We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect”
Night view shows the beauty of Porto Playa
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Night view shows the beauty of Porto Playa
the kitchen is open to living room and balcony overlooking pools
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
Night view shows the beauty of Porto Playa
the kitchen is open to living room and balcony overlooking pools
Upper pool sits above the street level.  Lower Pool is private in courtyard
The upper pool is almost Olympic in length and Jacuzzi is on right
View of gulf from pool area
view of pool from our balcony
View of upper and lower pools at Porto Playa
Free beach chairs at Indigo Beach Club
our balcony is the open one directly across from the pool
Porto Playa is 100 steps from the beach
Entrance (2)
It's a great place for fun, romance, R & R, singles, couples, families
Porto Playa is located on 1st AVe. and Calle 16
. .  go on for miles of great walking
Playa del Carmen has white sandy beaches . . .
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Playa del Carmen, Yucatan Peninsula

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Preston M
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed February 7, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Steps from beach, steps from 5th Ave, but yet quiet and beautiful! Exactly what we were looking for. Extremely friendly staff, discounts at multiple restaurants, couldn't have asked for better. Even a welcome bottle of wine, complimentary, for the occasion. Wow.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wesleygra...
Hudson, Wisconsin
2 reviews
“Tropical charm”
Reviewed November 11, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Breezy, winding pathways surrounded by lush tropical florals and plants lead to charming, airy units. Pool area makes for easy relaxing or a splash in the water. Units are comfortable, light-filled, and decorated with the tropics in mind. Kitchen area has all the necessities for eat-in dining with plenty of space for lounging or reading. Bedrooms and bathrooms continue the tropical theme. Beach and shopping five minutes away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tropical setting
Liked least: Too short a stay!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J A
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“Most Relaxing Vacation in Years”
Reviewed December 29, 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Porto Playa is the perfect location for a relaxing getaway in Mexico. The location is fantastic. The beach, restaurants, and shops are all within a few blocks walking distance. My family stayed in the corner penthouse suite. It was a great fit for three couples. We each had our own spacious bedrooms and bathrooms. The rooftop "Crow's Nest" was a sanctuary complete with a grill, hot tub, and shaded seating area with great views. I also appreciated that the unit was extremely quiet and squeaky clean thanks to Esmerelda, the housekeeper. I hope we can make this an annual trip!

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megdalin
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Another great stay!”
Reviewed December 16, 2015 for a stay in December 2015

This was our second stay at Porto Playa unit 216 in as many years. Our vacation was perfect. The front desk staff was great, always available. The housekeeper, Esmerelda, did a fantastic job keeping our unit orderly and making the stress of dirty dishes, etc an afterthought. The pool at the hotel has two levels and is very relaxing.

Porto Playa is one block away from the sandy beach with turquoise waters. We used the beach chairs at El Taj (a related condo hotels property) each day and took advantage of the $20, 70-minute massages (ask for Maria!) steps down the beach.

Once again, a great stay with absolutely no complaints. We can't wait to do it all over again next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The atmosphere
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan B
Williamsburg, Michigan
1 review
“We had a luxurious retreat in the heart of Playa del Carmen.”
Reviewed December 15, 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Porto Playa has a prime location, near to the beach and near to the storied 5th Avenue. One block walk to fun in the sun for the daytime, and similarly easy walk to 5th avenue for dinner bistros, shopping, gelato tasting, sports bars, or just strolling. The condo's setting is a tropical paradise. The lush vegetation offers seclusion for those desiring privacy. There are 2 big pools which we most often had to ourselves. The security guards/ valets were very courteous, helpful, and professional. The condo itself is very tastefully decorated, and has a great patio that we used every afternoon for our Happy Hour. The condo was equiped with everything needed for our stay. Beds are very comfortable. Esmeralda provided maid service, and worked her magic around our schedule. Front desk girls, Anna & Dulce, were friendly and helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Loved the setting: so beautiful to be surrounded by tropical plants. Prime location!!
Liked least: Cannot honestly think of a criticism.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wesleygra...
Hudson, Wisconsin
2 reviews
“Porto Playa: A Beautiful Experience”
Reviewed November 24, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Porto Playa's draw for me is in the details. The spacious master bedroom in our unit had its own little outdoor seating area, surrounded by lush palms and flowering tropical plants. Bathrooms were beautifully furnished with huge walk-in showers. Shuttered closets and cabinetry made the unit casual but elegant and inviting. Excellent variety of seating inside and out. Outstanding balcony views of the swimming pool below and the sea beyond. Quiet, private, wonderful hospitality, understated elegance--I will return again and again to Porto Playa.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karen s
Hernando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Girls Just Wanna Have Fun!!!!!”
Reviewed November 21, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Just returned from a girlfriend getaway to Playa Del Carmen. We stayed, again, at Porto Playa, unit 216. Never disappointed, always impressed with the ease of check-in, the assistance of getting our bags to our room and the smiling faces that greet you. Over the years the common area has become more lush. You feel like you are in a tropical paradise. We so enjoyed having our coffee every morning on the balcony overlooking the pool and winding down every evening with a glass of wine and listening to the sounds of the waterfall. The Indigo Beach Club is located ocean front, the water is blue and inviting. The food they serve there is great , especially the strawberry margarita's!!! If you have the time try the Plank Restaurant located on the property. The brunch was excellent, especially the seafood tower!!! Shopping is great on 5th Avenue but don't forget about the little pewter/pottery shop a block away. Great buys! Also be adventurous and try the restaurants off 5th Avenue....Nau has the best seafood! Soooo looking forward to returning. I would highly recommend!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The closeness both to the beach and 5th Avenue
Liked least: no complaints
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing