We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Drupas 38 - CLOSED

Drupas 38
Price range: $10 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Drupas 38 is the one of the most exquisite experiences you will have in Playa del Carmen!
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great meal”
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Off the beaten 5th avenue path in northern playa where you can hear yourself talk is a lovely restaurant with excellent service and a delish menu with great cocktails. A must for the more discerning!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LCT55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    2
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Playa Del Carmen
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Excellent restaurant!”
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Excellent restaurant! Service impeccable and fast. Personal very smiling. Very clean. Nice ambiance. Better for couples and romantic dinner. Beautiful tasteful dishes. By far my new favorite upscale restaurant! Try the Lasagna and the Chocolate dessert, to die for !!!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marianne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
88 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Heavenly food! will for sure become the true no.1 one day”
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Drupas 38 was not only BY FAR the best restaurant on our Mexico trip, but in the TOP 3 of all restaurants I visited all over the world. If you want fine dining in Playa del Carmen, don´t hesitate a moment and try it. The prices are absolutely reasonable (considering the quality even cheap). The size of the portion is perfect (not as small as in other "fine dining" restaurants).

The appetizers are beautiful arranged and taste delicious. In our 2 visits we tried 6 different appetizers and all were great. The tuna tartar with lemon foam was a fantastique new culinary experience. The pizzeta with figs was a crusty, but tender small pizza which the figs gave a very original taste. The skewers (beef, chicken, fish, scampy & crab spring roll) with different sauces taste much more sophisticate than it sounds- all the meat was grilled perfectly, juicy and tender ! The fish carpacciao also taste very fresh.The scallops & pork belly appetizer had the absolutely most delicious tender, juicy pork I ever eaten outside Asia.

The salads are very fresh and tasty. The most interesting was the salad with couscous - very cheap (65 pesos) but unexpectedly good. The salad with tuna was great too - even for someone who usually don´t eat fish.

But the best were the desserts - especially the chocolate fondant with fruit sorbet. The liquid chocolate inside was of excellent quality, probably from the brand Valrhona. Its dark, bitter-sweet taste was the perfect match to the sweet-sour passion fruit sorbet, which was on a bed of sweet crumbles - heavenly. Also very good was the the dates tart with tasty vanilla ice cream. I would have loved to taste their other home made ice creams.

We drank only margarita on the rocks - which was very good - but they do have an extensive wine list and different kinds of beer and cocktails too.

Service was very good and spoke excellent English.

The restaurant is located at the northern end of the 5th avenue. Due to its location, usually there is a table free even without reservation. I will miss this restaurant and will be back for sure if I ever come to Mexico again!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank floonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
221 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed March 24, 2012

Had much here last week and would definatley go again. Had the risoto with grouper. It was obviously made from scrach (as opposed to partially cooked then finished later). Service was relaxed but excellent as was the amuse brouche. Would strongly recommend it as a break from the mexican food (which I do happen to love).

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bumper1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Level Contributor
288 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Incredible gem in Playa del Carmen - my fav restaurant so far!”
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Fresh, deliciously prepared food and great service. Their brochettes (for 2) are the perfect starter to share. Best greek salad ever and very flavourful tuna tartare. Their portions are on the smaller side, which we loved, so we could order a few dishes to share.

This restaurant stands up to any of the best in NY, Toronto, London, Sydney. Didn't try the osso bucco but it looked mouthwatering;).

Drupas 38 should be #1 on Trip Advisor. We are going back again tonight!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MexChilanga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecilia S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Drupas 38, responded to this review, March 17, 2012
Dear AlwaysOnAPlan,

We are very glad to hear that your experience at Drupas 38 was phenomenal, thank you so very much for considerate us as your favorite restaurant in Playa del Carmen.
Unfortunately the listing is a little bit mixed up and we can understand your concern, we are working hard to gain a better position on the tripadvisor, and its thanks to all your nice comments that we are getting there little by little.

Thank you so much for your wishes a have a lovely day!

Sincerely,
Cecilia Sánchez L.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Drupas 38 also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing