We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another wonderful stay at El Faro!”
Review of Residences El Faro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residences El Faro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2012

We returned for a second visit to El Faro this past week and, once again, it has exceeded all of our expectations!
Check in and check out was a breeze- maybe two minutes and a lot of the same staff are still around. That in itself speaks volumes about the kind of staff they are and dedication to the job. We even had the same housekeeper! The big difference was the addition of the wristband. As the property is fully finished now I guess there is more people to keep trackof. No matter. Also, instead of using our owners beach towels we were to get beach towels from the front desk- I think this may be a way of trying to curtail the towel game. They are enforcing people coming down at the crack of dawn to reserve chairs and then leaving. Instead, they either ask that you wait until after 8 am or you stay with your chairs. That is the option I chose because it is really no bother to read my book on a comfy lounger with my morning coffee at hand looking out at the ocean.

We stay in Reef 302 and I am told this is possibly one of the lovliest units in the complex. Our owners (found through www.vrbo.com)have clearly gone to a tremendous amount of trouble in order to make a stay as comfortable and home like as possible. Fully stocked with dishes, cookwear, beach chairs and toys, lighted vanity mirrors and this year's new, but welcome, addition wifi- you really could not ask for more. Daily housekeeping is included and our housekeeper worked really hard to keep things spotless for us. The balcony is huge and I can't begin to track the amount of hours we spent out there.

The property itself is located on a very lively stretch of beach, one block from the all of the happenings of fifth avenue. There is so many bars, restaurants and beach clubs to choose from all within a short walks distance. So many that I didn't cook a single thing! As last year, I used Riviera Maya grocery service to have some essentials delivered to the condo (beer, wine, snacks,coffee)that way we could get straight to our vacation! If you are so inclined Walmart is a few blocks up the road and an easy walk.

The grounds are beautiful and the pool lovely. The pool chairs are not quite as pristine as they were last year but every bit as good as any we saw at any other beach club. One can't expect that they won't show signs of wear when they are exposed to constant use, sun, sand, rain and wind. The beach is perfect for swimming and I andthe kids spent many hours boogie boarding in the waves. The beach has eroded quite significantly in this area but it is still beautiful and there are plenty of chairs for El Faro guests to use.

I know there have been many complaints about noise and I can't figure out where these people were staying to have been so bothered. Yes, once in a while, you could the base if the wind was blowing in the right direction and if you were sitting outside or had all the windows open. I ususally have a lot of trouble falling asleep and on this trip I slept like a baby. My mom and daughter shared the back bedroom and didn't hear a single thing.

I very much hope to return to Reef 302 and El Faro someday soon.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank popcorngirlAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (421)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

272 - 278 of 421 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2012

We booked our trip through TripCentral because my grown up daughter is a vegan, and I have celiac's disease.....so finding an all inclusive with our "out of the ordinatry" diets was a challenge.
We were so happy with the menu and food at the El Faro...well, we were in fact happy with every aspect of our trip. The rooms was super clean, and very modern. The pool, beach and resort were very well maintained and staffed. Security were onsite and took care of the patrons is a very professional and friendly manner.
Chef Pepee, and our regular waiter, Pasqual, (see photo) made the dining experience outstanding. We tried two other recommended restaurants during our stay, and honestly, Wiki's restaurant had the freshest, most wholesome menu going.

Room Tip: Our room faced the ajacent hotel (a sister hotel apparently) and not the swimming pool courtyard. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurel_Craib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

We stayed at El Faro for the third time in 15 months, the last time being May 2011 and wow what a differnce nine months have made there. First, we got there and they had no unit for us, we had to stay at their "sister resort" as they call it, next dooor, Corto Maltese. They said everyone who was coming on that day had already checked in (we were there by 3:00 pm) and they had nothing available for us. We had to stay next door two nights and then would moved back to El Faro. Clearly, they overbooked and as I understand, they do this a lot. Please let me be clear, Sylvia and Cesar are wonderful - as is all the staff at El Faro. The issues are not their fault. The unit they gave us at Corto was very spacioius, sparsely decorated, clean, smelled like smoke, no towels, no toilet paper and no safe, and no room service for the two day we were there. We were told the last person who stayed there took the key home with them for the safe so it ws not useable. So, we got over all of this and resided to stay there for two nights. We were also informed that we now had to wear a bracelet so that security would know we weren't crashing in on using El Faro's pool and beach facilities and that they would know we were guests there. This, is a huge issue for them, apparently. Not happy about that, I don't go to all inclusives that require you to wear a bracelet. We were moved on Sunday, as promised to El Faro, Surf Room 305. Very nice, spotless and the kitchen sparsely equipped - not a big deal. The view was spectacular. Now, for the bad news. It seems to me that El Faro is having some management issues and it's fairly obvious. The pool is in need of some repair/maintenance, the cushions on the lounge chairs around the pool are getting shabby, we had no elevator service the last two days there and no sattellite TV for the last three days we were there. Even the sign for El Faro is half missing its letters (the one facing the beach). If you didn't get out to that pool before 6:00 am - you were not sitting anywhere near it for the day. Encanto allows all sister resorts/haciendas guests in Playa Del Carmen to use El Faro's pool and facilities and it is clearly not able to support that amount of people. They were very full and lots of kids running around and splashing in the pool...to be expected. Keep that in mind if you want to stay there and if you are looking for quiet. The other times we stayed it was less busy (December and in May). While I wouldn't say we would not stay there again, we would only do so at their less busy times....something to keep in mind. By the way, the serious beach erosion issue is back, not only in front of El Efaro, but they entire strip down to the ferry piers and headed towards Mamitas Beach. They have lost a good 25-30 feet of beach front and in some places there is a five foot drop from the walkable beach down to waters edge. We were told by many that this just happed several weeks ago and that the City of Playa Del Carmen has told all beach front businesses that they would have to pay for it to be fixed as this was done and paid for by the city just two years ago - at a price tag of $10 million - not sure what is going to happen there. But I would say, if that is true, be prepared to pay a lot more to stay on the beachfront of this beautiful place.

Room Tip: Ask for second floor or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lorilou88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

I booked through Tim Vanni at Premier Properties - we had an amazing room. Tim was on top of the reservation at all times and was very professional. I would defintely book with him again. The hotel was great, everyone from Sylvia & Ceasar at the front desk to the bellman, housekeeping & security were all very friendly and super efficient. the hotel location is the best & Wicky's food was very good for lunch & drinks. 5th Avenue was one block away and Zenzi beach bar was right next door.

Room Tip: Rooms on the South side of the building are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rayerl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

We rented mulitple units though Tim at Rockstar Rentals in early 2012 and the booking process was seamless. Tim worked hard to get us into the units that suited our needs and he handled any minor concerns we had untill checkout- including following up with us to see how things went after our trip. He runs a great service and is very quick to respond to emails.
This condo-hotel is beautiful- very clean, modern and secure. The front desk staff made it a pleasurable stay and were quick to help with any requests including water delivery and arranging tranfers. Thanks to all of the staff at the ElFaro who we believe go above and beyond. I would highly recommend Tims services and the ElFaro as a great vacation desitination on the beach in Playa del Carmen.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HP2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

The beach is the best part of this hotel it's very clean and fun
They only have one resturant in the condo/hotel but it is very good
Ave 5th is very nice, lots of shopping and great places to eat
I will return in the future

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IreneHarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Ecanto
Resort has just started to do All-Inclusive in 2012 and need some time
to adjust.
The resort is beautiful, right in town, one block from 5th Avenue which
has shopping, nightlife and great spas forE cheap. We booked with the
Corte Maltes but upon arrival we were placed in the El Faro section,
which was beautiful also. We found the front desk help to be
unwelcoming and unhelpful at times. One could tell they had very little
experience with dealing with all inclusive travellers' and tended to be
more experienced with long term condo customers. They should have
offered us more information about what the hotel offers and Playa del
Carmen area.

Air Transit advertises in the book several things that are not accurate:

- You stay in the condo section that the hotel management wants not what
you booked.
- There is no washer, dryer or dishwasher guaranted
- Promised two double beds - given one double bed in second room (Not
good when 4 people sharing)
- No water sports at all
- No entertainment
- Only one restaurant on site - the second restaurant is 2 blocks down
the street
- No gym ( They will provide passes to off site gym )
- The spa shown is in the pool area, which is on the beach so you are
exposed to everyone
- There is no room service, unless you go down and order from the
restaurant and then they will bring it up to your room.
- No phone in room.

Now the good things about the resort:

The restaurant is 5* all the way. The food was exception and made you
look forward to the next meal. The only thing I could suggest to change
is more variety on the menu. If you had to stay here more than one
week, the food would begin to be boring even though it was good. The
staff at the restaurant were excellent.
Jose was are favorite waiter, always friendly and helpful. Jose spoke
good English,shared some of his Playa del Carmen knowledge with us and
just in general made us feel very welcome.
The condo is large, well decorated and furnished, very clean and great
ocean views. This would be an excellent room for a family.
There is excellent service on the beach for food and drinks. Bartenders
and wait servers are very polite, well trained and eager to help.
Would recommend Encanto for long stay holidays, but not all inclusive on
7 days.
Overall this was a good holiday with just a few disappointments So we
would rate it 4*.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TTDLondon_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#47 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
1,449 reviews
0.1 mi away
Playa Palms Beach Hotel
Playa Palms Beach Hotel
#67 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
995 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#22 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
1,727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#32 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
2,985 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Carmen Hotel
The Carmen Hotel
#18 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
565 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#41 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
2,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residences El Faro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residences El Faro

Address: 10th Street, between 1st Avenue and the Beach | On The Beach, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Encanto El Faro)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 245 Specialty Lodging in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $193 - $442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Residences El Faro 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautiful exclusive condominium property is nestled in the heart of downtown Playa del Carmen, and perfectly situated right on the beach. Our 65 suites have a fully equipped kitchen, dining and living room area. The complex is comprised of three buildings, Reef, Coral and Surf, with one, two and three bedroom suites. These individually owned condominiums are spacious and each offers its own distinct style. Owners and guests enjoy our expansive pool, or basking in the sun on our beach front lounge chairs. Enjoy the view from your balcony; the impressive colours of the Caribbean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Residences El Faro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encanto El Faro Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Residences El Faro Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing