We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet oasis in a loud bustling downtown nightlife of Playa del Carmen”
Review of Club Yebo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Club Yebo
Certificate of Excellence
Springfield - Delaware County, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quiet oasis in a loud bustling downtown nightlife of Playa del Carmen”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Upon arrival we were greeted by a lovely young lady who checked us in. We were earlier than check-in time but they were very accommodating and allowed us to relax by the pool under the palapa. We changed into our swimwear in a nearby restroom.We were sooo grateful because we were both overheated from the long walk from the Cozumel Ferry dock.

You see we had traveled over by ferry from Cozumel to Playa del Carmen for our last 2 days in Mexico. We thought Club Yebo looked close to the ferry dock on the map. It would have been fine if we were not lugging a suitcase and carrying backpacks in the 90 degree weather. So if you are traveling from the ferry dock to Club Yebo with suitcases I suggest catching a cab. So worth it.

Our room was lovely. We were located on the 2nd floor in an interior room just off the large tree in the middle of the complex. We had a small balcony with a table 2 chairs and a hammock. Our room was clean and cool. The room had AC and a fan. The door was a sliding door with a screen. You can choose if you wish evening breezes during the cooler part of the year or AC when it was hot. We chose AC.

The hotel is a block off the main street. And a block from several night clubs. Concrete construction, plant life, and interior room allowed for an extremely quiet night's rest. My husband took a walk before bedtime and could not believe the difference in noise once out on the street. Playa thumps with the base of the night clubs at night.

We paid $76.00US per night plus 19 %

We never used the beach because after a week on the beaches of Cozumel we wanted quiet reading by a cool refreshing pool. We didn't want to travel anywhere except out to eat.

Though there isn't a front desk person on at night there is a guard. There was also a safe in our room which really added to our peace of mind when we went out. The safe is a bit tricky to operate, but once you master it works like a charm.

My only frustration, and it didn't have to do with the staff, is that there was a guest that had a balcony over the pool area and they smoked out on their balcony. The smoke drifted down to the pool area and I had to switch to the opposite end of the pool to get away from it. Very inconsiderate guests.

The showers were clean. There was good water pressure and plenty of warm water. Plenty of towels for 2 people.

The room has a little area with dishes, eating utensils, coffee maker, refrigerator (I think I remember a blender, but it has been a few months and I can't remember).

This was our first stay in Playa del Carmen. If we ever return we will be back to Club Yebo. This isn't a 5 star hotel. But for a couple looking for an affordable retreat that is nicely appointed, quiet with friendly staff Club Yebo nails it.

Room Tip: If you want quiet away from the thumping of night club bass then request an interior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KSunnySide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    99
    24
    2
    3
See reviews for
46
147
31
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

We payed just 59$ for the room, giving excellent value. Perfect location, 2 minutes from the center of the 5th Avenue. Very nice staff. Quiet, air-conditioned room, with tv, and even a small fully equipped kitchen. Free beach towels at the reception. Excellent Wi-Fi.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank igoroks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Our room was just near the pool and it was a very warm and romantic room. The hotel it's not on the main street so it's quiet and in for us it was very nice. It's also not so close to the main bus staiton if you will come from other places and you don't use the ferry but it was worth it,
The service was just fine, people at the hotel are very nice, we also have a kitchen in the room so we also made a good ˈbrekfəst -we had all the things we need.
It was also close to Beit Habad.

Room Tip: We were at our honeymoon, very recomended for cupels!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hila T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holyhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Hello, Just to tell you all, that Im really happy with the service and treat that I received in the hotel, the staff was really profesional which gives me relief, to be honest for me this is the most important thing..staff who is professional and is able to make good and wise choices in regard to the clients.
The property is really confortable and clean, the pool and hamacs, everything is good even the prices are good!!
so please if you are Reading this do not hesitate in come and stay in Club yebo hotel, Im the owner of a company and I'm always in hotels so believe me. doesn't matter I'm on holydays or working I choose this guys! Xxx

Room Tip: the best room is always upstairs ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexandraMv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayaPalms, General Manager at Club Yebo, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Alexandra,

I am glad you enjoyed staying at our hotel. Thanks a lot for taking the time to write this review.

We hope to see you again next time you are in Playa del Carmen.

Kind regards,

Helge Sturesson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

My husband and I stayed 4 nights 04/25-4/29/2014 in the Treetop 51 room. The hotel was easy to find using the directions given upon confirmation of our booking. The booking process was easy and we received responses via email very quickly.

Upon check-in we were escorted to our room....my husband and I were finding it difficult to get around all of the construction materials/saws/wood/etc in the way of the stairs to our room. The room was not as pictured. The room was very worn down. It was clean, but worn down. There were stains on the blankets, towels had holes in them and were tattered on the ends. The shower was either HOT or HOT HOT HOT. There was no in between. The frig made a loud knocking noise that sounded like someone was knocking on the door, all hours of the day/night. Between the terrible beds/noise from construction/knocking fridge and overall appearance we were not pleased.

Now for our biggest disappointment. The NOISE. They were re-doing the room directly below ours. The banging, saws, pipe clinking etc all hours of the day was ridiculous. I went by the reception desk the first day to ask the times they would be working. She said she would stop by our room to let us know...which never happened. The noise did cease for about an hour after my complaint and then started right back up again and continued through the duration of our trip. I understand the need to update, as our room was is desperate need...however consideration needs to taken when room assignments are made.

Our room was cleaned daily, which basically included the beds being made, but our sheets never changed or floors cleaned. Not very pleasant getting into a sandy bed despite our best efforts.

For pros, the staff were friendly, the hotel is in a great location and the beach club associated was nice.

We will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KayceB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

What else do you need except a reasonable room rate, which it has. We have kept this place secret for years but it appears the secret is out and has been out for sometime. You now definitely need to book this place in advance to be assured of getting a room. It is a great place to stay with comfy beds, friendly staff, and a super location. We were very sad to see the small kitchen operation closed in 2013 as it provided some great breakfasts and lunches for us. In speaking with the staff, the kitchen closed due to numerous complaints from travelers whom didn't like the staff from Yebo and Playa Palms eating lunch there - shame on you rude obnoxious travelers. In spite of this, Club Yebo is still our favorite place to stay in PDC.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sol_Mates_and_Beach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

This was my wife and I's 3rd time staying at Club Yebo and it is with great trepidation that I'm writing a favorable review only for the fact that we'd like to keep Club Yebo out little secret. This year we brought our 3 daughters, all young adults, and rented 2 rooms, the hospitality and service has been excellent every time we've stayed. Club Yebo has recently updated the rooms giving each room a semi private patio as well as a common area around the pool. We have talked to quite a few people over the years that have stayed and everyone is in agreement, the place is fantastic and the cost is very reasonable, and a great location. Friends of our stayed down the block and had issues with the diso noise, it has never been an issue at Club Yebo. We highly recommend Club Yebo!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JerLudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#16 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
0.2 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#42 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,393 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#27 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach C...
#22 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
0.1 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#15 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
#17 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Yebo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Yebo

Property: Club Yebo
Address: 1st Avenue | at the corner with 14th North Street, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 206 Specialty Lodging in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Club Yebo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
- A COZY AND TRANQUIL HOTEL, RIGHT OFF THE BEACH Our well-equipped studios and apartments are set in a lush tropical and tranquil garden, in just a two minutes walk from the beach. We have intended to make the rooms a home away from home during your vacation. Our rooms have kitchen or kitchenettes so you may cook your own meals/ mix margaritas/etcetera, and enjoy them on a private balcony. Hang out on a lounger next to the pool, or take the beach kit with chairs and cooler to enjoy the Caribbean Sea. Club Yebo is a small tranquil hotel but it is also a place to socialize and make friends over a drink or BBQ in the common palapa area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TravelClick, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Club Yebo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Yebo Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Club Yebo Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing