We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Home Away from Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club
Ranked #59 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home Away from Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This was a trip with my 3 siblings and a first time for all of us to Mexico. The condo was beautiful, clean and a great quiet escape after long days of excursions or beaches. The location (1 block from the beach club and 1 block from 5th Avenue) was perfect for getting around on foot. My sister and I spent one morning at the gym (also a block away) and it was outstanding--great equipment and very clean.
We were also there during the noise problem others have mentioned. It was limited to 9 - 5pm and we barely heard a thing because we were usually gone during the day (or wanted to be). But they gave us credits for the inconvenience which we used at the beach club for drinks, etc., which we thought was fair and very appreciated.
The entire bi-lingual staff was friendly and accessible 24 hours a day. No matter what time it was, we could ask questions or get advice about where to go and how to get there. We got a great tip from the front desk on local shuttles to Tulum for 40 pesos (about $3 bucks) a piece one way.
We liked not having a typical all-inclusive resort experience because we spent more time exploring and finding new places to eat. We even spent a day over on Cozumel. The ferry is just a ten minute walk from the condo. If we had planned to stay longer we could have easily gotten groceries and cooked some meals which would have helped save money...the kitchen was very well equipped to do so. We were able to charge our drinks and meals at the beach club and other partner restaurants to our room which also made things easy.
Some people have mentioned issues about the swimming pool being small, but I loved it. It's not a great big, do a cannonball with 10 thousand screaming kids running around kind of pool. It's a relaxing, well-maintained pool with beautiful tiling--perfect for cooling off after a long day or indulging in some fresh water first thing in the morning before heading to the beach.
This condo is a true gem and I'd gladly stay there again. We had a great time.

Room Tip: We stayed in 410 and had a great experience. Slept like a rock every night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelFloozy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    56
    14
    5
    2
See reviews for
148
112
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We came here with our family and when we arrived there was very loud drilling and construction right next door. The hotel was very accommodating. We stayed the night and used the pool. The rooms were beautiful and clean. The pool was small but fun for the kids with the waterfall. Above all, the staff and customer service at this place is top notch. They moved us to their sister hotel El Taj (review to follow) when we expressed disappointment in the noise factor during the day. Would come back for sure when the construction is finished next door! (We found out that they are not taking more reservations there until it is complete.) Great location- short block walk to the beach and right near fifth ave.

Room Tip: Penthouse rooms with a roof are worth the extra $
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jules D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Condohotels, Jack Perlman, Managing director at Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear Jules

The reason we are ranked so high on trip advisor is because is because customer service is our #1 priority. Thank you for pointing that out to everyone reading this review. We did in fact stop taking reservations for the past two weeks since the construction of the foundation next door was scheduled to be completed on January 30th. I am pleased to inform you they have completed the foundation which is the nosiest part of any construction and our property is currently 100% occupied. Our neighbors are reconstructing their apt. house and the noise has subsided and renovations or construction is not permitted before 9:00 am or after 5:00 pm and we strictly enforce that law in order to insure that our guests are never disturbed when they are sleeping or trying to enjoy their vacation.

We look forward to your return trip in the near future.

Cordially,
Jack Perlman, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Our family booked 3 units and we choose units directly beneath each other. Unit 417 was designated as our party headquarters as this unit offers a very large private roof deck, Jacuzzi and BBQ. The other two units were identical except without a roof deck. We enjoyed a private chef who cooked for our whole group twice during the week. The unit was awesome and very quiet even though Maya Villa is only 1 block from the bustling 5th ave. The location can't be beat as it's one block to the beach. The ocean view from the roof deck is awesome and great breezes.The only issue was the Jacuzzi needed repair as it made a lot noise. It took 1 day for them to replace the motor and everything was perfect. The unit has a 50 inch flat screen which was perfect for the guys who are football fanatics. We highly recommend getting a penthouse unit. Also the room service is great. We booked the same unit and coming back in July. 

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank itraveeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Condohotels, Jack Perlman, Managing director at Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear Itraveeel

Thank you for being so patient for the jacuzzi motor to be replaced.

We look forward to seeing you again. A chilled bottle of champagne will be waiting for you next to the Jacuzzi when you return in July!

Cordially,
Jack Perlman, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I totally agree with all the superlative reviews of the Maya Villas condos and beach club. Everything was fantastic - the condo (three bedrooms), amenities, maid service, jacuzzi, pool, Imprevist restaurant for breakfast, "The New Gym" (fitness center), convenient location, airport transportation, and concierge services. Only qualification is that for the next several weeks there is construction going on in the small empty lot next door. It creates a LOT of noise from 9:00AM-4:30PM. Check on the status of the construction before booking.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank newtuxedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Condohotels, Jack Perlman, Managing director at Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear Newtuxedo

Thank you for the glowing review... As mentioned in the previous review, the foundation for the construction is completed and we strictly enforce the law which does not permit construction before 9:00am and after 5:00pm in order to insure our guests have the best vacation experience possible

Cordially,
Jack Perlman, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We recently stayed at this property for 11 days in early December 2012. We were staying in Condo 411 which was extremely clean, comfortable, modern and spacious. The fridge was incredibly well stocked and the kitchen supplies were fantastic - we only needed to buy ourselves basic snacks from the nearby supermarket.

During our stay, we were helped by Miguel and Patricia at Reception - both were extremely professional and friendly.

Most of our days were spent down at the Indigo Beach Club which is included (except drinks & food) in our accommodation. The staff there were amazing! Chuc and Alfonso especially made sure we were set up each morning on sun lounges with towels and took care of our food & drink orders all day. Such a fantastic beach club with enough sun lounges and umbrellas for complete relaxation and great mix of chill-out music played.

Whilst we loved our stay there, the only suggestion I would have to the management is that of noise in the condos. All the condos have tiled flooring and we could constantly hear the scraping of wooden chairs/bar stools along the floor (directly above us) day and night. Suggestion would be to put rubber feet on all your furniture to prevent this from happening.

I would absolutely return to the property - it's in a great quiet location just a few minutes walk from 5th Avenue shops and restaurants but away from the craziness of it all.

Room Tip: I would ask if possible for a top floor apartment to avoid noise issues from condos above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sydneygirl78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Condohotels, jack Perlman, Managing director at Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear Sydneygirl

Thank you for the wonderful review and suggestion... We have indeed installed new felt pads on all the chair legs in every unit.

Cordially,
Jack Perlman, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at Maya Villa Condo Hotel after spending a week at a larger resort just north of town. We loved the in town (yet away from Avenida Quinta bustle) experience at Maya Villa.

Patricia at the front desk check in (located 1/2 block away at Porto Playa, a sister condo hotel) provided a warm welcome and very helpful advice throughout our stay. At the end of our stay she detected an error on our bill and promptly corrected it, sparing us from a potential hassle later on. Thank you Patricia!

We enjoyed delicious breakfasts at Imprevist (included with our stay) and again experienced great service by waitress Elisa. We enjoyed a dinner at Imprevist too.

It was just a short walk to the Indigo beach club, where we spent most of our time. The service there was fantastic as well. The staff even moves your sun umbrella throughout the day so that it provides shade all day long. Chairs are closer together than at other clubs, but it was nice at times to chat with fellow guests yet there is enough room to relax and chill. We had read other reviews about the boats in the water, but it is not a problem to simply wade past them and enjoy the gorgeous sea.

We loved that the visits to the Gym were included with our stay and it was fun taking an early morning spin class taught in spanish. We never made it to the spa... but maybe next year, since we have already booked our next stay. We are staying at Porto Playa next time, not because of any complaints at Villa Maya, but because the roof top pool at Porto could work for a bit of lap swimming.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank runsunandfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheathampstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

As with previous reviews I can't fault this place. The service was absolutely impeccable; from the reception staff to the attendants and the restaurant staff. The rooms were spacious and contained everything you could possibly need for a holiday. I had a swedish massage in the spa one afternoon and it was the best massage I have EVER had.

When booking try to get breakfast included as this was outstanding. The food was delicious and it had a huge range to choose from. We ate at their beach club (Indigo Beach) most mornings and the staff were again fantastic (a special mention to Roberto, Edwin & Roger who served us most mornings and were great).

The beach is gorgeous (I happened to love the boats as they add character) & the sea is crystal clear. If you stay at Indigo Beach you get comfy beds and the staff are on hand to get you anything you may need all day.

I can't praise this hotel enough and would go back at the drop of a hat!!!

Room Tip: We had a 2 bedroom penthouse, number 416 which was absolutely beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J0JamesHarpenden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#23 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 512 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#27 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 1,212 reviews
0.0 mi away
Acanto Boutique Hotel and Condominiums Playa del Carmen Mexico
Acanto Boutique Hotel and Condom...
#13 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villas Sacbe Condo Hotel and Beach Club
Villas Sacbe Condo Hotel and Bea...
#125 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 90 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#24 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 832 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#37 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 1,989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club

Property: Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club
Address: Avenida 1a Norte, entre Calle 14 y 16, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#18 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#38 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#42 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#43 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in a unique combination of modern luxury and Mayan magic at this exquisite condo hotel located steps from the white sand beach. Seventeen spacious condominiums are nestled among lush vegetation that make this condo hotel your own tropical oasis. The condominium is surrounded by Mayan art, handcrafted by the region's most talented Mayan artists. Enter trough the great Mayan arch, and find yourself in the midst of greenery, cascading waterfalls, and a sparkling heated pool made of jade-colored and gecko-shaped mosaic and glass that give it the name of “Jewel of Playa.” Some of the penthouses offer amazing views of the Caribbean sea which is just half of a block away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Villa Condo Hotel And Beach Club
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing