We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Place!”
Review of Club Yebo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Club Yebo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in room 56 (the treetop studio). Should have been called the treetop suite. Huge outdoor patio, outdoor shower, sun chairs, hammock etc. the place was very clean and very private. Kitchen with fridge, sink, blender, toaster, and coffee maker along with plates, glasses and cutlery. Club Yebo is very affordable, and it's amazing what you get for your money!
They're right in the heart of town. We were able to walk to nearly all of the restaurants and shops we wished to visit.
The real thing they offer is hospitality. We came home to towel animals many days, the staff were all friendly and welcoming, and even brought balloons and a cake when they found out it was my friend's birthday.
I would stay there a million times...I probably will!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank Shann24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (317)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 317 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2014

We stayed at Club Yebo this February for our fifth time. A minor booking glitch caused us to be in a different room than we had reserved(which Carmen handled wonderfully) The rest of the stay went without a hitch. The staff is so accommodating and helpful. We were in a studio which housekeeping kept very clean. I feel the location is great with the beach only 1 block away. The hotel has an arrangement with a small beach club nearby that is very handy. I can't wait to go back next year.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We stayed in the tree top studio room 56, very nice and clean, AC worked very well (a little noisy) nothing ear plugs didn't fix. No real complaints. People with mobility problems should not get this room it is up about 4 flights of stairs. As mentioned this place is only about a block from all of the very noisy night clubs, it was nice being so close to all the action and having such a quiet room. Here is a hint if your shower head isn't working very well, massage the rubber jets on the head and the plugged jets will work perfectly again. Stayed 14 nights and could have stayed more, will probably book again next year.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeonardBKamloops_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayaPalms, General Manager at Club Yebo, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear Leonard,

Glad you enjoyed your stay in one of our treetop studios. You are right its three storeys to climb, but then you also have a very private room and terrace. We have also nice rooms on other floors for someone who is less mobile.

Thanks for staying so long with us. We hope to see you again.

kind regards,

Helge Sturesson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed in room 51, a “treetop studio” room. This room has two beds, as we were travelling with our 10 year old daughter. We have been to many all-inclusives in the area over the years. Our last trip to Playa was in 2012, when we stayed at the small beachfront hotel Playa Maya. Club Yebo was the most basic of all our past accommodations, but for the price we thought it was very good.

Pros:
• The balcony. Loved the hammock and little table with a candle and matches. The thatched roof even kept the rain out on the one rainy day we encountered. Since there is no eating area in the room, we ate out here. Being the highest level, we didn’t have to worry about other guests walking by frequently.
• The beach chairs and cooler.
• Location. Easy walk to Mega, Scotiabank, the beach, 5th Ave and many restaurants.
• Large supply of purified water, which they replaced quickly upon request.
• Clean.
• Lots of storage space in the room.

Cons:
• Low water pressure. But the water got nice and hot, which is a plus in my opinion.
• Reception is open from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. so if you want to get clean beach towels for the next day you have to ensure you are there before reception closes. We arrived late at night, but the security guard phoned Playa Palms for us and they brought over our key, so it was not a problem.
• Pool is cold and doesn’t get a whole lot of sun, but big enough for our daughter to play in and do short laps.
• My personal preference is a beachfront hotel with drink/food service, but if like to visit various beaches and venture out on your own more, this hotel would be a good fit.

Tips: For the kitchenette, if you’re going to be cooking and storing leftovers, plastic wrap and paper towels come in handy and are not provided. Also bring or buy coffee filters. Try out the small restaurant right by the entrance “Ayy Chabela”. For $75 pesos you can get 3 tacos and a beer. The tacos are fantastic – I particularly enjoyed the fish tacos. “Imprevist” is another nearby restaurant where we enjoyed a nice breakfast and dinner (more expensive though).

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dosmojito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayaPalms, General Manager at Club Yebo, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Dear guest,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Club Yebo. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your vacation at our hotel.

Good to hear you liked the amenities of the Treetop studio. I am also quite satisfied how these units turned out after the renovation we did last year.

we also appreciate you find our place good value for the money, because that is one of the key ideas behind the hotel.

Kind regards,

Helge Sturesson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Just returned (feb 8-20) and already want to go back, That's how great this place is. We booked last March and wanted a private studio deluxe(now called plus) our room was Ladona and it was on the second floor above the reception desk that is open everyday from 9 to 5 and if you arrive after that time you must register at another hotel one block from there.
We arrived on Saturday just a bit after 5pm and were greater by one of the cutest Mexican Lady by the name of Areli (Great smile) who had stayed a little bit more to wait for us and we were able to get in our room immediately, Thanks again Areli...

The hotel is so close to everything that we were amazed how quiet it would get at night even if one block from there is 4 major dance/bars. The hotel chairs and cooler that they supply for us to go down to the beach is just perfect and they even sell ice for about 2$ for 3kg bag. The rooms are nicely sized and because we had the plus room it offered an extra bed which we used to spread our luggage and more room for the kitchenette which was just perfect since our intention was to use the coffee maker (bring filters and coffee) and fridge for our small supplies (yogurt, creamer and beer&wine). The cleaning ladies make an extra effort to create masterpieces with your room towels and they do a great job. The rooms are clean and the air conditioning is welcomed lol!!!. The hotel has a pool for their guests and friends which is more refreshing than the ocean water which we found warm.
If you need supplies and food the best place we found was at MEGA (30 ave and 14 calle) where you can get 6 cans of beer for 40 pesos (3.50$ canadian) and California Wine (red, white and rosé) between 36 and 41 pesos for 1 liter carton that requires no wine bottle and of course you can get other food there also lol!!!.

We even met people we know from our area (Jeff and Cerena) and others that repeatedly come back to this hotel in Playa Del Carmen.

In all there is so much good to say about this place your just going to have to discover it for yourself.
We booked our stay with Carmen and she is on the ball.

Thanks Hotel Yebo for the memories, we like to travel different places but when we return to the Riviere Maya we will return to see you.

This our first try outside an all inclusive's and we were fortunate to have good friends (mimi & Jean) already there in Playa del Carmen to guide us to some excellent restaurants like papaCharly and Famiglia both home made Italian and they are the best I have ever eaten. Others such as the Imprevist and barbacoa de la TUlum which are beside the Hotel Yebo are excellent food and prices.

Take care because we care Guy & Lyne

Room Tip: There are smaller rooms than ours if your budget is tight and they start at $50us a night and up ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank soulbeaug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayaPalms, General Manager at Club Yebo, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear Guy&Lyne,

We are very happy to hear you had a good time staying at our hotel. I am glad to hear you enjoyed the room amenities. Many of our guests stay extended visits, so we want to make it more comfortable than staying in a regular hotel.

Thanks for taking the time to write this kind review of our hotel, and if you are in this area again we hope to see you another time.

Sunny greetings
Helge Sturesson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Club Yebo last month for 3 days on part of our honeymoon. I mentioned in the reservation that it was our honeymoon, they had the room decorated very nicely. The room was very clean and ready when we got there. Club Yebo is a great option because for an affordable price. Just one block from 5th avenue and one block from the beach you want find another place for that price. They don't have a restaurant on site but you are close enough to 5th avenue so you don't need one. The room came with beach chairs that we could use at the beach and we could also check out beach towels to use. We definitely recommend Club Yebo if you're staying in Playa.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichaelT1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed at this hotel in Playa del Carmen in December 2013. It was an unexpected and pleasant surprise. The place was very clean, pool area was beautiful, and the location was wonderful. It is a block from the beach and it surrounded by very nice hotels. Club Yebo was very affordable and we would be happy to return here for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovecr_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#17 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
1,313 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
#53 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
2,438 reviews
0.4 mi away
Barrio Latino Hotel
Barrio Latino Hotel
#75 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#51 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
1,601 reviews
0.2 mi away
HM Playa del Carmen
HM Playa del Carmen
#38 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
637 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Plaza Playa
Hotel Plaza Playa
#83 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Yebo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Yebo

Address: 1st Avenue | at the corner with 14th North Street, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 240 Specialty Lodging in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $51 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Club Yebo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
- A COZY AND TRANQUIL HOTEL, RIGHT OFF THE BEACH Our well-equipped studios and apartments are set in a lush tropical and tranquil garden, in just a two minutes walk from the beach. We have intended to make the rooms a home away from home during your vacation. Our rooms have kitchen or kitchenettes so you may cook your own meals/ mix margaritas/etcetera, and enjoy them on a private balcony. Hang out on a lounger next to the pool, or take the beach kit with chairs and cooler to enjoy the Caribbean Sea. Club Yebo is a small tranquil hotel but it is also a place to socialize and make friends over a drink or BBQ in the common palapa area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Club Yebo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Yebo Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Club Yebo Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing