We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,035)
Filter reviews
1,035 results
Traveler rating
699
197
81
31
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
699
197
81
31
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop pool sister properties asian restaurant techno music free shuttle room service boutique hotel hotel is beautiful all inclusive package all inclusive hotel breakfast buffet shuttle service lobby bar the entire staff couples massage sales pitch time share
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 1,035 reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2020

Every year, my boyfriend and I go on vacation. For our American thanksgiving we decided to travel to Playa Del Carmen with a few friends from holland we met in the Dominican Republic. Best decision we have ever made!! The staff was by far the best staff we have had the privilege of meeting. The resort allows full access to both sister resorts, we traveled to all of them and the Reef 28 is by far the best one. The staff at the Reef 28 really amplified our whole experience in Mexico, allowing us to really see the beauty of Playa Del Carmen. Alessia was the best server, giving us the best service every day. Such a beautiful adventurous soul. She helped us experience the beauty of Mexico and became a very focal point of our entire trip. Without Alessia we would not have experienced as many beautiful sights without her guidance. Along with Alessia; Gina & Monse were phenomenal servers as well giving us great service throughout our stay. Props to Raul for managing the roof and being a great host, always full of smiles when we we would see him. That man works long hours and was such a pleasure. Mario was always there to serve us lunch and he was amazing as well!! Orlando was our favorite bartender, and always left us laughing. Everyone else was fantastic too, however the people I listed were by far the best!!!!! The security was amazing too!!! However, I will say again, thank you so much to Alessia for creating such a fantastic environment for us. She was by far the best and we had the privilege to get to know her personally. She was simply exceptional!!! Such a wonderful woman!!!!! We LOVE LOVE LOVE Alessia. The food was phenomenal, Italian restaurant was the best by far. In my personal opinion, these people I mentioned above all deserve a raise or some sort of bonus. They work so hard and really care about giving their customers the best service they can provide. We met a lot of people who were rude to the staff/ bad tippers and I truly believe that they deserve more money for the amount of work and patience they do. Tip these people generously, they deserve so much. Thank you Raul, Gina, Monse, Mario, and Orlando for such great service and laughs!!! And an extra special thank you to Alessia for showing us places we never would have seen without your guidance. Alessia is the best!!!! We love the Reef 28 and will be booking again absolutely. Thank you to everyone for such a lovely stay. Te amo Reef 28!!!!

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank rynhartman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Road18409230168, Brand Executive at The Reef 28, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear rynhartman,

We sincerely appreciate the time invested to share your detailed, personal impression of your recent visit at our resort, it was all our pleasure to host you.

It is a pleasure to know that you were provided with our courteous, outstanding service. Our staff is highly committed to excellence and they sincerely will appreciate the time you have taken to recognize their efforts. They keep working relentlessly to maintain our high standards in quality and service and to provide unique experiences.

We are delighted to hear that you were able to take the opportunity to enjoy the variety of our food. Our executive chef will be glad to hear about your positive feedback.

We are thrilled to know that you would like to come back, please send us an email to socialmedia@thereefresorts.com as we have a special rate and benefits for repeat guests.

Kind regards,

Micaela Castilla
Brand Executive
socialmedia@thereefresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2020

The reef 28 es un hotel muy bello, una arquitectura simple pero bellamente decorado y un ambiente que te da una energia positiva al llegar.
en el mero corazon de playa del carmen cerca de mamita's beach club.El hotel aunque no esta justo enfrente de la playa da una incrieble vista al mar desde sus habitacion y mucho mejor desde su roof top. la piscina generosamente grande y dos jacuzzis al aire libre. buena musica y a veces (si no es que siempre) DJ en vivo.
si hay algo que les recomendaria es conseguir mas personal ya que se ven atareados en las tardes cuando se les empieza a llenar su roof. La comida en escala del 1 al 10 le doy 7.
No te dejes engañar por el tamaño de su spa, es bello y su atencion es increible, tome un sweedish massage de 50minutos mas hidroterapia y sali como nuevo, inclusive la terapeuta te da recomendaciones si llega a encontrar alguna contractura.
ya sea como huesped o como un daypass the reef es buena opcion para pasarla muy bien.
No duden en ir :D

English:
The reef 28 is a very beautiful hotel, a simple but beautifully decorated architecture and an atmosphere that gives you a positive energy upon arrival.
in the mere heart of Playa del Carmen near Mamita's Beach Club. The hotel, although not directly in front of the beach, gives an incredible sea view from your room and much better from its roof top. the generously large pool and two outdoor hot tubs. Good music and sometimes (if not always) Live DJ.
If there is something that I would recommend, it is to get more staff since they are busy in the afternoon when the rooftop starts getting busy. The food on a scale from 1 to 10 I give 7.
Do not be fooled by the size of the spa, it is beautiful and its attention is incredible,I took a 50Min Swedish massage plus hydrotherapy and leave th place as new, even the therapist gives you recommendations if they find any contracture.
either as a guest or as a daypass the reef is a good option to have a great time :D

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CrissyTravel94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Road18409230168, Brand Executive at The Reef 28, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear CrissyTravel94,

We would like to thank you for your comments; it is truly a pleasure to learn about the fantastic stay you had and we appreciate the time you took to share your experiences.

Indeed, our wonderful position in the heart of Playa del Carmen allows us to provide unique and recreational vacations as we are located one block from the famous 5th Avenue and one block away from the famous beach clubs Mamitas and Kool beach.

We are disappointed to read that you experienced our personnel as understaffed. The situation mentioned in no way reflects our standards and rest assured we will consider this situation with the management, as we strive to provide every single guest with our excellent service. We regret that we did not meet your expectations and will keep working relentlessly to maintain our high standards in quality and service.

It is a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed Okom spa as this is one of our favorite spots on the hotel too.

It would be amazing to welcome you back at The Reef 28. Please email us to socialmedia@thereefresorts.com and we will assist you with special repeat client rates.

Kind regards,

Micaela Castilla
Brand Executive
socialmedia@thereefresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2020

The hotel is nice and the bed is very comfortable. Breakfast buffet is great and the service was excellent. There was a waitress named Verynice and she was the best with the biggest smile. Housekeeping was wonderful as well and my room was always cleaned and well done. I had a nice balcony overlooking the street and in the morning, this was quiet and peaceful... BUT... if you want quiet and peaceful this is not the hotel for you. If you want loud music and a rooftop pool that turns into a loud bar and dance area to midngiht or later, this place is for you. I was on the 4th floor and sometimes there were drunk girls yelling in the hallway. The thump thump of the music on pool level was heard most of the night. It was not too disturbing but there was no place to go to in the hotel to have a quiet experience except the spa which you have to pay for. The other issue that management did not address or solve was the transportation we arranged to be picked up from the airport and brought to the hotel. There was so much confusion and after waiting an hour and a half after retrieving my lugggage, I decided to pay for a cab and not look anymore for the private care to take us. As we were being driven to the hotel, I got phone calls from the car company blaming me for leaving the driver there. I called Reef 28 several times as I looked for this driver in several terminals (Cancun airport is not small) and was put on hold for about 15 minutes each time with no one helping me. The hotel never resolved this and this poor customer service reflected on the General Manager of the Reef 28.

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank R3980SDmichaelk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Road18409230168, Brand Executive at The Reef 28, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2020

Dear R3980SDmichaelk,

We would like to thank you for sharing your experiences. Our goal is to ensure our guest satisfaction, we always make our best effort in making feel our guest special and valued during their stay. Certainty, it appears we did not have the opportunity to fulfill this during your time with us and would like to express you our most sincere apologies on the behalf of the entire staff of The Reef 28.

We are glad to read that you were provided with our courteous, outstanding service. Our staff is highly committed to excellence and they sincerely will appreciate the time you have taken to recognize their efforts. They keep working relentlessly to maintain our high standards in quality and service and to provide unique experiences.

We are sorry to hear about the situation you experienced regarding the noise and we would like to apologize for this. Please rest assured that we are taking proper actions in order to reduce the noises. Please note that a room change can always be requested with our front desk as the well-being of our guests has absolute priority.

Regarding the inconvenience that took place with the transfer please feel free to email us to socialmedia@thereefresorts.com your travelling dates, full name and room number so that we can follow up internally. We are sorry to know that this took place and we apologize for it.

The situations mentioned in no way reflects our standards and rest assured we will consider this situation with the Management in order to avoid any further inconveniences. We are saddened to read that you do not intend to return to our resort but we truly hope we may prove you in the future our commitment to exceptional customer service and satisfaction.

Kind regards,

Micaela Castilla
Brand Executive
socialmedia@thereefresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2020

This is a really great hotel and value for money. It has wonderful amenities - the rooftop pool is really nice and the spa is soooo nice (shoutout to Jesus and Veronica who were amazing). The breakfast is 10/10 - a brilliant selection. Initially we were in a very noisy room (the hotel is centrally located so you'd expect this). When we complained to reception they were really friendly and helpful - moved us to another quieter room later that day.

Only negative is the pool did get busy during the day - often hard to find a sun bed.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Road18409230168, Brand Executive at The Reef 28, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2020

Dear Chris G,

We sincerely appreciate the time invested to share your detailed, personal impression of your recent visit at our resort, it was all our pleasure to host you.

We are very proud of our staff who works hard to ensure that our guests are feeling comfortable and have everything they may need for a memorable stay. When their efforts are acknowledged it makes all their work worthwhile and so we will be delighted to share your kind comments with them, especially with Jesus and Veronica.

In the future, we hope to have an opportunity to host you for a stay that truly exceeds your expectations.

Kind regards,

Micaela Castilla
Brand Executive
socialmedia@thereefresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2020

We've stayed in the hotel for a New Year 2020. The place is very nice and modern, located in great area, the food was great - big choice and quality, nice staff.
For the beach access you gave to use shuttle bus for the sister hotels, its a bit long. But still great that there is such opportunity.
Also nearby beach clubs can be used as an alternative.

Date of stay: December 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank masssik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Road18409230168, Brand Executive at The Reef 28, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2020

Dear masssik,

We would like to thank you for your comments; it is truly a pleasure to learn about the fantastic stay you had during New Years Eve. We appreciate the time you took to share your experiences.

Indeed, our wonderful position in the heart of Playa del Carmen allows us to provide unique and recreational vacations as we are located one block from the famous 5th Avenue and one block away from the famous beach clubs Mamitas and Kool beach.

We are delighted to hear that you were able to take the opportunity to enjoy the variety of our food. Our executive chef will be glad to hear about your positive feedback.

We are very proud of our staff who works hard to ensure that our guests are feeling comfortable and have everything they may need for a memorable stay. When their efforts are acknowledged it makes all their work worthwhile and so we will be delighted to share your kind comments with them.

It would be amazing to welcome you back at The Reef 28. Please email us to socialmedia@thereefresorts.com and we will assist you with special repeat client rates.

Kind regards,

Micaela Castilla
Brand Executive
socialmedia@thereefresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews