We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Ranked #2 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We attended a wedding there and it was quite nice. The villas are spacious, private, and come with its own pool. Food was good as well. The only downside was that the beach was relatively narrow and unimpressive. The adjacent golf course was extremely challenging but fun to play.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,051 - 1,057 of 2,130 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2013

I have traveled many beautiful places all over the world and was in AWE of the natural beauty when I arrived in Banyan Tree last month. I did not expect to find such an amazing place so close to Cancun. Although I read reviews often, I am not one to spend time reviewing but this place needs to get the credit. It is a five star and if I could rate it higher I would! The food, the people, the villas/rooms, everything was amazing. This place is special so if you are wanting a private honeymoon and don't like all inclusives (like me) then look no further. If you want somewhere special to be with your family (like me) then look no further...its worth saving your money for and you will be saving the minute you get home to return soon!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com
Thank Mvfrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Cancun, Mexico
1
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Banyan Tree Mayakoba is maybe the only or one of few Gran Tourism hotel in Mayan Riviera, the only one with BB meal plan. its service is excellent and exceed customer's needings. Great Place to rest and spend wonderful and unforgettable vacations.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

The wife and I stayed here for our 5 year anniversary, and it was a wonderful experience. The checkin process was one of a kind. The room was amazing. The room has a hot water heater to make tea and a lavaza coffee pod machine. Of course having your own pool is pretty awesome, however the water was a little cold and since its an open pool you get the normal gunk in there. The hotel is built on an eco system, so you will hear lots of insect noises. The people who work here are very nice and very accommodating to all your needs. This place even offers free wifi. The on-site restaurants are not the greatest and a little over priced, but the other two hotel onsite (farimount and rosewood) has very good choices. If you plan to dine at banyan tree's one of two restaurants (tamarind or saffron) be prepared to spend $100+ for not a lot of food. Oh, and by the way Tamarind is a european cuisine. If you are thinking about choosing the package with or without the breakfast, go with the breakfast package. The breakfast buffet by itself is $35 a person. Over all, this was one the best place we have stayed at

Room Tip: -Get the breakfast option when booking if the price w/ the breakfast option is under $75 when compar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruchir J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

We are just getting back from our trip to the banyan tree. It was simply awesome.
Food: great service especially the morning brunch. For a buffet style it is totally gourmet. The restaurants are expensive but again the food and service is excellent. Only negative is that when making reservations it is sometimes difficult to get the time you want. However, every time we went to eat the places would be less than half full?
Rooms: totally cool. Every room is like its own little suite. Very clean, large and if you need more of something like coffee or bottled water it's there in under 5 minutes.
Pool: not the type of place to go if you want to hear blaring music and drunk people doing chicken fights in the pool. Elegant. Great lunch (rec the shrimp burrito. Had it everyday it was so good). Never seemed too crowded.
Spa: best massage I have ever had. Period.
Intangibles: large resort. You have to travel by bike or golf cart to get most places, however they were not an inconvience. Staff was more than accommodating. Rooms were one of the coolest and most unique we have ever stayed in. Our trip and experience was worth every dollar.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Ndutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

My husband and I visited the Banyan Tree Mayakoba for the first time this December for our babymoon. We were very pleased with the resort - our room was beautiful and the grounds and facilities and amenities were excellent. The staff was so nice and accommodating and friendly, they made the stay even more enjoyable. We loved the beach and also the pools were very nice and again the bartenders and servers were really nice. As a couple that works in the hospitality industry it was such a treat to be on the receiving end of such great service.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com
Thank lm35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We were very fortunate to have a week at this marvellous hotel and were delighted we did.
When we arrived we were asked whether we would like to wait for an upgraded room (which we did) and were given a townhouse with roof top pool.
This was magnificent and very luxurious!
Having a seperate lounge from the bedrooms meant that when I got up early to go birdwatching, I was able to make a coffee without disturbing my wife and daughter. The bathrooms were fantastic and my only grip was that the roof top pool was not heated so too cold for us to use.
The location of the hotel is brilliant - particularly if nature is your thing.
The hotel (and adjacent Fairmont and Rosewood) has been built within a protected ecosystem meaning that the birds, plants etc were amazing. Highlights included the free one hour boat ride through the mangroves and seeing White Nosed Coati playing as a family on the golf course!
I am not a golfer but the course looked fantastic and can easily be accessed.
Food was top end price wise but was superb at all four restaurants we used.
Staff were exemplary - all helpful and friendly. No request was too much trouble and everything was handled quickly and smoothly.
The resort itself is very pretty and away from it all yet it was a £12.50 taxi ride away from Playa Del Carmen if you wanted somewhere cheaper to eat or to shop.
This is top end price wise but is faultless!

Room Tip: Get a 2/3 bed towhouse if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garyswhelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#9 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4,134 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#28 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,809 reviews
5.5 mi away
Rosewood Mayakoba
Rosewood Mayakoba
#1 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
3,245 reviews
1.4 mi away
Viceroy Riviera Maya
Viceroy Riviera Maya
#12 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,160 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#10 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
16,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Mayakoba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Mayakoba

Address: Carretera Federal Chetumal - Pto. Juarez Km. 298, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $589 - $1,672 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Mayakoba 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banyan Tree Mayakoba is a site of almost mythical beauty. It flawlessly blends elegance and nature, taking the Caribbean lifestyle to an unprecedented new height. A breathtaking getaway for relaxation, rejuvenation, romance and world-class dining, it is also the region's most sustainable five-star resort. With its revitalized culinary concepts, Thai-inspired therapies at the Banyan Tree Spa, 14 event-venues and the Greg Norman signature 18- hole El Camaleon golf course, home to the PGA Tour Mayakoba Classic, the resort raises the bar for premium leisure options and event planning. Perfect for private getaways, family trips and group events, the Banyan Tree Mayakoba offers 118 villas, ranging from romantic Bliss and Serenity Pool Villas to Family Residences and Ocean Front Villas. All include outdoor areas with private pools and terraces. Inspired by the interior courtyards of houses in the Far East, each villa is discreetly built to blend with the landscape, integrating the interiors and their idyllic surroundings. East meets West in every subtle detail, from the fragrance of flowers encircling your villa, to the softness of a kimono, fine linens and essential oils on your skin. Here, even world-weary guests discover the eloquence of tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with seekda GmbH, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Banyan Tree Mayakoba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Mayakoba Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing