We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Excursion!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Edventure Tours

Edventure Tours
Ranked #4 of 367 Tours in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are the "Original" cenote, lagoon, turtle tour in the Riviera Maya- having been in the area and doing tours for 30 years! We are a family owned and operated business. We offer you the best of the area- for the best prices!From the pristine turquoise waters of the Caribbean- to the Ancient Mayan Ruins, with so much more in between! Experience the cenotes- the amazing underground rivers; snorkel a natural aquarium full of brilliant colored tropical fish; swim/snorkel with the majestic sea turtles- watch as they glide effortlessly in their own natural environment. For even more "edventure", visit our new Zipline park! Take a fun ATV or Unimog jeep ride- deep into the jungle! A menagerie of ziplines with connecting hanging bridges. Rappel, rock climb, cliff jump… Tour with us~ to experience this amazing area at it's best! We take families of all ages- Tots to Seniors~ and offer private tours for couples or groups of all sizes.Let us customize a day for you! We are honored to share with you, this wonderful bit of Paradise!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Excursion!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

We did the xtreme package with the tulum ruins. Payed $50 via paypal before our trip and the rest when we arrived for the excursion. These guys are top notch and deliver exactly what they say.
Its a long day but it was one of the highlights of our trip!! Zip lining and the cenote snorkling were my favorites.
Definitely has my recommendation!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Norm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,170
    49
    11
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Time with Edventure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

On our visit to Mexico we spent 9 out of our 14 on activities and this day has to be one of our highlights! The trip with Edventure was one of the best value for money experiences I have ever had. We snorkelled in a Canote, Swam with Turtles & Stingrays in Akumal and then even took in some amazing sea life in a local lagoon. Our tour guide was most informative and made it his priority to show us as much as possible. The lunch provided was traditional and authentic, not to mention it tasted really good! Eduardo even organised for our photos to be taken throughout the day so we had a great memory to take home. You could not beat this trip it really was amazing! Make sure you book the guided tour of Tulum it makes far more sense than walking around on your own not really sure of what you are looking at, particularly with the limited time you have. Book a guide and go away feeling you learnt some Mexican history. Thank you to all at Edventure, rest assured we will be back to Paradise! We miss it already.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“THIS IS A MUST DO!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

We were staying in Tulum for a few days and went on this trip doing the full Xtreme package with the ruins added on. We paid the $50 deposit on paypal and the rest in cash when we got there (US dollars). We called the day before to confirm and ask about pick up time. They sent a taxi right on time and we were greeted very warmly by Eddie. They asked a few questions re: drink requests for the cooler etc and then we were whisked off to the ruins. We get there around 8:20ish, right before all the buses get in and it was great. We can walk around and explore on our own for 90 minutes and then return to the hub. From there, all the people gather for the trip and we van over to the place. We then get on ATVs and drive ourselves to the zip line. This is so much fun driving through the jungle (about 20 minutes). Then we get a zip line lesson and start zipping through the jungle where we can go backwards on some or upside down on one. They are very safe and always there with you. After like 10 zips we split into two groups, one went early to the cenote and the other rockclimbed and did some repelling which was fun. We then went to two beautiful cenotes, the first is a half open cenote which they use as training for swimming with the fins and snorkel gear. The first group got their early and swam around while we had about 10-15 mins to take a few pics and cool off. Then we all walk over to the closed cenote which is breathtakingly beautiful. We all enter together and snorkel around the formations together. Next, we go eat lunch at this central area with tables. The pork is really delicious. It's mini buffet style with tortillas, salsa, onions and the pork/chicken cooking on the side. We have all the beer and water and coke you want available too. After, we ride back and go to another place to snorkel in a laguna with fish and mixed fresh/salt water. From there it's on to a beach to snorkel with turtles. We saw about 4 or 5, no sting rays that day. Our stuff was always safe and we had bathrooms available in the jungle if needed. The tour guides were always there to help and chat with. We left from the turtle thing directly back to our hotel thanks to Eddie's mom who was so nice and fun to chat with. I think this is worth every penny. You get to do so much and it's all well organized. I would advise flip flops or water shoes over any other shoes. Also, take your towel to the ruins because there's a small, nice beach that is accessible. Enjoy!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bhavik K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sicamous
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommended!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

This was our first visit to Mexico and my husband and I were eager to go on this tour that was recommended by a friend. It was more than we could have anticipated! The guides were awesome, patient and funny. To swim with the turtles and see other fish in the lagoon was a highlight of our trip. Very friendly, helpful people.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Helens, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great, Great and more Great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

I did the snorkel at Yal-ku and Cenote Dos Ojos + Tulum + turtle swim at Akumal.
Each place was fantastic! The tour was top drawer in every way. I choose Edventures because of the high ratings on Trip Advisor and so glad i did! This day was a highlight of an all around great vacation.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank loriandgabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Edventure Tours also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Edventure Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing