We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Residences El Faro
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Thompson Beach House(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Colibri Beach(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Plaza by Phocea(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Carmen Hotel(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Playa Maya(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Blue Beach Hotel(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
Kinbe Hotel(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Maya del Mar(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pelicano Inn(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (430)
Filter reviews
430 results
Traveler rating
204
135
44
18
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
204
135
44
18
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswasher dryermaster bathcondo complexsecond bedroommanagement companythrough bric vacation rentalsfull kitchengreat condolaundry facilitiesrecommend elliving roomevery other dayvisited ellocation location locationfifth avenueenglish channelscaribbean beach
Filter
Updating list...
328 - 333 of 430 reviews
Reviewed February 23, 2011

We stayed 3 nights in Reef #302 with 2 kids. Absolutely loved the view. The partially topless beach had a very European feel, was beautiful, and only had a little seaweed drift in on the 3rd day. You can rent a jet ski for $60/ half hour. By the pool, there is a massage cabana, live musicians regularly, and other entertainment that you can watch from the balcony. At night, the music at the nightclub nearby can be faintly heard (until 5am on the weekend), but it didn't really bother us too much.

Just on the corner is a Starbucks and only a few blocks west on the same street (Calle 10 north), you can walk to a Super Walmart for all grocery needs. Also, the condo had a filtered water dispenser with the 5 gallon jugs.

We rented a car, which was a breeze for us. We drove to the ruins at Coba for a day and had a great time. Highway was very good the whole way, just be very cautious of the speed bumps in the small towns. It took a little over an hour to get there from Playa.

In addition, this condo is a bit hard to find and not well marked at all. Remember, the Starbucks is on the corner and the condo is at the dead end of Calle 10 right by the beach, and on the south side of the street. It's still under construction, so they let us park in the condo across the street without problem. From other reviews I read, I agree the room had a musty smell, but it depended on how humid the condo was. We sometimes used the A/C to dry it out a bit. Otherwise, everything was very clean and very well decorated with the local artwork. Also, this unit didn't have a washer and dryer, but it's my understanding that you can use the facilities on the first floor. For such a short stay, I didn't want to waste any time doing laundry.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lori36511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2011

Recently visited El Faro for a long girls weekend. The complex was better than we expected. Starting with the front desk, the staff was very courtious and available contrary to some earlier reviews.
We were initially placed in Corto Maltese which was very disappointing as our reservation was for El Faro. Had we been notified by Rockstar Rentals prior to our arrival, it would not have been such a let down. Rockstar Rentals had a week to notify us before our arrival and they did not.
Corto Maltese condos are large and very nice. We had use of the pool at El Faro which is right next door while staying at Maltese. The problem with Corto Maltese is that it is very loud at night and you must keep the doors shut at night. Zenzi, the night club on the first floor stays open all hours of the night.
After three nights we were switched back to El Faro where we originally planned to stay. We had a very nice three bedroom unit on the second floor of the Coral building. Large unobstructive views from the large balcony were great. The condo was very clean. The interior was modern and not decorated in a tropical flavor as would be preferred in Mexico, but we were only in the unit at night and we spent our time on the great balcony.
After doing much research before our trip and while we were in Playa, we found Encanto El Faro to have the best condo beachfront and pool in Playa. The pool is large and much wider than the other condos allowing sunshine throughout the day. There is also poolside service which was slow but very nice. The food was from Wicky's onsight and very good. There were musicians on the pool deck a few days which was very enjoyable and not overbearing.
We felt very safe as there was always a security guard within view keeping outsiders off the property.
Location, location, location! One minute walk to Fifth Avenue.
We plan to return next year.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelbug2265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2011

We got in the first place an appartement on the first floor - lots of people would find it wonderful but if a light appartment is an important criteria - this is not the place.
BUT grace to the extremely friendly and helpful staff in the reception we got an appartment at 4.th floor which was so beautiful and had the most incredible view over the ocean.
We loved every minute at this hotel.
The pool is nice and the sunbeds are perfect (one of the reasons why we didn´t hang out on the lovely beach all the time).

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Apollo
Thank Inasebmatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2011

I traveled with my girlfriend and parents, and we got two two bedroom condos. They were huge and four people easily could have fit into one, but we wanted separate rooms because let's face it, who wants to share a place with their parents when they're with their significant other? Through Orbitz, we got a pretty good deal of $200 a night per condo, but there are definitely cheaper places in Playa, and for a 4-star establishment, I would expect a lot more than was present.

First the good - location, location, location. It's right on the pristine beach and was so convenient to be able to get up and be steps away. Also, the location in Playa was very central, so we could easily walk to both the older North end and the newer South end with ease. The front desk staff was very helpful and attentive... when they were there, which was not often. Which leads me to the bad...

The front desk staff, although very nice and helpful, were rarely around! They got in around maybe 8ish, and I never saw anyone there after 4. I also had an issue with the check-in procedure. We were given a comprehensive 3 page inventory list and told that we had to check and see if anything was missing or we would be charged if we didn't notate it and return the form ASAP! Are you kidding me?! I've stayed in both hotels and rental condos around the world, and this is the first time I've been asked to do something so asinine. That is the job of the hotel to inspect each room and keep an inventory of what they have and what they don't. When we checked out, the lady was very nice and did a quick inspection; but we still found it very off-putting and questioned this place from the get go as a result.

As others have mentioned, this place doesn't appear to be fully finished, even at this point. Our condos were identical, but the one my parents had less furniture and plastic still on the dining room chairs. You can definitely tell they skimped on the construction in certain areas (bathrooms especially), but the condos were overall nice with a full kitchen (but no washer/dryer). There was no construction going on, but there was an unfinished area by the entrance which anyone could enter - no real security, even though the area felt very safe. Lights were often off in our hallway even when it was dark, and when we asked someone they just shrugged.

As for the ocean view, yes every condo has one. What is not mentioned is that it is an obstructed view and by no means panoramic. The building is U-shaped, so you only get to see the small frame that's outlined by the edges of the building. And as mentioned, there is no privacy on these balconies as both neighbors can easily see you.

It was fairly quiet, but there was a wedding there the first night, and extremely loud until around 3am! The dance floor was on the beach, but you'd think they'd have some consideration for the other guests and control the volume or at least tone it done after midnight.

I'm not normally a complainer, but even for the discounted price we paid, I feel the quality and service wasn't there. I would have been furious if I paid full price, and even though the location was superb, I will be looking into other housing alternatives next time I stay in Playa.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2011

I have been coming to Playa del Carmen for 14 years and usually stay for 4 months so i have come to know a lot about the tourist trade of this town, while the Hotel is right up there amongst the best places there are so many to choose from the facility alone is fairly common, what seperates this place from the rest is... the beach club and the staff, Miguel, Alex, Jose luis, Eder, Erica, Raphael, stand out amongst the rest of the very gracious staff and make you feel welcome from them moment you set foot in the sand, i have been going as a regular since they opend in the fall of 2009 and have come to know the whole crew,my only issue with the place is how the management group lost a little focus during the high season during a 3 week spell around Christmas and got rid of some of what seperated this place from the rest,try no charge for the chairs or the umbrellas as long as you "Consume" 100 pesos a day, that is the best deal in playa, a famous beach club just up the beach wants that just for a chair, the food at Wicky's {the ElFaro beach club name} is the best around every time i need to impress a guest i take them there it is world class dining the lunch/beach menu is amazing and well priced under $8 for almost everything the drinks are very fair and good quality, they most often bring around a tray with fresh fruit in the early afternoon and then cold face clothes late in the afternoon,they will plant an umbrella anywhere for you and have clean bathrooms and a nice shower to rinse off after coming out of the ocean,with some many beach clubs popping up since the "New Beach" was created they have done a great job seperating themselves from the rest.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews