We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colours of Mexico!”
Review of Hotel Colorado

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Colorado
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 22, 2013

After a recommendation of a friend we decided to stay in this hostel/hotel. As said before the owners are very friendly and the service is perfect. The free drinking water makes life a lot easier. The location is perfect, just far enough to prevent the extremely loud music of 5th avenue and close enough to have everything in walking distance. Unfortunately there was a city festival at the municipal building during our first night, which gave some loud music problems, but I think that was an exception. There is free wifi, enough hooks in the bathroom to hang your towel (included) and clothing and a gate that makes you feel protected. The whole hotel is breathing the true Mexican feeling with the nice coloured painting, curtains and the garden. It is so much more fun than staying in one of the very expensive all in hotels. And no there is no pool, but who needs one if you are next to the sea?! And overall, look at the price!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marl0esNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (194)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 194 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2013

Colorful yard, quiet, perfect ubication, the rooms are very clean and cared, and they all have a fridge and a table,the 2 owners are a lovely couple, very kind and comprehensive, who cares a lot about their hotel. Really a good adress ;)!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I came to the Hotel Colorado looking for a place to catch up on some work between backpacking stints, and it was exactly what I wanted. Clean, friendly, and most importantly, quiet. No thumping club music! Good, strong wifi that reached up to my room on the top floor, fast enough to stream Netflix or FaceTime.

Best of all was the super-friendly staff, who somehow manage to strike the rare balance of always being there when you need something but never making you feel watched. Everyone was super friendly, from the owner (who runs reception) to the cleaning women. Be warned that the cleaning women do not knock before entering--my only complaint. The rooms are cleaned every day, floor-washing and all. So, though the rooms are spartan (typical of Mexican budget accommodation), they are spotless. My room had a fan, a mini fridge, a TV, and a private bathroom.

There's not much of a social vibe, which was fine for me since I wanted to be productive. I agree with a previous reviewer that if there was a shared kitchen (not all rooms have kitchenettes), this would be a super-popular option for backpackers who want a quieter place to stay. It's in a good location--about 10 minutes or less to get to the beach, bus station, Walmart, etc.

I definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 9ek9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The hotel is at walking distance from the ADO station, as well as from the 'colectivos' final stop. Just a few blocks from the main avenue of Playa del Carmen (the fifth) and from the beach. Location wise, it's great!

The lady at the front desk was super helpful all the time, with restaurants, activities and addresses information. Our room was too hot (or maybe we weren't used to the mexican weather) and as we didn't have an airco she didn't think twice in providing us with another solution and found us a second fan, which was indeed enough.

Our room was cleaned daily and the towels replaced every other day. There was hot shower and the bathroom was not bad. The place was well maintained. The only thing that wasn't confortable was the linen: too old and rough. But not a deal breaker.

Internet didnt reach our room, but it was available. From the garden it could be easily accessed and it had places for you to hang out while using the service, confortably.

If your intention is to use the hotel just as a resting base and walk and explore the city and its surrounding durring most part of the day, there's no reason not to choose the colorado.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Nathalia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Excellent boutique Hotel in the heart of Playa, Owners are the staff so you can expect clean rooms and lots of friendly local knowledge. many Languages spoken, including English and German.The Hotel has great wifi access and a nice garden. Make sure you check out the Ruins in Playa Car just 5 mins walk from the Hotel. PS I am not the only one who returns annually to stay at Hotel Colorado.

Room Tip: upstairs rooms with Kitchen open to terrrace awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luisflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Nice room and there is towels and soap and air conditioner but the room was full of ants that covered all of our bags and it took two hours to get it clean!!! The women was nice but we were expected to discount but nothing. The price didn't worst it!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AvivReut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I had a good time at this place, they clean rooms everyday, they have drinking water wich is pretty amazing specially when the weather is hot, the owners are very kind and helpful, we had a room with kitchenete and private bathroom everything works perfectly, its located a few blocks away from QUINTA AVENIDA, and a few blocks to the beach, you may be looking to cook your own food and feel home? theres a walmart close by, bank machines, restaurants and bars all around.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauquiahuitl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#22 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
1,607 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barrio Latino Hotel
Barrio Latino Hotel
#74 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
695 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wabi Hotel
Wabi Hotel
#4 of 182 in Playa del Carmen
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Casa Felicidad B&B
Casa Felicidad B&B
#10 of 182 in Playa del Carmen
125 reviews
4.8 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
3,283 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#13 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
16,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colorado

Address: Street 4 , between Av. 20 & 25 | Centro, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $24 - $38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Hotel Colorado Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing