We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Honeymoon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Ranked #3 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
2 reviews
“Excellent Honeymoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We just recently got back from Banyan Tree, I am pretty particular about resorts, but this place was great for relaxation. They have the best customer service ever. They did everything to accommodate us. I forgot my flatiron, they let me borrow theirs. Our villa had a heated pool and jazcuzzi. The jazcuzzi was soo hot we could not get in it. We called the front desk and asked them to adjust the heat, which they did ASAP. But they also sent the pool guy to add cold water, so we would have instant results. Within 5 mins of the call to the front desk, we were able to get in the jacuzzi. I got a massage one day--best ever. The massage and daily breakfast was included in our rate. Breakfast/brunch was excellent it was from 7a-12pm which was also great if we wanted to sleep in. We mostly ate room service $40-$80 for 2. Downside is no nightlife. It is a very quiet and relaxing place. Although the beach pool was the kids hangout. The beach is beautiful. Our room did have a stale smell, but after burning incense and running the AC it was fine. We rented bicycles 6/day to get around which was cool. It's either that, walking or they will pick you up whenever by golf cart. We also splurged on the xchell boat dinner $600. Very expensive, but it was worth it to me. Very romantic, delicious 5 course meal cooked on boat by private chef, my husband wanted hot sauce and the chef didn't have any, so he MADE some for him. Unbelievable! --love this place. I'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JMokat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear JMokat,

Thank you very much for writing your comment about your stay and for celebrating your honeymoon with us.

We are delighted that your had a splendid time at our hotel and that enjoyed the villa, the restaurants and the Spa. It is our wish to fulfill all the needs of our guests to their total satisfaction.

Banyan Tree Mayakoba is a place for total relaxation and romanticism; hopefully we may celebrate with you many more anniversaries. Please let me know if I can be of any assistance to organize the next trip to our resort.

With best wishes
Maximilian Lennkh
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,895 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,572
    204
    79
    26
    14
See reviews for
411
1,123
21
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester
Level Contributor
90 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Having read the reviews I asked and was given a very sunny 2 bedroom villa (305) which was just superb.Looking at the location map some villas my well face east and north so sun could be limited The villa swimming pool was large and heated and jacuzzi too hot but they came and turned it down.There were loungers and table and chairs. The ground floor double bedded room had a vast bathroom with dressing room. There was a shower,loo and outside huge bath and additional shower. We all enjoyed each having the outside bath with the supplied candles lit with the moonlight above. On the ground floor there is a separate sitting room with dining table and chairs ,kettle and coffee machine. The external stairs but within the walled villa led up to a large twin bedded room with dressing room bathroom with bath and separate shower and loo. The beds and pillows were very comfortable. Our villa was a short walk to the main building. The beach was a 10 min walk away or a buggy ride away.
The gym was very well equipped and open 24 hours with water supplied. The family enjoyed the thai massages in the spa. The breakfasts were plentiful and full of variety with wonderful fresh fruits, freshly squeezed juices, eggs of all varieties, pastries etc My eldest daughter particularly liked the mexican omelette and we enjoyed sitting outside.
Of the 3 restaurants for dinner we preferred the Tamarind and were rather disappointed by the Saffron. Sands on the beach for dinner was OK and for lunch was generally good although on the last day being a saturday the service was so slow with a lack of staff.
The beach is beautiful sand but quite narrow and it strikes us as rather consistently windblown. The Yukatan peninsula is flat and with open coastline with no apparent coves.The sea although beautiful in colour has boulders and weed off the beach so not that appealing. The main building has a simply stunning pool which because of its undulating shape and with vegetation on the side means there are limited sun beds and a swim up bar where the best cocktails were made. Because of the limited sunbeds it means it is not that busy. There is a pool house with towels, water and books to borrow.
The staff are simply marvellous-full of smiles ,friendly. We had a couple of small niggles with the villa and they were sorted promptly.
We went into Playa del Carmen for dinner 3 times and had some of the best meals. Imprevist was so good we went twice! We had lunch on the beach at the Fusion bar and hotel-worth a visit.
The highlight however was our trip by taxi to Tulum about 50 mins away. Arturo our friendly taxi driver drove us to the Tulum Mayan ruins by the sea and then to the simply stunning beach at Club Paraiso 3 miles further on. This is a huge white sand beach with palm trees and wavy sea. Again open coastline but the sea was wonderful with no weed or rocks. A great day out. It is worth going to the ruins and getting a guide but go early!

Room Tip: Ask for a sunny villa-305 was perfect. The villa did have a smell but not oppressive and seemed to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BillieWinchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear BillieWinchester,

Thank you very much for staying recently with us and taking a few moments to write a comment about your experience.

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and wish to thank you very much for your gracious comments about our hotel services. Regarding the mentioned issues of the beach: depending on weather conditions in the winter it can get a little bit windy, but as the summer is returning we are expecting a wonderful and calm beach.

I am looking forward to welcome you back soon at Banyan Tree Mayakoba.

With best wishes
Maximilian Lennkh
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was the most amazing trip, the staff, the rooms, the grounds, everything was just perfect, could not have asked for a better stay! The food was delicious, every detail was so well thought out and it seems they are continually making improvements upon the property. Will definitely come back again and again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear visitor of Banyan Tree Mayakoba,

On behalf of the whole team, I would like to thank you for your valuable comment.
I am delighted that you enjoyed the villas, the restaurants and the service.

Hopefully you are coming back soon for another romantic experience.

With best wishes
Maximilian Lennkh
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
171 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We were there for a short getaway, it was a short plane ride from NYC and we spent 3 nights there. The resort was about 40 mins drive from the Cancun airport which we could have arranged a pick up by the hotel too if we don't want to drive.

The hotel is nicely planned and resided. The landscape of the hotel is quite entertaining. Room was clean, tasteful and very roomy and it comes with an outdoor swimming pool, outdoor deck and an outdoor bed.

I liked it consider it is a short getaway to the sun in the winter. We were trying to reserve the boat dining experience but they had no opening at all during our stay. So we were to this Thai restaurant and it was very romantic, on the deck and looked at the moonlight.

I wish the swimming pool was temperature regulated, because it was still a bit too cold to do anything in there.

The boat ride that got us to the beach side was very fun too. We just simply had a great and relax time there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luxship
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear luxehip,

Thank you for your gracious comment on this website and for staying with us.

I am delighted to read that you found a romantic and peaceful getaway at our resort and that we have succeeded in creating a sanctuary for the senses for you and your couple. Our hotel is a special and romantic place and we are pleased by your compliments.

We are looking forward to welcome you back soon for another romantic weekend.

With best wishes
Maximilian Lennkh
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
56 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Maybe this should be more "average" with respect to the price. Anyway, nice property, feels somewhat older than it actually is.

Our reservation came with a complimentary spa treatment for one person but upon arrival there were no double slots available in the next four days so my husband had to miss out. I guess you have to make advance reservations here. No surprise though - the spa is pretty good. Therapists are expats from the Asian Banyan Trees and very professional.

Check-in took far too long - I was anxious to get some rest as I was tired out from the journey, but we were kept waiting at the lobby area for a long time.

Got to the room and it was way too cold. Would have opened the sliding doors but we were advised to keep them closed so insects wouldn't come in - so I needed the A/C for ventilation but couldn't bring up the temperature despite fiddling with the thermostat for some time. I hadn't brought any warm clothes with me - only t-shirts and shorts - as it was supposed to be a tropical vacation so I was freezing in the room. I asked at the front desk for a tracksuit (they sell clothes in the boutique so I found it fully reasonable that they should be able to lend me a set) and I was turned down without any attempt to offer any alternative solution. Finally a technician came to our villa and did some work on the A/C so that the room was warmer for the rest of our stay.

The layout of the villa was weird, as the living/dining area was housed in a separate building. It was a waste as it ended up being quite underutilized.

The bedding seemed to be rather low-quality and worn out. Again - with the price in mind - would luxurious beds and fluffy pillows on a relaxing retreat be too much to ask for?

Dining options were rather limited - and it's not exactly convenient to go out of the resort either as it's in the middle of nowhere. There were only 2 restaurants open each evening, and variety was limited. Food was good though - again, for the price it had to be.

The staff was great (except the front-desk staff who took a long time with the check in and were unable to offer any solutions to the frigid temperature). The buggy drivers were always offering rides and housekeeping was very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nitpicker011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Nitpicker011,

Thank you very much for your valuable comment on and for staying recently with us.
I was very pleased to read all the positive notes you had for our hotel. Regards to the comments about the air condition and the service of our front desk: I have taken note and will discuss these issues with the department heads.

We all know that we need to work hard to improve our standards in our strive for perfection, and to continue to be able to exceed our guest’s expectations.

We hope that despite these issues you had a pleasant stay, and I do look forward to be given the opportunity to personally welcome you again to Banyan Tree Mayakoba.

With best wishes
Maximilian Lennkh
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

AMAZING! The Banyon Tree was just what the Dr ordered! Our room was perfect, from the heated pool and jacuzzi outside our bedroom to the zen like feel in our bathroom. We highly suggest getting a courtyard villa ( which we had booked) the pool is heated and spacious. Wonderful fhave a " in house" bar b que dinner
Although the Banyon was booked, the resort never felt busy, the service ,superior,-the staff so sincerely had pride in their hotel and interest in us. Breakfast was fantastic, lunch and dinner just as good. If there is ONE recommendation-stronger bulbs in the bathroom!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear visitor of Banyan Tree Mayakoba,

On behalf of the team at Banyan Tree, we wish to thank you for taking the time to convey information on us to the readers.

Thank you for your comments regarding our effort in making your experience more enjoyable and smooth.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Banyan Tree Mayakoba.

With best wishes
Maximilian Lennkh
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petts Wood
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Just got back from an excellent stay at the Banyan Tree. There are only great things one can say about this hotel. The staff are some of the best any where in the world, villas are excellent and the water in the villa pools is very warm, breakfast is great, spa brilliant and it is just paradise.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank francesmcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear francesmcc,

Thank you for your valuable feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to Banyan Tree Mayakoba. I was very pleased to read all the positive notes you had for our hotel.

I do look forward to be given the opportunity to personally welcome you again to Banyan Tree Mayakoba.

With best wishes
Maximilian Lennkh
Area General Manage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.7 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#7 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,480 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rosewood Mayakoba
Rosewood Mayakoba
#1 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,578 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Viceroy Riviera Maya
Viceroy Riviera Maya
#14 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
6.7 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,578 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Mayakoba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Mayakoba

Property: Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Address: Carretera Federal Chetumal - Pto. Juarez Km. 298, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#3 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#3 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Mayakoba 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banyan Tree Mayakoba is a site of almost mythical beauty. It flawlessly blends elegance and nature, taking the Caribbean lifestyle to an unprecedented new height. A breathtaking getaway for relaxation, rejuvenation, romance and world-class dining, it is also the region's most sustainable five-star resort. With its revitalized culinary concepts, Thai-inspired therapies at the Banyan Tree Spa, 14 event-venues and the Greg Norman signature 18- hole El Camaleon golf course, home to the PGA Tour Mayakoba Classic, the resort raises the bar for premium leisure options and event planning. Perfect for private getaways, family trips and group events, the Banyan Tree Mayakoba offers 118 villas, ranging from romantic Bliss and Serenity Pool Villas to Family Residences and Ocean Front Villas. All include outdoor areas with private pools and terraces. Inspired by the interior courtyards of houses in the Far East, each villa is discreetly built to blend with the landscape, integrating the interiors and their idyllic surroundings. East meets West in every subtle detail, from the fragrance of flowers encircling your villa, to the softness of a kimono, fine linens and essential oils on your skin. Here, even world-weary guests discover the eloquence of tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Jetsetter, Hotel.de, HRS and Reservation Counter so you can book your Banyan Tree Mayakoba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Mayakoba Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing