We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous! Very relaxing! Can't wait to go back! A++++++”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Ranked #32 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 25, 2012

We loved absolutely everything about this resort! The service was absolutely amazing. Everyone was super friendly and overly accommodating. Isis (our waitress at the pool) was absolutely incredible. A special thanks to her to helping make our vacation absolutely perfect and relaxing.
If you are looking for a large grand overdone resort with a big nightlife then this isn't the place for you. But if you are looking to get away and truly relax then this is the place for you. It is very quiet and romantic. We cannot wait to go back!
A++++++

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the interior of the resort or on the quiet side of the resort when you make your r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MD_NYC2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalHideaway1, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2012

Dear MD_NYC2012,

I’m estatic about your review and happy to hear that your expectations were exceeded by the exceptional service of our staff, especially Isis.

Yes, we do provide a serene oasis for our guests. However, we’re very close to Playa del Carmen where guests will find a bustling night life. It’s a five minute ride from our hotel, and we’ll gladly arrange a taxi for guests.

We look forward to welcoming you home again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,427)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,622 - 2,628 of 4,428 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2012

Can I get you anything? Is there anything else we can do for you? How is your stay so far? A welcome back note in the RH daily papar. The staff at the Royal Hideaway so spoiled my boyfriend and me last week, that I am having a difficult time adjusting back to reality. We decided to go back to the Royal Hideaway because our experience last year was stellar. I think this year was even better. I was so ready for a relaxing vacation, and this is what we had - with great service at every turn.

The beach is amazing. The grounds are beautiful. Such a great location.

We found the food to be outstanding. We ate breakfast at Spices every morning. I am usually not a buffet fan - but this was amazing! The fresh fruit selection was out of this world, and there was always something new and fun to try. Made to order omlettes were fantastic.

Our favorite restaurant for dinner was las Ventanas. What a treat to have Michelin rated restaurant included in an all inclusive! We love the concierge (thanks Eduardo) concept, that keeps the restaurants running like clockwork in the evening and provide great service to us.

We enjoyed relaxing in the evening at the Bar Allegra. It was just enough entertainment for us, and again, great service.

Also, I had read some comments about corporate groups getting out of control. There was a corporate group there with us, and it was just fine. They even left a bit of extra room at the pool while they were in meetings.

It's also a great thing that kids are not allowed, love that.

Overall we had a great experience. It was great to be pampered with great service, food, and cocktails. This is a first class experience, and we look forward to our third and thirtieth stays.

Room Tip: We upgraded to the ocean view and it was beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ellepea929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalHideaway1, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2012

Dear ellepea929

Thank you for sharing such a detailed review. We’re honored that you returned to us for a second time! We take pride in providing service that is personalized with attention to detail. I’ve shared your review with Eduardo, and he was so happy to know you enjoyed his hospitality.

I’m thrilled to hear you enjoyed our many services and amenities, especially the dining. Our Executive Chef Eugenio Villafaña and his culinary team work very hard to create a delectable dining experience. They were delighted by your feedback.

Thank you so much for your continued loyalty to the Royal Hideaway Playacar! We’ll keep the sun shining for you in Mexico for your third visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

My husband and I spent May 12 thru the 19th at the RH. We arrived at the resort which is about a mile from downtown Playa del Carmen. We were greeted at the entrance and escorted to the lobby for a quick and easy check in. We were asked if we wanted a copy of the newspaper delivered to our room everyday which I said yes but we never did it the entire time we were there. Our room was not ready until 3 (we were told jus to go to our building #23 and the concierge would show us our room. We changed and went down to the beach area. We were starving so we stop and ate at the Deck. They have wonderful seafood cocktails and a excellent brownie with ice cream. At three we went to our building met our concierge who took us to our room on the 3rd floor and our luggage was waiting for us. The room was roomy, with a desk, separate bathroom area with a walk in closet, tub, shower, separate toilet and double sink. We had a balcony that overlooked a small relaxation pool.

The resort is small, and we were glad we were on the side of the grounds (blg. 23) because the noise at night from the other resort was so loud and went late into the night. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained.

Restaurants: Spices is open for breakfast buffet and Ventanas is also open. Ventanas you must dress up but Spices for breakfast you can go in your beach attire which we did since we wanted to hit the beach after breakfast. You can eat at Spices or the Deck for lunch in beach attire. In Spices they have an awesome fried maui maui shrimp on tortillas with chipolte sauce that is out of this world. You must try it! The drawback to the restaurants for dinner is that you have to make reservations or you don't eat. We like to eat early but a couple nights we had 9pm reservations. Some people that we met told us that they tried to get an earlier time slot but to no avail. Now these restaurants are not crowded at all. One of our 7 pm slot there was 5 tables being served and people couldn't get earlier times in. The food is good, we never went hungry but some things on the menu we didn't try due to the sounds of them. The Grill and Spices you can wear jeans but no shorts not even the women. It's 90 degrees and the poor men have to be in long pants everywhere. Now one night we were sitting in only bar open at night some man at the next table who was in jeans was bragging to how he wore jeans to dinner and was asked to change but he refuse and told him he paid his money he had on long pants and he wasn't going to change into dress pants. Everyone else followed the rules but you always have that person in every crowd!
There is a chef's table which is $150 each and since it was our anniversary we thought we might try it until we realized that the people sitting at the chef's table were ordering their food off the same menu we were eating from. Well someone is making my food while maybe not in front of me why would I pay $300 extra?

Staff: We can't thank them enough. EVERYONE called us by our name and a special thanks to Christopher and Veronica in Spices, Edwardo and Christopher in activities, Laura at the Deck, Deigo at the pool are, Bernardo at the beach. These people went out of their way to treat us special. They were wonderful and I hope that if you stay here you will meet them too.

Nightlife: NONE! They have a bar at night and have a couple of musicians but that's all. We've stayed at several other resorts that have great shows and entertainment so we were kinda bored at night. One night it rained and since the "entertainment" is outside we just went to our room at 8 and watched movies.

The Club Royale: the only show which is only opened on Sat & Thurs. We saw it on Thurs, the show was good but they only had to choices of entrees and when you make food in masses like that it wasn't our best meal. Several other people said the same thing. It is dark in there so you can hardly see what you're eating anyway.

Beach: beautiful wear, soft sand but people please stop using the sand as an ashtray! Pools are not huge, no swim up bar tho. There are lots of smaller relaxation pools scattered along the property which are nice and quiet.

We had a very nice time here but hated making the dinner reservations and the strick long pants policy and no shorts, not even dress shorts and the fact that there was no evening shows. AThet did have two guys on Friday night that were amazing tho! They sang Clapton, Pink Floyd, John Meyer etc and the singer was awesome.

This property is close to town and we walked to 5th Ave twice. I also jogged to town every morning for exercise and felt completely safe being by myself.

Side note: this resort does cater to corporations and while we were there a group from Toyota came in. These were salesman who exceed sales so Toyota paid for them and their spouse/friend to stay here. One day at the pool there was a group of them, drunk, trashing the very company that sent them them. One of them even said he wouldn't even drive a Toyota himself. You would think that if they are representing the very company that sent them there, who they work for they would be a bit more respectful. I hope that someone from Toyota who sent them there reads this and reconsiders their employees. And this is why I ONLY buy American!

Room Tip: At the beach grab a green flag that are near the showers. When you want beach service either for dr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank mexicangirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

This all inclusive was like none other that we've stayed. The service was impeccable, very clean and well kept and exceeded all of our expectations. The food was excellent and top shelf drinks. House keeping always kept our room tidy and seemed to know when we were gone so as to not intrude. We had room 2723 and it was very quiet, perfect location to pool and beach as well. I called ahead to make sure there were no corporate events and I also took other recommendations to book all of our dinners ahead of time. Everything worked out wonderfully. Super quiet and laid back. Not the place to go if you want to hear loud pumping music and whistles blowing to take shots as prizes. Exactly what we needed. Would recommend this resort to anyone and we will definitely go back. Thank you Carolina for the attention to detail and great villa service. Oh and visit the Spa,,it's extra but worth it.

Room Tip: Room 2723,,,perfect location to everything and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SGrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalHideaway1, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2012

Dear SGrose,

Thank you for sharing your stay on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful vacation. Our goal is to provide guests with personal attention and top-notch customer service. Carolina will be estatic that you mentioned her in your review.

Thank you for pointing out the option to make advance dinner reservations at our six restaurants. Guests can simply send an email to services@mx.occidentalhotels.com in advance of their stay, and we’ll do our best to accommodate the requests. We’re glad you relaxed on your trip and took advantage of the spa services. We recently renovated spa and it’s such a treat.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

We just arrived from RH on May 20 from a 7 seven days vacation.
Overall we had a good time. Here are a few highlights:
Beach - amazing, well kept and clean, enough sun beds (and clean!)
A very good thing is that you don't have to carry around the beach towels, you leave them there in the evening and pick up fresh ones every morning, they collect and wash them.
Food - very good quality, enough options, good service. They do not have buffet style restaurants except for breakfast, all the other meals are a la carte. Dress code in effect for dinners, majority of guests are dressed up - bring dressy clothing otherwise you will feel out of the picture.
Service - excellent, they go the extra mile to please their guests.
Entertainment - we found this is their weak point, we spent all the evenings in the restaurants and bars - not much else to do.There is no upbeat music or dancing of any kind. There is live music during dinners in the restaurants but only classic music (harpe, cello, etc), piano bar and also jazz at the Allegria bar. They only played for short time, took plenty of breaks and at times it sounded depressing rather than happy.
We could hear lots of noise, music and cheering from the next door resort, so definitely some other people had that kind of fun.
I've seen a lot of people reading books at RH, they also have a DVD player in the room - bring some movies because you are going to need them!
You can go to Playa del Carmen for shopping and entertainment, it is in walking distance (about 25 mins)
In brief, it depends what kind of things you enjoy - it is a good, very quiet resort, good quality of service, food and drinks. Be prepared to spend your vacation time on the beach, by the pool and in bars and a la carte, fancy restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank LiL919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 13, 2012

Deal LIL919,

Thank you for your comments. It’s nice to hear that you enjoyed our resort, dining and personalized service.

In regards to the entertainment, it is low key. We do offer live music every night, karaoke and a show in the Club Royale two times a week. Playa del Carmen has a bustling night life and is only a five minute taxi ride from our resort. We’re glad to see you were enjoyed your time in there.

We hope to have the honor to be receiving you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Was planning to stay 7 days and extended my trip an addtional 3 days because I simply did not want to leave. The resort, staff, services, food and activities were exceptional. Everyone was friendly and professional. I travelled alone and did not worry about a thing thanks to the entire staff. The resort was spotless and my vacation effortless, relaxing and fun. Great variety of activities to particiapte in and well led. I will go back and highly recommend the resort thanks to the great staff!

Room Tip: Any room would be a pleasure -- I loved Villa 26- Garden View
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 912Eve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 13, 2012

Dear 912Eve,

Thanks so much for the recommendation! Our guests are like extended family, and it is our pleasure to treat them with exceptional service. We are thrilled that you were able to extend your trip, and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sunny regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We just arrived home from a 5 day vacation and stayed at RH. What a great experience all around. We made reservations on a referral from a friend and I'm so glad we did. The room was perfect, the hotel spotless, the food was great and the employees were top notch. It was such a great experience and I will go back next year. The pool and beach area were world class. I can not say enough about the employees at this hotel. They truly go out of their way to make sure you are happy and every need is catered too. My only complaint is that we could not stay longer.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank steph a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 13, 2012

Dear steph a.

Wow! We are thrilled to hear about your stay. We’re glad to see that you followed the advice from your friend and came to visit us here in paradise. Our goal is to provide an unforgettable experience through our beautiful grounds, delicious cuisine and high level service.

We are looking forward to having you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
2.3 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#28 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
2,844 reviews
6.7 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#11 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4,216 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#13 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
16,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#20 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
9,198 reviews
14.3 mi away
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
12,196 reviews
11.8 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hideaway Playacar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hideaway Playacar

Address: Lote Hotelero No. 6 Fracc., Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Royal Hideaway Playacar & Occidental Resorts)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#13 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#18 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#23 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#27 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $366 - $714 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Hideaway Playacar 4.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning luxury all inclusive resort set along the beautiful beaches of Playa del Carmen, Mexico. Ideal setting in a serene environment for complete rest and relaxation. Adults only. Member of The Leading Hotels of the World. 2008 winner of the coveted AAA 5 Diamond Award. 11 villas with private concierge are spread throughout the property's immaculate grounds. Six gourmet restaurants serve delicasies in menu-style dining. A full service spa offers the ultimate in papmering and body treatments. Personalzied service and attention to detail set this resort a world apart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Barcelo, Splitty, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Hideaway Playacar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hideaway Playacar & Occidental Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Hideaway Playacar And Occidental Resorts
Royal Hideaway Playa Del Carmen
Royal Hideaway Mexico
Occidental Royal Hideaway
Royal Hideaway Playacar Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing