We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Ranked #3 of 216 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed for only two nights and were amazed by the friendliness and efficiency of the staff. Although the hotel was fully booked due to a corporate event the staff did everything to make us feel at home and we got a very nice upgrade to a three bedroom seaside villa. We will definitely be back again to try the Spa and the golf course which looks fabulous.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com
Thank C V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,222)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,229 - 1,235 of 2,222 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Dallas, Texas, USA
13
Reviewed April 16, 2013

My daughter had her wedding at Banyan Tree and it was absolutely perfect. I stayed in the one room villa close to the lobby so it made it easy to get to breakfast and all of the events we had planned. At some resorts I've noticed that after a few years they tend to show a lot of wear and tear. Not at the Banyan Tree. The grounds were perfectly manicured; the AC in our room worked wonderfully (which I'm very picky about) and the room service food was yummy. We used the bikes to get to the beach and I thought it was fun and a great way to get a little bit of exercise. The beach was pristine and the attendants were accommodating. We also used the spa for pre-wedding pedicures and they did a good job. We had a small pool party for the ladies at my daughter’s villa while the guys played golf. The drinks and food were just right and the staff was helpful.
As for the wedding, it was magical. I was concerned about having to go barefoot on the beach, but the ceremony is so quick you don’t even notice. The makeup artist and hair stylist (which you book through the hotel) did exactly what my daughter wanted and she was thrilled with the results. The wedding bouquet was pretty and the reception was the most fun I've ever had in my life. We had it in the Oriente Restaurant and the room was spectacular. The DJ played all of the songs my daughter requested and no one wanted to leave the party. A huge thank-you to Diana Romo, The Romance Coordinator on the property; she did an outstanding job and we couldn't be more pleased.
Ladies if you are thinking about having a destination wedding, this is the place to go. It is first class all the way around and you will never want to leave.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We went back to the Banyan Tree in March and it was again such a worthwhile visit, the rooms and private pools are amazing, you have so much space and privacy regardless of how busy the Hotel is. It was Easter break so there was lots of families but it does not make any difference to the luxurious experience of the Banyan Tree. The staff are truly exceptional, always eager to help with a smile, especially all the guys doing the breakfast each day, they are great fun and so attentive. It was also lovely to see Cecilia at the Copa Bar again, Cecilia and her team are so friendly and fun, one evening we did not know what to do for dinner so Cecilia ordered room service for us while we had a drink at the bar and then retired to our room. We really love this hotel, it is really great being able to cycle every where and also helps work off some of the delicious food! The Beach Area is also lovely to relax in, the guys set up your loungers and provide you with fluffy towels and water, it is kept really clean and is a nice way to spend a lazy day. Also make time to book the spa, the therapists are really exceptional, I had an amazing massage whilst my husband played Golf one day.

Room Tip: I honestly don't think there is a bad room in this hotel, it is so private you can't go wron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brocqie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Banyan Tree Mayakoba offered everything we'd hoped for: a beautiful villa with private pool, an in/outdoor bathroom, personalised service with eye for detail, ultimate privacy, comfort and luxury, great restaurants and a sublime spa. A very nice surprise though was the seamless integration of 5 star luxury in a fabulous nature park; home to crocs, turtles, the most incredibly beautiful subtropical birds and many other species. Although unimpressed by the type of low-end tourism that Cancun and Playa del Carmen generally offer, the Mayakoba resort is the jewel of the Riviera Maya.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrandEl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights/5 days and the staff was absolutely exceptional! They were courteous, responded to every request and everyone on the property greeted you with a smile. The location and proximity to the beach was perfect and you could ride your complimentary bikes or get a ride with the buggy.
The breakfast buffet was really good, and although I am raw-vegan and everything they had made my mouth water, the fruit and juice selection was satisfying and yummy. The green juice with cactus was great!
My favorite part was the spa and Thai massage with Poi. UNREAL!!! Highly recommended. I live in NYC and have access to the best spas, travel to the best resorts and this was by far the best massage I EVER had. Great vacation!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com
Thank pgh15217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

There are not words to describe this stunning resort and absolutely perfect service you will ever get in a luxury resort. I did not know Banyan Tree before this vacation. I am now a fan. They excel in everything the do and their staff is trained to please and anticipate their guest's expectations. I loved every minute of my stay and it was hard to go back home. The SPA is absolutely wonderful and doesn't compare to anything I tired before. Thank you Banyan Tree for one of the most wonderful vacations I have ever had in my life.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com
Thank catnoir13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

This resort while costly is beyond description. The villas are incredible, more space and amenities that you will know what to do with. The service is incredible, restaurants are wonderful and the property is immaculate

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JNRPhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#9 of 216 in Playa del Carmen
4,391 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rosewood Mayakoba
Rosewood Mayakoba
#2 of 216 in Playa del Carmen
1,808 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#4 of 216 in Playa del Carmen
3,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
6,107 reviews
5.4 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
5.8 mi away
Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa
Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Playa Maroma
1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Mayakoba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Mayakoba

Address: Carretera Federal Chetumal - Pto. Juarez Km. 298, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#7 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#10 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#11 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $674 - $2,224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Mayakoba 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banyan Tree Mayakoba is a site of almost mythical beauty. It flawlessly blends elegance and nature, taking the Caribbean lifestyle to an unprecedented new height. A breathtaking getaway for relaxation, rejuvenation, romance and world-class dining, it is also the region's most sustainable five-star resort. With its revitalized culinary concepts, Thai-inspired therapies at the Banyan Tree Spa, 14 event-venues and the Greg Norman signature 18- hole El Camaleon golf course, home to the PGA Tour Mayakoba Classic, the resort raises the bar for premium leisure options and event planning. Perfect for private getaways, family trips and group events, the Banyan Tree Mayakoba offers 118 villas, ranging from romantic Bliss and Serenity Pool Villas to Family Residences and Ocean Front Villas. All include outdoor areas with private pools and terraces. Inspired by the interior courtyards of houses in the Far East, each villa is discreetly built to blend with the landscape, integrating the interiors and their idyllic surroundings. East meets West in every subtle detail, from the fragrance of flowers encircling your villa, to the softness of a kimono, fine linens and essential oils on your skin. Here, even world-weary guests discover the eloquence of tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Banyan Tree Mayakoba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Mayakoba Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing