We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing rivers, but a bit too artificial”

Xcaret Eco Theme Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$99.00*
and up
Xcaret Park Admission Ticket
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Xcaret (pronounced eesh - carette )is a must-see destination while visiting Cancun and Riviera Maya, situated only 37 miles from Cancun International. Xcaret," Mexico ’s sacred paradise" was opened in December 1990 as an eco-archeological park where visitors from all over the world can enjoy the splendor of Mexico’s biodiversity and cultural heritage. Attractions: Underground Rivers, Beach, lagoon & pools, Tropical Jungle Trail, Rotating Scenic Tower.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing rivers, but a bit too artificial”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

This is a natural jungle with underground rivers on which you can dive through. Those rivers look quite amazing, it's a unique experience which you must take if you are in the area. The beaches are also spectacular, as well as the interaction with different animals.

The cons: it's all made for tourists. All that nature feels a bit too artificial when you pass though it, which could be a direct consecuence of all the public which is going daily there.

Still, it's a must.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Danwerner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30,015 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19,749
    6,400
    2,532
    795
    539
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Brilliant day but lots of walking!”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Xcaret is a fantastic eco park, packed with animals and the beach is amazing. We booked the Xcaret Plus tickets which entitles you to a locker and a meal at one of five restaurants around the park, all non-alcoholic drinks and one beer included. We began with dropping our change of evening clothes at the lockers and getting onto the raft, a leisurely ride which takes you down a lazy river on full seats. If you want to take photo's try to get near the front! Afterwards we did the snorkelling down another lazy river which takes about 35 mins, they provide you with a life jacket, flippers, mask and a snorkel which you are reassured is brand new. You go at your own pace and get to see loads of amazing fish as you swim slowly round, only stopping every so often so a photographer can take your picture.
The beach here is amazing! Such a nice colour, white sand and plenty of beach tables and chairs for you to sit. We ate at the beach restaurant where the buffet food was ok, not great but varied. The only issue I had the entire day was the amount of walking we had to endure trying to get from place to place and this was mainly due to the signs directing you so far, only to get to the next junction and find the sign you are looking for doesn't exist!! Make sure you have a map, ignore the signs is my advice.
The evening provides two main shows as well as other small shows leading up to it around 4pm. We watched a Mexican horse show which is near the entrance and was pretty good. The evening show starts about 6pm and is a story of how mexican people came to be through the Mayan age (or at least that's how I interpreted it!) Make sure you get there early if you want a seat with a good view - we arrived slightly late and were in the upper corner barely able to see. Then everyone is lead to another theatre where you'll see the most amazing groups of people play traditional Mexican music - this was one of the best shows I've seen and thoroughly entertaining. All in all, well worth a visit but wear comfortable shoes :D Another tip - there are stalls selling food and drink, a little pricey but not as bad as you might expect. We took several bottles of water in our bags without any problems.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank mh123_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“River and Food”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

I have visited Xcaret on several occasions. You will always find something new to experience. The underground rivers are a MUST and I think the Mexican food buffet has some of the best Mexican food in the Riviera Maya.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank pasadenajim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
258 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“An Experience”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We purchased our tickets through USA travel. Because we had read some great reviews about their van shuttle services we used them for travel from the sirport to resort and then to Xcaret. I am sure we could have gotten some better deals other ways, it was worth it for our four travelers (two 10 year olds) to have timely pickup, no stops, and door to door service. The park was an adventure. Ceynotes and the beach were a great attraction for us. The jungle was a jungle with lots of walking to mediocre animal attractions. Views were beautiful sea-side, and the buffet meal (included in the admission) was very good. Staff was attentive, b ut don't count on english being spoken by many. Kids asked after the mexican show which was veery good, if that was the last show of the evening and told yes, when actually the Mayan show finale was to follow in a different theater. All in all, this is an exercise to see it all, but worth the experience. Just don't expect the experience to resemble a trip to Busch Gardens.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Arby8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We bought a combination Xcaret Plus and Xplor package at the entrace to Xplor (which was oddly cheaper than online) and saved about $30/per person. We were actually kind of disappointed in Xcaret. We had been to Xel-Ha the previous year and had an amazing time and had a fantastic day at Xplor. The park is very large and it is confusing to figure out. They direct you all the way to the end of the park to the lockers and snorkel equipment where you get all the stuff and then have to figure out what you want to put in a dry bag to meet you at the end of the river all the way at the other end of the park. So if you want dry towels or clothes or money you need to put them in the dry bag, not the lockers, but you will then have to carry them around the park or schelp them back to the lockers. The river snorkel was pretty disappointing compared to Xel-Ha. There wasn't anything to see underwater until the last 5 feet of river with a few fish. The Mayan people posing for pictures on the side of the river were just too contrived.

The animal parks are OK, if a bit zoo-like. They have jaguars, cougars and puma but too far away to see well. There are a couple of peccaries, a tapir, a few monkeys, a couple of deer, some parrots and flamingos, etc. The butterflies were definitely worth a visit. The Mayan village was OK, but again too fake and no one was there to explain any of it or interact with visitors and our 5 year old wasn't about to read the signs. The beach area was very nice but hard to find inner tubes and again, you have to go find your things. If you want to snorkel you have to go to the other end of the park and recheck out equipment that you've just returned after your river swim. There is a nature walk, which was OK and a boat ride that basicall just went around the area you just walked to get to it.

Our Plus passes came with one meal which was super disappointing. We had loved the food at Xel-Ha and were so looking forward to a similar meal. We looked at a few of the buffet options and all were equally disappointing. We finally settled on the Caribbean restaurant which was extremely average. They ran out of a lot of food and by the time we were ready to have dessert none was left. The service was slow and kind of unfriendly. We were very bummed.

One of the reasons we went to Xcaret was the night shows and these were worth the trip. The Mexican Spectacular show is lots of traditional Mexican music and mariachi. The audience obviously knew the songs and were generally excited. It was very well done, if a bit long for our 5 year old. The Mayan ball game was a bit better for him. This was a traditional Mayan fire ball game that turned into a history of the Maya complete with the Spanish invasion.

Overall, we were glad we went for the shows and the butterflies but would not return and would recommend Xel-Ha instead for families with young children.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Stacie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExperienciasXcaret, Customer Service Team at Xcaret Eco Theme Park, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Visitor,

Thank you so much for the time you took to write this review.

We apologize for not informing you during your visit to our park that after you use the snorkel equipment in the underground river, you can keep it until five o'clock in the afternoon that is when the snorkel equipment modules get closed. Since now we're working to make our staff can provide this information in a more direct and immediate way to all our visitors, in order to avoid situations like the one you shared to us.

Regarding your comment about the service in the restaurant area, we would like to know if there was an specific situation that had caused the perception you mention. And for this reason we leave at your disposal our email: customerservice@experienciasxcaret.com

Hope to hear from you soon.

Customer Service Team
Experiencias Xcaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xcaret Eco Theme Park also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Riviera Maya, Quintana Roo
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Xcaret Eco Theme Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing