We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An hidden gem in Playa del Carmen”
Review of Hotel Hul-Ku

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Hul-Ku
Ranked #154 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We discovered this place on our way to a potential hotel. This place is a marvelous garden with a lot of vegetation and some fountains around. A pool in the center of the place where every balcony have a view on. This place is fantastic. We decide to book this place without taking a look at the other hotel. The owner is very helpful and gave us a marvelous deal: 500$ pesos for a room with a king bed, Fridge, kitchenette, microwave, AC (quiet new one) safe deposit box, hammock and coffee table on the patio, very clean and quiet.

The place was not crowded in low season so we had this deal and we were very happy! Wifi is good in the room, no breakfest however but we've got a supermarket at 10 minutes walk. You get a deal on access to a tour if you stay three night. On our second day, they delivered a wonderful flower bouquet to our room. Maybe we look like honeymooners :)

Two small things to improve and reach the perfection: Small ants in our kitchen (honey! We're in Mexico!) and the cleanliness of the pool... (Seriously Honey? Unbelievable...)

We had dinner on the table next to our room every night with the sound of the water falling on the rocks... We highly recommand this place for couple, near the playa but not into the crowded downtown, this place is a hidden gem... You just have to find it ;)

Room Tip: Ask for the room on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveReady69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 128 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2012

The location is central and the rooms are ok considering the price. Hot water showers and well functioning Wifi. Breakfast was included (self service), but not very good or healthy. Will choose a beach hotel if we go to Playa del Carmen again, theese are quite affordable keeping in mind the standard and amenities you get. Stayed here as part of a group tour.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samo82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Found a double room with kitchen here just before semana santa traveling with three kids. Rooms are good for price and the grounds are lovely. Nice pool and quiet location. Great if you want to be close to local eateries vs. eating out on the strip. A few blocks from Walmart to save on groceries and easy walk to the beach. Saved a ton of money by staying here and the staff were friendly. Don't expect any extra services, but would stay here again if on a budget.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yucatantravelerpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

my wife and I stay at the hotel hul-ku for two nights., the location is excellent close to walmart or 5 avenida, restaurants and the beach which is the best. The hotel don't have parking or anything fancy, but does have wi-fi, tv and ac or fan. the price is very affordable and is very safe .

Room Tip: the rooms on the south side are the quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariner20010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2011

If I had only known about this Mexican gem when we originally arrived in Playa! And the price was the best value that we found in Playa by far at $450 pesos for a double without AC, $550 pesos for a double with AC. Since we were there in early March, AC wasn't needed although that would probably be an issue during the summer. That compares with others a minimum of $400 with AC. Furthermore, the nights that we stayed were quiet and there was no problem with noise even during a holiday. The hotel is four blocks from the beach and close to the nightlife. Just remember that at these prices, don't expect a continental breakfast or shampoo.

On the other hand, the owner has spared no expense to make this hotel into a hanging garden in the midst of an otherwise rundown neighborhood. The rooms are well kept and the bathrooms functioned excellently. The hotel is cleaned thoroughly every morning. There is a cozy swimming pool and fountains everywhere.

There are only three small critiques I want to make. First, the Internet connection was only available in the common areas and was a bit week although they will work well overall so long as your PC has adequate battery power.. The second is that the most room plugs are not designed with grounds. However, ask the thoughtful manager and she will provide you with an extension adapter at no extra charge. Finally, they only provide you two towels. In order to have more, however, all you need do is ask.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Will_in_SoCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2011

It's my 2nd time staying at this hotel in a year. What I like the most about it is that it's just a few blocks from everything but not in the heart of it, so it's nice & quiet. The rooms are built around a large courtyard with lots of greenery, a few parakeets (caged) and a couple fountains. This gives it a nice, calm, "oasis in the city" feel. The only caveat is that because the rooms all face this communal space, if people are partying on one of the room's balconies, you will hear it. And balconies are shared between 2 rooms, which I imagine could be a problem but never has been for me.The rooms are basic (no fridge), but clean and spacious. Lighting is poor, but not really an issue. Don't expect to watch anything on TV other than static. The staff are pretty helpful & friendly too. It was about 40$ a night.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank africanomore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2011

We stayed there 5 nights. Location is great, 5 minutes to the beach and to everything else.( wallmart, colectivos, bus stations, restaurants ...) Not noisy and a safe place.

The room was great, 3 single beds, a clean bathroom, and a small kitchen with a refrigerator a microwave and an electric oven.

They were helpful and easy going. They kept our bags and lets us take a shower at the reception on the day we were leaving. (after check-out)

There is a pool but since there is not much light getting through the vegetation, the water is very cold.

The place is beautiful!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hbois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
El Acuario Hotel
El Acuario Hotel
#90 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barrio Latino Hotel
Barrio Latino Hotel
#71 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
695 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Las Golondrinas
Hotel Las Golondrinas
#122 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Caracol Suite Hotel
Caracol Suite Hotel
#188 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hacienda del Caribe
Hotel Hacienda del Caribe
#118 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
336 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Maya Turquesa
Hotel Maya Turquesa
#197 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hul-Ku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hul-Ku

Address: Between 4 and 6 Street 20 | Col. Centro Cp 77710, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $47 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Hul-Ku 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The HULKU hotel is a comfortable hotel located in Playa del Carmen at the heart of the RIviera Maya, near the pier and the bus station, 1200 feet from the beach, 300 m from 5th Avenue, the famous pedestrian avenue, full of life, restaurants etc. The hotel offers you a pleasent atmosphere with precious gardens, full of flowers and fruit trees, thached palapas, with overview to the swimming pool, and almost every room with view to the gardens. Air conditioned, cable TV, Private bathroom, closet, safety box, air dryer,balcony with over view to the gardenor the pool. Optional: king size bed, living room, kitchenette with refrigerator, microwabe oven. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Otel, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Hul-Ku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hul-Ku Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing