We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maya Villa - great place to stay!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club
Ranked #59 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed at Maya Villa for 2 weeks (family vacations) and everything was excellent! Francisco at the entrance was very kind and helpful; the room (416) was very nice and clean (Isabel made an excellent job cleaning our room each morning), it had a wonderful rooftop with beautiful views and everything you need when travelling with kids. The gecko-shaped pool is fantastic!! The beach is a step away from Maya Villa and once you get there Miguel & Co. treat you so well you want stay there forever!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yurilaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Condohotels, Managing Partner at Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Dear Yurilaja,

Thank you very much for your review!

I am very glad you enjoyed your stay at Maya Villa with your whole family. Our property is very family friendly, and perfect for traveling with kids - so I am glad you were able to take advantage of it all. It was a great idea to stay at a penthouse with a private rooftop with Jacuzzi, dining table and BBQ grill - next time, you can also get our private chef to cook a meal for you in your unit or on your rooftop, and you can enjoy your own gourmet dinner without moving a finger.

The gecko shaped pool that you mention is also the only pool that's heated year-round in Playa - so it's perfect for kids to enjoy on some chillier winter nights.

We will be waiting for your return!

Cordially,
Jack Perlman, Managing Partner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (463)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

258 - 264 of 463 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this charming hotel a few weeks ago, and we can’t get it out of our minds. Everything was perfect. We checked into a beautiful one bedroom unit that had it all – a kitchen with modern equipment, a living room, a private outdoor space and a beautiful bedroom with a king size bed and luxury soft sheets. Outside, our unit was surrounded by greenery, a heated river pool and there was also an outdoor Jacuzzi. We went to eat downstairs to the new restaurant at Maya Villa, called Imprevist. We enjoyed it so much that I am writing a separate review for the restaurant. The hotel also gives you access to a beautiful beach club with comfortable beds and Bali-style umbrellas. The beach club staff were incredibly friendly, turning our umbrellas to accommodate us in the shade throughout the day. On last day, we decided to order their private chef services. It was a feats of gourmet food cooked right in our unit for a very affordable price! We are definitely going back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Condohotels, Managing Partner at Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Dear Lina H,

Thank you for your beautiful review!

It seems that you really took advantage of all our 5-star services, including a private dinner cooked for you in your room. We strive to be the best of the best in Playa and in the Riviera Maya, and we have been awarded many certificates of Excellence by TripAdvisor, including being named one of the top hotels in Mexico, as well as one of the trendiest and one of the best among luxury hotels.

But as you have seen, our concept of luxury is very personalized and unlike that of many big all-inlusive hotels - we are a boutique property, and every guest is the most important guest to us. We provide individualized attention and the best service to our abilites to everyone. So glad you enjoyed it all!

Please come back soon!

Cordially,
Jack Perlman, Managing Partner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Stayed at Maya Villa for a week and service was excellent from the minute we got there. Front desk is genuinely friendly and helpful. All their recommendations for restaurants and places to visit were great. Their indigo restaurant delivers excellent room service. The room itself was spotless, & the full kitchen had everything you need. I would definitely stay here again. The beaches here are insane!

Room Tip: If you want a view make reservations directly through the hotel. If you plan on being outside most o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roberto B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Condohotels, Managing Partner at Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Dear Roberto B,

Thank you for your kind review.

I am glad you enjoyed everything about it, and yes, our staff indeed works very hard every day to make sure all the needs of our guests are met. We are lucky to have a very enthusiastic, passionate team.

Talking about food, I hope you also had a chance to enjoy the brand new restaurant at Maya Villa, Imprevist, which is arguably the best gourmet restaurant in Playa del Carmen, serving exquisite cuisine in a romantic setting, for affordable prices. You can also take advantage of our private chef one time, and get your meal prepared for you in your unit.

Please come back soon!

Cordially,
Jack Perlman, Managing Partner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We enjoyed our week at Playa del Carmen beyond words. And what made it so special, by far, was our accommodations -- Maya Villa, Unit #417. Since it is located at the very top and in the corner away from foot traffic, it is most certainly the best unit in the complex. As soon as we arrived, I was captivated by the view just outside the Villa of the beach, the palm trees and the magnificent sky. We took full advantage of the rooftop space which has a lounging area, dining table, hot tub, outdoor grill and outdoor shower. In fact, our best meal of the week was out on the rooftop, prepared by a private chef. The Villa is furnished in artistic and tasteful style. It's fully stocked with all the amenities and is extremely comfortable and spacious. We had 4 adults in our party and there was plenty of room for all. And we were very impressed with the overall complex. The staff were super friendly and helpful and the facilities were immaculate and highly secure. And we loved that it was just steps from the beach and from 5th Avenue.

Room Tip: 417 is the villa you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TonyNewjersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Condohotels, Managing Partner at Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Dear TonyNewjersey,

Thank you for your kind words.

I am very glad that you took a full advantage of our amenities, such as your rooftop with Jacuzzi and views of the beach as well as the services of our private chef - glad you enjoyed your gourmet dinner!

Many of our guests also enjoy the sparkling river gecko pool at Maya Villa, which is heated year round for the full enjoyment of everyone, as well as the waterfalls and all the tropical plants that surround all units.

I hope you will come back soon!

Cordially,
Jack Perlman, Managing Partner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We have heard many things about condo style hotels, and for this trip to Playa del Carmen we have decided to try two of the properties that we have heard so much about, because we just couldn't agree on which one to choose. So we split our time between the two of them, Maya Villa and El Taj, and we enjoyed them both so much.
Maya Villa is located between the beach and 5th avenue with all the restaurants and entertainment, but once you enter through the gates, you are in your own world of tropical luxury environment with waterfalls, tropical plants, pools and Jacuzzis. We couldn't get the kids out of the heated river pool, but it was fine for us as well, because on some days, it was nice to sit on our private porch and enjoy the tranquility of our condo. We had our own modern kitchen, so we cooked some meals, and the condo itself was beautiful, we couldn't have asked for more. After 3 days at Maya Villa, we transfered to El Taj, another property in the same group, and the review is to follow. This was our vacation of the year! We can't wait to be back, and are already looking to book for December. We have heard Playa becomes especially fun during that time of year, and we are so excited.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

This was my first condo vacation experience and it won't be my last. I stayed in room 401 a really lovely 2BR, 2 bath with balcony, full kitchen, DVD player, flatscreens and ipod stereos throughout.

The staff was friendly and helpful but never overbearing. Location is great for QUIET but only a few steps away from the action on La Quinta Avenida, so the best of both worlds. I spent a lot of time at the beach club which was less than a minute's walk and I also took advantage of exercise classes at the gym (access free with booking).

I loved how much like a "home" the condo felt like. I did not go out much so quality of accommodation was very important.

CONS
-Room was stuffy (401) so I bought a scented candle, which took care of it. I think it was due to mold that can be common in the tropics, plus I am very sensitive

-DVDs did not play in DVD player. You can borrow DVDs, board games, books and magazines from the hotel, but the DVDs did not work in my player due to format differences

-Deep sea fishing boats are docked very close to the shore at the beach club. Just swim out further and you'll be fine.

Overall this was a great vacation. I felt very comfortable and safe and have recommended it to all of my friends.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank b365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Condohotels, Managing Partner at Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Dear b365,

Thank you for your review, and I am very glad that you enjoyed your Maya Villa experience.

Our location and all the amenities do allow for a completely relaxing and luxurious experience in the middle of Playa del Carmen. Next time, try the services of our private chef in your unit or experience a massage at our Spa to feel completely pampered.

Addressing your observations about Maya Villa, I would like to say that yes, we are located in the tropical paradise, and as it happens even in the most luxurious hotels, the rooms need to be used and constantly air conditioned to have fresh air flow all the time. Usually, before guests move into our units, we put air conditioners on to have fresh air in the room all the time.

Regarding the DVD situation, next time, if you address these concerns with the front desk staff, they would take care of it right away.

And speaking about the little fishermen boats that we have in front of our beach club, I would like to point out that they have been there all their lives, still when Playa was a small fishing village, and we do not have any right nor willingness to remove them. On the contrary, we believe that they create a charm of a fishing village and contribute to Playa's authentic atmosphere. As you have mentioned, to go swimming you just need to swim out past them or walk a few feet up the beach. Also, we have some affilliated beach clubs that are completely empty and pristine if you are looking for more privacy. Just ask our concierge or take a look at our website.

I am looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Cordially,
Jack Perlman, Managing Partner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

The property and room were beautiful at Maya Villa. I booked our trip through Expedia and did not know which room we would be staying in until we arrived at the hotel. Room 401 was lovely--two bedroom; two bath. King bed in one room and two twins in the other for our teenage children. Although everything was beautiful, I would be cautious about booking this room for a "relaxing" vacation. The huge master bedroom window is only about 6 feet from the main hot tub for the hotel and entrance to the property. Aside from the privacy concerns it was also really noisy. Even though a sign says the hours at the hot tub are 8 am to 8 pm, people still use it after hours. Since the property has gained a reputation as a great "family" hotel, several families with small loud children used the hot tub and pool day and night. The kids were cute and everyone is entitled to have a great time on their family vacation, but there was no taking a nap or going to bed early in this room. Also, the twin beds were very comfortable in the second bedroom, but the bed in the master bedroom was VERY firm (hard). And if you're looking for the feather pillows that are mentioned on their website you'll have to keep asking for them. I finally got some after three days, but was given the run around at the front desk.
Overall it is a beautiful hotel in a great location. Try to get the breakfast included when you book this property. Some of the reviews rave about it, but it was not included in our booking. I might book directly with the property if we stayed there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank arizonapoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Condohotels, Managing Partner at Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Dear arizonapoppy,

Thank you very much for your review.

Indeed, Maya Villa has been a preferred family hotel in Playa del Carmen since it opened, and it is mostly because of our spacious units with large living rooms and multiple bedrooms, so that parents can have their room, and children enjoy their own. We are also the only hotel in Playa del Carmen with a heated pool, and our gecko-shaped river pool is an alternative to our Beach Club for those who want to relax and spend a day not leaving the property.

I am sorry to hear that the family that was enjoying the pool was close to your unit, but if you want to have complete peace and quiet, please book directly through us next time, and ask for a unit on the top floor.

We hope to see you again soon!

Cordially,
Jack Perlman, Managing Partner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#15 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
645 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#40 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,385 reviews
0.0 mi away
Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen
Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condomin...
#18 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villas Sacbe Condo Hotel and Beach Club
Villas Sacbe Condo Hotel and Bea...
#148 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
96 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,804 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#20 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club

Address: Avenida 1a Norte, entre Calle 14 y 16, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#18 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#39 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#41 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#43 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $140 - $358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in a unique combination of modern luxury and Mayan magic at this exquisite condo hotel located steps from the white sand beach. Seventeen spacious condominiums are nestled among lush vegetation that make this condo hotel your own tropical oasis. The condominium is surrounded by Mayan art, handcrafted by the region's most talented Mayan artists. Enter trough the great Mayan arch, and find yourself in the midst of greenery, cascading waterfalls, and a sparkling heated pool made of jade-colored and gecko-shaped mosaic and glass that give it the name of “Jewel of Playa.” Some of the penthouses offer amazing views of the Caribbean sea which is just half of a block away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Villa Condo Hotel And Beach Club
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing