We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“off the beaten track and quiet”
Review of Hotel Hul-Ku

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Hul-Ku
Ranked #158 of 215 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Reviewed February 14, 2011

It's my 2nd time staying at this hotel in a year. What I like the most about it is that it's just a few blocks from everything but not in the heart of it, so it's nice & quiet. The rooms are built around a large courtyard with lots of greenery, a few parakeets (caged) and a couple fountains. This gives it a nice, calm, "oasis in the city" feel. The only caveat is that because the rooms all face this communal space, if people are partying on one of the room's balconies, you will hear it. And balconies are shared between 2 rooms, which I imagine could be a problem but never has been for me.The rooms are basic (no fridge), but clean and spacious. Lighting is poor, but not really an issue. Don't expect to watch anything on TV other than static. The staff are pretty helpful & friendly too. It was about 40$ a night.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank africanomore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 129 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2011

We stayed there 5 nights. Location is great, 5 minutes to the beach and to everything else.( wallmart, colectivos, bus stations, restaurants ...) Not noisy and a safe place.

The room was great, 3 single beds, a clean bathroom, and a small kitchen with a refrigerator a microwave and an electric oven.

They were helpful and easy going. They kept our bags and lets us take a shower at the reception on the day we were leaving. (after check-out)

There is a pool but since there is not much light getting through the vegetation, the water is very cold.

The place is beautiful!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hbois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2010

I spent 9 days here with my step daughter during her spring break. We were here last spring as well. Facundo at the front desk was very pleasant to deal with & speaks English well. All the staff are very polite & friendly, though most speak only Spanish. The small pool in the enclosed garden is a very relaxing place to spend time out of the sun after too long at the beach. Most of the guests when we were there were Mexican tourists.

This is not a beach hotel. It is 4 blocks from the beach, but that only takes about 5 minutes to walk. That is why their rates are so reasonable. The hotel is located in a very safe area & has a comfortable feel to it.

Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
1  Thank MOF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2010

That being said, it is a mexican hotel- the water pressure wasn't great and the beds were hard, but that wasn't a problem for us. It was clean and charming and we would go back. We didn't have reservations and showed up Easter Week and got a great deal. It is a few blocks from town, but the pool and courtyard are wonderfully tropical, peaceful and relaxing. Its near El Fogon, an awesome restaurant, which didn't hurt. very affordable option.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ugeauxgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2010

We stumbled across this little oasis and were surprised by it's value and cleanliness. We liked that it was just off the beaten path. The gate was locked at night and we never felt unsafe. the room was clean, the staff was polite and helpful. It was tucked away from the ruckus of the main drag down by the beach and close to clean and friendly restaurants. We would stay there again if we ever return to Playa Del Carmen. As mentioned, it takes a few minutes for the hot water, but once it arrives there is not rush to finish as there was plenty. The young man who cleaned the rooms was polite and artistic with the towels. The court yard was beautiful and peaceful. We loved it.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank performanceboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nidia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank Marco A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
El Acuario Hotel
El Acuario Hotel
#95 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
269 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bambu Suites
Hotel Bambu Suites
#140 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
109 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barrio Latino Hotel
Barrio Latino Hotel
#75 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
El Secreto Hotel by Bunik
El Secreto Hotel by Bunik
#132 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
133 reviews
0.5 mi away
Angelo's Hotel
Angelo's Hotel
#119 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
121 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Maya Turquesa
Hotel Maya Turquesa
#198 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hul-Ku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hul-Ku

Address: Between 4 and 6 Street 20 | Col. Centro Cp 77710, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #158 of 215 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $63 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Hul-Ku 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The HULKU hotel is a comfortable hotel located in Playa del Carmen at the heart of the RIviera Maya, near the pier and the bus station, 1200 feet from the beach, 300 m from 5th Avenue, the famous pedestrian avenue, full of life, restaurants etc. The hotel offers you a pleasent atmosphere with precious gardens, full of flowers and fruit trees, thached palapas, with overview to the swimming pool, and almost every room with view to the gardens. Air conditioned, cable TV, Private bathroom, closet, safety box, air dryer,balcony with over view to the gardenor the pool. Optional: king size bed, living room, kitchenette with refrigerator, microwabe oven. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Otel, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Hul-Ku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hul-Ku Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing