is always looking for ways to enhance our menus and provide delicacies for our guests.

I’ve shared your comments about the rooms with our rooms division manager to see if how we can improve.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

My husband and I treated ourselves for a week at this wonderful resort. It was our first visit in the Cancun area and after this experience we will surely go back! The first thing I noticed is how pretty it smelled in the lobby, and then in our suite. The personnel was friendly and attentive everywhere. And the food! Oh my God! All the restaurants (Grill, Asian, Italian, and International) had a great selection on their menu and we didn't have any problems wanting to go to any of them a second time. Our room was spacious and had a wonderful view on the water. We cannot wait to plan a trip back there!

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
5  Thank dbanvill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalHideaway1, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2012

Dear dbanvill,

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We are happy that we exceeded your expectations so much so that you are already planning to come back! It would be our pleasure to host you again!

Our Executive Chef Eugenio Villafaña was thrilled to hear you enjoyed the cuisine, as he is always looking for ways to enhance the culinary experience for guests.

Thank you for recommending us and we will see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Beautiful beach, fantastic food and top notch service - what more can you ask for? The resort is beautiful and very quiet. I recommend booking an evening at the Chef's Table - 12 exquisite dishes prepared for you alone...truly unbelievable! Our concierge Gerardo went out of his way to ensure that our honeymoon went beyond our expectations.

Room Tip: Rooms on left side of resort are quiter...partying Rui guests on right may keep people up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tankat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalHideaway1, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2012

Dear Tankat,

Thank you very much for the glowing review. Congratulations on your wedding and we’re honored that you chose us for your honeymoon! We take great pride in creating special moments every day, and so glad to hear that you had an exceptional stay.

You are right; the Chef’s Table is a must-do. The customized dining experience, available for additional charge, offers guests the opportunity to interact with the resort’s Executive Chef Eugenio Villafaña and his team while enjoying unique dishes created exclusively for the guests.

Also , we are so happy that Gerardo could helped make your honeymoon unforgettable.

We hope that you will visit us in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Perfect hotel for couple. The service is very something, what ever you want you ask, you get. The beach is nice, the food quality is very good, the room are confortable

Room Tip: ask room that offer a view at the complex, otherwise you may have a room with a view of wall of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank josee c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalHideaway1, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2012

Dear josee c,

Thank you for your comments! We strive to make everybody feel important because it is our goal to ensure all guests have an unforgettable experience.

We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

This was our third trip to Royal Hideaway, eighth trip to Riviera Maya

The beach improvement project that was done after the hurricane was excellent, the beach is now much wider and the sands are soft. The hotel location is perfect within a 20-25 minute walk to down town Playa Del Carmen.

Property-Rooms: The property is well kept, beach and pool area very clean. The rooms are clean with twice daily maid service, air conditioning keeps room cold although television channel offerings are limited. Room size is good, furnishing are good, my only complaint is the fluctuating water temperature in the shower, and yes they have to improve the pillow selection, there are other hotels that have newer, more spacious accommodations There is free WIFI throughout the hotel including the beach area and it performed reasonably well.

Food : Excellent with a good selection of restaurants (Spices, Italian, Asian, Grill, Las Ventanas which is modern-fusion) had no problem with making reservations for our preferred dining times, but I do suggest that you make all your reservations the day you arrive. Twice we had the opportunity to meet and talk with Executive Chef Eugenio. Eugenio has been working at RH for the past 7 months his passion is clearly evident he is creative and focused on variety and quality; he has an excellent team working in all the restaurants. He makes a great effort to speak with the guests and get their feedback.

They are making some minor adjustments on the premium wine menu and I would encourage the wine manager to look at the competition to fine tune RH selection and pricing.

Service: Staff throughout the resort is friendly and accommodating. If I have one criticism it’s that the service in the restaurants is only 4 stars. The workers make a true effort to satisfy and meet your requests but service is not without few minor flaws, with time and additional training I am sure they can achieve 5 stars. Our building No 25, concierge was excellent.

Spa: Good choice of treatments, very clean facility, reasonably priced and excellent massage therapists.

Entertainment: Three of the restaurants had live musicians for part of the dining period. There are live musicians performing most nights at the bar.

RH is a smaller quieter resort than most of the other resorts that are on the Riviera, so if you are looking for a relaxing, well pampered vacation then look no further.

I have stayed at Valentin, Iberostar Grand and Zoetry and although there are some similarities they each have their own identity.

I would highly recommend this resort.

Room Tip: Buildings 25, 26 and 27 are located in the center of the property
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank bgtny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalHideaway1, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2012

Dear bgtny,

Thank you for your continued loyalty to Royal Hideaway! We’re glad to hear that you enjoyed the changes we have made around the property. Our goal is to provide guests personalized service and an unforgettable experience.

The feedback about the shower temperature and restaurant staff has been duly noted and I’ve discussed it with our food and beverage manager and maintenance team.

We’ll keep the sun shining for your fourth visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
6.7 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#9 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
4,489 reviews
2.3 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#32 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
2,985 reviews
2 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
17,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#20 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
9,608 reviews
14.3 mi away
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
12,530 reviews
7.4 mi away
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hot...
#24 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
1,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hideaway Playacar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hideaway Playacar

Address: Lote Hotelero No. 6 Fracc., Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Royal Hideaway Playacar & Occidental Resorts)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#23 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#28 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $332 - $717 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Hideaway Playacar 4.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning luxury all inclusive resort set along the beautiful beaches of Playa del Carmen, Mexico. Ideal setting in a serene environment for complete rest and relaxation. Adults only. Member of The Leading Hotels of the World. 2008 winner of the coveted AAA 5 Diamond Award. 11 villas with private concierge are spread throughout the property's immaculate grounds. Six gourmet restaurants serve delicasies in menu-style dining. A full service spa offers the ultimate in papmering and body treatments. Personalzied service and attention to detail set this resort a world apart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Barcelo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Hideaway Playacar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hideaway Playacar & Occidental Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Hideaway Playacar And Occidental Resorts
Royal Hideaway Playa Del Carmen
Royal Hideaway Mexico
Occidental Royal Hideaway
Royal Hideaway Playacar Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing