We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite restaurant in town ”

Ta'consciente Taqueria Libre de Carne
Ranked #434 of 1,640 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Restaurant details
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This place is amazing!

You must eat here. It’s traditional Mexican tacos veganized — and everything is so good! I brought a friend from Argentina who is not vegetarian and we got one of everything and we both loved every single thing!

We weren’t sure what to get at first and the super nice waitress brought out two plates of samples of everything they have — so nice of them to let us sample everything! I loved everything and couldn’t choose and asked my non-veg friend and he said he loved everything too and couldn’t decide! So we got one of everything— which was affordable to do!

It’s located in a cute space with 2 other small restaurants and it doesn’t have great signage of their restaurant, so you could walk past it and not realize that you passed it.

I’ve eaten at every veg place in Playa a bunch of times and I think this is the most must-go.

Can’t wait to go back!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank NoraKVeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (21)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have tested a lot of vegetarian options in a lot of popular places in Playa, but no one has come close to this place. Great service, great prices and awesome veggy food. We were able to test all the fillings available before ordering anything. A must visit for all veggy people and guys who want to try tasty veggy food for a change. The restaurant is placed in the backyard right next to Papa Charly, which is also a great Italian restaurant, and a little hard find but super worth it,just go through the entrance.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Wittner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2019

This is a really awesome place if you're looking for authentic Mexican food that happens to be vegan. Great selection of plant-based "meats" and tortillas, and great service also!

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank heybae123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2019 via mobile

Stumbled across this place looking for authentic Mexican tacos for vegans - it was so good! The woman offered samples of all the different taco fillings - over a dozen. About 6 were soy based, a few were wheat based and about 6 vegetable based. On regular corn tortilla they are 25 pesos each. On sopas a little more. They were all really tasty! Great friendly service. And they were ready in just a few minutes. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank flyboy55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2019 via mobile

Very personal service, gave our group tasters of everything before buying. We let them choose our taco choices, really good food.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Hamim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ta'consciente Taqueria Libre de Carne also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Ta'consciente Taqueria Libre de Carne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing