We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spot for a family vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club
Ranked #27 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Spot for a family vacation”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

While we had stayed at an all inclusive several years ago, we wanted to try something different this time. Maya Villa is a great, small hotel a block from the beach. Any reluctance I may have had to walking through back streets in Mexico was quickly dispelled as we went back and forth to the Indigo Beach Club and 5th Avenue many times.

We had a top floor penthouse unit, and the views & furnishings were very nice. Best to get one with the more unobstructed views as those are spectacular. The pool and hot tub are nice and relaxing, and it was fun to swim under the cascading water near the back. The courtyard is really beautiful, and the room worked out great for our family of 5. There was enough room to add a hide-a-bed for our 3rd. Very nice and clean bathroom and showers, and the kitchen is well set up and very convenient for cooking meals or just snacking & drinking.

We booked when they were including breakfast (not sure if they always do), and both locations were very good. The restaurant downstairs was very nice and quiet with great food, and the beach club was a great outdoor dining option.

The staff at the main office down the street and the concierge office downstairs were very helpful. Whether it was getting towels or calling for help in the room (like lighting the barbecue) the office staff was always courteous and prompt. The guys in the concierge office were great at suggesting places to go and how best to get there.

There are lot's of dining and shopping options within a few blocks, and the hotel is just a block from 5th Avenue where there is a lot happening all the time. The most fun is down at the south end of 5th when we saw a small acrobat group on the very tall pole. The Mega store is about 5 blocks away and is a great big grocery store. Don't expect it to be like Safeway though.

I think we would definitely consider staying there again.

Room Tip: All are beautiful, but we really enjoyed the penthouse. Try to reserve one with the better views lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    67
    14
    5
    2
See reviews for
178
123
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

I don't have much to complain about. The room was spacious, comfortable and had a well stocked kitchen. Very good access to the beach, shopping & entertainment. As long as you know going in that there is no view of the beach, you won't be disappointed.

I would have preferred a room that was located towards the interior of the complex. Our balcony was just above street level, so lots of cars & passers-by kept us from using it much.

The service was good, no complaints.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank C F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartersville, Georgia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

This was our 2nd year coming to Playa. Last year we stayed at El Taj and this year at Maya Villa. The condo hotels group truly has the BEST staff in Playa. From the pick up at the airport to the return trip to the airport we were treated as if we owned the place. The staff is so professional and seem to take much pride in their work. The rooms were always cleaned perfectly and the pool and common areas are constantly being cleaned. The rooms are spacious and beautiful and the condos are well equipped and maintained. Our dishwasher broke and within an hour a new one was installed. Very close to everything and also super quiet for afternoon naps. I cannot say enough how much we love coming here. Even with my in-laws (70s), a teenager and a 4 year old everyone was pleased....if only everything went this smoothly at home!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AudreyBertens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

This was my second time down to Playa Del Carmen with some friends. The first time we stayed at another part of the city, but this time we took a different route and booked the Maya Villa. We wanted to be in the best central location. It did not disappoint.

We stayed in unit 408. It was the penthouse unit and the condo set the tone for what turned out to be a very good vacation. The condo has a hot tub, barbecue, and lounge area overlooking the sea with a spectacular view. It also has another terrace which is great in the morning when waking up for a cup of coffee or eating breakfast. We noticed not all units in the villa had a view, so this was important to keep in mind.

Part of the package included gym passes. The gym is directly under the condo and is basically the 'equinox' of Playa. Full gym, classes, and everything.

Since we stayed at Maya Villa it does give you some special perks and one of those is getting complimentary access to the beach club right right across the street. We also received discounts at some restaurants since we stayed at Maya Villa.

As for the location, you can't ask for a better location in town. It's right in the center and very close to the nightlife. We went out and enjoyed the main nightclubs in town which were literally less then a five minute walk. Considering this condo was right in the center it still offers peace and quiet. So when you are there it is very relaxing.

Highly recommend this place for fantastic vacation.

Room Tip: Select a unit that has ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maayan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

It is one of the most beautiful place where we have been ever rested. We stayed there eight nights with our daughter and son in-law. 403 magnificent apartment has two bedrooms and two private bathrooms, a large living room with an open-space kitchen. On the roof, one level above the apartment, we had a huge, ocean-view, private terrace with a jacuzzi, barbecue, refrigerator, coach, chairs, table, and a shower - everything you need to enjoy your time there during day or night. Complimentary WiFi works in the apartment as well as on the terrace. Underground garage is free of charge. The entrance is nicely decorated with palms and local flowers. Hotel staff professionally helped us with booking, accommodating and organizing adventure trips for us. And last but not least, complimentary breakfasts are served in the beautiful restaurant located on a beach(!!) - just 3 minute walk from the hotel. Mexican food served there was just excellent and staff service was simply amazing!!! Special thanks to our Roberto, who introduces us to the secrets of Mexican cuisine. Thank you so much, Roberto, for making our vacation perfect!!!

Room Tip: Apartment 403
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Marek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Maya Villa for 10 days. During our stay Manuel Montalvo the concierge was exceptionally helpful. He gave us great tips on where to go, and what to see.
The rooms were very clean, with all the modern assessories needed.
All staff from the grounds men to security were all very nice and went out of there way for us.
The attached restaurant Imprevist had a wonderful selection of meals with great service.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqui D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Spent 5 days at this beautiful resort. Arrived at airport greeted by name by the hotel shuttle driver. Arrived at the reception. The process was efficient and easy. We were given a full run down of all the amenities we could enjoy at all 4 condo hotels. The room #404 was spotless and fully equipped. The bell man did a thorough introduction from the ac to the tv. We spent most days at the Indigo beach club. Delicious breakfast on the sand. Cleanest beach I've ever been on. The towels and lounge chairs were plentiful. Food and beverage service in the sun. The hotel has a 5star restaurant Impreza(sp). The best meal we ever ate, anywhere. The hotel gave us tourist spots as well as hidden local places to go. Maya villa is 1 block off beach and the famous boulevard. Playa can be wild at night, but we had complete quiet. We had a jacuzzi outside our room. The pools were a refreshing change from the crystal blu Sea. We can't wait for our next vacation here. Frederic, the general , and all the staff were top notch. Everyone working there seemed so happy. Thank you Maya Vill a and all Condo Hotel staff for the vacation of a lifetime

Room Tip: Ask the concierge to set a tour and for the local hot spots
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#14 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
614 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#35 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,339 reviews
0.0 mi away
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Play...
#16 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
#20 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
693 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#25 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,397 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#45 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club

Property: Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club
Address: Avenida 1a Norte, entre Calle 14 y 16, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#18 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#19 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in a unique combination of modern luxury and Mayan magic at this exquisite condo hotel located steps from the white sand beach. Seventeen spacious condominiums are nestled among lush vegetation that make this condo hotel your own tropical oasis. The condominium is surrounded by Mayan art, handcrafted by the region's most talented Mayan artists. Enter trough the great Mayan arch, and find yourself in the midst of greenery, cascading waterfalls, and a sparkling heated pool made of jade-colored and gecko-shaped mosaic and glass that give it the name of “Jewel of Playa.” Some of the penthouses offer amazing views of the Caribbean sea which is just half of a block away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Villa Condo Hotel And Beach Club
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing