We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club
Ranked #59 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Its quite safe place to stay. I misread the deal I bought from QuarterOFF.com for paying 14% extra tax on top of $289 for 6 nights, at the time of check-in and that is the only surprise. The location is quite safe and is perfect for the beach destination, walking distance for everything. We went to enjoy the beach and kids loved the vacation.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Condohotels, jack Perlman Owner, managing director at Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear Brian,

Thank you for the glowing review. We're glad you loved our property but penalized us for someone else's action. I am sorry the company you booked your vacation through did not properly specify the extra charges for tax. If you book directly on our site and take advantage of the special promotional offers you will not only get an equivalent deal but there are no hidden charges as we outline all the costs including taxes and there are no service charges like some other booking agents tack on.

Jack Perlman managing director.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (464)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

219 - 225 of 464 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2013

Just came back from a week in unit 413, and although the condo is fantastic inside we were extremely disappointed to not be able to use the roof top at all !! First day we arrived we went up to see the view of the ocean. What we didn't expect to see was the ugly concrete chimney and extractor fan for the restaurant below! It's nasty, noisy and smelly (smells like a greasy diner up there). I complained to the front desk and they were extremely nice about it but insisted I was the first to complain...now come on...find that hard to believe. They gave me a 10% discount off the rental price. But I would have preferred a hot tub and grilling area we could use instead of a discount.

Also, unless your condo is on the ground floor you have to go up marble stairs that are constantly slippery from wet feet leaving the pool. One of my friends slipped and has a bruise on her lower back the size of a grapefruit. A woman in another condo fell and split her head open, after a visit to the hospital she spent the rest of her vacation wearing a neck brace. So are the condos beautiful? Yes. Should you rent 413? Not unless you don't plan on using the roof top. And make sure to wear shoes with non slip soles when using the stairs. The staff are lovely. Just wish someone had warned me about 413 before we went...

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank Edogfairfield_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Condohotels, jack Perlman Owner, managing director at Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear Edogfairfield

I am sincerely sorry you were disappointed with the condition of the roof top. We have taken extra precaution and applied non skid rubber paint on the staircases in order to avoid an accident from people who walk barefoot and slip. Thank you for the glowing reviews about the condos itself and the location.

Jack Perlman managing director.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We really enjoyed staying at these apartments. They were very centrally located meaning everything was walking distance, the beach is literally round the corner.
Although self catering you still had some of the luxuries of a hotel like a very efficient reception and front of house, security guard, access to The Gym, free great breakfast options.
The apartments themselves were beautifully decorated and very comfortable, the only draw back was that the aircon was maybe a bit noisy but we were lucky as we travelled in March so at night could just turn it off.
We found the best breakfast option was the beach club which had a great buffet and also menu choices that should suit most people and was delicious.
The only issue we encountered was that there is construction happening right next door and we were woken up at 6.20am on our first morning by hammering and banging on the other side of our wall. I asked to move room as this was not a good relaxing start, even though we couldn't be moved, we were looked after due to the inconvenience and the manager assured us that the building work would not start until 9am the next morning. True to his word the buidling work didn't start until 9am. Be careful though on which room you have if you want naps in the day time or late mornings.
I would come back here, it wasn't particularly cheap on the dates we wanted (over £200 per night) but we really enjoyed it.
If you want a beach location The Taj apartments looked very similar and I think are owned by the same company.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the construction work.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ngriff111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Me, my husband and two teenagers stayed here for four nights and loved it. We stayed in a two bedroom condo and had plenty of space for all of us. The condo was lovely, the staff really helpful, and the location perfect. 5th ave. was just a block away, as was Indigo Beach Club. The included breakfast was delicious. I loved the surrounding neighborhood. We always felt safe.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights over Spring Break in March of 2013. The unit was a wonderful duplex, and my daughter was on one floor while my wife and i had a bedroom on the other floor. The furnishings were high quality, and the unit extremely clean. It was nice to have a full kitchen as well. The location is fantastic, one block off 5th Avenue, so it was quiet, and one block from the beach. Their arrangement with the Indigo Beach Club is perfect; the beach there is great and the breakfast was very high quality. The staff is extremely helpful, and 24/7 attendants make for a very high security level. I would never go back and stay anywhere else after this!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank benabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

My husband and two sons stayed at Maya Villa in a 2 bedroom condo (406) for two weeks and we really liked it. We like the conveniences of a hotel, such as room service, cleaning service and restaurants but we like the space in a condo. Maya Villa had the best of both a hotel and a condo. I highly recommend booking a penthouse condo with a private rooftop terrace. I didn't think we'd use the private hot tub up there but we were in it almost everyday. Its so relaxing to sit in your own rooftop hot tub and look at the stars at the end of a busy day! The concierge, Manuel, helped us set up some great excursions including a fabulous tour of Coba. The maid Viki did a fantastic job of cleaning up after us. They even cleaned the BBQ on the rooftop patio after we grilled up some burgers there one night! Its obvious that the staff at Maya Villa make customer service their number one priority - always friendly and ready to help, particularly doorman Rudy. The property is beautifully and meticulously maintained. It is a short walk to the beach and to shopping on fifth avenue. The Gym is amazing with a lot of new equipment - always seemed to be a treadmill available. I did a yoga class there and it was really fun. Don't worry if you didn't pack your yoga mat - they have extras. There are lots of classes at the Gym, all free for guests of Maya Villa.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 460AngelaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We tend not to like big resorts and wanted a self-catering option, so we chose Maya Villa based on Tripadvisor recommendations. We were not disappointed. The property was lovely: well-run, with friendly staff, and very secluded and calm despite being just a block away from bustling 5th Avenue). We booked room 406, which was on the top floor and had its own private roof terrace with a hot tub, grill and lovely sitting area. (In fact we only used the roof terrace a couple of times, but it was nice to be able to invite another family for a barbecue up there.)

Maid Viki kept our room very clean, and the kids loved swimming in the lizard-shaped swimming pool with its waterfall. One slight disappointment was that, lovely as the pool was, it was rather small and we weren't allowed to use the pool at El Taj, the sister property that includes the Indigo Beach Club. (Next time I might consider booking at El Taj, which has comparable condos.) But this is a fairly minor point as we were very active during the days and had other swimming opportunities at Xel-Ha, Xcaret and Rio Secreto.

For breakfast, guests can either have the breakfast buffet at Indigo Beach Club or an a la carte breakfast at Imprevist, the restaurant in Maya Villa. I'd strongly recommend Indigo unless it's really windy. The buffet was great and you also get a choice of a hot dish, whereas Imprevist had slow service and the food was average. All in all this was a great experience and a wonderful home base from which to explore many of the family-friendly activities that the Yucatan has to offer. Only one final tip: unless you're a beach freak or do water sports I wouldn't recommend going to Blue Venado, the beach club that has a relationship with the Condohotel properties. We did this one day and regretted it. The waves on the beach were too rough for our kids, and the beach club was very basic. It didn't include towels, so we didn't have any as we'd assumed they'd be provided. Once there we were kind of stuck and felt obliged to have lunch in the overpriced restaurant. It's quite pretty and secluded, but it wasn't for us.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the property are further away from 5th Avenue and likely to be quieter. The hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#17 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
645 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#39 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,385 reviews
0.0 mi away
Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen
Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condomin...
#18 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villas Sacbe Condo Hotel and Beach Club
Villas Sacbe Condo Hotel and Bea...
#148 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
96 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#28 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,809 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#21 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club

Address: Avenida 1a Norte, entre Calle 14 y 16, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#18 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#39 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#41 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#43 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $140 - $344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in a unique combination of modern luxury and Mayan magic at this exquisite condo hotel located steps from the white sand beach. Seventeen spacious condominiums are nestled among lush vegetation that make this condo hotel your own tropical oasis. The condominium is surrounded by Mayan art, handcrafted by the region's most talented Mayan artists. Enter trough the great Mayan arch, and find yourself in the midst of greenery, cascading waterfalls, and a sparkling heated pool made of jade-colored and gecko-shaped mosaic and glass that give it the name of “Jewel of Playa.” Some of the penthouses offer amazing views of the Caribbean sea which is just half of a block away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Villa Condo Hotel And Beach Club
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing