We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place & safe location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Playa del Carmen Hotel
Ranked #35 of 173 Playa del Carmen B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place & safe location!”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Highly recommend hotel to travelers interested in economy. We quite enjoyed our stay. Location was central to so many things, & the short walk to beach was enjoyable. There are numerous excellent restaurants nearby, including Fusion @ 6th & the beach w/nightly entertainment (music bands, fireworks dance, etc.
Have a stove top was great too. Just bring a cutting knife along for fruit/veggies.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oderves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    126
    66
    20
    34
See reviews for
55
113
38
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Took the very nice ADO bus from Cancun airport for 144 pesos each. (they do accept American dollars too, around $12) The ADO bus drops you off right on 5th av in Playa del Carmen. Walking out of the bus terminal, Turn left on 5th. Make your first left on Second, walk two blocks and then turn right on 20th and you will see the H&A. (easy 8 minute walk) First impressions were very good. The hotel seems pretty new. Nice pool in the courtyard, pretty for pictures but too cold to swim because of the limited sunlight. Everything was really clean during our entire stay. All the workers at the hotel (and everywhere in Riviera Maya) were very friendly. The room was huge with 2 double beds, a full kitchen and mini fridge, which we didnt even use since we were only on a weekend trip from Atlanta. The room was decorated nice I felt. A/C worked great. Bathroom very nice. TV was too small and not flat screen but I wasnt there to watch TV. The matresses were hard as a rock but it did not deter my sleeping since I was so exhausted at night. Ive read many reviews from other hotels in this price range and ones even more expensive and this seems to be the normal in the area. Maybe mexicans prefer hard mattresses and they think we do too, I dont know. lol. The breakfast was 66 pesos each ($5 bucks) and was very good. We had it 3 mornings in a row and it varied just enough each day to make it worth while. Had lots of juice, great coffee, toast, fruit, homemade yogurt with granola, scrambled eggs, french toast, pancakes, and that Mexican breakfast staple which is basically tortilla chips with sour cream and stuff. (Huevos something maybe?) Anyways, for $5. I though it was well worth it and I was good to go for the 2 minute walk to the collectivos to start the day.

Location: about an 5 minute walk to 5th av and the beach. You have to cross a couple busy streets so might not be good if you have little kids who walk slow. The little taco restaurants around the hotel and on the side streets a few blocks inland from 5th av are the way to go if you dont want to spend $25/per person each meal. The tacos were so good and so cheap. My girlfriend and I would eat entire meals for $8 total but we could not eat on 5th av for under $50. The best part of the hotel was its proximity to the collectivo station. Wow, that was a nice suprise. We saw people getting dropped off by taxis but it was literally just around the corner from the hotel. (2 minutes walk) The collectivos take you anywhere you want to go for only 35 pesos each. ($2.80) One morning, after our good breakfast, we hopped on the collectivo and went to Akumal beach for the day 15 minutes outside of playa. This beach is georgous!! Read reviews about it here on trip adivisor. We snorkeled right out from the beach and saw sea turtles and fish. On the second day after breakfast, we hopped in the Collectivo and went to the Tulum ruins. Entrance was 57 pesos. So cheap!! After touring the ruins, we hopped in a taxi for 60 pesos and went to the Tulum hotel zone, to check out the expansive Tulum beach. We had a couple beers at a beachside bar, then took another taxi back to the highway to flag down a collectivo for the ride back to playa del carmen. The collectivo goes back to the main station right next to the hotel. So easy!! You can use these collectivos to go anywhere. Xcarte, Xelha, Cenotes. Anything. Wish we had these in Atlanta for bar hopping. lol. If you have alot of people, probably worth it to just rent a car for the day since its so cheap. With insurance, around $30 a day. Everything is on 1 major highway so its easy. If you have lots of time, go to Vallanoid and Chitzinitza in your rental car. Or take the ADO bus to Merida for its Sunday street festival. I love Mexico. Two websites for any information you could possibly need are www.locogringo.com and www.travelyucatan.com
I walked into a coupld other hotels on 5th avenue and closer to the beach to see how much they cost and they were all around $200 a night. This hotel is only $57 a night. I would say its def worth it. Nice hotel for same price next door called Hul-Ku. Google it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank cessna_2100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
377 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

This hotel had a beautiful courtyard area with a swimming pool in the centre. Very pretty indeed but I did not use the swimming pool since the beach was so close by. I came here as part of a budget tour group with G Adventures so I did not expect too much but the room quite exceeded my expectations. Big room, big beds with kitchenette and tv. But we didn't dare touch anything except for the TV. Fan was free but air conditioning is extra and so is the use of the kitchenette even though it was in our room. In addition, we were forewarned that cycling groups use this hotel quite a bit so we were told to keep quiet in the evenings as the cycling groups sleep early and wake up early. As other reviewers have mentioned, the hotel isn't really soundproof. There was even a sign that said $50 fine for noise. Bathrooms were spacious and clean with reliable running hot water. Location wise, the hotel is a few blocks from the main street of restaurants and stores and it is very safe to walk around the area.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JY_Globetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2011

Pros:
1. Great location
2. Clean room, microwave, fridge
3. Bang for the buck
4. Free in-room internet access
5. Free parking
6. Friendly staff and very helpful
7. In-room safe

Cons:
1. Housekeeping is only twice a week
2. No sound proofing - you can hear people in the hallway and swimming pool
3. Bathroom window didn't have curtain or blinds

Room Tip: Watch out!! It's common practice for restaurants in main street (5th Ave) to add a "recomm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrequentFlyer19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
429 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

First time to Playa and stayed here just 1 night, but it really exceeded our expectations for the price we paid. Room was clean and comfortable, staff really helpful, great location too. No complaints!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coconuts_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2011

I was going to give this hotel 5 stars but I had heard that the maids would steal from the guests! So, I kept everything in the safe or with me at all times and asked that no one enter or clean the room! Everytime I left, they would clean the room! Well, last tine they cleaned my medications were gone! Now thats low! I DO NOT recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Teejoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Playa del Carmen hotels

Ajax, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

This was our second time to the Playa Del Carmen area. The first was in a 5 star resort with everything included, this time we wanted to experience more of Mexico. We loved experiencing more of the culture of Mexico. This hotel was in a perfect location, close enough to the action on 5th Avenue, and far enough away that we didn't hear any noise into the night. We rented a car with our package so that we could visit some of the ruins on our own, Coba is our favorite. The staff were excellent, friendly and helpful. We would definately return.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2HotTamales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Playa del Karma
Hotel Playa del Karma
#130 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
0.5 mi away
Angelo's Hotel
Angelo's Hotel
#102 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
#87 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Barrio Latino Hotel
Barrio Latino Hotel
#71 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wabi Hotel
Wabi Hotel
#5 of 173 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa de las Flores Playa del Carmen
Hotel Casa de las Flores Playa d...
#14 of 173 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa del Carmen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa del Carmen Hotel

Property: Playa del Carmen Hotel
Address: Ave. 20 norte lote 33 entre calles 2 y 4 norte, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Playa del Carmen Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Playa del Carmen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Del Carmen Hotel By h And a
Playa Del Carmen Hotel Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing