We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for families” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residences El Faro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Residences El Faro
Certificate of Excellence
Mexico
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect for families”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed at this property for 4 nights in July. We wanted to stay at a condo, rather than at a hotel, because we were going to be out a lot of time. It was just perfect for our family of 5 with kids. The property of El Faro has an excellent location, one block from 5th street, where you'll find lots of restaurants and shops, and it feels really safe, even late at night. The condo looks very new. Attention and service was perfect at all times. The beach is wonderful, beautiful sand, chairs and you can ask for an umbrella if you need one. We had a car and they offer free covered parking.
The condo we stayed at was absolutely wonderful and in a great location: Reef building, first floor, with direct access to the pool, and just a few steps from the beach. The decoration was lovely. It was very well furnished, rooms, bathrooms, kitchen, etc. It had 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms, plus a futton and a sofa bed, so it was perfect for a family of 5 or 6. We didn't cook a lot, as we were visiting the area, but it was great to have a kitchen for breakfast, snacks and drinks. We loved the big terrace, as some other condos don't have it. The washer/dryer unit was very handy, as we were going to Cancun for 5 more nights, so I was able to have a fresh start of clothes.
We would recommend El Faro to anyone and will definitely stay here again next time.

Room Tip: Reef building has bigger terraces and first floor even better with direct access to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mxtravelingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    122
    39
    15
    27
See reviews for
175
105
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

Just got back to the states after a great week at El Faro. Rented this one through a third party, after a couple of emails and a confirmation we were set. Check-in was easy, the staff was always very helpful. We stayed in Surf 407, as expected the suite was exquisite marble throughout with granite countertops and a very modern decor. I am a person that does not eat in, but if I had to, the kitchen was well equipped. This unit had two LG units that kept the room very dry and cool, which is a great luxury in the humid July heat. The ocean view was amazing, the resort grounds were simple but nice, with an amazing pool that looked out to the ocean. This was a great central location to bustling 5th Ave, cab stops, money exchange and even a Wal Mart were within walking distance. The cooler water did not get me sick and the floor to ceiling window shades let me sleep in very late, so my stay was healthy as well. all of this for a per night fee of less than $200, you can't beat it!

There were only two small negatives I can comment on about Faro. The first is the club noise to the north. I am a South Beach Miami veteren, so sleeping with outside partying noise is no big deal, but at least let the party be epic and worth the lost sleep. I at first thought the bass-thud to be coming from neighboring Zenzi, but its actually a few doors down and is pointless- no one is even there at the hours the music is played. Faro and other neighboring places should put a stop to this endless music. The second is that Wickys and the resort need to work out a better deal in regards to beach chairs and price point. A one-time 10% coupon or a free drink just is not enough to seperate the loyal Faro guests and strangers walking off the beach.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HotSpotJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

My husband and I just got back from Playa del Carmen, El Faro Resort. We went for our honeymoon. We are in our late 20's/early 30's. Overall, I must say that this trip was one of the best trips we've went on!!
I will break it down very easily. When I was researching this resort there were many reviews but certain things were not listed that i really wanted to know. So i will do my best to give a thorough yet straight forward review.

We did an all inclusive deal which included meals free and alcoholic beverages (only at Wicky's and Mr. Chile restaurants) Wicky's is located right in the resort/condo. The service there was great! Food was amazing! it is fine dining so that was a plus! Mr. Chile is about a block away, the food there is also good, not GREAT, but doable. Just fyi. tips are a big thing here (and other places for that matter) i think we spent about $120-130 U.S. just on tips for a 1 week stay.

Beach - amazing beach! amazing water! clear! See weed is removed very quickly on this beach, which was great since i cant stand see weed! Beach chairs ALWAYS available! Can order food/drinks on the beach which was great!
I was told that beaches in Mayan Riviera are very rocky and not the best.....BUT then i was told that beaches in Playa Del Carmen are a lot better and this was absolutely CORRECT! was not rocky at all. I brought my water shoes just in case, but did not even use them!

Hotel/condo - VERY spacious! Clean! full kitchen! 2 full bathrooms, living room. It was an open concept! Loved it!
This resort is also good for non-all inclusive trips since it comes with a fully equipped kitchen with utensils. We just didn't want to cook on our vacation so all inclusive was perfect for us!

5th Avenue - just steps away from the resort, always busy! ITS SAFE! so try not to get easily influenced by what other people may say. You will have the random people trying to sell you stuff, as long as you say no gracias, they will leave you alone!
Shopping - lots of stores! Starbucks! Was nice to have that! Clothing stores/souvenirs/diamond stores etc. Lots to look at on 5th avenue!

Nightlife - COCO BONGO! i must stress, if you go to Mexico you must see the coco bongo show! its about $50/pp U.S. this includes all you can drink + entrance. totally worth it! Show is amazing!
There are other clubs on 10th and 12th avenue, I just found them to be a little expensive on the weekends....if you want to save some money and don't mind partying on weeknights, i would suggest going out on weeknights..most of the times they let you in free and drinks are half price!

Excursions - Chichen Itza is where the pyramids are, 1 of the 7 wonders of the world! SO worth it! Such an experience! definitely a must! It was boiling hot that day, i believe it got up to 65 degrees CELSIUS! WATER IS A MUST!
When we booked this trip (there is a tour guide in the lobby for the excursion bookings, she gave us 2 free 30 min massages on the beach for free because we mentioned it was our honeymoon) FYI. when you book these excursions, most of them involves you to sit through an hr of time share where they try to sell you stuff...If you want a good deal on the excursions, just sit through the time share and say no at the end of the presentation. it'll save you about $100U.S on the excursions.

Cozumel is a small island, you need to take a ferry to get there, went snorkeling, felt like i was in the movie Finding Nemo! So many fish! Great experience! Shopped in Cozumel, had little shops on every corner. very cute! You can bargain here and souvenirs are cheaper in Cozumel.

Overall honest review: This resort i will def recommend, there were some families with kids, but they never seemed to bother us, we had privacy all the time, pool or on the beach! Its not that busy, which was great for us because it was very relaxing!
Only down side was, on the 2nd last day of our trip i got some sort of stomach virus or food poisoning, not sure what it was, so spent the whole day in the washroom sick! plane ride home was quite interesting. BUT this did not affect the trip in any way, i mean it happens, you deal with it and get over it! I still had the best time ever!

Room Tip: If you can get a room facing the beach, it is a nice plus! We had the room facing the street, which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank milly a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

The location is perfect for Playa del Carmen. Close to everything. Right on the beach. The staff is friendly and the place is clean and has up to three bedrooms inside for staying together. The pool was fine and but stay here is you are really looking for a place that is right on the beach and close to everything.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

This was excellent experience for us and the all staff members were superb! There was an occasional problem with the water pressure, but it wasn't a big deal. It was through out the hotel/condo. We stayed in a condo that had an awesome view of the pool and ocean. The A/C was good for those days you needed to chill or you could step outside on the balcony and drink to enjoy the breeze. The place was well maintained and had good security. Walking access to the beach and pool. We were eight and having a kitchen was ideal and we could prepare simple meals and not spend a lot on eating out, that was expensive. There was a Walmart close by (many Taxi's to help out). There is plenty of shopping around the condo area and restaurants/bars. Tourist type shopping with the usual tourist rates, still you can bargain and look around for a cheaper merchant. And there is a Starbucks one block from the condo (if you need your fix), plus there are a number of exchange places and ATM machines, just beware...the ATM machine (banks) charge an arm and a leg for their services (ranging from $6.00 to $25.00 per transaction)! You can get pesos or dollars.

Fun things to do on the beach, such as parasailing, snorkeling, subadiving, ski jets and a ferry to Cozumel.

We rented a car from Economy car rental through Expedia, never again. They charged us $300 more from the price we were quoted, which include more insurance. Apparently Expedia's quote insurance was not valid, Not expedia's fault. I will rent directly from another car agency in the future.

If you are set on having adventure, rent a car. Taxi's are expensive. We stayed at Playa del Carmen which was the mid point to other attractions. If you want an all inclusive then Encanto El Faro is not for you! My family prefers to seek adventure so a car was a must for us, so we drove to different beaches and stayed away from adventure parks, except Xelha, a big must for all who go to that area! Then we would come back to the condo and relax, drink and swim some more.

I did not like Cancun. It was too commercialized for my taste. There was an area that reminded me of Las vegas. There is everything you can get in the US. I prefer Mexican cultural experiences, not Vegas style reminders. It is good for the locals or those who do not get these experiences. Cancun was a dissappointment. It is for the rich and famous who want to be spoiled.

So there, if you want more information feel free to email me at :
youwhotowers@msn.com

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony facing the ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Towersbecks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puebla, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

Beautiful pool, great servicehotel. great view, you can enjoy breakfast on the balcony. The best sunsets. Spacious and modern rooms. Fully equipped kitchen, very good location just a few steps from Fifth Avenue and minutes from shopping centers..

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alma Rosa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, TX
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

We travel to Cancun/Playa very often and were familiar with this condo complex. This was a full family trip with grandparents, siblings, kiddos, etc. So we rented two 3 bedroom condos. We emailed to get the rooms next to each other or at least close. Well when we arrived we found out they booked one of the condos across the street. Not cool. So we fought to get a condo closer and got one, but it had 2 bedrooms with twin beds. So one married couple could not sleep together. Again not cool. I don't find too much to complain about in my reviews, but this was not a good start. The rooms were nice and clean with good A/Cs, the location is stellar and the pool is nice and spacious...something not found in this crowded strip of beach. As far as any noise, we heard none. The service was a bit weak. We asked daily to have the internet connection reset and it never was. I don't think we would go back as I think we would prefer the full service of a resort. I still gave it a high rating though because it is nice, cheap, and in the perfect spot to roam Playa/5th Ave. I understand the problems of traveling with a full family of 13, and I think most couples or families would love it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.7 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,460 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#41 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,477 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#31 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Playa Maya
Playa Maya
#94 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
0.2 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#16 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
#11 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residences El Faro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residences El Faro

Property: Residences El Faro
Address: 10th Street, Between 1st Avenue And the Beach | on the beach, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Encanto El Faro)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 196 Specialty Lodging in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Residences El Faro 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautiful exclusive condominium property is nestled in the heart of downtown Playa del Carmen, and perfectly situated right on the beach. Our 65 suites have a fully equipped kitchen, dining and living room area. The complex is comprised of three buildings, Reef, Coral and Surf, with one, two and three bedroom suites. These individually owned condominiums are spacious and each offers its own distinct style. Owners and guests enjoy our expansive pool, or basking in the sun on our beach front lounge chairs. Enjoy the view from your balcony; the impressive colours of the Caribbean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Residences El Faro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encanto El Faro Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Residences El Faro Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing