We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Gem!”
Review of Hotel El Punto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel El Punto
Ranked #143 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a Gem!”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This hotel was a great find. For the price, I was at first a little skeptical but when we arrived we were greeted by extremely helpful and friendly staff! Small boutique hotel - felt very Miami South Beach. Super modern, super clean! Highly recommended and in the heart of everything. Well worth the price. Free breakfast and beach chairs!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daytripperusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blanca B, Director General at Hotel El Punto, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a comment about our boutique Hotel El Punto. It was a pleasure hosting you and we hope to have you back in the near future. We remain at your service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    93
    45
    18
    19
See reviews for
27
198
27
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My fiance & I decided (along w his sister and her fiance) that we should all get away and visit a place we've never been. We quickly found Hotel El Punto on Groupon and decided it was a steal so we purchased it immediately. We were a little skeptical upon arriving but we thoroughly enjoyed the hotel! It was much smaller than we expected but it was pretty nice. The staff was amazing as well! Josue helped us w everything we needed including confirming our returning transportation back to the airport FOR me! The customer service was great. The cleaning staff was awesome. We were all in shock and smiling huge upon returning back to our freshly made rooms w our towels in the shapes of two swans kissing (in each couples room) sitting on top of our beds. La Azotea (the rooftop restaurant) was really nice. The staff was great too. The view from up there is to die for! Oh, let me not forget the complimentary breakfast at Mi Pueblo! The pancakes were the best we'd EVER HAD! We can't forget abt those. The 30% we got off at Lateral was awesome too. Amazing food there as well. Overall, Hotel El Punto and its perks made our trip as fantastic as it was. You guys ultimately saved us a bunch of money. Thank you guys!

PS - Yes there is a lot of noise at night but thankfully it wasn't too bad that we couldn't fall asleep. And the streets were fairly cleared by abt midnight or so.

Room Tip: Our Groupon deal was for the Junior Suite. The room my fiance & I had had a windoe that looked o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KBayron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blanca B, Director General at Hotel El Punto, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Miss Krystine Bayron, thank you so much for your kind comments. For us is really important to hear the experience of your stay and we are happy to hear that you had a pleasant time with us. We are very happy to have hosted you and looking forward to have you again in the near future. Please dont hesitate to contact me should you requiere further assistance. Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Got this hotel on Groupon for half of the price that appeared to be still too high. It's located in the middle of everything, the beach is just one block down the street and offers "free" breakfast and "free" beach access though other hotels. The best thing about this hotel is the rooftop with a restaurant and cozy sofas. Otherwise the rooms were ok, had everything you need except balconies. They provide a "free" breakfast, you still have to pay them gratitude and honestly it was not the best breakfast at all. We tried their offer for a "free" beach club access at another hotel but it appeared that it was "free" only if you purchase drinks or food at their restaurant for more then 150pesos. One bottle of water was 45 pesos (ridiculous!). The worst thing about this hotel is that it's located right in front of Mexican Grill place. Every single night trios hombres come to the restaurant and start singing Mexican serenades until 1am. If you are not into loud serenades, pick another hotel. I had to sleep with ear plugs that still couldn't block all noise. There are plenty hotels in Playa, just come and pick whatever you like the most!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank larisaaurora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blanca B, Director General at Hotel El Punto, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear Larisa, first of all thank you for taking the time to write your experience at Hotel El Punto. We truly regret that you didnt enjoy your stay with us, your feedback is not a common experience of our clients. As you might understand any service provided should receive a tip but is not obligatory. We will certainly work on your feedback regarding the quality for the breakfast that you received. For the beach club access at check in we let you know regarding the minimum consumption to be able to use their facilities as is not part of the hotel. Regarding the noise, we are located in the most cosmopolita Ave of all latin america and therefore is very lively. Most of our guests enjoy the folklore that 5th Ave provides you. Once again we appreciate your comments and are looking forward to give us a second chance in the future. I remain at your service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I just stayed at Hotel el Punto this past weekend and was very pleased . The hotel is very chic & trendy, and it is in a great location. I highly recommend staying in a Master Suite as they have a balcony that overlooks 5th Street. It is a great value for the price & the staff are very friendly & helpful. I also ate at the rooftop restaurant & it too had a very cool vibe & the food & drinks were good. I would definitely go back to Hotel el Punto & will be sure to recommend it to friends!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blanca B, Director General at Hotel El Punto, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about our boutique Hotel El Punto. It has been a pleasure to host you and all the team are looking forward to host you and your friends again soon! I remain at your service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

This is a great hotel in a great location. Rooms are very big and spacious. Staff is really nice and helpful. I would definitely stay here again. They have a great lounge on the rooftop where they serve amazing martinis.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blanca B, Director General at Hotel El Punto, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Hola Maggie and thank you so much for taking the time to write about our Boutique Hotel. It has been a pleasure to host you and we hope to have you back soon in the near future. Wishing you an amazing week and I remain at your service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Wow. Words seriously escape me to be able to begin to articulate how incredible this spot was. The rooms made you feel like you were part of young Hollywood. Plush/Lavish living in this place. The rooms were ALWAYS a welcoming cool temperature from the hot weather. And every room has an amazing view of Playa Del Carmen. One element that stood out the most was how incredibly welcoming the front desk clerks were. EVERY TIME my wife and I would walk in or leave, they ALWAYS gave us a smile and a greet. The absolute best were Blanca, Diego and Santiago. Those three made the experience incredible. And nothing taken away from the other workers as well. EVERYONE on staff from the front desk clerk to the housekeeping staff are extremely friendly. I LOVE this place. Who needs an overrated, soulless, overpriced HUGE resort, when you have an intimate and p[pleasurable location as Hotel El Punto. And its right in the heart of where ALL of the hot action is on 5th ave. You seriously CANNOT go wrong with this place. If we ever come back to Playa Del Carmen, there isn't any other place that I would stay. I will ALWAYS stay here. THANK YOU HOTEL EL PUNTO! Loved You Guys!!!

Maurice and Christine Proffit

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mproffit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blanca B, Director General at Hotel El Punto, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Hola Maurice and Cristine for your kind comments. It was such a pleasure to have you as guests. We are really thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind email too :) We are looking forward to host you again soon!! very best Regards. El Punto team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2012

I was looking for a place to stay for my 40 Birthday. For the price the place was more than I expected!! The place was perfectly located near the beach only a few minutes walking. the staff was very nice, and was very accomidating and willing to help! Loved the rough top bar which is the best kept secret. Very modern, hip, and sleek! You can see the ocean from the rough top, and the city!! The location could not of been better to all the bars, restaurants and shops,
Loved this place and I would recomend this to anyone looking for a fun get away!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blanca B, Director General at Hotel El Punto, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Hola Christine and thank you so much for taking the time to write about our boutique Hotel. You guys were such a pleasure to host!! We are very happy that you had a fantastic 40th birthday and we hope to host you again soon!! Big hugs from all the team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
Cache Hotel Boutique
Cache Hotel Boutique
#110 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
295 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kinbe Hotel
Kinbe Hotel
#104 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
636 reviews
0.0 mi away
El Secreto Hotel by Bunik
El Secreto Hotel by Bunik
#125 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Barrio Latino Hotel
Barrio Latino Hotel
#67 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
674 reviews
0.0 mi away
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperienc...
#74 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
245 reviews
0.1 mi away
Siesta Fiesta Hotel
Siesta Fiesta Hotel
#115 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Punto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Punto

Property: Hotel El Punto
Address: 5th Avenue & 8th Street | Colonia Centro, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#44 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel El Punto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Punto is a boutique hotel strategically located in the heart of Playa del Carmen: at the center of its active life and a few steps away from its best beaches. Located on the exuberant Fifth Avenue, with numerous restaurants, shops and entertainment, the hotel offers a cool atmosphere that delights couples, single travelers and groups for its lively vibe, excellent service, modern facilities and "La Azotea" a restaurant lounge on the top floor with the best view of the sea and Cozumel, where to enjoy exclusive events, hot DJs and the best cocktails.Walking distance from the Mexican Caribbean beaches, it offers access exclusive promotions for its guests.With only 16 modern rooms decorated with special style, at El Punto there’s a friendly and relaxed atmosphere, where quality of service is priority number one. All suites include king size beds, minibar, safe deposit, free high speed Wi Fi internet access, flat screen TV and air conditioning. Because details count, we have hairdryer, bathrobes and designer toiletries at disposal.A delicious breakfast, included in the rate, can be enjoyed every morning in front of the hotel, in one of the most popular restaurants in Playa. Front desk is open 24 hours and provides multilingual staff, tour assistance, express check-in and check-out.Minimum age required to stay is 16 years old and minimum age required for check-in is 18 years old. Smoking is not allowed. These requirements complete the concept of a boutique hotel designed for people looking to have the best time in paradise, within a modern context and at the best location for the Mexican scene.About Playa del Carmen Playa del Carmen is now one of the most glamorous places in the Mexican Caribbean. "Playa", as their regular visitors call it, is situated in the heart of the Riviera Maya and gathers the best restaurants, shops and nightclubs, as well as fabulous beaches on the Caribbean Sea.A destination where everyone will find their place: relax, play water sports, go shopping, enjoy nightlife, the finest cuisine and unique cocktails.Beaches invite you to relax and enjoy yourself. For those who love the sea, boats depart daily from the port to the great Mayan reef, home to the world’s second largest reef. When the night falls, a walk down the Fifth Avenue is a must, where you can find a variety of restaurants, bars, clubs, shops and boutiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel El Punto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Punto Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing