We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beyond Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club
Ranked #25 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beyond Excellent!”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We traveled to Playa Del Carmen for a cousin's wedding, but also planned our trip as a family vacay, and were there for 8 days. Our excellent experience started since the moment we checked in Maya Villa which was during the late evening. We took a taxi from Cancun to Playa for about $20 bucks; you DON'T need a rental in Playa! We stayed in condo 405 which consisted of 2 bedrooms w/1 king and 2 twin size beds, 2 bathrooms, a very spacious living room with a great view of the garden and pool, and a fully equipped kitchen. The security guard and another villa employee helped us carry our luggage to our condo that night, and gave us tips on where to have dinner the first night. << Super cool guys!

When we arrived, our fridge was stocked with drinks and snacks; although they are not free of charge, the prices are very low compared to a mini bar type of price list. It was stocked with different flavored sodas, milk, an array of juices, beer, ice, etc,... and each item is like 50 cents more than it would actually cost at a convenience store. Not bad, and it saves you the hassle of going to a convenience store in the super hot, muggy, wonderful Riviera Mayan weather! It was a nice treat to find :) Thanks!

The following morning, we took a taxi to a nearby grocery store to stock the fridge and pantry. When we came back with all the grocery bags, two other employees helped us carry everything to our condo. Again, these two guys were super nice and also gave us "locals" tips on attractions, night clubs and restaurants when we asked them. We're Mexican Nationals, and wanted to know all the cool places all the locals would frequent and recommend.

I knew wi-fi was available, so I went to the concierge office that is right outside the villa, and the customer service lady was also extremely nice and helpful... she offered me a wi-fi package to use during our entire stay, and I believe it was like $50 dollars or a bit less I believe. Since she saw we had a toddler and our two older sons with us, she said we could check out movies, board games and beach toys free of charge.

Amenities... they seriously have almost everything you would have in your house! Closets, drawers, DVD player, flat screen tv's in the rooms and living room, microwave, hair dryer, blender, air conditioning, coffee maker << (very important), bath amenities, etc. Everything you might need, they have :) The housekeeping ladies are very professional, friendly, and do an amazing job in keeping the place extremely clean and fresh. Leave them a nice tip, don't be stingy!

Although we only used the villa's Indigo Beach Club and restaurant once, the food was delish and the beach club service was incredible. A lot of our family members were in Playa, so we were kind of hopping back and forth between different beach clubs and 5th Ave.

The location is also very, very close to the beach, and famous Avenida 5ta; about 2 mins. walking distance either to the beach or 5th Ave. I feel the location is actually perfect because you can be out and about all day/night, then get a good night sleep away from the noise going on at night (the night clubs and restaurants are great). Everything, I mean everything is within walking distance, so don't even bother to rent a car. If you want to go to any of the nearby attractions such as Tulum, Xcaret etc, take a bus or taxi and save your money on the rental; seriously! It's way more convenient and cheaper. The villa has 24 hour security and there is also 24 hour concierge service. I needed to get my hair done for the wedding, and the concierge desk recommended, and made an appt. for me. Regarding the pool area; it's not a "party pool" where there are tons of people or kids and a pool bar, It's more of a relaxed river-like setting.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this place for its price, service, quality, and commodity. I would definitely stay here again without a doubt, and wouldn't bother too look somewhere else; definitely a winning hotel!

Room Tip: This place does not have an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shamelesslyfabylous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    65
    14
    5
    2
See reviews for
175
122
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed in a beautiful 2 bedroom, ground floor villa in August, and could not have been happier with our stay. The check in staff were very friendly and informative, providing us with information about the complimentary beach club, Indigo, the fitness center and the restaurants and other activities in the area. We were even given a VIP discount card to use at various establishments around Playa del Carmen.
Our luggage was taken to our room, parking was provided for our car, and then we were shown how to use everything in our villa, from the A/C to cable TV.
The condo itself was very well-equipped with dishwasher, stove top, full fridge, freezer (ice is complimentary and delivered on request).
The furnishings are beautiful and the condo was beautifully designed with Mayan-themed artwork on the walls, marble flooring and beautiful bathrooms.
We loved the Gecko pool! It took us a while to realise that the long, winding pool which starts at the Jacuzzi and ends at a tropical waterfall, was actually in the shap of a gecko, complete with tiled gecko feet! The Jacuzzi is the head, and is heated for relaxing evening dips, whilst the rest is cool and refreshing.
The Maya Villa property has a modern, tropical feel, it was very quiet when we stayed there and is surrounded by high walls for privacy. It is a peaceful, lush oasis which was much appreciated after days spent beach-hopping and touring in Playa del Carmen and surrounds.
We will definitely be back, and cannot wait to return to this part of the world we love so much.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyrhone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bondi, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

we had a 3 bedroom apartment booked,
the promise of a rooftop with ocean views & a jacuzzi was so exciting,
the reality was a very dirty, unmaintained rooftop that was in desperate need of repairs, smelled of kitchen grease & the view was non-existent.
we are still extremely unhappy with the lack of flexibilty or assisstance from the staff & hope that anyone else looking to book here reconsiders. I feel we were ripped off.

Room Tip: avoid apartment 413 at all costs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SargeBag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
117 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This is a really difficult review to write, as the Maya villa could have been amazing, but it turned out to be a little disappointing.
We were checked in by Tamara, who was efficient and friendly; explaining everything about our stay and providing us with lots of information. We were then shown to our accommodation.
We were allocated room 416 (we had been told previously that we could not pre-allocate a condo). 416 is a two bed condo with access to a private roof terrace/ hot-tub. It is situated at the front of the building and had an ocean view.
The first thing that struck us was the building next door, which is currently under construction, and the noise / dust it created. The lid of the hot tub was covered in debris, and cement dust, and the sound of hammering / drilling was very loud.
The condo itself was very well equipped, clean and cool. No complaints here whatsoever. It was very nice indeed.
To cut a long story short, by the mid-point of our first week, the noise coming from the construction site was becoming obtrusive. We were unable to have any afternoon naps, due to the hammering with vibrated through the bedroom walls, and we asked if it was possible to move us to another unit (the hotel itself was empty).
Our request was met with sympathy, but a flat “no”. As many (if not all) of the condos are owned privately, it was not possible to simply move us to another unit without, I assume, having to negotiate the loss with the condo owner. This was very disappointing, though understandable. To be fair, the Hotel Manager came to our room to explain the situation, and offer compensation. Tyhis was appreciated.
Whilst my only criticism related to the construction site, it was a blight on our stay, and the problems did not only relate to the noise. We found a rusty nail in the hot tub, a rusting sharp piece of twisted wire on the floor of the roof terrace which I stood on (luckily only puncturing the sole of my flip-flop). These are used to secure the iron foundations of the building before concrete is added. One more than one occasion, we would be sat in the hot tub, while workmen looked down on us from only a few feet away. We were greeted with a friendly “hola”, but this was not conducive to a relaxing soak. What was a bit creepy was what appeared to be a peep-hole drilled into a newly constructed wall right next the hot tub. It, of course, may have been completely innocent, but it’s position, partly obscured by plants seemed a little convenient, and when we blocked it with some rubble, it was filled with cement the following day…again, this may have been coincidental /’ innocent, but did give me the shivers….
Pros and cons:
Cons:
• The construction site
• Lack of flexibility when you ask to move
• Hotel concierge (couldn’t be bothered when we attempted to book trips)
• Dead mice / rats (one on balcony, one by hot tub). To be fair this only happened on one day. I assume they must have put poison down the previous night.

Pros:
• Staff – most of whom were fantastic, especially on the front gate who were always super helpful.
• Housekeeping – Marleni (?) was quite possibly the best, and sweetest maid I have ever encountered in any hotel. Everything was spotless!!!
• Location – one block from 5th, one block from the sea. Excellent!
• Imprevist – Excellent breakfast and service (Emer was great!)
• Indigo Beach Club – again, breakfast was great.
• The Condo itself. Very nice (construction noise aside)
In summary – This placed would easily achieve a 5 rating from me, had we not had our “relaxing” two week break ruined a bit by noise, dust, debris, and being overlooked by sweaty workmen. We rarely complain, and do not expect perfection, but when you are paying over £2500 for accommodation, you sort of expect a certain standard, or at least flexibility. This was simply not there.
Do not be put off by this review, but ensure you are able to guarantee a room/condo on the opposite side to the construction site.

Room Tip: Ensure you avoid the contstruction side of the hotel whilst work is ongoing. You will NOT be abl et...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Thomper_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
96 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed here as part of our anniversary trip to Playa del Carmen. We couldn't be happier - the property is beautiful, with plants everywhere, a very unique and stunning pool, and one of the nicest apartments either of us have ever stayed in. Everything was meticulously clean, rooms were spacious, the bed was comfortable, and the whole place was quiet in the evenings. All of the staff were friendly and professional. The property is only a block from the beach, is connected to the Indigo Beach Club (great food, beautiful spot to sit on the beach!), and close to 5th Avenue.

Room Tip: We stayed in Suite 412, on the first floor, close to the pool (a 1 bedroom unit). It was really nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ckopczyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

from the moment we walked onto the property, we felt like we were getting the VIP treatment. the front desk clerk was welcoming & informative, the bell staff was helpful and knowledgeable, and we were given such exceptional service that we decided on day one we might never want to leave! the room was gorgeous, a two room suite with beautiful, yet simple, decor, and deliciously cool air conditioning in every room. the gecko pool and waterfall only added to the unique charm of this property. we would definitely return for another visit. thank you for the excellent service.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hollygurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is a wonderful facility. The courtyard and pool are refreshing, the roof top spaces are captivating. LOVED access to "The Gym", and the beachfront at El Taj (1 block away). Very clean, walking distance to everything. Erick Perez @ the front desk is wonderful, he made us feel very welcome. The breakfast at both locations was also very good. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaimie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#32 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
1,322 reviews
0.1 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#16 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
599 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
2,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#41 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
1,540 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#24 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
1,299 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
#11 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club

Property: Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club
Address: Avenida 1a Norte, entre Calle 14 y 16, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#18 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#19 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#21 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in a unique combination of modern luxury and Mayan magic at this exquisite condo hotel located steps from the white sand beach. Seventeen spacious condominiums are nestled among lush vegetation that make this condo hotel your own tropical oasis. The condominium is surrounded by Mayan art, handcrafted by the region's most talented Mayan artists. Enter trough the great Mayan arch, and find yourself in the midst of greenery, cascading waterfalls, and a sparkling heated pool made of jade-colored and gecko-shaped mosaic and glass that give it the name of “Jewel of Playa.” Some of the penthouses offer amazing views of the Caribbean sea which is just half of a block away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Jetsetter, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Villa Condo Hotel And Beach Club
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing