We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All I Can Say Is...Wow!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Playa del Carmen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hacienda del Secreto
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“All I Can Say Is...Wow!”
Reviewed February 6, 2011

This was one of the best "tropical" vacations my family and I have ever had, and we are planning to come back next year! The photos on the website really do not do this property justice. It is gorgeous. The living space is ample for a family of four (each of our teenage sons had their own room and bathroom), and you can lie in the king size bed in the master bedroom and see the ocean directly in front of you (as well as to the side) via the large picture window. The grounds are meticulously well-kept, and private (the pool, hottub, and palapya are tucked away from view). But more importantly, the service is outstanding. The meals were very good, always served on time, the order was always accurate. The staff is very friendly, pays attention to every little detail, and go out of their way to anticipate your every need. The security is excellent, this is a gated commuity with a security guard, and a security guard also patrols the grounds all evening (we felt completely safe). We have traveled all over the Carribean, usually renting villas, and so far this is our favorite in terms of the "total experience." There is a lot to do in the area. We took a private tour of Chichen Itza, and did a full day "Mayan Jungle Adventure" with Alltournative Tours. Both outstanding. We can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisgreathouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CDS-HDS, Public Relations Manager at Hacienda del Secreto, responded to this review, February 17, 2016
Hello there Chris,

Thank you so very much for your review! It means so much to us that you took the time to complete it, and that in addition, you loved your stay with us!

Luckily, we have a new website: haciendadelsecreto.com

While the photos may be much better, nothing compares to being here yourself! It just keeps getting better and better! We hope to see you again very soon!

Saludos,
Allison Janssen
Marketing and Social Media Manager
Hacienda del Secreto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    2
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
41
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2010

My husband and I decided to organize wed-cation in Mexico with 60 of our closest friends and family. We initially took a tour of the villas 8 months in advance of our wedding and was completely taken aback by the services and amenties that were offered by the property. We are amazed how you could have 5 star quality service in a small initimate setting. After our tour, we ended up renting all of the villas and decided to have our reception in the main area. Doy and Mauricio took care of every detail for our week long stay and pulled out all of the stops for our reception. There was nothing that we had to worry about! I would highly highly recommend Hacidenda Del Secreto. Its incredibly challening to plan a wedding from the states, but they made sure that we got everything that we wanted and some cases - beyond what we expected.

Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank kn2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CDS-HDS, Public Relations Manager at Hacienda del Secreto, responded to this review, February 17, 2016
Hello cn2010,

Thank you so very much for your review! We were not that active on Trip Advisor back in 2010, but now that we are, we simply wanted to take the time to say THANK YOU! We are so very pleased that your wedding dreams came true and that the two of you, along with your 60 friends and family, enjoyed your stay!

Wishing you all the best.

Saludos,
Guest Services
Hacienda del Secreto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2010

This was our fourth stay at Haceinda del Secreto and our first with our child. I would stay with children or with other couples-the complex is large enough that parties with and without children will be happy. Making the turn down the road gave me an incredible sense of calm-it was so wonderful to be back. From the moment we arrived and were greeted with cold towels and cocktails until we left and the staff lined up to wish us goodbye, our stay could not have been more perfect. We opted to have all of our delicious meals served to us in the villa. There is something just so delightful about not having to cook and clean up while at the same time having the comfort of home. Dining out with a three year-old is not relaxing, but having meals served in your villa-well that's the ultimate. The staff took special care of us-making sure our chairs were set up on the beach and providing our daugther with balloons and sand toys. Massages were arranged and provided in our villa. Anything we needed was immediately taken care of. The food, service, ambiance, and accomodations are superior. I wish we could have spent two weeks there. This was the first vacation after which I still felt relaxed after a week, which is incredible considering I have been back at work for a week. I actually teared up when we left and was wishing we could bring the staff home with us! I have visited with groups both large and small and the expereince has been consistently excellent. Perfect spot for a special occasion, couples getaway or a family vacaction. Doy Cooper runs a first class resort.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kristensBoston_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CDS-HDS, Public Relations Manager at Hacienda del Secreto, responded to this review, February 17, 2016
Hello Kristen,

Thank you so much for your review. Back in 2010, we were not that active on Trip Advisor, but now that we are, I wanted to make sure to tell you THANK YOU! Thank you for taking the time to review Hacienda del Secreto and your stay with us! We are so very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and all of the amenities we offer at Hacienda del Secreto!

THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.6 mi away
Senses Riviera Maya By Artisan
Senses Riviera Maya By Artisan
#7 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
2.0 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,715 reviews
0.7 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,797 reviews
3.3 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
2.9 mi away
Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa
Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa
#1 of 5 in Playa Maroma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda del Secreto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda del Secreto

Property: Hacienda del Secreto
Address: Playa del Secreto, Lote 23 Carr. 307, KM 311 Municipio Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda del Secreto is a complex of 5 beachfront villas, each with their own private infinity swimming pool overlooking the beautiful Caribbean Sea. We offer all the services and amenities of a hi-end hotel along with the comforts of being at home. Our amenities include professional massage/spa therapists, concierge, chef services, babysitting, 24 hour security, wireless internet and much more! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hacienda Del Secreto Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing