We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best in luxury and personal service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Ranked #2 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Banyan Tree Mayakoba is above excellent in all respects. The prices are high but justifiable based on the level and quality supplied. Food service, room cleanliness, spa, fitness centre, are all excellent. Beach services are impeccable.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VanFamily2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTMayakoba, General Manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback.
We are truly happy that you enjoyed your stay and I hope to have you back soon.
Warm regards,
Michael Näther
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,111)
There are newer reviews for Banyan Tree Mayakoba
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

961 - 967 of 2,111 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2014

I had a beautiful time at Banyan tree, I visited with my partner and mother in law. We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite which was perfect as it provided privacy for my partner and I and still was in close proximity to his mother (as she is old we wanted to keep her very nearby).

We were catered to very well with our needs and everybody was very friendly. I used the spa once and as this was my first time getting a massage I'm a little biased however it was spectacular.

The cuisine was beautiful and to be honest I wouldn't have changed anything about the holiday or hotel, I guess it could have been a little cleaner? But it really was brilliant.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JosephAMThompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTMayakoba, General Manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Dear Mr. Thompson,
Thank you for your positive feedback about your most recent stay at Banyan Tree Mayakoba.
We are very happy that your villa accommodation worked out to be perfect for your needs and that you enjoyed your stay.
Hoping to be able to welcome you back soon.
Warm regards,
Michael Näther
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Probably my favourite of the several Banyan Tree hotels I have visited so far. The grounds are lovely, and sympathetically built into the surrounding nature, so that it's hard to see where the landscaping ends and the natural beauty begins.
Pool villas are up to usual Banyan Tree standards, but somehow even at 80% occupancy (as it was during our stay) the place feels secluded and private - almost like you have the hotel to yourself - precisely what we were long for.
In-house service was impeccable from staff at all levels and the quality of the restaurants also surprisingly good, particularly Saffron, their Thai cuisine offering.

Room Tip: The resort is pretty large, and some room are a 1km walk from the beach (!), but bikes, golf buggies...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTMayakoba, General Manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments. It is very motivating for us to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. In particular, thank you for mentioning the friendliness and the service of our staff as well as our food & beverage offerings.
We all hope you will be back soon.
Warm regards,
Michael Näther
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

I have been back at least a half dozen times since (as a couple and with family) my original review and have been remiss not to update. First of all my main problem with the hotel was that they were not heating the villa pools - well they do now and they are huge and amazing. You can actually do laps in your very private pool! I have done their Ixchel dinner a number of times and it is one of my favorite things to do at any hotel. Breakfast is excellent. The rooms are huge, private and extremely well appointed. The in villa BBQ is always delicious and fun. I honestly do still check to make sure I am not going during the big golf event - but have been there while big weddings and corporate events have taken place with no noticeable decrease in service. For the quality - a really really great value (and a quick direct flight from JFK).

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kannm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTMayakoba, General Manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your loyalty and sincere and positive comments.
We are looking forward to your next visit and please do not hesitate to contact us for anything you might need.
Warm regards,
Michael Näther
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Location is beautiful. Restaurants are good. Rooms are spacious.

Yet....

Many factors disappointed me (would not return):

1) Absolutely overpriced for what you get. A 15% service charge is always included. Much more expensive than other high end luxury hotels.
2) Other hotels offer same or better spa, restaurant and services at lower costs.
3) Beach is far and club is very basic. Nicer beaches a short drive away. Waiter took 45 mins to bring the first drink we ordered.
4) Uninvited guests entered our room in the morning (received the worng key). Heated pool only heated until the last day we had to leave.
5)Decor and design are not the most modern as you would expect. Rented a movie and quality was not HD as you would expect.
6) Food is overpriced too.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com
2  Thank sergio b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTMayakoba, General Manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your open comments.
We have shared all the points with the team in order to make everyone aware and work on potential improvements. We very much regret that not all aspects of your stay were up to your expectation and still hope you eventually would give us another chance.
Warm regards,
Michael Näther
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

I have never been to a banyan tree but was really looking forward to it based upon its reputation. Unfortunately we were very disappointed. The people were lovely and very accommodating, but the training and service is not up to par with other 5-star resorts such as the four seasons or rosewood.

Families be forewarned there is are no laundry facilities. Bike rentals are $6/day per person and there is no "daily yoga" as promoted on their website. Also, there is no steam, sauna or hot tub as one would expect for a resort in such a locale.

When housekeeping cleared our room-service plates, they were left in a side alcove near the front of our villa but not picked up for two days. This attracted flies and ants.

Lastly, we asked the concierge to book a reservation at a restaurant at another resort nearby and was told 3 different times then that it was closed for the day we were requesting a booking. I decided to call directly only to learn that it was indeed open and they did have an opening as requested. The concierge had gotten our day wrong even though she was quoting us times for the correct day in the beginning. How does this happen, one wonders.

While the locale is beautiful and people very sweet, it is the details that make the difference between passable and excellent service, especially at $800/night.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
3  Thank G L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTMayakoba, General Manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments.
We are concerned to learn that your experience at Banyan Tree Mayakoba did not fully meet your expectations. Kindly allow us to address your issues with all involved in order to prevent that such shortcomings as mentioned by you will not reoccur.
Continuous improvements are always our main focus and I would still hope that eventually you will give us another opportunity to prove our true standards of service.
Warm regards,
Michael Näther
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We had an amazing stay at the resort. We had stayed at the Rosewood previously and wanted to give this resort a try. We enjoyed this even more than the Rosewood. Service was impeccable! Everyone was extremely friendly and attentive, especially at the pool/beach area. The villas are gorgeous all with a private pool and courtyard area. My husband inadvertently left his iphone and a special notebook (a collection of Spanish phrases that he has cultivated during his travels over the past 17 years) at the beach. It turns out, Lupe, our beach attendant, had chased down the loose pages of this notebook all over the beach and turned both items into security. He truly went above and beyond! We didn't want to leave when our stay was over and met so many friendly guests also staying at the property. We will definitely return and likely bring our children as well.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzy023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTMayakoba, General Manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you so much for your lovely and encouraging comments.
We will pass this on to our team, as your feedback is highly motivating.

Hoping to have you back soon,

Michael Näther
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#13 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4,092 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#28 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,778 reviews
5.5 mi away
Rosewood Mayakoba
Rosewood Mayakoba
#1 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
3,221 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
16,213 reviews
6.7 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Mayakoba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Mayakoba

Address: Carretera Federal Chetumal - Pto. Juarez Km. 298, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $582 - $1,702 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Mayakoba 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banyan Tree Mayakoba is a site of almost mythical beauty. It flawlessly blends elegance and nature, taking the Caribbean lifestyle to an unprecedented new height. A breathtaking getaway for relaxation, rejuvenation, romance and world-class dining, it is also the region's most sustainable five-star resort. With its revitalized culinary concepts, Thai-inspired therapies at the Banyan Tree Spa, 14 event-venues and the Greg Norman signature 18- hole El Camaleon golf course, home to the PGA Tour Mayakoba Classic, the resort raises the bar for premium leisure options and event planning. Perfect for private getaways, family trips and group events, the Banyan Tree Mayakoba offers 118 villas, ranging from romantic Bliss and Serenity Pool Villas to Family Residences and Ocean Front Villas. All include outdoor areas with private pools and terraces. Inspired by the interior courtyards of houses in the Far East, each villa is discreetly built to blend with the landscape, integrating the interiors and their idyllic surroundings. East meets West in every subtle detail, from the fragrance of flowers encircling your villa, to the softness of a kimono, fine linens and essential oils on your skin. Here, even world-weary guests discover the eloquence of tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Banyan Tree Mayakoba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Mayakoba Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing