We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent dont mis it if you go to playa del Carmen”
Review of Los Amigos - CLOSED

Los Amigos
Price range: $3 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excelent dont mis it if you go to playa del Carmen”
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Good food and excelent service try the lime soup, the meat in swords, tacos al pastor or the fish

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ponchotovar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    21
    6
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great place, off the tourist track!”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

A great find up on Avenida 30 - local and delicious. Lots more than just tacos, a really full menu. After a couple of nights on Quinta, we really needed something casual (and thrifty). Los Amigos fit the bill, will return on our next trip for sure!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bpugmex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Mexican food and excellent Margaritas”
Reviewed March 21, 2012

We went there after viewing on Trip Advisor and were not disapponted. We had steak and chicken fajitas and our daughter had shrimp brochettas (skewers). The food was excellent. the owner is Russian and speaks good English if you need help translating the menu. The restaurant was packed when we left. Go there!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LHHMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Shocked at "terrible reviews"”
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Reading the terrible reviews is kinda shocking about this place. The owners and management are nothing but wonderful people who go above and beyond everything for their guests. The food is incredible, and it's the only place in PDC that serves not only Mexican, but some Russian cuisine, as the managers are Russians from New York City.
I've gone there twice with my wife and each time tasted the softest, most well prepared meat I've had anywhere on this planet.

I've eaten at authentic Brazilian BBQ, Mongolian BBQ, Argentinian meat house, tons of Greek places all over Greek islands, and I can tell you nobody prepares better "grilled meat" (whether chicken or beef or whatever).

If you go to this place, ask for a "SHASHLIK"...it's Russian for what Americans or Westerns would know as a Souvlaki or Kebab. GIANT pieces of meat on this long, long, long metal stick. Simply amazing!

Anyway...place is highly recommended to everyone, and ignore the negative reviews. I don't believe any one of them personally.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wiz0rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food and value”
Reviewed February 29, 2012

The food was fantastic especially the Russian soup. They serve tasty local Mexican food at a very reasonable price.The owners are extremely nice and helpful and go out of their way to make you feel comfortable.
My wife and I ate at the Los Amigos many times during our 2 week stay at PDC.
Highly recommend

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Amigos also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing