We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too good to be true! Great value for money!”
Review of Hotel El Punto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel El Punto
Ranked #143 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

After checking out of the happy gecko as a very unhappy and disappointed gecko my boyfriend and I were after somewhere to stay for the rest of our stay in Playa.

We stumbled past El Punto and thought we'd have a look and enquire about prices. We were informed of the ever so cheap $90US per night. We thought this has to be to good to be true. After seeing the rooms we realised this is just the perfect hotel for us!

Great location- right in the centre of 5th ave! Great rooms with cable TV, big bathrooms all the amenities to keep us comfortable through out our stay.

Only negative the beds are a tad to hard, although nothing a few mojitos will mask!

All in all very happy that we stumbled into this hotel! Great value and I would recommend to all of my friends!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drechi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blanca B, General Manager at Hotel El Punto, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Hola Drechi and thank you for sharing your experience at our Boutique Hotel El Punto. We are extremely happy to hear that your stay was a pleasant one and we hope to host you and your friends again in the near future. Best Regards;

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (352)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

64 - 70 of 352 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2013

I came upon Hotel El Punto through Groupon, for a 3 night stay. The hotel is located only a 2 minute walk from the beachfront which is nice, right on the busiest, arguably nicest street in Playa del Carmen. For those that have never been, Playa Del Carmen is an extreme tourist trap, you won't find any food marts that sell anything aside from junk food, and you can't walk 2 seconds down the drag without being forced into a shop or restaurant. I wish i'd known this before booking my stay, i'm not one for being bombarded, it makes me uncomfortable.
Aside from these aspects, it was a fun vacation, Hotel El Punto is quiet and serene compared to most of the other small hotels we passed. The reception people are very kind and professional, working to accommodate you with whatever you need.
Things you should know however; the rooms do not have clocks, and therefore no alarm clock (we had to be up early and almost missed our pre planed trip to Cozumel because we did not receive the wake up call we put in for). There was also no microwave (I understand a lot of hotels don't have them but it would have been handy). The beds are rather firm, which is good for some people, but not for everyone. We had no idea how to work the television, not the worst thing, but a mild inconvenience.
I recommend bringing your own towels to use at the beach, they have ones you cant rent for the day but if you lose them or ruin them the fee is enormous.
Hotel El Punto has breakfast passes for the restaurant across the street, but only available from 8 to 11am, having to be up earlier to make our day trips in time... we only got one day of breakfast.
The rooftop bar is very trendy and has a beautiful view, we wished we could have spent more time up there.
Overall a good experience, but missing some pretty important amenities.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dazirae R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blanca B, General Manager at Hotel El Punto, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Hola dear Dazirae R and thank you for your kind comments. We are happy to hear that overall your experience was a positive one and that our staff was professional and hepful at all times as is our motto. We would also like to add that our hotel amenities include hairdryer, electronic safe deposit box, Dolce Gusto Coffee Maker, complimentary waters, minibar, bathrobes to use during stay, beach towels, wood hangers and bathroom amenities. We are sorry that we couldnt provide you with a microwave and apologize for the wake up call. We hope we can host you again in the near future. Greetings from paradise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Where do I start with our one of a kind stay at Hotel El Punto in Playa? Upon arriving, we were amazed to see the hotel in such a prime location. Roberto at the front desk greeted us with a cheerful smile and made checking into our room very easy. The suite we stayed in had a large balcony that overlooked 5th avenue and Mi Pueblo. It was fantastic to be able to people watch from the balcony and see all the different types of people walking the streets. We witnessed several mariachi bands, and even had one play to us on the balcony! The room was spacious, and the bathroom was my favorite part! The shower was so neat. Even with having a room so close to the street, we were still able to fall asleep when we needed to and even nap during the day without any issues of noise. The drinks and snacks in the fridge were convenient and not overly priced like most hotels. We had breakfast at Mi Pueblo each morning and I have been craving it ever since. The staff was kind and helpful and even assisted us when we got caught in the rain and came back soaking wet. Roberto also helped with our ride back to the airport, calling and ensuring they knew what time to pick us up. The AC in the room kept us cool the whole time and we never experienced any issues with noise from it. The room was cleaned and bed was made each day, and the staff was excellent about keeping our stuff neat and organized. It was refreshing to come back after a long day at the beach to a nice clean room. Overall, our stay was fabulous and I would recommend this hotel to anyone. ESP a room with a balcony! You won't want to miss all that 5th avenue has to offer :)

Room Tip: Room 19! Corner room, second floor and overlooks the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hannahs_time
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blanca B, General Manager at Hotel El Punto, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear hannahs_time we would like to thank you for choosing our boutique Hotel El Punto for your past stay as well as your kind comments. We are happy to hear that we exceeded your expectations overall and we hope to host you again in the near future! We remain at your service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Our experience at Hotel El Punto was amazing, the rooms were clean, comfortable, and in great condition. The staff was excellent! Luis, Lula and Roberto were extremely helpful and kind. They personally assisted us in ensuring our transportation was correct for our departure home. La Azoteca bar on the roof was also great. The food, drinks and service were impeccable and we enjoyed our time spent taking in the wonderful view it offers. Breakfast at Mi Pueblo was an additional benefit! The location is great and within moments of shopping, dinning, and the beach.The free Wi-Fi was also a pro as well as the wonderful housekeeping team. We were so sad to have to say goodbye to Hotel El Punto. We will definitely be recommending it to friends and family and hope to visit again soon.

Room Tip: The Master Suite was definitely worth the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L2TOwens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blanca B, General Manager at Hotel El Punto, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Hola Dear L2TOwens first of all, thank you for choosing our Hotel El Punto for your stay . We truly appreciate your kind comments and wonderful experience about your stay with us. We are devoted to our clients as is what we enjoy the most in this industry. We hope to host you again soon in the near future and once again thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Positives:
- Rooms in great condition. Looks like recently remodeled
- Housekeeping 7 days a week
- Beach only one block down
- Right in the middle of shops, restaurants, etc.
- Staff extremely courteous
- Free Wi-Fi
- Individual Climate Control with a Split A/C unit that was strong enough to keep the room very cold if you want - a must for me

Be aware of:
- My room did not have an iron / ironing board
- Wi-Fi can be tricky to connect and/or weak signal at times
- No elevator
- I think housekeeping has specific hours only - not sure, but it wasn't important for me as long as I had access to clean towels
- Because it's so close to the beach, it's located where cars cannot access directly; so cars, taxis, etc can only get as close as 1 block from the entrance

Room Tip: All bathrooms were good, but some rooms have much bigger bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaerheca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blanca B, General Manager at Hotel El Punto, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Hola Dear Jaerheca and thank you for your review. We are pleased that you have chosen our boutique Hotel El Punto and also that we have surpassed your expectations overall. We would like to add that we do have iron upon request dialing zero from your room. Our housekeeping service works from 8am to 6 pm providing also with daily turn down service, although we respect our clients "do not disturb sign" which could have happened during your stay with us. We believe that being very close to the beach is a positive comment and once more, we truly appreciate your review and we hope to host you again soon in the near future. We remain always at your service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I stayed recently here and I loved it. It is very clean, modern and has great service. It is the best option for young people and young honeymooners who like to have fun. La Azotea bar is on the rooftop and is a great place to have a drink or two. Breakfast at Mi Pueblo is tasty. One block away from the beach.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Azotea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blanca B, General Manager at Hotel El Punto, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear Iaxiola we would like to thank you for sharing your experience at our boutique Hotel El PUNTO. For us was a pleasure hosting you and we hope to have you again soon in the near future. we remain at your service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed from 8/3-8/7 in a junior king size bed. The bathroom was really small but, excellent very friendly staff especially "Julio" who was very helpful with booking our Mayan ruins tours - but we found out the certain hotels and tour businesses charge different prices so shop around first for ANY ACTIVITIES...Another think this hotel doesn't have swimming pool or its not next to the beach but they provide access card to get free sitting next to the beach but (don't loss the card because THEY WILL CHARGE YOU FOR IT) or another thing I happen to stained the hotel towel with make-up - nothing that wouldn't take off BUT I STILL GOT CHARGED $25 which I THOUGHT WAS RIDICULOUS..
Transportation: Take the ADO bus public transportation ($12 each) from Cancun airport to Playa del carmen which will drop you off 3 blocks (walking distance) from Hotel el punto so don't pay for taxi (they will rip you off with $20) when you can walk.
Restaurants: The hotel doesn't have a restaurant but the staff recommends a restaurant that is right across the hotel called "Mi Pueblo" which I honestly thought it was very expensive (we bought a plate of literally six shrimp and bowl of rice for $40 a plate) so we were able to find cheaper and really good food just 3-4 blocks away (not your very fancy place but good food) - don't get me wrong the food at Mi Pueblo is good but expensive if your planning to pay about $30-$40 a plate then you should be find.
Activities: we purchased our activities at "Easy tour" private business which we paid for Mayan ruins: Tulum, Coba, 1 cenote (not impressed) which included buffet lunch for $70 per person but lunch time was so un-organized no where to sit and not enough food. Another activity we did was the "Rio Secreto" cave or hidden cenote for $70 each which also comes with buffet lunch, 1 hour tour, includes towel and body suite and shoes - WELL WORTH IT, LOVED IT ESPECIALLY OUR TOUR GUIDE SANTIAGO....
Shan-Hi I think was what it's called is jeep jungle excursion for two hour dive until you get to a beautiful private beach, includes buffet lunch (was really good) next to the beach, snorkeling, you see turtles and dolphins for $129 each - LOVED IT AS WELL SO WORTH THE MONEY.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank casillab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blanca B, General Manager at Hotel El Punto, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Dear Asillab, we would like to thank you for your comments. As you kindly wrote, our team purpose is to exceed our clients expectations 24/7 and we are happy that even with all the money "issues" that you perceived during your stay, we made you vacations while worthy. Regarding the charge for the towel, it was fully stained with makeup and unfortunately we cant use them for upcoming clients. Even though we dont have pool and it has never been advertised that we do, we provide all of our guests with daily free beach towels as well as 2 private options for beach club access that include chair or queen size bed + umbrella for only $20.00 usd in consumption (food, beer, snacks). Usually these beach clubs charge a minim of $10.00 usd per person plus consumption but we have made a partnership for our guest benefit. We remain at your service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Kinbe Hotel
Kinbe Hotel
#105 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
642 reviews
0.1 mi away
Los Itzaes Hotel
Los Itzaes Hotel
#96 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
158 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Boutique Posada Mariposa
Hotel Boutique Posada Mariposa
#120 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lunata
Hotel Lunata
#86 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
374 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maya Bric Hotel
Maya Bric Hotel
#161 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
340 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Colibri Beach
Hotel Colibri Beach
#117 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Punto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Punto

Address: 5th Avenue & 8th Street | Colonia Centro, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#44 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $62 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel El Punto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Punto is a boutique hotel strategically located in the heart of Playa del Carmen: at the center of its active life and a few steps away from its best beaches. Located on the exuberant Fifth Avenue, with numerous restaurants, shops and entertainment, the hotel offers a cool atmosphere that delights couples, single travelers and groups for its lively vibe, excellent service, modern facilities and "La Azotea" a restaurant lounge on the top floor with the best view of the sea and Cozumel, where to enjoy exclusive events, hot DJs and the best cocktails.Walking distance from the Mexican Caribbean beaches, it offers access exclusive promotions for its guests.With only 16 modern rooms decorated with special style, at El Punto there’s a friendly and relaxed atmosphere, where quality of service is priority number one. All suites include king size beds, minibar, safe deposit, free high speed Wi Fi internet access, flat screen TV and air conditioning. Because details count, we have hairdryer, bathrobes and designer toiletries at disposal.A delicious breakfast, included in the rate, can be enjoyed every morning in front of the hotel, in one of the most popular restaurants in Playa. Front desk is open 24 hours and provides multilingual staff, tour assistance, express check-in and check-out.Minimum age required to stay is 16 years old and minimum age required for check-in is 18 years old. Smoking is not allowed. These requirements complete the concept of a boutique hotel designed for people looking to have the best time in paradise, within a modern context and at the best location for the Mexican scene.About Playa del Carmen Playa del Carmen is now one of the most glamorous places in the Mexican Caribbean. "Playa", as their regular visitors call it, is situated in the heart of the Riviera Maya and gathers the best restaurants, shops and nightclubs, as well as fabulous beaches on the Caribbean Sea.A destination where everyone will find their place: relax, play water sports, go shopping, enjoy nightlife, the finest cuisine and unique cocktails.Beaches invite you to relax and enjoy yourself. For those who love the sea, boats depart daily from the port to the great Mayan reef, home to the world’s second largest reef. When the night falls, a walk down the Fifth Avenue is a must, where you can find a variety of restaurants, bars, clubs, shops and boutiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splitty, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel El Punto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Punto Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing