We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another wonderful stay at the Royal Hideaway Playacar” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Hideaway Playacar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Ranked #26 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Another wonderful stay at the Royal Hideaway Playacar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2011

We have just returned from a week at this beautiful resort. This is our third stay and as always everything was just perfect. From the moment we entered the hotel, and were greeted as returning guest, including a warm welcome from the General Manager, Mr. Agarrista, to the moment we left and his farewell, all experiences were just perfect. The variety of restaurants and bars, and the a la carte food and beverage offerings made for enjoyable events. This goes without mentioning the entertainment provided by Mr. Agarrista who joins the entertainers in the evening with wonderful saxophone music. The resort is impeccably maintained with the highest level of cleanliness. The employees are very friendly and helpful and truly make you feel at home. This is certainly not your typical “All Inclusive” experience but more like a very personal service in a boutique hotel. If Riviera Maya is your destination, the Royal Hideaway Playacar is your resort of choice.

Enjoy your stay!
The girl from Ipanema

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LulufromIpanema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalHideaway1, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Hi there LulufromIpanema,

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us once again. Thank you for your loyalty. We are also glad to hear that you enjoyed the special attention that our General Manager Jean Agarrista, the heart of our resort, likes to give our dear guests. He loves to play saxophone for everybody!

Until next time, from your family at Royal Hideaway.

See you again next year.

Best regards,

Sarah-Kim Grüne
Customer Service Manager
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,855 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,841
    672
    205
    91
    46
See reviews for
310
2,494
67
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (900)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2011

we just came back from this fabulous vacation!!! We loved the resort!!

The staff are amazing, always smiling, polite. The service is absolutly impeccable!!! I have nothing wrong to said about that!!! The beach is awesome.

The resort is clean everywhere! The infinity pool is wonderfull!! The bar are really nice!! So as you can see, I and my friends loved the resort!!!
The only thing that we (the four of us) didn't like...and it's not major...is
-in the room, (I don't know the word in english) we can here everything outside, people talking, door everything but during the night, it's not a problem, it's just in the morning.
And the Azia restaurant was not really good. We went there 2 times. The first with a table with a chef and the other time one table for the 4 of us. But both time the food was not really good. To much soya sauce, salt. The sushi is excellent! The problem is the main course. We spoke with other people in the resort and they said the same thing as us. It's the only thing that we didn't like but the service was again, excellent!!
The other restaurant was WOW, good quality, fresh, tasting!! REALLY REALLY GOOD!!!!!!
It's a must to do the Las Ventanas restaurant and the lamb is absolutly fantastic!!!


So for sure, I will recommend that hotel to everyone who wants to have good time, good food, good service and relax!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in building 22-23!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Fanny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalHideaway1, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Dear FannyM,

A thousand thanks for your nice comments!

Not only your positive feedback, but also the areas for improvement are greatly appreciated, and I would like to thank you for them. I have shared them with our Executive Chef so he can investigate and look for improvements and solutions.

For us it would be a pleasure to host you again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Sarah-Kim Grüne
Customer Service Manager
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Uk
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2011

As the hotel is a member of the Leading Hotels of the World & being a traveller who has stayed in many 5 star hotels/resorts in Asia, MiddleEast,Europe & America, I thought it would be useful to give a 'European' perspective of my visit which was less than a week ago & which lasted 10 days.

Positives - clean, tidy, well maintained property. Staff keen to please. No lack of staff keen to bring or suggest a drink at all times around the pool. Good location - not far from airport, short bike ride or walk into Playa Del Carmen. Small shopping parade across the road (turn left out of hotel & is 10 mins).
Use of bikes a nice option as roads & bike paths v safe.
If you feel a litle adventurous, take the ADO bus from the bus station in PDC to Tulum. Cheap, safe, clean and there is a regular service with last bus at 5pm.
Housekeeping were very thorough.
Best apple icecream from ice cream cart by pool
Nice to have the lunch buffet options - fried chicken, fish, tostadas.

Negatives - The food in my opinion does not have the finesse of other 5 star hotels. It was too salty on most occassions, often having 'essence' or 'aroma' of flavours but these did not have the impact of the real ingredient. Often food was dribbled in an unidentifiable sauce.
The cocktail list was enticing but the flavours were weak and dissapointing, the juices used tasted syrupy, synthetic.
On reading other TA guest opinions we tried to book all our meal times on arrival but still ended up with reservations only avail at 9pm. On a few occasions we went to the restaurants at 8.30p and they were only half full. We often felt that some of the restaurants were understaffed and this may be why they want to stagger the reservations....
The hotel guests are mostly American (or Canadian) so be prepared for them to be in groups talking very loudly at each other at the same time whether that was by the pool or in a restaurant.
Slightly disappointed that lunch at Spices was never spicy!
In Azia the teriyaki chicken tasted like bland chicken on skewers with teriyaki sauce dribbled over. The meat did not taste marinaded at all.

Overall we had a really chilled holiday with walks along the great beach, trips to see Mayan ruins, trips int o PDC for some shopping.We will reccommend.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank therealthing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mississauga
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2011

By far this was the most amazing all-inclusive resort i have been to!!! The service was impecable and the resort was gorgeous! I have no complaints.

Beach: beautiful white sand, lots of lawn chairs, food and drink service every 5-10 minutes at your side!

Food: delicious a la carte menus, fine dining cuisine, house wines from Chile were incredible, Las Ventanas was my favourite restaurant!

Rooms: spacious, extremely fresh and clean, great decor, ipod deck, large flat screen tvs, DVD menu to choose from, lovely bathroom and balcony

Bars: piano bar is a modern and classy lounge with white leather sofas, great relaxing vibe! Drinks (top shelf selection) were amazing! Lots of choices, try the watermelon cooler (white wine, watermelon liquor etc).

Pools: infinity pool has a gorgeous view of the ocean, however a little chilly but still refreshing. Hot tubs were a great touch in front of the pool!

Entertainment: was lacking a bit, much more of a laid back ambience around the resort during the evening. However, the alegria bar and the piano bar were great options for a late night drink. The once a week dinner theatre show was pretty entertaining!

Overall, a 5 star resort with incredible friendly prompt service! I would definitely recommend this resort to married couples or anyone who is looking for a romantic, relaxing vacation in a upscale, classy resort. I will be returning!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alies s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalHideaway1, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Alies s,

Wow, I am amazed by your nice review and your great comments. I am happy to read you had an unforgettable trip.

I will share your comments with our staff, including the general manager, as it is always an honor to receive such nice feedback.

Thank you for recommending us and hopefully you will visit us again soon.

Warm regards

Sarah-Kim Grüne
Customer Service Manager
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2011

My husband and I actually visited this resort back in March and I have felt guilty about not reviewing it ever since! We have travelled to several resorts (4.5 to 5 stars) in Cuba, the Dominican Republic (we got married in Punta Cana) and Mexico and this is hands down the best resort that we have ever been to!

Our room was beautiful, very clean and turn down service every night was a lovely touch. Our concierge was also very helpful with our dinner reservations and even managed to get us into Azia more than once since we enjoyed it so much.

The food was top notch, as was the service and this is the first time that we have ever been to a resort where the wine was not only drinkable but better than a lot of the wine we buy from home! Las Ventanas definitely deserves 4 diamonds and the sushi at Azia was wonderful! Palazzo was probably our least favourite restaurant but it was still very good, we just enjoyed the other restaurants much more. The deck was great for lunch and the view was spectacular! Make sure to try the ceviche!

There wasn't a whole lot going on in the evenings but we didn't mind at all because we were there to relax. My husband said that this was the most relaxing trip that he has ever been on and I agree! We loved sitting outside of the piano bar and talking to other guests. Caesar the awesome bartender always made sure that we had a drink in hand and he could make anything you wanted. Make sure to visit the Allegria bar and try the tiramisu martinis, they're delicious!

We were very impressed by the gorgeous private beach and the beach butlers always made sure that all of our needs were taken care of whether we needed shade, a drink or even lunch in our lounge chairs! Needless to say we felt completely pampered! We also liked the fact that we didn't have to wear bracelets at the resort or use towel cards, you could take as many towels as you needed. I can't comment much on the pools since we are beach people but they were beautiful and looked very clean. There were also small private pools scattered throughout the grounds.

The location of this resort also can't be beat. Every morning we would run into Playa del Carmen and grab coffee at Starbucks across the street from the resort when we got back (the one small complaint that we had about the resort was that the coffee wasn't great but that's a pretty minor complaint!). There were also lots of little shops across the street from the resort that were fun to look through and we appreciated the fact that the vendors weren't aggressive.

Although we didn't use the spa services whatever scent they use in their products was intoxicating! I actually regret not finding out what it was/buying their products! I have a feeling that we'll have to visit the resort again to find out though...

All in all this was the best resort experience that we have ever had. We have never visited a resort that we would like to return to (we like trying different places) but we will definitely be visiting the Royal Hideaway again! It was incredible!

Room Tip: We had a basic luxury room in one of the middle buildings and it was perfect! Try to book a room in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MDKam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalHideaway1, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Dear MDKam,

We appreciate your kind comments about our resort and staff that made your trip unforgettable.

Thank you from the bottom of our hearts, and I will share your comments with the entire staff, and especially Caesar. I have passed on your comments about our coffee to our Food and Beverage Manager and he for sure will look into it.

Hopefully we will see you here again next year.

Yours sincerely,

Sarah-Kim Grüne
Customer Service Manager
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2011

Had traveled and stayed at many resorts on Mexico and Caribbean, but I have to say after spending 6 days here at this fantastic resort, I sure will miss this hotel and the staff. If you want quiet, beautiful grounds, beautiful beaches, excellent restaurants with the staff that ALWAYS has a smile and happy to be there for you, ROYAL HIDEAWAY is the place for your vacation. I will like to Thank Intza at the coincierge for making all of the reservations for the awesome restaurants, Veronica at Spice restaurant, Bernardino at room service, David, Reyes and so many of the staff that are always there with a smile and ready to help. I sure will be back sooner then I was planning. Will miss you all!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MariMeeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalHideaway1, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Dear MariMeeks,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your experience. We are thrilled to hear the property, service and restaurants met your expectations.

It is our constant aim to serve our guests in a manner commensurate with their highest expectations, and we do our best to go above and beyond.

I will pass on your nice comments with Itze, Veronica, Bernardino, David and Reyes; they will be recognized!

So you here again soon!

Sarah-Kim Grüne
Customer Service Manager
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culver City, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2011

The Royal Hideaway is a great hotel property but with only 8 truly ocean view rooms. So, if this is what you are looking for make sure to request the room in advance or you´ll be SOL.

Special thanks to Chris- the Manager at the Grill restaurant for his amazing service. His great server- Ricardo and a great chef in Marco for an amazing dinner that rivals the best upscale restaurants in West Los Angeles.

If you are thinking great view and fun staff, think of breakfast and brunch at Spices. The hosts like Christopher, Veronica, Laura, and Cesar are your hook-ups to the best seats in the restaurant. The buffet style gives you many options from both traditional and modern Mexican, American, and European cuisine. Be lucky enough to sit at either David, Reyes, Miguel, Javier, Armando, and Vitalino´s tables and you´ll be treated like royalty.

If you are thinking Asian Fusion, make sure to visit Azia. Adrian is the Chef there and he´s fabulous and very humble. The host Fernando was considerate and attentive while Manuel the server is a sweet man and a comedian at heart.

For Modern Fusion, make sure to visit Ventanas and enjoy some fun and beautifully prepared meals. Narciso is the server there who is just sweet and is a brand new Daddy. He also assisted us during Tea Time from 3pm to 5pm at the lobby which included live smooth saxophone sounds.

If you wish to complete your dance card, make sure to invite Isis to dance with you pool side. She provided great drink and lunch suggestions with some Salsa and Meringue on the side. But be warned, she will make you look bad if you cannot dance. A special shout-out to the 2 Iguanas jacuzzi side for being such celebrities.

Special thanks to Manuel - our beach side server who had to walk back and forth to fill our drink orders and never lost his smile and sense of humor.

For wine enthusiasts, check out their extensive wine list. And if you are extra nice to Chris (at the Grill), he´ll locate a spanish 1994 gem that may not be on the wine list anymore just for you.

Some suggestions for hotel management:
Making a great first impression is the foundation of a great stay. So, if Yanin happens to help you when you check in, run and ask for Daniel instead. She needs a complete customer service experience re-training as she´s not very welcoming and does not complement the rest of your amazing staff. In addition, Roger Balan - our bungalow concierge needs to be friendly and not seem bothered or rushed every time you see him.
A suggestion for the saxophone player would be to consider a diverse reportoire of music since he seemed to play the same songs at the lobby and pool area.
We would like management to consider investing in better, more comfortable, regular size pillows that do not flatten to wafer thin when you lay your head on it to sleep. Also consider either better batteries or better remote controls for the television. You have these beautiful crystal clear Samsung TV´s if you can only turn it on from the remote. But we certainly appreciate the effort of the room service staff by switching remote controls quickly but to the same result.

A final note, with the exception of a couple of staff we mentioned, everyone at the Royal Hideaway from housekeeping, restaurants, and customer service made our first winter vacation in Mexico worth repeating. Thank you so much and we will see you again very soon!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank O g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalHideaway1, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Dear O g,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a complete review of your experience at Royal Hideaway Playacar, mentioning every little detail, as it is often the little things that make the difference.

It seems that our friendly and highly efficient staff exceeded your expectations. You can be sure that I will share your comment with Chris, Ricardo, Marco, Christopher, Veronica, Laura, Cesar, David, Reyes, Miguel, Javier, Armando, Vitalino, Adrian, Fernando, Manuel, Narciso, Isis and Manuel.

I will pass on your comments about Yanin from the front desk and Roger the concierge to the front desk manager, Chief Concierge, and Quality and Training Manager so they can improve their staff training.

We are thrilled to hear that you are planning to come back. We can´t wait!

Kind regards,

Sarah-Kim Grüne
Customer Service Manager
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
5.6 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#55 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,656 reviews
7.4 mi away
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hot...
#48 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
3.4 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#19 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
#34 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,942 reviews
1.1 mi away
Playacar Palace
Playacar Palace
#17 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,170 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
#37 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hideaway Playacar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hideaway Playacar

Property: Royal Hideaway Playacar
Address: Lote Hotelero No. 6 Fracc., Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Royal Hideaway Playacar & Occidental Resorts)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#12 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#18 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#20 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Hideaway Playacar 4.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning luxury all inclusive resort set along the beautiful beaches of Playa del Carmen, Mexico. Ideal setting in a serene environment for complete rest and relaxation. Adults only. Member of The Leading Hotels of the World. 2008 winner of the coveted AAA 5 Diamond Award. 11 villas with private concierge are spread throughout the property's immaculate grounds. Six gourmet restaurants serve delicasies in menu-style dining. A full service spa offers the ultimate in papmering and body treatments. Personalzied service and attention to detail set this resort a world apart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Barcelo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Royal Hideaway Playacar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hideaway Playacar & Occidental Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Hideaway Playacar And Occidental Resorts
Royal Hideaway Playa Del Carmen
Royal Hideaway Mexico
Occidental Royal Hideaway
Royal Hideaway Playacar Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing