We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Day!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Snorkel Shop

The Snorkel Shop
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Snorkeling and Diving tours, Cenote tour and/or Ocean tours. Sea Turtle tours. Pictures included on all of our tours. Equipment provided on all our tours. Great customer service, friendly staff. Reasonable prices. Small Groups, Max.10. We can accommodate larger groups from one booking.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

My husband and I wanted more than the standard two, forty-five minutes of snorkeling & The Snorkel Shop was more than happy to accomodate this request at an affordable cost. All-in-all, were were able to snorkel for a total of 2.5 hours, which worked out perfectly for us.

Memo was our guide and he was fantastic. He even took the memory card from my camera, put it in his underwater camera & he and I switched off taking pictures, during our excursion -- which totally made my day!

The lunch, that was included, was freshly prepared and delicious. They served us fresh grouper, beans, rice, chicken quesadillas, homemade tortilla chips, pico & guacamole.

We had a wonderful day and would recommend this company and our guide, Memo, to anyone looking for a fun time! Book a snorkel trip with The Snorkel Shop. You won't be disappointed!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Britt0n1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSnorkelShop, Owner at The Snorkel Shop, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear BrittOn1997, what a fantastic 200th excellent review! Thank you so much. I am very pleased that we could accommodate your wishes. We do offer the "All Day Reef Tour" that you did and will soon put it on our website. I am also glad Memo has once again lived up to his reputation. Thank you so much for your support and we look forward to seeing you next time.
Sincerely, Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    358
    15
    5
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
shreveport
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“fun day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We had a great experience. Memo was our tour guide, he took us snorkeling with the sea turtles. He also took us to eat an authentic mexican lunch. Great day.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank kim h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSnorkelShop, Owner at The Snorkel Shop, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Kim H, thank you so much for your review. Memo has done it again! I am so glad you enjoyed your tour and you are our 199th excellent review! The Turtles are really cool and I am glad you enjoyed the lunch too. We hope to see you again soon and thank you for your support.
Sincerely, Graham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Crazy kinda cool”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Love it, love it, love it! This experience was so much more raw and free than I expected. There are some basic ground rules (no touching) but otherwise the guides leave you with an extraordinary amount of freedom. Swimming alongside such great beasts was an experience I shall not soon forget. Add to that our guides creation of a tasty ceviche, a stop at an incredible beach, and some great underwater camera work. And hey presto! The trip of a lifetime. I would recommend these fellas and this experience to anyone who has the option.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyrhone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSnorkelShop, Owner at The Snorkel Shop, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Tyrhone, I must say that, "Crazy kinda cool", is a first, but apt description of the whale shark experience. They are really cool. Thank you for pointing out that touching is not allowed, it is important to not harass these wonderful creatures. We would all like to thank you for your review and for choosing us to see these gentle giants. Please let us know if there is anything else we can help you with and we look forward to seeing you again .
Sincerely, Graham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Snorkeling with Whale Sharks - Amazing!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

This was truly a once-in-a-lifetime experience, thank you Snorkel Shop!! We left Playa at 6:30am and drove to the marina at Cancun where we met our awesome guide, Herman. After a quick coffee and breakfast we boarded the boat for the ride out to the shark feeding spot. I couldnt believe how close to the surface they were, hundreds of huge whale-like creatures gliding through the water. Then it was time to get in, in groups of two or three. A spectacular experience!! A little unnerving at first but by the second round, we were swimming up alongside these majestic creatures like it was second nature. This was followed by a fresh ceviche lunch on the crystal clear turquoise waters of Isla Mujeres. Our crew were great, driver was timely and friendly and Graham from the snorkel shop was great to deal with. I recommend this tour to anyone visiting the Riviera Maya of Mexico in summer (June- Sept) !!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank sjchambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSnorkelShop, Owner at The Snorkel Shop, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear sjchambo, super review. Thank you very much for your review. Absolutely the Whale Sharks are incredible. I would also like to thank you for writing that they are seasonal. You definitely went at the right time. We will be happy to take you again next year as well. Once again thank you for your support and we all look forward to seeing you again.
Sincerely, Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“amazing experience swimming with whale sharks!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

the guide, hernan, was awesome! loved the whole experience- swimming with whale sharks, stopping at la isla mujeres on the way back for a swim & lunch. would definitely do it again!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank hollygurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSnorkelShop, Owner at The Snorkel Shop, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Hollygurl, We are all so happy you enjoyed your tour. The Whale Sharks are amazing. Unfortunately you are going to have to wait until next year to do them again as the season is winding down. But we would love to take you again. Thank you so much for your support and review.
Sincerely, Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Snorkel Shop also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to The Snorkel Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing